reviews for: listing #18369 - Los Angeles, California House rental

Frank's Country Rustic Getaway New Rates
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  single family
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $220 - $220 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,540 /wk
    $3,900 - $4,900 /mth

sort by:

Great house, great location, great host

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: September 11, 2013

We were a group of 4 adults and 3 teenagers. We all thoroughly enjoyed the "rustic" feel of the house. It had everything we needed for the duration. It was a great location as it was close to Universal Studios, Hollywood Strip, California Science Museum, the Getty Centre and not too far from the beaches. The drive to Anaheim 2 days in a row was a little tiring for the driver and navigator - might do that differently next time. The supermarkets close by had all the supplies we needed at reasonable prices. We loved the "In and Out Burger Bar" - other than that we ate in most evenings.

Frank was very helpful throughout our time dealing with him - even to the extent of connecting us with our daughter when we arrived in LA. We were sorry we didn't get to meet him. We would thoroughly recommend the property to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: I am so glad you found everything convenient and close by. Next time we will be sure to meet and say hello.
Please come back across the pond and visit soon.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

Our Thanksgiving vacation was great, it was really comforting to stay at Frank's Home. With 7 People staying there, There was more than ample space to accommodate all of us comfortably. Thank you Frank for opening up your home to my family, we really appreciated it and enjoyed it.

Looking forward to summer visits by the pool!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Maribel
I am so glad you had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Please come back when its warm and splash in the pool.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Home and Wonderful Owner

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

The description was absolutely spot-on! If anything, it undersells the beauty of the home!

The location is a wonderful - just minutes outside of the hustle and bustle of LA, the home acts as a sanctuary and retreat. Moreover, it is spacious and well-maintained. The rooms are large, and Frank (the owner) has done a great job of arranging the furniture to maximize living space.

Frank provided excellent customer service and was very flexible with the payment. He also stopped by and introduced himself and spoke with us.

The home is also close to a number of eateries, including a Mexican placed called Los Fuentes that was incredible!

Overall, it was an excellent experience working with Frank. He maintains a wonderful home, and I will absolutely recommend it!

PS - the pool and gardens are great!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi Sunny
It was good meeting you and your team. I am so glad the house worked out for you. Please come back and visit anytime.
Take good care
Frank

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place, Great Price

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

The house was HUGE! More space than we needed for 5 people. Love the character of the house.
Well kept, clean upon arrival and almost everything you needed was provided in the kitchen.
The weather didn't warm up enough for use of the pool but it was certainly a nice perk.
Our last visit to LA for 3 nights for two hotel rooms costed about the same amount for 8 nights in this large 3bdrm, 2.5 baths. Extra linens and mattress available if more was needed.
Frank was a delight to work with. I didn't get to meet him as I was out but the other house guests reported that he was very pleasant. Other perks we enjoyed was the free wi-fi and the alarm system.
Responded to initial inquiries immediately, throughout the planning phase and throughout out stay. Accommodated us in the front house as we needed a late check out but other family needed the back house.
Easy neighborhood to navigate. Had a rental car to get in and out of downtown LA area with ease.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi Shermaine
I am so glad the house worked for you. Yes, it is nice and spacious. I have taken great care to upgrade the house and grounds. It was good to meet your Mom and family. Next time we will have to say hello.
Please come back and visit anytime.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

My wife and my two children and myself recently enjoyed a delightful week at Frank's Country Rustic Getaway. We were pleasantly surprised by the lovely neighborhood and the beautiful grounds at Frank's home.

The house was in impeccable condition with comfy beds and very well equipped kitchen. The large living-room had very comfortable furnishings to relax on.

There was a nice clean pool in the back which we took advantage of after our days out sight seeing in the area. The kids loved it!

I want to make special note of the fact that the owner, Frank, was a gracious and accommodating host. He stopped by mid-week to check in with us and to see that we were happy. He sat with me for a while to give me some detailed directions to some nice places in LA to see and eat. We called him on one occasion with a specific question. He called us back within five minutes.

I highly recommend Frank's House as a relaxing, comfy, well-situated home in which to use as a base for touring, etc. the Los Angeles area. We plan on returning!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: It was indeed a pleasure. Please come back and visit anytime and I will keep a bottle Chardonnay on ice waiting.
It is always a treat to meet new friends.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Frank's Rustic Getaway

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

The property is spacious and welcoming. The road in which it is situated is in a nice neighbourhood with other large properties.Plenty of parking space available. The Family really enjoyed the Swimming Pool and we had a very relaxing stay at the House. We were able to take advantage that the property was close to many major attractions. Frank made us very welcome and was always at hand should we need anything. A very enjoyable stay as part of our California trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Chris
I am so glad you and your family enjoyed the house. Please come back and visit anytime.
Take good care
Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not as expected

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

We stayed at the house August 6th for 6 nights.
We had chosen it as it was advertised as a rustic getaway with a swimming pool.
The master bedroom was spacious, but rather empty. There was a whirlpool in the bathroom, but it was out of order.
In the kitchen you had a lot of equipment, but it was not very clean. I had to clean a lot of things myself.
We were lucky there was a washing machine since I had to wash the pillows.
I contacted Frank via mail and he was very responsive. The housekeeper came and confirmed some things were not clean (shower, the extractor hood, the oven, the curtains in the kitchen...) but there was no action. Frank came to change the toilet seat himself.
The location of the house is very good to visit the attractions. It is nice to have a parking space.
You could turn this house into a cozy place after some renovation in-and outside the house.
We did have a good stay after all, but we would not recommend it to our friends.

Owners response: Hi Martine
I am glad you found the location perfect for the attractions and had a good stay. Let me respectfully respond to some of your comments. The whirlpool in the master bedroom is not listed on the site as it has been out of order since I bought the house. In other words I do not advertise the house with a whirpool.
With all due respect, I fell the characterization of the cleanliness of the house is inaccurate.
The housekeeper was at the house for seven hours professionally cleaning the house as she always does. I responded to your concern and came to the house the very next day with the housekeeper to address the cleaning issue in person. To me the house was still very clean. I nonetheless offered to have the housekeeper clean the house to your specification on that day. Perhaps there was some miscommunication as we were both under the impression that everything was fine since you didn't ask her to stay. So sorry for any confusion as she was prepared to clean the house upon arrival. I think you will find the rate I provided you was very favorable over a hotel for the size of your family.
Please accept a discount of fifteen percent if you should visit in the future.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Holiday

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

We stayed at Frank's place for 4 weeks in the months May and June. We are a family with two adults and two young children. We have had a great stay. The house is very spacious. Everything is available you need and once something is missing, Frank is the more than kind person to fulfill your wishes. The pool is gated and very refreshing during your stay. Wifi is a big plus as well.
The neighbourhood has all you need with regards to restaurants and several grocery stores.

All in all we had four great weeks and recommend this place to everybody who is looking to stay in LA area, not too crowded, but also not far away from all the attractions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Bart
I am so glad you had a great time. I really enjoyed meeting you and your family. Your kids are adorable. Please come back and visit anytime.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent value

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 7, 2013

Excellent value. Our family was quite pleased with Frank's house. The street has many beautiful houses, neighborhood is clean and felt safe. High school is a block away, was not a problem. Pictures are accurate, property was maintained weekly. The house was shielded from traffic noise. Late afternoon/ early evenings sitting outside near the pool was relaxing and conducive to conversation and fun. There are plenty of flowers: watch for bees when kids are playing. The jacuzzi and fire place are non-functioning (wasn't a problem for us, still it would have been nice). The owner was available and attentive to any problems. He was quite personable, honest, interested, and caring during our stay. This is a second house on the owner's lot and shares use of the pool. There is parking for 3 cars without stacking, 4-5 cars with stacking. Would love to return and stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Lloyd
I am glad the wedding was a big success. I enjoyed meeting your family. Coming from a beautiful place like Hawaii I am so glad you found the house and surroundings lush and relaxing.
Please come back and visit anytime.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for our family get together

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 7, 2013

Excellent value. Our family was quite pleased with Frank's house. The street has many beautiful houses, neighborhood is clean and felt safe. High school is a block away, was not a problem. Pictures are accurate, property was maintained weekly. The house was shielded from traffic noise. Late afternoon/ early evenings sitting outside near the pool was relaxing and conducive to conversation and fun. There are plenty of flowers: watch for bees when kids are playing. The jacuzzi and fire place are non-functioning (wasn't a problem for us, still it would have been nice). Frank was available and attentive to any problems. He was quite personable, honest, interested, and caring during our stay. This is a second house on Frank's lot and shares use of the pool. There is parking for 3 cars without stacking, 4-5 cars with stacking. Would love to return and stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect House for Our Trip to LA

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

The house was perfect for our visit to LA. Frank is a wonderful "host" - the house was just as it was described on the web - actually ever better when we got there and saw it "in person".
The house was clean and well-maintained - we even had a chance to use the pool!
We would definitely recommend it for anyone making the trip to LA.
You will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Owners response: I am so glad you got to jump in the pool. Please come back and visit anytime.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Couldn't have asked for better. All rooms were of substantial size, and decorated nicely. Location is ideal and was easy to find. Frank was always available to answer questions and help out.
It made our stay in L.A memorable and would definitely use again, if ever back in
the area

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Dave
I so enjoyed meeting you and your family. I am glad their first Hollywood experience was fun and entertaining.
Please come back and visit soon. I will leave the light on for you.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

VERY GOOD rental house in L.A.

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 6, 2013

We had a GREAT experience for our 13 days stay in L.A.
Frank, the owner, is very responsive and understanding.
The house is very spacious.
Everything that was mentioned in the description was accurate and more !
We would absolutely stay here anytime again.
Fran

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Fran
I am so happy that you had such a wonderful time. I really enjoyed meeting your entire family. Your grandchildren are the cutest. (Just don't tell that to my Mom as she thinks her grandchildren are the "cutest." LOL
Please come back and visit soon.
Take good care
Frank

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We had a great experience for our stay in LA. The home is great with lots of space and in a great location. The owner was very responsive and communicated well. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to LA.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: HI Raphael
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I strive to make the house both very comfortable and cost effective.
Please come back and visit anytime.
Take good care
Frank

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent LA base for exploring

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Very spacious and homely property - very convenient as a base for exploring LA. The setting is incredibly quiet, really felt more like a country retreat tucked away in an urban area.
Weather was hit and miss, but there's plenty to see/do for everyone indoors and outdoors, so not a problem.
As the house is so close to the main freeways, getting farther afield (San Diego, Hearst Castle, Palm Springs) was easy. Nice to come back to a very comfortable mattress every night!
Plenty of choice of supermarkets in the immediate area, and lots of take-out options for the lazy days.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: HI James
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that everything was conveniently located. I will try to have more sunshine for you next time even though it was December. LOL
Please come back and visit anytime and I will give you the recurring client discount.
Take good care
Frank

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

very good rental

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

The house was perfect for us. we were 5 staying 2 days. The house is big enough, and idealy situated: 25 minutes from the international airport, 15 minutes from universal studio.
The owner was very friendly and everything went well.

many thanks for this perfect stay !

Owners response: Hi Jean
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the house and had perfect weather. That's one of the great things about visiting LA in the winter.
Please come back and stay anytime.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 23, 2012

My Family and I Stayed at Franks house for 2 weeks in the Oct/Nov2012 for a family wedding. Everything about he house was great, it was clean, spacious, in a peaceful location and easy to get to most of the main parts in LA. Any queries we had were dealt by Frank quickly and personally.

I would definately stay here again

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi James
I am glad you had a great stay but more importantly a wonderful wedding. It was fun hanging out with all your family during Halloween. Please come back and visit sometime with your new bride.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good location and pool

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at Frank's Rustic Hideaway, the house has all the amenities required - spacious bedrooms, adequate kitchen and bathroom facilities, free WiFi. The pool was a great bonus in the heat and very much enjoyed by all of us. The house is situated in a quiet neighborhood and within easy driving distance of the main attractions. Frank was very helpful during the booking process and our security deposit was returned very quickly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you had a good time. I am also glad the weather was a nice change from London and that you enjoyed the pool. Please come back and visit anytime when you need a change from the chill of England.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

My Wife, teenage daughter and I was there from 4 till 15 of June 2012.
This is Very nice place, clean and useful located in a very convenient place close to all activities in Los Angeles.

Full Kitchen, Bright and Clean rooms, Showers , Pool, WiFi - Everything you just need to spend your great vacation!

Thanks Frank, we are really enjoy your stay!


Andrey.
Moscow, Russia

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Hi Andrey
Thank you so much for your nice review. I don't have many visitors from Russia so I am glad it all worked out.
Please come back and visit anytime and tell your friends so I will have more Russian clients. LOL
Take good care
Frank

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location. Clean and peaceful!

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

My Wife, teenage daughter and I was there from 4 till 15 of June 2012.
This is Very nice place, clean and useful located in a very convenient place close to all activities in Los Angeles.

Full Kitchen, Bright and Clean rooms, Showers , Pool, WiFi - Everything you just need to spend your great vacation!

Thanks Frank, we are really enjoy your stay!


Andrey.
Moscow, Russia

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our American adventure

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at Franks rustic getaway. a nice cosy house with a great pool and close to everything. If I may give one recommendation to Frank it would be to have 6-10 psc. of the same plates, glasses, cups, forks, knifes and spoons. And a must, is to have Wine glasses - Real wine glasses ;o) and lastly a proper Barbecue.

However, we found that if we needed something, Frank was there to provide for us.So we couldn't ask for better service. Thanks Frank.
It's the first time we used Franks place and I hope it's not the last time.

Take Care Frank
/Christian

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi Christian
I am glad everything worked out on your holiday. It was fun meeting you and your family and learning some scandinavian phrases.
Please come back and visit anytime.
Take good care
Frank

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

faboulous time in the valley

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

My husband, 2 teen age daughters and I stayed in Frank's house for 10 nights. The house is so spacious and the new floors gave the space a clean, fresh look. We loved opening the front door right onto the pool area. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with huge exotic trees and plants. There is both shade and sun at all time of the day, so eating outside and swimming was a daily treat for us. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of extra pillows. The 3 bedrooms were all large and light filled; my daughters didn't even bicker over who got which room! I cooked regularly and found adequate cooking supplies (yes (regarding a previous review), the dish washer was full of clean dishes upon our arrival).

The location was perfect, near nature, the hills and the ocean. The neighborhood was quiet and clean, and the street is lined with giant palms, a treat for us northerners.

The best part of the rental was meeting Frank and his warm and friendly family. I feel that we have made a new friend and hope to see him in the future. Frank, I miss our morning chats over coffee and berries!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Dearest Kim Dan and family
I am so happy my efforts to improve and beautify the house were greatly appreciated and noted.
Needless to say it makes me happy when people are happy. I realize that families sometimes only get to take a week or two a year. I am glad that I can provide a pleasant and fun experience in that short precious window.
As a home provider I get to meet people from all over the world. Sometimes I get really lucky and meet people I end up calling my "friends." You are such people. I feel fortunate that we had the opportunity to hang out and get to know each other. That is truly a blessing. In my world there is no more important life force then relationships. I wish we lived closer. I also miss our morning chats and constant banter and laughter.
I know we will stay in touch.
Take good care
Frank

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stay in Frank's Country Rustic Getaway

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Nice place, very spacious and located in a very convenient place close to all activities in LA.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi
Thanks for your review. And thank you for coming all the way from across the pond. Please come back anytime.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Not as on internet

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

First of all GREAT LOCATION!

Unfortunatly the following : bedding was not clean, two spoons for six people, had to share the whole time. Lots of light bulbs missing, had to buy even toilet paper. Compared to my other accomodations in SF, Hatch, Moab, Las Vegas, unfortunatly not comparable.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Hi
Thank you for your review. Let me respond to some of the comments. The linens and sheets are cleaned by the housekeeper every time someone checks out. There are also extra clean sheets in the linen closet. I have the bedcovers professionally cleaned at the cleaners once per month. The pillows are replaced every two months. The house is well stocked with spoons and cutlery. Perhaps the spoons were in the dishwasher. There are light light bulbs in every room and in every lamp. I have spare lightbulbs in the pantry. Since this is a home stay rental experience I supply the house with four rolls of toilet paper. (After that it is the responsibility of the tenant)
Since you enjoyed the excellent location if you should ever want to stay at the house again I would be happy to walk through the house with you when you check in. I will also provide you with the same discount and low rate.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family vacation at Frank's

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

I don't normally write reviews but because of the experience my family and I had, I decided to give my thoughts.

My family absolutely LOVE this place! I actually inquired another of Frank's property but he suggested this bigger (and cheaper!) one instead. I'm really glad he did. The house was HUGE even for our party of 7 and had all the necessities needed for our short stay. The place was exactly as shown in the pictures. Mum loved it because she had a kitchen to herself complete with pots and pans to cook us meals. The master bathroom was probably the biggest I've seen! Sadly the hot tub was out of order. The location was also terrific! Very close to all the attractions yet far enough from the busy noise of Hollywood. There were some film shooting going on nearby which was a new experience for us. I don't know about others but I find the house a little eerie at night. Probably because of the old look and big, shady trees around the house.

Frank was very quick at responding my emails and helpful in answering all my queries. I was not able to meet him in person as I flew from Indiana a day after my family checked in (They came to US to celebrate my college graduation). From what I heard from them, Frank was a very nice and friendly guy.

Being a frequent traveler, I thought staying at a cheap motel is the way to go. I was pretty reluctant when my family insisted on staying here but now, I'm glad that we did. Will definitely recommend this place to my friends!

FYI Frank, by the end of our trip, we had a voting session to summarize our trip here in CA, AZ and NV. Guess who won best accommodation? ;)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! thank's so much for your wonderful review. I will have to use the "best accommodation" award on my website. LOL That's what makes this business fun. I enjoyed meeting your family. I am especially glad they enjoyed the house since they came from half way around the world.
I am also glad you had an opportunity to see some filming right down the street. They are in their third season of shooting. It's a nice bonus for travelers.
Please come back any time.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stay in Frank's Country Rustic Getaway

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

I enjoyed my stay there. It was a lovely experience. The house was very spacious and there was more than enough room for seven to sleep comfortably.

Thank you, Frank.

Owners response: Thank you for thinking of me. Please come back and visit anytime. We'll leave the light on for ya.
Take care
Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Enjoyed Our Stay

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Frank's Country Rustic Getaway. We were a group of 5 adults and the space was perfect for that amount of people. The place is very spacious. The kitchen is stocked with everything you need. There were tons of towels and blankets. Frank has done a great job making this a home away from home. The pool was a little too cold for us to really use it but it was nice to have that option. The place is a little dated but it has charm and is very unique. The location was good and it seemed like a safe neighborhood. Frank was very helpful and responsive. I recommend renting from him.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Amanda
I am so glad you enjoyed the house and that is was nice and roomy. I have done recent upgrades to make the house more cozy yet with some modern touches. The kitchen was newly remodeled with all new appliances added a week before you checked in. Also the hard wood floors throughout the house were just installed in March.
Please come back and stay any time.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Franks Country Rustic Getaway

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Frank was wonderful to rent from. He was very responsive to any questions that I had asked. I always worry booking things on-line, Frank is very trust worthy to rent from. Any correspondence he would he e-mail he always wanted you to confirm that it was received. I asked to have our security deposit mailed and received it very soon upon our return home. The house is very close to everything,Hollywood, Six Flags, Warner Brothers and it only took us 45 minutes to get to Disneyland. If you stay at Franks and have kids would highy recommend KnottsBerry farm amusement park, its a smaill park but well worth going to. The house does have a rustic look to it as described in the ad. The house has WIFI which if you have teenagers is a necessity, makes for happier teenagers on vacation. If you stay at Franks and want pizza one night, there is an awesome pizza place it was either called Lizos or Lindos but it had the best pizza.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Michelle
I am so glad you had a great time. It was indeed a pleasure to be responsive to all the things you wanted while I was on vacation. So sorry we couldn't meet as I like to meet everyone who stays at the house. I have a brand new kitchen if you should ever want to come back for good pizza.
The pizza will be my treat.
Take care
Frank

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

frank's country rustic getaway

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 9, 2012

we had a very good time at frank's house. we were a group of 5 adults and 1 young boy. we really enjoyed the back yard since it was a very sunny and worm winter. i would really sunggest this house to a friend. sam

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi Samuel
I am so glad you enjoyed the sunny winter of LA. I am also happy that you made some good musical contacts for your career. I am very pleased that the handicap ramp I installed for you worked out perfectly.
Please come back and visit anytime.
Hopefully, I will know more Italian by then.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

frank's country rustic getaway

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 9, 2012

we had a very good time at frank's house.
we were a group of 5 adults and 1 young boy.
we really enjoyed the back yard since it was a very sunny and worm winter.
i would really sunggest this house to a friend.
sam

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for families

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

My family stayed here while in LA over New Years and had a great time. Plenty of space, convenient location off the 405 and owner was very responsive.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Michelle
I am so glad your family got to spend New Years at the house. Please come back and visit anytime.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great place for families

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

We stayed for 8 nights and it was such a wonderful trip. It was close to Universal studios and the beaches (we went to santa monica, venice, zuma, hunington beach and malibu beach) and magic mountain. We also drove to Griffith park, observatory, hollywood and Beverly Hills area, everything was within an hour from where we were staying. It was great, we could have breakfast there in the morning, pack a picnic lunch and eat dinner out on the way back home-so much to see, we were gone exploring all day. The kids went swimming in the morning and evenings, they liked the pool quite a bit. It was alot more convenient and private than staying in a hotel room with way more room. It was comfortable for our family size of 6. The master bedroom was Huge. There was plenty of living area and closet space. They were filming a movie in the house before we got there and were finishing up in the house next door, it was fun seeing the movie crew-that was part of our LA experience. It will be a trip to remember. We got to meet Frank and he was very friendly, he was very good about answering questions prior to our arrival. We liked the palm trees all around, the weather was awesome, a nice change from washington. I would definately recommend this house to rent to a friend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks Kathy
I am so glad you had a good time. I really enjoyed your family. Please come back and jump in the pool when
Washington becomes to cold. I will have the sunscreen waiting for you.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A wonderful rustic getaway

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

Thanks Frank for lovely place to stay.Not only would recommend it,I already have to my friends. My family and I throughly enjoyed our stay.Great location, all L.A. attractions a short drive away. Thanks once again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much. I am glad you had a great stay and found everything convenient and accessible. Please come back to vist when England is getting a bit cold for you. LOL
Take care
Frank

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stop #2 on our tour of California

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

Frank's place was the first villa on our trip around California. It was late when we arrived but the directions and instructions for entry made everything simple. We were a party of 5 adults and two children and we were all very comfortable during our stay.
The location is great for visiting Hollywood and other north LA attractions.
The kids loved the pool, and we all enjoyed relaxing in the lounge after a long day out.
We travel to Florida a lot and are used to the very large, modern villas. As the name suggests, this is a rustic property so don't expect it to be like a Florida rental. However, on the plus side, it is great value compared to other properties in the area and a lot better than staying in a hotel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Adrian
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit anytime.
Kind Regards
Frank

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Stay at Frank's Country Rustic Getaway

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

Our stay at Frank's Getaway was pleasurable. Easy to get to, close to restaurants and shopping, parking adequate and a quiet neighborhood so close to the City. The house was clean with a substantial amount of comfortable sleeping area. The Kitchen was big enough to gather in while the meals were prepared. The outside courtyard was the favorite area if it wasn't the Dining table and area. Overall, it seemed close to being home while being away. I would recommend this to larger groups or large families. We will return again. Laddie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Laddie. It is good to have you as a repeat customer. I am glad your project in LA was such a success.
Take care
Frank

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

"Comfortable, spacious, home-away-from-home!"

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2011

This will be our fifth year staying at Frank's Country Getaway, for ten days
during the summer. We have always enjoyed our stay. This property is
family-friendly, well-kept, comfortable, and has easy access to the main
highways. There is an excellent hospital/walk-in nearby for any emergency.
The house is located on a lovely, quiet, side street, that is lined with tall palm trees, It is a very relaxing place to return to after a long day of touring or visiting...the pool is a wonderful asset! The house has a washer/dryer (we don't have to pack as many clothes!) a/c, a full kitchen, and comfortable, clean beds. The kitchen allows us to eat breakfast before heading out for the day. The dining room and living room areas are comfortable. Although there is a nice shower in the master bathroom, the jet-tub is not in service. The shower in the second bathroom is small but adequate. Closets and storage for clothing is plentiful.
There is off-the-street parking, as well. Frank has always been reliable, attentive and easily accessible to us, and has been a pleasure to work with him over the years.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Terry I always look forward to you and your family's visit. It is a great treat for me to have you as a regular client. I hope that you keep coming back until we are both retired. LOL See you soon. Take care Frank

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review