reviews for: listing #1836 - Mission Beach, California House rental

Kennebeck Court Cottage, 150 feet to the Sand!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $514 /nt
    $1,750 - $3,600 /wk

sort by:

Family Fun!

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 6, 2009

We spent a wonderful June week in this delightful beach house! Grandparents, Aunt, Mother and 3 children ages 8, 10, and 12 fit comfortably and couldn't have been happier. The beach was a 30 second walk. The home is clean, well-maintained, filled with amenities in good condition (more than most Mission Beach rentals - most of what we brought with us we didn't need), cozy and very family friendly! The house is obviously lovingly maintained by the owners, evidenced by family photos and warm, cheerful decorating.

We would recommend this property to families or anyone looking for a peaceful beach visit. It is on a quiet court with friendly neighbors and a short walk from Belmont Park and Mission Beach shops and restaurants. Not much further to Pacific Beach restaurants, grocery stores, etc. Going out is easy, but there is plenty of space to cook or grill and eat your meals on the front porch if you want to stay in.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This is the kind of response we hope to receive from all our guests. We try to make our house a home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect beach rental!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

From the get go, the owners were so accommodating and generous with great communication. The house was in a perfect location, had all the amenities you could possibly need, well organized and very clean. This was an ideal place for our two families for a weekend beach get away! The only down side is that is was a short trip for us, wish we could have stayed longer!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Week

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We spent a wonderful week at this clean and spacious cottage. Six adults and 4 small children made some great memories and thoroughly enjoyed our week. The location is great and the availability of 3 parking places was huge. Accessibility to both bathrooms from the hallway and the outside shower made life so much easier. Everything we needed--from beach chairs, toys, step stools, towels, washer and dryer--was provided for. Eileen was extremely helpful and responded to all of our inquiries. We look forward to future trips at this fun cottage. Thank you for a great week!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Third time's the charm!

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

This was our 3rd time in three years that we have stayed at the beach cottage and once again we were delighted! The cottage is perfect in every way for our family. The location in Mission Beach is perfect...tons of stuff to do within walking or driving distance, though this year the kids just wanted to hang out and boogie board at the beach! Everything you need is at the house--towels, BBQ, beach toys, washer/dryer, internet, parking spaces, etc. The owner is very responsive to any questions, issues, etc. that come up, so you don't have to worry about a thing.

All I can say is that I'm sure we will make it four in 2014!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome as usual!

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We have been staying at the Durazo Family Beach House on Kennebeck Court for a number of years. We have always loved it and every year they make it even better. The house has beautful, modern upgrades, very comfortable furniture and beds, and a very cool "beach" look. Entertaining or just having coffee on the front patio is a blast and the three car parking is a rare find in Missin Beach. We use to live in Mission Beach and appreciate the very nice features and the special efforts the owners make for this house. We live all of a half hour away in the City of San Diego and our annual week at the beach on Kennebeck Court is special.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent getaway

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Excellent rental. Very quiet and right near the beach. Great for kids and a lot of room inside and out. Perfect place to take a vacation in San DIego.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Peaceful

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

I loved my stay in this beautiful and clean home. All I needed was right there down to beach chairs and umbrellas. The house was super comfy with TV's in every room (not that we watched any) but the option was there. The outdoor space was relaxing and inviting and i loved how clean that was as well. Yes, I want to stay there again and again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home...Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 3, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 children (1 and 4) and their grandparents...it was a beautiful, peaceful holiday after 2 busy days in Disneyland. The photos of the house are exactly what it is like, the house is immaculately clean and stocked with everything you could need and more and the restaurants and amenities recommended by the owners were spot on. Our children loved it that they could literally run on to the beach and play. We are recommending this property to our friends and planning our next trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We LOVED this house!

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

What a beautiful little beach house! It was just as pictured on the website, very charming and comfortable. The owners have provisioned it well, and we loved all of the little touches (port a crib, high chair, kid movies and books, beach toys, boogie boards, etc. etc. etc.). The patio is totally enclosed (great for little ones - contains them well). It is REALLY super close to the beach, without being right on the boardwalk and dealing with the crowds and noise. Having a shower outside was a great thing - kept a lot of sand out of the house.

The only drawbacks had NOTHING to do with the house or the owners - just the nature of a tightly packed touristy area. The neighbor behind this house drives a loud motorcycle and leaves for work at precisely 6:15am every weekday. Bummer!

Overall (minus the motorcycle) this was IDEAL and exactly what I had hoped for! We will certainly be back next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Didn't want our week to end!

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

What a beautiful little beach house! It was just as pictured on the website, very charming and comfortable. The owners have provisioned it well, and we loved all of the little touches (port a crib, high chair, kid movies and books, beach toys, boogie boards, etc. etc. etc.). The patio is totally enclosed (great for little ones - contains them well). It is REALLY super close to the beach, without being right on the boardwalk and dealing with the crowds and noise. Having a shower outside was a great thing - kept a lot of sand out of the house.

The only drawbacks had NOTHING to do with the house or the owners - just the nature of a tightly packed touristy area. The neighbor behind this house drives a loud motorcycle and leaves for work at precisely 6:15am every weekday. Bummer!

Overall (minus the motorcycle) this was IDEAL and exactly what I had hoped for! We will certainly be back next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comfy, Cozy Cottage

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

What's not to love about this cozy, comfy beach house. Everything provided that a family could need, and then some. So much space and amenties are top notch as well as clean.. Convenient to all the fun attractions, yet private and quiet also. Hightly recommeded by our family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Beach House

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

This beach house was a perfect get-away for 6 teachers from Kansas! The house had everything we needed and was very clean and comfortable. It was great being just steps from the beach, although the weather did not cooperate while we we were there! My friends and I would highly recommend this cottage and plan to make a return trip!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house, location, etc.

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

Great house, fantastic location, the owners happened to be near visiting family when we arrived and came over to say hi and introduce themselves. We traveled with a 10 month old and were very excited that this unit provided a high chair and pak-n-play. It was a great stay. We will definitely be coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Our family of 6 included a 10 month old, a 4 year old, their parents and grandparents. We stayed 9 days here. This home was perfect for us. It was exactly as pictured on the Home Away site. Eileen was very accommodating and answered all our questions beforehand. The home was very well maintained and professionally cleaned before we arrived.
We could walk to the beach on the ocean side or to the quieter bay side. Loved walking the boardwalk and the beach too. The home was well supplied with kitchen facilities and a barbeque. I have never slept so well as in the huge king sized bed. The living area was very comfortable for all of us. The home was very kid friendly with movies and games supplied. Our grandson loved the bunk beds and our baby slept very well in the pack 'n play. The washer and dryer were a huge bonus as well.
We visited many of the nearby restaurants Eileen recommended and were never disappointed. Lots of free parking behind the cottage as well. Would recommend this as a family destination for sure. Also good for couples. We felt very safe here and would definitely return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kennebeck Court Cottage

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

The house was exactly as described. Walk past one house and cross the street to the very beautiful beach. Execptionally clean. Everything you need to cook for a group. Beds were comfortable. I would recommend this property and would stay there again myself. The Mission restaurant had a very good breakfast. There was a nice grocery store approximately 2 miles away "Ralph's" that I would recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place to stay in San Diego

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We loved our stay at the Durazo Beach house. We have three younger kids and they had plenty of space to play in the house and there was lots to do within walking distance. We enjoyed quiet nights on the front patio and also walks along the boardwalk within 100 feet of the front door. The sand and ocean were only seconds away and the fully equiped property had everything we needed for some beach or water fun.
The house was very clean and well maintained.
The owners were great to deal with and provided some very good information on things to do close by.
I am also a runner so having ocean front running paths within feet of the house was a huge bonus.

We will be back for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Friends and Family

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Thank you to the owners of the "Cottage" for thinking of literally everthing..We had a marvelous time. The house was spectacular, my mom who has some trouble getting around especially up and down stairs..did not have an issue. However still keep an eye out for any miss step..the stairs out on the patio can be a little tricky and a miss step can occur by anyone.

We loved the close proximity of the beach..great access and not crowded at all. Loved our walks up and down the boardwalk every morning with our coffee.

The house is centrally located and easy to maneuver around San Diego. Had a great time, would love to return soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic cottage near the beach

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

I came to San Diego from Brookyln NY with my husband to run the San Diego Rock n Roll marathon, and stayed here for four night with my parents and my in-laws (6 adults total). We absolutely loved this cottage - it is so cute and home-y and a wonderful location just steps from the beach. The accomodations were very comfortable and we appreciated having 2 full bathrooms for the six of us. The decor is terrific and everything was very clean and well taken-care of. We enjoyed riding beach cruisers on the boardwalk, sailing in Mission Bay, lounging on the beach using the home's beach chairs and umbrellas, riding the nearby old-fashioned wooden roller-coaster, visiting the San Diego Zoo, and hanging out on the front patio for almost all of our meals. The kitchen has everything you need and the outdoor grill works great. We even took advantage of the washer/dryer and the stash of board games in the closet :) Two parking spaces in back are very convenient. I highly recommend this house for a family get-away!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Family Vacation!

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 27, 2011

We just got back from our trip to San Diego and couldn't have been happier with our decision to stay at the Durazo beach cottage! It literally is perfect. We just moved away from San Diego less than a year ago so are extremely familiar with the area. It is a perfect location between the roller coaster and World Famous Restaurant (PB area). It is nice and quiet, but you are close to everything. The cottage itself is super cute and very well organized for such a small place. Feels very cozy and safe! Being away from home and out of routine with little ones is always a concern, but because of all of the amenities (high chair, pack-n-play,black out shades!) and the coziness of the place my little ones adjusted really well and slept great (1yr old and 2 1/2yr). We also have a lot of friends/family in the area so the extra parking (3 spaces!) was awesome (that is unheard of in that area). If you want a beach experience this couldn't be a better choice. The outdoor front fenced in area with the table is a huge plus. We would prop the door open and let the kids roam in and out. The outdoor shower is great too...I could go on and on. When you are on vacation it feels as though you are constantly buying little things to make your stay more comfortable (ie; sunscreen, sun hats...) so, another huge plus are the beach chairs and sand toys! All of our friends/family that came to visit and meet us at the beach were like "this place is great!" I could go on and on...we really enjoyed this place and plan on returning! If you book here you will not be disappointed! The pictures are exactly the way it is...really cute and clean!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Location

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

Choosing the perfect place. That's what is so difficult for the vacationing traveler not particuarly familiar with an area. This cottage was the perfect setting for our trip to the beach area in San Diego.

Eileen was so pleasant and helpful. She answered all my questions honestly so we felt confident that we would be pleased with our choice.
Well! It was even better than we could have hoped for.

The location was wonderful. Just what we were looking for. Her home was spotless,and extremely well maintained. We were close to great restaurants and shopping and only steps away from the ocean.

We came home to Denver and couldn't wait to tell our family what a fabulous place we found at Mission Beach. We will return for sure and would recommend this cottage to friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation! Wonderful Cottage!

Review submitted: November 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

Thank you for sharing your family's cottage with us. My family -- grandparents, parents and a 2 year old -- had a wonderful week at the cottage. This is by far the most enjoyable rental we've stayed in. Well stocked, in great condition, so near the beach and excellent restaurant recommendations.

The other reviews submitted capture the essence of our experience. The cottage is perfect for a getaway whether to spend all your time on the beach, venture in to San Diego or to use it as a base for exploring Southern California. Kennebeck Court is a friendly, quiet pedestrian only street. The area is perfect for all ages and the proximity to the beach, without being directly on the boardwalk, can't be beat.

We plan on returning in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect beach cottage!

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

My family and I stayed in this home this past summer and loved it! The home if very close to the beach and boardwalk, but also far enough away to enjoy some quite, relaxing time on the large, inviting patio. The home is very well stocked and maintained, and is very inviting and relaxing. The mattresses and bedding are very comfortable as well allowing us to sleep very well! The living room area has a nice open feel and is tastefully decorated in a nautical theme. I would rent this home again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Aug. Stay 2010

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Our stay at the spacious beach house was wonderful! My grandmother, sister, husband, daughter, and myself enjoyed ourself beyond words.The house is beautiful and very comforatable, we felt right at home! The pictures are 100% real, if not even better in person. It was the perfect house for my 84 year old grandmother (who uses a walker) all the way down to my 1 year daughter . We had perfect weather, wonderful bbq dinners, and of course fun days at Sea World, Old Town, and the races! We spent most of the days on the beach (1 min away) and nighly walks on the boardwalk. We hope to be able to visit in the future sometime. I would recommend this house to everyone!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Prior to our visit this year to the Durazo Beach House, we had stayed at two other locations on Kennebeck Court with our daughter and her family but every time I stepped out I would drool over the beautiful patio of the Durazo home. We were fortunate last year to meet Eileen on the boardwalk and decided that would be our choice for our vacation this year. We were especially pleased there were only a couple stairs while the other places we stayed had rather long stairways. In years past we had visited most of the attractions San Diego offered so this year we enjoyed just relaxing with walks to the beach and on the boardwalk. The rooms are large, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Friends who were vacationing on the bay side visited us and the gathering in the living room was very comfortable with ample sitting room. The kitchen is well supplied with all the utensils, pots and pans and even spices you might need. Should you be preparing your meals and run short of something, there is a market conveniently located.

We are glad we found you and highly recommend your home to other vacationers.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This Sweet Beach House Awaits You!

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

The Durazo Family Beach House is charming, comfortable and sparkling clean with everything you need (and more) for a fantastic family vacation. The peaceful patio was the center of our vacation activities and the lively beach and boardwalk (only a few steps away) was a great venue for long walks and good conversation. Kennebeck Court is a safe, quiet and friendly neighborhood. The cottage is obviously a family home that has been lovingly maintained. The pictures on this website accurately depict the beauty and condition of the property. We enjoyed our stay very much and highly recommend it for your vacation pleasure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I'd come back in a flash

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: March 11, 2009

Didn't want to leave this cute, clean beach house which is so close to the water. Kennebeck Court is very well maintained. We've been coming to Mission Beach since 1982 and this is one of the nicest rentals we've ever stayed in. Everything you could possibly want is provided, from soap to sand chairs. Tons of parking! Everything is Clean Clean Clean. Nice bedding and comfortable beds. New kitchen with gas range and nice stainless appliances. San Diego is beautiful in the spring. Had a fun day trip to Ocean Beach, and a lovely dinner in Little Italy. We wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cute and Close to the Beach

Review submitted: January 7, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2008

We first rented this cottage in 2003. When we stayed again in summer 2007 and 2008 we were thrilled at the updates the new owners have done. Now there are two full baths, and the kitchen is all new and well laid out. And still only the third house from the water and THREE large and easy-to-get-into parking spots - a rare treat. Great new front area with wonderful places to sit and read the paper, eat dinner, play cards, all within sight of the ocean. Cute, beachy decorations. This is a great home for a family. It is a free standing beach cottage; no one above or below you. Kennebeck Court is one of the premium courts on Mission Beach. Far enough away from the roller coaster and the loud commercial areas but walking distance to all the best areas. No public parking lots nearby to crowd the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review