reviews for: listing #18324 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

Fun! Pool table, Xbox, foosball, flat screens!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $400 - $800 /nt
    $3,750 - $4,450 /wk

sort by:

Awesome fun house!

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

The house is pretty big and has a lot of fun things for all ages. Pool table/ping pong/shuffleboard & even bikes. Kids had a great time in the play area in the backyard and to the girls surprise there was a big doll house in a closet full of toys. Has a BBQ with 2 grills (both coal & gas). Bonnie was very easy to work with and was very much connected even before we reached there and provided a lot of useful tips around local events and restaurants etc. Excellent service and an awesome house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

April weekend

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

thank you for your wonderful hospitality last weekend. everyone had a great time and the house was perfect. thank you for the bbq suggestion. it was delicious! thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Best Time with the whole family!!!!!!

Review submitted: March 21, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

First of all, We have been booking a place to stay with the entire family every year for the past 15 years.We are very selective in making the decision since there are a lot of properties available. Cleanliness and house wear and tear are huge concerns for us since we have 3 kids and the grandparents.. More of a family reunion each year. We selected this house after looking at many that were available. It was clean, cozy, well stocked, has games everyone enjoyed and is in great condition. When we arrived we noticed that the owners really take care of this property. We enjoyed the cozy sauna built in downstairs. The backyard is also huge with a play set for the kids to play on. Bonnie (owner) was a joy to work with in booking our stay. She has a great knowledge of what to do around town and this made our trip even more enjoyable. We will be booking this house regularly!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our favorite place

Review submitted: March 18, 2014   Date of arrival: March 3, 2014

We stayed here last 4th of July and this winter. The house is great. its fun because they keep adding things to do like the shuffleboard. Last year we went to the beach every day and used the chairs and ice chests from the house a lot easier than bringing some. We're coming back this summer too. The backyard is huge. There's lots of stuff to do. Close to everything, the store is only about a mile away. The skiing surprisingy enough was fun and its great to come back to a nice fire in the fireplace. The house is very cozy and clean

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

best weekend ever

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

This was a great place, lot of room It was clean, had more than we asked for and the owner let us check in early AND stay later than checkout on Sunday to miss the traffic We ended up staying till 5oclock.. lots of beds, so we all got our own bed. It was a bachelor party and everyone was talking about how perfect the house was for our group. the owner sent a list of everything going on that weekend and great hidden bike trails that weren't crowded!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Awesome house

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Perfect for a weekend of fun with excellent lake and casino access! The owner is extremely responsive and helpful! I've stayed in many VRBO rentals around the world and this one is at the top of my list for a place to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome Place!

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

We loved this place! I've been vacationing in South Lake Tahoe for the past 15 or so years, and I am so glad I found this place. The first thing I'll mention because this is what I care about the most is it was so clean! All of the dishes were matched, the bowls, plates, pots & pans were in great shape, and so cute! You could tell there is a lot of pride of ownership here. The Great Room was so nice to hang out in. Very cozy, cabin-y with unique, nice furnishings. A really big flat screen TV, and Pod speakers were in there so we hung out there a lot. there was enough furniture for us all to be together and there were 12 of us. The backyard is huge where we played volleyball. They had bikes there that we rode everyday including one of those crazy two seaters. Other than that we didn't leave the house much. The owners were great to work with. We want to come back in the winter because its close to Heavenly and close to the Sierra shuttle. Thanks Bonnie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Warning request a walk-thru upon arrival

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

Warning! Request a walk-thru with the Owner upon arrival. As I think it is important to know about the whole experience prior to renting a house I am sending in this review. Our actual stay was "Average", (Con's - some un-safe conditions, filthy carpet and very worn bedding Pro's - lots of rooms and bathrooms and a lot of fun amenities, pool table, bikes, etc.), This "Poor" review is based on our return and the Owner's communication. I just got off the phone with the Owner who informed me they are charging us for damages to the refrigerator when I notified him the night we arrived that it was damaged. He did not respond to my e-mail about the broken refrigerator for eight (8) days (until he received our initial review which we rated as "Average") and his response was a e-mail saying that he was charging us for the damages. When I told him we were disputing the charge as we notified him that upon arrival the light in the refrigerator was broken, he threatened to take us to small claims. When I asked why he had not commented on our review about the un-safe conditions (no lights in the backyard, exposed nails, rickety stairs and deck, loose bolts on swing set which we fixed) he told me that was my responsibility to notify him upon our arrival. But since I had notified him about he broken light in the refrigerator in writing with no response I had not contacted him again but rather we went out and bought some lights to provide some safety at night and tools to fix the swing set. We were in town in August for a family reunion and when we visited the other rentals and found out what they paid verses what we paid we were surprised how much nicer their properties were for much less. We had a great time in Tahoe the only negative we experienced was coming home to charges for damages we were not responsible for and the Owner's threats. As I said, they provide fun things to do during your stay but be aware that you may want to either insist on a walk-thru with the Owner upon arrival or send a detailed written list of what the condition of the house is upon arrival (although we did send in writing notification of the broken refrigerator light and are still being charged). Overall it seemed like the house had been a rental for a long time and has incurred a lot of wear and tear. Safety in the backyard should be addressed (better lighting, repair to decks and stairs).

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: When we rented this house to the parents of the person that wrote this review we were not told there was going to be a 40 person family reunion held at the house, outside at night. Had we known I would have recommended a different house. This particular house is in a neighborhood, where we are not allowed to have large parties, and especially outside at night, on a weeknight which is why the backyard is not lit up (other than the stairways, a small deck, and hot tub area) for that type of event.
This house has only been a rental for about 4 years, and we have several groups that have rented it for the past four years. There actually is not a lot of wear and tear on the house as we replace and upgrade things in the house on a regular basis. We used to own a Mountain Furnishings store, and quite a bit of the pieces in the house are high-end mountain furnishings. Someone familiar with this type of decor would recognize the decor in the house is pretty pricey. Regarding charges for damages, we very rarely charge for damages. In fact, the reason the charge mentioned, wasn't seen until they got home was because we don't even run the security deposit 99% of the time, and we didn't this time. We only charge if we are 100% sure the damage wasn't due to normal wear and tear, and are 100% sure it happened after someone checked in. At times, when there are very large parties at a vacation rental, the person that rented the house isn't told when something is broken, and they don't find out until we tell them about it. We have 4 rental houses with lots and lots of reviews, and very happy customers. They are all linked to on this site. We have probably only charged for damages, maybe a total of 5 times including this one, with 4 houses over 4 years. Our goal is to offer a clean, safe, fun home where guests only worry about the food they need to bring. Thats it! We try to provide everything you could possibly think of for a great vacation.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Time!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

What a great place for a family reunion! Plenty of things for the kids to do. Great kitchen. Close to bike trails and other amenities. Quiet neighborhood out of the hustle and bustle of busy streets, but still close to restaurants, grocery shopping, etc. Dog friendly. Not opulent but very warm, clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend it as a great place for a gang of people of varying ages!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, modern and perfect for a large group

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

Sometimes you're not sure about rentals. In this case, the Harvard cabin exceded my expectations. You can tell the owners appreciate that in order to feel comfortable, and get your money's worth, the place should be clean, updated and cared for. We used the pool/ping pong table all weekend. The playstation was not working at the time but we connected our own game system to the large flat screen. The kitchen had all the functionality we needed to cook breakfast and dinner for our group of 10. Hot tub was ready to go. The neighbors are also very friendly. The cabin is close to everything you need in Tahoe. Looking forward to coming back next winter.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect cabin for fun weekend in South Lake Tahoe with large group of friends!

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

My friends and I rented Bonnie's cabin for a winter weekend in South Lake Tahoe that included snowboarding and a charity softball tournament. There were 15 of us in the group, and we all with fit comfortably in this beautifully decorated and furnished cabin...with room still to spare. I especially loved all of the unique rooms and the various sleeping arrangements we had to choose from. The downstairs great room was where we spent most of our time hanging out. We ate together, listened to music on the ipod dock, watched TV on the two flat screens, played cards, Guitar Hero, pool and ping pong. We also really enjoyed the hot tub, which is on the deck just off this downstairs room. The cabin is very close to the casinoes and many options for dining, though we spent much of our time enjoying the cabin. It was our perfect home base to rest, relax and play. I would absolutely recommend this cabin to anyone who needs a place to stay in South Shore for a large group at an affordable price. The owner was extremely helpful with all of our needs and questions as well. Great cabin Bonnie!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A winter wonderland vacation for Christmas

Review submitted: December 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

My entire family stayed at this cabin from Dec 22-26. I spoke to Bonnie only a few months ago and she was one of few owners that still had availability over the holidays. We were pleased by the homes comfort and space. The home itself is really not very big but the sleeping arrangements are very private and even having so many people at one time, we did not find it overcrowded at all. Bonnie also provided many wonderful items that other cabins we have rented do not provide such as bikes, igloo block templates, snowshoes, sleds, etc. This was absolutely, hands down and undeniably the BEST Christmas my family has ever had and we plan to do it again next year too!! The only thing I would do differently if we were to rent this home again is to bring kitchen items from home such as sharp knives, a cheese grater, and a large stock pot. The kitchen is well stocked but is equipped with fairly basic items. I would definately stay here again and would highly recommend this home to anyone traveling with children and a large group. The positives about this home are too long to begin to list! Location, set up, comfort, hospitality of the owners- all of it was an A++++ in our book! Thank you Bonnie and family for allowing us to rent your home and for helping us create such wonderful family memories! My children will not soon forget this Christmas!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 24, 2010

The place was perfect for our two day trip! We had 14 guys for our weekend trip and the place had enough beds for everyone to have their own. Also the living room area was really nice; plenty of room to spread out, watch TV and use the kitchen.Bonnie was really easy to work with too! No problems at all throughout the whole process.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 2, 2009   Date of arrival: September 2, 2009

We stayed in the house for two nights and it was perfect. There's a ton of different spaces so it never felt crowded, and we each had our own room.

The location is fantastic. It's right next to the keys and just a short hop to the state line.

My only complaint is that I'm really sore from playing horseshoes in the backyard. There should be some kind of warning label about how addictive that game is.

I hope we get to come back during the winter to enjoy the skiing.

MO

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 24, 2008   Date of arrival: August 24, 2008

Wow! Where to begin! Bonnie created a true Tahoe experience for our entire family. The cabin has everything you could ever want - PS2 with Guitar Hero, Karaoke, tons of kids toys, a huge playset in the fenced-in backyard, a hot tub, a sauna, rustic ornate decor throughout every room, bikes (including a double bike and tricycle), books, DVDs, full-size washer and dryer, WIFI, two refrigerators, wine fridge, gorgeous kitchen with granite countertops, tetherball, TVs in the bedrooms, and much more. Most importantly, she was available to us all throughout our trip, making sure we had everything we needed. She and her husband recommended some wonderful restaurants and things to do as well. All I can say is WOW - I was so impressed. Thanks again for an absolutely wonderful, very personalized, cabin and experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 25, 2008   Date of arrival: June 25, 2008

Thank you so much for everything! The cabin was perfect. It had a great feel, and was very open for everyone to be able to hang out together. The beds were super comfortable- which was a nice bonus! We had fun with the bikes and board games and the yard was beautiful. It's hard renting things on-line, but I couldn't have
been more pleased! =)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 13, 2008   Date of arrival: June 12, 2008

I am so glad that I found this house on the internet.
Bonnie was wonderful. She was extremely nice and
helpful. The house was perfect for what I needed.
Everyone that stayed thought it was great. Thanks
Bonnie for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 21, 2008   Date of arrival: February 21, 2008

We just spent a wonderful 4 days at this cabin. The space was just right us (8 adults, 6 kids), with plenty of room for everyone. The amenities went beyond our expectations, and working with Bonnie was a dream. She provided us recommendations on restaurants, where to ski, and addressed all of my questions promptly.

Thanks again!
annie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2008   Date of arrival: February 6, 2008

Thank YOU Bonnie,

The house was gorgeous and we really enjoyed our stay. I would love to return some time.

Fondly,
Ben

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 23, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We love this house!Very comfortable, clean, perfect location.
We would love to come again.
Thank you for this unforgettable vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 12, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We rented the cabin for a company retreat and it was great. Plenty of space for all of us. We enjoyed the sauna, hot tub and all the board games. We will use this cabin again. Thanks Bonnie.
Rochele with Chipotle.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 5, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

My daughter got married on March 31 in Tahoe, we rented Bonnie's house and it was wonderful, we brought our own caterer but she help arrange for the cake, the tables and linens she was the most wonderful helpful person, its a great house, lots of room, nice hot tub and wonderful big backyard. I can't think of anything that they have forgotten to put in this great house. We had 50 people for dinner and had plenty of room for all. I would highly recommend it for a family get together, a wedding party or family vacation. I know we will be renting it again. The McCullough Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 14, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

Thanks for being so easy to deal with, Bonnie! Great house, lots of room / beds. Will certainly recommend to others!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 30, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

We really enjoyed staying at this property. The house was neat, organized, and modern. The kitchen had a nice open space with every cooking tool we needed. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The same goes for the bathrooms. My friends and I would most likely stay here again next time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 15, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Bonnie, thanks for your help and assistance in contributing to what was an awesome holiday. Lake Tahoe and your house were the highlights of our time in the United States. The house was quiet, warm and in a great location to everything and I cannot recommend it enough to anyone planning to visit this area. It's just a pity it's so far from Australia, otherwise we would rent this property every year. Thanks again Bonnie. The Stephens Family, Melbourne, Australia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 6, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

I booked Bonnie's house for my family to stay in the weekend of my wedding. Unfortunately I only got to spend one night there, but it was beautiful. There was plenty of room for all 15 of us and the place was decorated beautifully and very well kept. The back yard was perfect for the small children in the family and the foosball table and horseshoes were perfect for the adult "kids".
From the first time I spoke with Bonnie she was great! She went out of her way to help me out with a few wedding details that I didn't know how I was going to accomplish. And at such a stressful time it was so nice to have someone be so kind and helpful. We will definitely stay at Bonnie's again if we get the chance. And I recommend her to all of my friends.

Thank You Again Bonnie for everything,
Angela

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 7, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Bonnie- We loved the house! Everything was beautiful and the mountain decor was wonderful. We had plenty of room to spread out with 3 couples and 2 kids. We'll be back- thanks again for everything......Sue Burkeen 8/7/2006

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 5, 2006   Date of arrival: August 5, 2006

We loved the house! everything in it made us feel at home and made our trip even more amazing! It isn't everyday that you meet someone this hospitable, so we thank you for everything. We hope to return one day soon to this beautuiful house and we will be sure to recommend this place to all of our friends! Take Care, the Ha and Tran family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 26, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

The house was more than we expected and easily fit our group - we loved the decor, easy atmosphere and great location. Bonnie was incredibly helpful and accomodating...I'll definitely be coming back. Thanks again Bonnie!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 22, 2006   Date of arrival: July 22, 2006

Bonnie - We did have a good time!! Tahnks for the use of the nice, spacious and beautiful home. "The Girls!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 22, 2006   Date of arrival: July 22, 2006

Bonnie, I just washed the beach towels and replaced the items that
we used. Small potatoes for the enjoyment of your home! We are
veteran VRBO renters and appreciate the care you take in your
property. My friends came on Tuesday and "staked out" the house for
their future visit in August. We will be back. We will tell anyone
interested in a family retreat in Tahoe how comfortable your home is
and how comfortable you are to deal with. Thanks again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 22, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

Dear Bonnie,
We could not have had a better weekend!!!!!!!!! House was just perfect for my family. Everyone thought the house was just wonderful. We got to watch the baby birds learn to fly. There were 3 of them.

Thanks again for an excellent weekend. I think my son will not forget this birthday.
Sorry I missed you this morning.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 23, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

What a great place! It was perfect for two families. Great layout, perfect yard for kids, and beautiful decor. Bonnie made things so easy for us! We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 23, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

Great place to stay - very comfortable and totaly unique. Thanks to Bonnie and Kris for offering such a wonderful place and we'll definately be back very soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 16, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

We absolutley loved our stay at this home to ring in the New Year. Very comfortable and Lovely decoration.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 26, 2005   Date of arrival: November 1, 2005

I am so glad we found you! The house was beautiful, the furnishings were much nicer than we expected, and the stars at night from the hot tub were amazing. Thanks very much, we'll see you again this summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review