reviews for: listing #1837 - Birch Bay, Washington Condo rental

Birch Bay Condo
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Jacob's Landing
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $125 /nt
    $700 - $875 /wk

sort by:

At the beach with the grand kids

Review submitted: August 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 13, 2014

Loved our stay! Took the grand kids for a few days at the beach, they loved it too. The condo felt like home and had a nice beach theme. There was everything we needed and more, condiments and utensils, just like home. We had fun at the indoor heated pool and played foosball in the game room. We played UNO one night, so nice that there were games there for us to use in the condo and we brought DVD's with us to watch at night, the DVD player was a great addition. The view was spectacular, took lots of pics and posted them on Facebook for friends and family to see. Definitely will be booking again in the future! Thanks Kay Dee for making us feel so welcome!!! I think my next visit will be a romantic getaway. Jeanne

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Many thanks, Jeanne. We aim to please!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Get Away Weekend

Review submitted: August 17, 2014   Date of arrival: August 15, 2014

Just wanted to say thank you again for the stay in your wonderful condo. What a fabulous location and view! We had a great, relaxing weekend. We enjoyed walking the beach, walking down to C Store, as well as down to the Birch Bay Market, swimming and just relaxing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: All the activities you mentioned come free with your stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little bit of Heaven

Review submitted: August 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

A fabulous waterfront location with a magnificent view and all the comforts of home. Whether you are an adventure seeker, water enthusiast or simply long for relaxation and a good book, this is a perfect condo.
Cindy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: AGREED. As one guest said, "This is like Hawaii only cheaper!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls weekend getaway

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

Thank you Kay Dee and Bud for letting us stay in your beautiful condo.
It was a perfect girls weekend getaway!!! Little bit of shopping and LOTS of relaxing by the beach. We loved your paintings!!!It felt like home to us, everything we needed was there. We had lots of fun bird watching and beach combing.
We will definitely come back!!!
Thank you, Eva and Andrea from BC.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

We LOVED our stay!

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

We truly appreciated being able to stay at this beautiful place this past summer. The condo was warm and inviting...and allowed us to relax in comfort! We spent several evenings bbq-ing on the porch. And the beach with it's wonderfully warm water was only a stones through away! Thank you again!!

Owners response: We love having guests from the Olympic Peninsula to show them our beauty!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5 STARS from Arizona!

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

"These owners have their act together. Clean, well furnished, nice wall decor, etc. Even had laundry detergent! We would recommend and visit again. Nice time."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Birch Bay Condo

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

This condo is the perfect getaway. It is my family's favorite place to stay in Birch Bay. The views out the patio door are spectacular and you can just walk straight across to the beach. The condo is always clean and has everything you need. The kitchen is well stocked for an evening bbq after a day at the beach. We have stayed here many times at different times of the year and it never disapoints, everything from watching the polar bear swimmers on New Years Day with a cozy fire in the living room, or a nice swim in the pool, or just relaxing on the patio watching the sunset. The views are my favorite part of this condo. The owners are very accomadating and friendly. I would highly recommend this condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! Returning guests become friends over time. It is our priority to accommodate vacationers and make their stay special ANY time of the year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful getaway with comforts of home

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

This condo is truly a home away from home. The view of the water is stunning. I found I could enjoy the outdoors from inside by just opening the sliding door. Very serene atmosphere...the water of the bay is so quiet and peaceful. The surrounding mountains, trees, wildlife, etc. are incredible to the nature lover. Nice to have all the essentials of a home at hand, including laundry and kitchen. The area is fairly quiet in April and May, but the weekends can be busier (but festive with vacationers) when sunny. a picnic or roasting marshmallows at the State Park, or walking out on the sand when the tide was out provided ample enjoyment of the sun and peaceful surroundings. Would be a good place for kite flying. I only ate at CJ's, but the food is good...nice to eat outside overlooking the bay weather permitting! The C Shop is fun place for treats. They have a public market on weekends. Fun to rent bikes to ride to State park. Perfect for a quiet and peaceful getaway for those who enjoy nature.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We agree! Watching the herons and eagles is more than most people experience in a lifetime. Clamming and crabbing are unique adventures as well. When you add these to the beauty and serenity of Birch Bay, it doesn't get much better than that. Thank you Christina~
The Powells

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great vacation with little ones!

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the condo - well equipped and very comfortable.
So nice to be able to step out onto the patio and grass, and just a short walk across the street to the beach. My daughters and little granddaughters all enjoyed it!! We will definitely consider going back again another time ...or 2 or 3 :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We love having 3 generations enjoying our condo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Treat

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

What a treat to spend a couple of nights here in Birch Bay at your place! it truly felt like home--comfortable and well appointed. The kids loved the beach and we loved the unbelievable view. Breakfast and dinner on the patio were peaceful, calm and relaxing without a care in the world. Thanks for your generous hospitality!

Marian and Albert
Burnaby, B.C.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for a Family with Little Ones!

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful time! This is our 2nd time renting a condo from you, and I know we will be coming back again!

This place is so cozy and warming--and so easy. Just bring food and beach supplies. Perfect for a family with little ones!

We are off to find baby crabs!

Matt, Christina, and kids
Kenmore, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation So Far!

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

This has been the best vacation so far! The scenery, quietness, everything about Birch Bay was more than amazing. The kids loved going shell finding and building sand castles!

Thank you Kay Dee! Your place is amazing and really felt like home. The kids don't even want to leave.

We will definitely be coming back,
Bobby & Sumeet
Surrey, B.C.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Annual Getaway

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

Thanks again to the Powells for your wonderful hospitality and sharing.

There are not words to describe the joy I find in coming here and being able to rent from you folks each year.

Phyllis
Lynden, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Little Slice of Heaven"

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

Just checking out after 4 wonderful days. Everything was wonderful! What a perfect place for a family reunion. the club house was a great "extra."

Thank you for sharing your "Little Slice of Heaven."

Laurie, Zoe, and Doug
Bellingham, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Loved Everything

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

We absolutely loved everything about your facility.

Thanks, Powells. You are the BEST!

Pat & Bob
Kennedy Sk. Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Had a Ball

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

We had a ball here--perfect weather, gorgeous area. We're from CA with 107 degrees this week, so this was HEAVEN!

Went whale watching and saw many whales and porpoises. Tried to go to Victoria for high tea at the Empress, but the ferry was fogged in. Friday Harbor, Deception Pass, Coupeville, and La Conner were super...but this area is unsurpassed in its beauty. Loved beach walks, hikes, parks, sunsets, kayaking, and this CONDO!

Two Barbies from CA

Next time: Bringing husbands!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

Such a lovely couple of days as your guests at Birch Bay! Beautiful sunsets, long walks, and eagles and loons.

Here's hoping for a return visit someday.

Thank you,
Robin and David
Cleveland, OH

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Birch Bay Bliss

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay
at your condo on Birch Bay.
We sure had lots of fun
but could have used more sun...
Your place is quite exquisite
We would love to return and visit.

We had a wonderful rest
and the scenery was the best.
We love Kay Dee and her art.
Obviously Jesus is in her heart!

Hope to see you on a return
'Til then our hearts will yearn
For another day
to spend at Birch Bay.

John & Sandy
Pella, Iowa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Michigan Guests Rate 5 Stars!

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

Thank you for renting us your condo. The view of the water is beautiful. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay, even though it was short!

We hope to come this way once more.

Thanks again,
Ealy and Sharon
Three Rivers, Michigan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This Place is Awesome!

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

This place is awesome! We love the closeness to the beach, the availability to everything we need during our stay. Everything was amazing...a great way to spend my Mother's Day weekend!

Thanks again for this last minute getaway!

Kyle, Jennifer, and Kayden
Federal Way, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breathtaking!!

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

The view from your lovely condo is gorgeous! It made for a perfectly relaxing environment for our sisters' weekend away.

Thank you for your hospitality. We look forward to this little slice of heaven when we return in the future.

Mary, Peggy, Joan, and Jenny

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Long Term Stay

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

I have had the best time staying in Kay Dee and Bud's place while working here in Washington. They are the best hosts you will ever meet, bar none. They have made my 8 month stay as pleasant as being away from my family could possibly be. The condo is great--great view and comfortable. The bed is amazing.

I have been here working at Conoco doing a turnaround which makes me work long hours. The Powells have made my stay wonderful. I would definitely stay here again.

Thanks for everything,
Billy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location and View

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

This was a perfect place for us to use as a home base for ten days as we have relatives in Canada as well as WA. We loved the location and view, the comforts of your condo, and the sunsets. 5 Stars!

Fred and Leona
San Diego, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memories

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Thank you so very much Kay Dee. My family and I had the most amazing time in your beautiful condo. I've been waiting a long time to come to visit my mother, and it couldn't have been better. We felt right at home.

I have never seen a move beautiful sunset. WOW. Thanks again for your kindness. The memories will last a lifetime.

Steve, Candice, and Baby Josephine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Place!

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

Thank you so much. We three families had a great time. Condo very comfortable. Kids loved the pool.

Thanks again--see you next year!
Al & Bev
Surrey, B.C.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comforts of Home

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

Thank you for providing such a comfortable place for us to spend a couple of days. My daughter and I enjoyed the comforts of home, the beach, and the beautiful view all in one. The weather was perfect. Wish we could stay longer!!!

Sue and Erin
Langley, B.C.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

Thank you for providing such a lovely healing environment for our family. You have thought of every "homey touch".

Enjoyed your paintings! Might be great to fill the beach condo exclusively with your art!

Your son Brian was very kind and welcoming.

Blessings,

Kimberly and Brian
Tina and Grace
Redmond, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Condo 1105

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

The condo was so clean and fresh. The view was beyond words and the condo had everything you could need. Great experience and we will return soon. Highly recommended, the owner is awesome to work with. The resturant on the bay was great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love having young families with cute little babies to enjoy our condo and our great beach resort. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

Our stay was absolutely amazing! Kay Dee's condo was so much more than just a condo. Her touch really made her condo special. It really felt like home and the kids didn't want to go back when it was time to leave.

The condo was walking distance to the beach and to the local shops. We spent our days shell finding, at the indoor pool, water slides, and watching the sunset from our patio. I could sit on the patio and watch the ocean and Mountains all day long.

And all the dishes, appliances, towels, pretty much everything you need was available. We didn't have to eat out at all and that's what I loved.

Thank you Kay Dee!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love having beautiful families like yours. Paradise? We agree!
Kay Dee and Bud, owners of Birch Bay Condo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome 4th of July!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

What a great place to celebrate the 4th of July: perfect weather, big yellow moon, amazing fireworks, and a well-maintained, clean beach condo. It doesn't get much better than this! 5 Stars to the Powells' Birch Bay Condo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So much fun!

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Amazing place and amazing view. Loved how close the beach is and loved the indoor pool! We are already talking about our nex trip here, we will most certainly be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's always our pleasure to have young families as our guests. The weather was splendid, making it a perfect Mother's Day weekend. Thank you, Jen.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Labor Day weekend

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

We had a lovely time in this condo on Birch Bay! The view is lovely and the sunsets were gorgeous. The unit was very clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen was very well supplied. I really appreciated that it included, in addition to the usual "service for 6", a nice sturdy knife set (not the usual flimsy serrated ones), more than the usual number of serving/salad bowls, 2 cookie sheets, scissors, and assorted spices and things. Items on my wish list would be a larger cutting board (I found 3, but 2 of them were really small; the 3rd was average, but small for my task of cutting up a watermelon), and a BATH MAT (perhaps we just didn't find it???). The mattress (queen) was very comfortable, though when given the option, we normally choose units with King beds. My husband loved that there was a TV in the bedroom :)

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: OOPS! We left the bath mat in the dryer. So sorry!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Labor Day weekend

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

We had a lovely time in this condo on Birch Bay! The view is lovely and the sunsets were gorgeous. The unit was very clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen was very well supplied. I really appreciated that it included, in addition to the usual "service for 6", a nice sturdy knife set (not the usual flimsy serrated ones), more than the usual number of serving/salad bowls, 2 cookie sheets, scissors, and assorted spices and things. Items on my wish list would be a larger cutting board (I found 3, but 2 of them were really small; the 3rd was average, but small for my task of cutting up a watermelon), and a BATH MAT (perhaps we just didn't find it???). The mattress (queen) was very comfortable, though when given the option, we normally choose units with King beds. My husband loved that there was a TV in the bedroom :)

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Greatest landlords on the planet!

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

Nothing compliments a spectacular area of the country better than accommodations that mimic home. Upon arrival, we were certain that we'd found our home away from home. VERY clean, extremely comfortable, beautifully decorated, pleasant neighbors and then...THE VIEW! Our only problem was the lack of time to take in all that this paradise has to offer: the San Juans, Mt. Baker, Vancouver, the food, Bellingham, the weather and did I mention THE VIEW from the patio. To top it all off, Kay Dee will become one of your most endearing friends. Do yourself a favor and take a unforgetable vacation by staying in Birch Bay in your home away from home; number 1105 in Jacobs Landing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! We do our best to accommodate guests who return to become good friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Birch Bay Condo Jacob's Landing

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

I had a fabulous two month stay at Kay Dee and Bud Powell's condo in Birch Bay. The nature right outside the door was welcoming every morning as I walked the beach. Beautiful. Quite. Peaceful. Many things to do right there along Birch Bay Drive. Grand view of sunsets and sunrises. Nice, friendly people everywhere and very quiet surroundings. Highly recommended. Oh, the best landlords you could ever ask for. Everything provided and if not, just ask! :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very peaceful

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 14, 2011

Very peacrful and friendly atmosphere. Lots to do around Birch Bay and in White Rock, CDA. The owners are very, very friendly. Will be coming back again and rent from them!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location location location

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

This gem at Jacobs Landing is a truly charming seaside condo. Very clean!! and well equipped. We wanted for nothing. There was lots to do even on a rainy day. Arrangements and communication with owners was easy and made convenient for us.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! We enjoy having Canadians share the beauty of Birch Bay and our condo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good karma !!!

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

We found this place after a bad experience with another homeowner in Anacortes. Kay Dee and Bud were a god-sent. Accommodating and friendly.
We had a minor issue with the water heater, and Bud came promptly to resolve it.
The condo was perfect for our needs, spotless, well-appointed and comfortable.
Waking to the bay outside the window provided a serenity hard to put into words.
Visited the tulip festival, Washington Park and San Juan Islands. And the moon over the bay at night punctuated our wonderful days.
Thank you Kay Dee and Bud - it was a genuine delight.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Birch Bay Condo

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

Description was correct, Property was so very clean! Very comfortable, I turned down several locations because of cleanliness. Great customer service. I would recommend to a friend. The restaurants we went on the strip and in Bellingham were good.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for noticing. We enjoy meeting all our guests, and we aim to please!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Condo

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

What a blast! My family had such a great time staying at Jacob's Landing. The location was perfect and our condo was neat, clean and had everything we need. Perfect little get-a-way for a family with young children!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

More fun than you can believe in 72 hours

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

Kay Dee and Bud, you’re the best!
We completely enjoyed our mini vacation 7/30/10 - 8/2/10. We so much love your beautiful home and all Birch Bay has to offer to both adults and teens. Along with squeezing in 5 baseball games in 2 days we were able to enjoy the Beach, Bay swimming, pool swimming, BBQ’s, bone fires, go karts, waterslides, sunsets and sunrise.
The neighbors are all friendly as well as everyone we meet along the strip. We look forward to next years visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This family knows how to maximize the most of our gorgeous area: nature, sports, and thrills...even a bonfire on the beach at sunset. We enjoy having active families here.

P.S. Our condo is also nice for a quiet, romantic getaway!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Blessings on your condo

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

What a joy it was to relax and unwind at your beautiful beach getaway. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was surprising how all of your special touches made us feel so quickly at home here. We fully appreciate all the care and effort you have put into the place so that your guests didn’t spend half their vacation buying things that were missing. Our prayer is that God will multiply this blessing that you have made for others…With love and 4 big smiles, The Moldenhauers Indio, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2010

We had a wonderful time playing in and on the beach and the pool. Your neighbors are very friendly and fun. The twins loved the pool. The weather was excellent for this time of year for use of the beach.

The condo has special touches in decorating for the atmosphere. You thought of everything. We will be back. Lynda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Romantic Anniversary

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

We are so grateful we found you! We felt so at home and were delighted with what we found when we arrived. Your love & care was evident in the small details you put into this cozy retreat. Even classical music and candles! We loved every minute here. It was so nice to be back for our 20th wedding anniversary. God bless, Glen and Helen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved It

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2009

Thank you so much for creating such a warm, welcoming and relaxing home for your guests. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and are having a difficult time leaving! You have made so many homey touches here. We can’t wait to come back again! Sara & Daron

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review