reviews for: listing #18385 - Yosemite, California House rental

SierraScape ~Incredible Creekside Cabin. Secluded, Spa, View
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $215 - $285 /nt
    $1,475 - $1,925 /wk

sort by:

Quiet and Comfortable Retreat

Review submitted: May 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

My wife and I spent a wonderful 4 days at Sierrascape. The weather was perfect -- hot and sunny during the day and cool at night. We made use of the hot tub, the BBQ and the many leveled deck. It was great to sit and watch the many birds surrounding the cottage from larger raptors, to a wild turkey and finches. We were also entertained by lizards on the rocks.
We thoroughly appreciated the private setting with its lovely and unique gardens. The cottage was comfortable and well equipped. The kitchen had everything we needed, the shower was great as you felt you were almost outside, and the bed in the master suite was extremely comfortable.
Our only issue was with the heater which was tempermental and often took several tries to get the fan to work.
Highly recommend as a fine base to explore Gold Rush towns and Yosemite.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Value
Location
Sleep Quality
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Less

See all 3 reviews by bjlOshawa_Ontario for Mariposa
Ask bjlOshawa_Ontario about Sierrascape

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dream Honeymoon

Review submitted: May 25, 2014   Date of arrival: May 12, 2014

Such a cute little place! We spent half our honeymoon here and couldnt have asked for a more secluded and beautiful place. The house is adorable! Just big enough and fully furnished, the two bathrooms and full laundry make it feel just like home. The kitchen was fully furnished and the patio a dream come true to outdoor lovers. Numerous birdfeeders bring birdlife right outside the windows all throughout the day! We spent candlelit nights out on the patio in the hot tub and saw a racoon and a bobcat! The drive to Yosemite is a little far, but not because of the actual mileage but the winding mountain roads. The town of Mariposa has everything you need for your stay as well as some great gift shops and places to eat. I couldnt recommend this place enough for a family trip or a romantic getaway for two! And the owner is awesome she came to jump our rental car when the battery died no questions asked and with lightening speed! Thanks again for such a wonderful and beautiful experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Don't hesitate

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

We visit the USA perhaps twice each year and always rent a house for the last week of our tour - at or near somewhere beautiful. We've rented houses from Down East Maine to Washington State to Tennessee. And in California, of course. All these places have been glorious - and I'm fussy - BUT Sierra Scape, near Mariposa and the staggering Yosemite, beats them all by a country mile. This was a wonderful spot to build a house and the house is marvellous. It isn't huge but it's big enough. It's full of everything you might want and more besides. It's prettily and thoughtfully equipped and decorated. The unspoiled grounds are full of interest too, not least a creek at the edge of the property. I've found little flakes of gold there (it's called Italian Creek and must have been panned-out a century ago but there were enough little flakes to 'wow' me) and there are trees and plants and birds and critters in abundance. We always hope we'll go back to the places we've stayed in but time's short and the world's a big place. Sierra Scape has been the exception though. We have been back and we intend to go back again The house seems to be isolated and is very private (truly suits us) but it's close to Mariposa where you can spend an afternoon wandering about and soaking up the atmosphere (and the beer/wine). Yosemite is close and very thrilling even to an accidental tourist like me. My husband does serious walks/climbs there. He'll be away for the day and loves it and all it has to offer. It's his favourite place in the whole world - and we've lived and worked all over the world. (Meanwhile, I chill on the wonderful deck at Sierra Scape and eventually haul myself out of the spa and get around to making our dinner. The kitchen is wonderfully well stocked with everything you might need.) Our hosts, Kristy and Jerry, could not be more helpful and obliging. The local info they leave for you is comprehensive. Don’t hesitate. Go see for yourselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a wonderful place to unwind

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a wonderful New Years in this lovely home. Kirsty and Jerry have thought of everything and we were never without the information we needed to have a great time in Yosemite. The outside decks are spacious and having wine and dipping in the hot tub under the stars could not be a more romantic way to spend a vacation! We will certainly go back to Sierrascape next time we visit Yosemite.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Cabin Escape!

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

The Sierrascape home is breathtaking and beautiful ~ you really feel like you're away from the hustle nestled in the mountains where the air is fresh, and the only sounds around are from the wildlife and howling coyotes. The stars are stunning...the home is cozy with a great fireplace stocked with wood. I enjoyed the master bathroom...taking a luxurious bath while looking out at nature...a late night hot tub...the master bed is very comfortable and the kitchen is great for cooking up a holiday meal. You're also close enough to jump into the town of Mariposa for dinner and Yosemite is a 45 min adventure from there. My only regret was only staying 3 days...we wanted to stay longer.

The property is clean, well maintained, and looked even better than the pictures once we arrived. We were traveling with our little yorkie who really liked walking around outside and sitting by the fireplace.

Kirsty and Jerry were kind, accommodating, and helped us with our questions. I recommend Sierrascape for couples or small families who want a change of pace.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Government shut down.

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

Thank you Kirsty and Jerry for leasing our house to us. What was intended to be a grand celebration in Yosemite, was almost a disaster. The government shut the park down and even though you could drive thru Tioga pass, there was a snow storm that closed the pass. Sierra Scape was a wonderful refuge. We enjoyed the barbecue, the hot tub and the unique setting. It was great for trips into town and the peeks we had of the lower valley in the park. The house was wonderful and the book of things to do and places to eat was well used and appreciated. I would love to return in the spring and see the brook at a full run. It looks amazing even without water.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loving life at Yosemite

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Sierrascape was perfect. Everything was provided, very clean and neat and ideally located. The owner handled transactions very professionally, and there were no issues what-so-ever. Great place for a couple to get away from it all.

Oh yeah .... Yosemite was awesome too!

Ken & Liz Korecky

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Peaceful, romantic hideaway

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We recently stayed at Sierrascape and enjoyed every moment we were there! It is a quaint, eclectic little home perched above a creek. It has an incredible, inviting deck out back with a hot tub where you can lie back and count the falling stars! There are 2 comfortable bedrooms with privacy and plenty of room. The kitchen is well stocked with the basics and the owners leave a very nice book to explain the details of the home along with plenty of information about the local places to eat and visit. We went to Yosemite one day and Bear Lake the next, would highly recommend! Note: the creek was dry during the summer but the view from the deck is still very relaxing even without the running water below.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing and Homey

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

we stayed with another couple in Sierrascape, a lovely three bedroom home outside of Mariposa set in the woods above a little brook. in april the brook is running (i understand it is dry later in the year) and the rocky hillside down is covered in lupines. there is a multi level deck overlooking it with lots of seating areas, a gas grill and hot tub (which comes in very handy after a day of hiking in Yosemite). the deck is charmingly decorated and a great place to have coffee in the morning and listen to the brook. inside, the kitchen is the best equipped and stocked kitchen we have ever had. Kirsty and Jerry have thought of everything. condiments and spices are all provided as are many of the other little things you forget to pick up at the grocery store. there is a flat screen tv in the living room with movies provided and a beautiful fireplace (very handy for cool nights). the beds are comfortable with plenty of towels provided. it is about an hour along a beautiful ride to the heart of yosemite and a perfect place to come back to at the end of the day. Kirsty and Jerry have stocked the house with many books about the area including hike books of yosemite and they also put together a very helpful and thoughtful binder containing lots of information about the area and things to do. making reservations was very easy and they are great to deal with. the house was very clean. very good internet service and there are house phones as here like many mountain areas cell service is spotty at best. we had a great time and would highly recommend it.

Owners response: So glad you two couples enjoyed your stay and found the home to be JUST what you'd all hoped for, after choosing from those that are available on VRBO. You were delightful guests, we sure hope to have you return some day!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at SierraScape!

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

After researching and comparing several rental homes online in preparation for our family trip to Yosemite, we chose SierraScape. We could not have been happier with our selection! The owners, Kirsty and Jerry, were great to deal with.

The home is very nicely decorated, comfortable, and well stocked and we instantly felt at home. The beds were all comfortable, the baths are more than adequate, and the tub and shower are huge. The river rock fireplace gives the living space a cozy, cabin-like ambiance.

One great feature is that the property is large and you see no other houses from SierraScape. While there are homes nearby, you feel secluded and out in nature. We saw a bobcat, wild turkey, and lots of birds. The feeders on the deck attracted many species of brightly colored small birds throughout the day.

While the kitchen is relatively small, it had everything we needed and more. We enjoyed the kitchen and dining area so much that we threw out the plans to try the local restaurants and fixed breakfast at home every morning. We also packed lunches for our daily trip into Yosemite which proved a very good idea because many of the eateries within the park were closed for the season. We did go out for dinner twice after long days of hiking and found that Mariposa has good restaurants just a few minutes' drive from SierraScape.

The decks at SierraScape have amazing views of the seasonal creek which was full with the Spring run off. The sounds of the cascading water was soothing while we relaxed and read on the deck. The barbecue looks to be new and we used it to cook an excellent dinner. The jacuzzi was also great - we enjoyed viewing the starry sky while relaxing in it every night before bed.

Kirsty and Jerry have compiled an amazing notebook at SierraScape that has everything you need to enjoy the Yosemite and Gold Country area. It also has all the instructions for the home to make your stay as easy and comfortable as possible.

When we go back to Yosemite, SierraScape will definitely be our first choice for lodging!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank so much Dave for your review! Really enjoyed having you and were thrilled to learn how pleased you are were with the Scape. Thoroughly looking forward to welcoming you all back!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A home away from home far from home

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 16, 2013

I chose this property on the internet - as I'm sure many do - and I saw the multitude of pictures of this property, yet still filled in my own impressions as to what it might be like. I must say, that I still could not have imagined a place so warm and inviting. The house was already warm on a cold day, with music playing and the fire in the fireplace was all set up, just waiting for a match.

This house is a home. It may not be MY home, but every detail and every corner has been treated with love and care, just waiting for it's invited guests. Coming from LA, it was a lovely counterpoint to our noisy, stressful lives. The only 'noise' comes from a creek that runs under the property, to which the photos provided do not do it justice. It is so lovely to wake up, bring your coffee outside onto this lovely, large deck and hear the water cascading down the meandering rocks.

There is not one thing that this cabin lacked. Every detail from cleaning supplies, to spices, to board games, to hiking guides is all provided. I honestly did not come up with one thing that wasn't there that we needed.The beds are comfortable and there is extra everything, blankets, towels, dishes.

We were there to primarily visit Yosemite in winter, we were provided careful maps and guides, plus suggestions in nearby Mariposa and Oakhurst with regard to groceries and restaurants, plus history books so that we could gain a better understanding of the area. We still had to touch base from time to time and were really happy there was wi-fi in the house.

The overall ambiance is one of cabin/country charm. If you are looking for something more modern and streamlined, a cabin in the woods probably isn't the place for you anyway. But if you want a place where you can get up and make your own breakfast then nestle into a comfortable chair outside to read and chill, then this will be the perfect place.

It is a cozy, wonderful home and both Kirsty and Jerry - the owners - are so warm and accommodating that you will feel as we did upon leaving; counting the days until you can return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bless your heart Lisa, thanks so much for your kind review, it is SO important to us that our guests be satisfied and we were really pleased to know that you indeed were. Until next time... ;-)

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Exceeded all expectations.

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a getaway from all the pressures of work and family and found the perfect spot. More than we expected, better than we hoped, superior in virtually every way. Feels like home the moment you walk in. Close enough for Yosemite day trip. Private, beyond clean, charming and has all the comforts of home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You were delightful guests, we were so glad to be able to offer the respite you two were so deserving. Thank you so much for your succinct description of SierraScape and we'll see you again before too long. K & J

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Treat yourself to this amazing home/retreat!

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

This is a beautiful home for those who want to treat themselves to a day (or 10) of quiet respite. The home is well maintained, Jerry and Kirsty and VERY helpful and accommodating, and the place is well represented by the pictures on this site here. And, there is a "manual/guidebook" for the house that has absolutely all the info you would ever need about the house and the area. I can't imagine how long it took to put it all together but it is an indication of the level of commitment Kirsty and Jerry have towards making sure your stay is fabulous.

What can't be represented however is the feel and experience of the place. Imagine a beautiful day in Yosemite then returning to Sierrascape to enjoy a real wood fire in a great fireplace and then as the fire dies down, slithering out to the hot tub to sit and soak while gazing at a sky filled with stars while listening to the rush of the Merced River below us. On a day we didn't go to Yomemite we sat in the sun on the deck while being lulled to sleep by the sound of the river.

If you are total type A who can't ever turn it off, this might not be your place. But this type A needed to shut down for awhile and this was the perfect place for me to do that.

We had a great breakfast at the Sugar Pine Cafe in Mariposa; great bar-b-que at Todd's in Oakhurst and make sure to check out the wraps at the Traingle Cafe about 5 miles from the house.

FWIW - some have mentioned here that the trip to Yosemite from the house is about the same time via each route (140 and 41). I can assure you Hwy 41 will take at least 30 minutes more than going via 140.

I will definitely be back and I have already told many people about Sierrascape. I probably haven't been so relaxed in over 3 years. Thanks Kirsty and Jerry!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Well thank you so much Megan for your review! We so enjoyed meeting you both and were really pleased that you found what you were looking for with SierraScape. The creek (not actually the Merced River) is indeed a wonderful feature here, there's no other place in the entire Mariposa area that has anything like it to offer. The drive you mentioned into Yosemite via Hwy 41 is indeed about the same distance to "Yosemite", just not to the valley itself. For folks wanting to spend the day at the south end of Yosemite (and see Glacier Point, the Giant Sequoias and Wawona) it is MUCH shorter to do it by going up Hwy 41 from here than to go all the way through the park from a destination nearer Yosemite Valley. Thanks again for your feedback, we appreciate it! Enjoy the memories ;-). K & J

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Sierrascape in late October and truly enjoyed our stay. Charming place, well appointed, and located in a peaceful private location far from the city lights. We enjoyed wonderful evenings in the hot tub under the moon and stars. Owners provided very helpful information before arrival and the home included a hikers's guide of Yosemite complete with pictures that we used to plan our day hikes in the park - we hiked to Taft point, sentinel dome, and inspiration point and a few others shorter walks all based on their guidebook. The home is full of charming touches - including a small turtle figurine on the rock outside the shower window which grows on you! The fireplace was all set when we arrived - all we needed was to light the match. The kitchen was well stocked with the common necessities. The nearby town of Mariposa was also fun with interesting shops and restaurants. The write-up and picture are an accurate depiction of the property. The property was clean and well maintained. We would certainly recommend Sierrascape for couples looking to get away from it all for a few days!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you both enjoyed your stay here John, and that you found the home to be as the write-up, and pictures depict it. Appreciate the review!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Rental

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

We, my husband and 2 children ages 8 and 11 had a wonderful time at Sierrascape. The house had everything you could image in the kitchen. So often rentals have the bare min. with horrible pots and pans, not the case here. The house was super clean and organized, beds were comfortable, hot tub was a winner with the kids, and the property was was beautiful. What more could one want? We just wish we could have stayed a bit longer.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for your helpful, descriptive review and for being such warm and gracious guests.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A true escape!

Review submitted: September 23, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

We choose the Yosemite area to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Sierrascape was the PERFECT retreat after hiking all day in the gorgeous mountains! Secluded yet close to town, this home was just what we were looking for. All the conveniences you need and a FANTASTIC hot tub under the stars! If you are looking for a place where you can enjoy peace and quiet Sierrascape is THE PLACE!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much Kim, we were grateful to know that your 30th anniversary was such a delight and that you were so pleased with your accommodations at The Scape. We are indeed very fortunate that the property is so totally secluded, yet just ten minutes from the quaintness and convenience of Mariposa. The hot tub and stargazing are often a hit there, glad you were able to enjoy them ;-)>. Heartfelt congratulations once again on your 30th anniversary ~ Fondly, K & J

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

We stayed at Sierrascape with our two daughters, who are 1 and 5. The location is perfect. Close to Yosemite, but also close to the conveniences of Mariposa. Kirsty was more than helpful providing a crib for our youngest, along with a highchair. Their were toys and movies for the kids to enjoy after a long day of exploring Yosemite. The kitchen is well stocked, and we felt right at home. We truly had a wonderful time, and hope to visit again. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay so much Claudia and that the location, and various conveniences were so helpful to your entire family. The home, incredibly, was left seemingly untouched, we were amazed, and very appreciative of how kindly you treated the place and the pristine condition in which it was left. We try our hardest to make our vacation rental as welcoming and convenient as we possibly can so were pleased to know that you all were so comfortable there. Looking forward to hearing from you again someday!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Sierrascape Near Yosemite

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

My daughter and I just got back from an incredible week visiting Yosemite Nat'l Park. SierraScape was the perfect place to come back to after a day of hiking. The house is just as it appears in their web-site. It is a bit of a drive to get to the park, but it is equa-distant between the Mariposa Grove entrance and they Yosemite Valley entrance. And, they are very scenic drives. The house has everything needed for a relaxing stay. The amenities inside are incredible. The spacious outside deck is a wonderful place to soak up the remaining rays of sunshine at the end of the day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review Bliss, we are, as always, so appreciative of our guest's having trusted our online representation of SierraScape and are even more pleased that you both so thoroughly enjoyed your stay there. Having the property situated in such a way that does indeed allow for that incredibly easy, and convenient course to either entrance to the park is a wonderful thing to be able to offer our guests, glad you got to enjoy Yosemite from both directions, with such ease. All the best!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We couldn't have asked for anything more!

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

If you are looking for a cookie cutter condo in which to spend your time at Yosemite, Sierrascape is not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a place to relax and feel as if you are indeed a part of the whole Yosemite experience, this is where you want to be! The home is older, making it's layout a bit quirky, but the owners have done an awesome job at making it comfortable and welcoming after a long day of hiking in the park. It has air conditioining, not central air, but if you're consciencious about shutting the windows during the heat of the day, the strategically placed air conditioners quickly cool the home in the evening. As soon as the sun goes down, you can once again open all of the windows and enjoy the sounds of the chimes, awakened by the evening breezes, and the soft scuttling of the residental nightlife in the Sierras. In the morning, you are awakened by a myraid of birds that come to the many bird feeders around the home, and you simply cannot resist their invitation to watch them from the hot tub, while you wait for your morning coffee to brew. What a wonderful way to start the day, in peace and reverence for what the Lord has made...a small tasting of what you''ll experience while in Yosemite. Yosemite National Park is 45 minutes to an hour away, but we never minded the drive. There are so many ways to get to the park, and we found Sierrascape to be equidistant to both the South and West entrances, which were our preferred approaches to and from the park. Not once did we experience the "long lines" into the park, that are advertised as reasons not to stay outside of the park, by the homeowners that are found within Yosemite. Our hosts told us to time our arrival before 10 a.m., which we did, and we always breezed right into the park. The crowds are found in Yosemite Valley and at the end of the day, we were glad to retreat to our own Siearra cabin. I'm sure we had neighbors, but you couldn't see or hear them from our location, affording us nothing but peace, quiet and privacy. Kirsty has an extrodinary talent at foreseeing the needs of her tenants. Having flown from the east coast, it would've been very difficult, as well as expensive, to arrive with our own linens, spices, cooking supplies, paper products, detergents, etc. All we had to buy was the food we wanted to prepare while we were there. In our 20+ years of rental experience, we've never been in a more well supplied rental! Thanks for a wonderful time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you all so thoroughly enjoyed SierraScape, Liane, including what you refer to as the, quote, -Quirky- layout of the home! That incredibly unique, tri-level design was totally deliberate though, Jerry's brilliant, and highly-acclaimed interior designer friend from college, Mike Burrows designed the house and was subsequently recognized for its unparalleled design. ;-) We so enjoyed having you all stay, thanks for so deeply appreciating all that The Scape has to offer. K & J

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Enchanting

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

Just an hour to the delights of Yosemite. An enchanting property in a secluded valley setting looking down onto a small stream. Fitted out to a high standard with lots of personal touches to give a home from home feel. The hot tub was sparkling clean and a credit to the owners.

The owners were very helpful and responsive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

SierraScape lives up to its advertising

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

For over 30 years my wife and I have been renting condos, cottages, cabins etc. for our vacations. Rarely have we stayed in one that displayed such care and attention as SierraScape. From the detailed driving instructions to Yosemite National Park, to the spare reading glasses in the kitchen, our every need seemed to have been anticipated. And the magnificient view and private, quiet setting merely enhanced the total experience. We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much, Ray for your positive feedback regarding your stay at SierraScape. It's always so nice to know not only that someone's enjoyed themselves, but also the many reasons why. The home was left so beautifully, your appreciation and consideration were abundantly evident and we look eagerly forward to having you back here someday. Kirsty & Jerry

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

perfect weekend

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

What a beautiful home to relax in after spending the day in Yosemite. A perfect place for couples to "get away from it all".....cant wait to visit again! Thank you......

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: This was your third stay with us, Shann and John AND at our third, and final home. They're all so different and we love that you wanted to try the lot of them out! ;-) Glad you found The Scape to your liking and we of course look forward to your returning, yet again. Fondly, Kirsty and Jerry

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sierrascape is a true gem....

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

Our stay at Sierrascape was absolutely wonderful. My husband and I were hoping for a special getaway after seeing the photos and reading the listing, but when we pulled up to it and walked through the front door we were so, so delighted! Not only was the cottage secluded in a beautiful, quiet, natural setting, but every detail of the cottage was just lovely. The layout and furnishings inside and out have the perfect blend of rustic charm, character, and comfort. It is evident the owners have put much thought and care into making each visitor feel at home during their stay. This was the perfect spot to visit Yosemite, and we also enjoyed our trips into town which is only ~10 miles away. We are so excited to visit again - it was hard to leave such a special place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: SO glad you were pleased with all that The Scape has to offer Bridget, we enjoyed having you both and deeply appreciate your choosing to leave such helpful feedback so that others may get an idea of what they can truly expect. Our posting an online description is one thing, having people, of their own accord take the time to confirm its validity is another! We thank You ~

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

very nice

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

Loved it. I would go back again ! The owners have done an excellent job with this home. They have provided every detail you can imagine. It is clean and charming. The living room is a little small but the outdoor area is incredible and spacious. We rented this home so we could see Yosemite ...To my delight the property was like a mini-park as well. You cant go wrong with this one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Looking forward to having you three back again, I'm sure you'll thoroughly enjoy seeing SierraScape in an entirely contrasting season. We appreciate your kind comments and are really pleased that you found the home, and surroundings so to your liking, it's an incredible setting to be sure. Thanks! K & J

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Honeymoon at SierraScapes

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

This property was beautifully decorated, super tidy, easy to settle into, and had a clean, well maintained hot tub that my new husband and I really enjoyed relaxing in after such a busy wedding! We loved the location of the house- so close to Mariposa and a very easy and gorgeous drive into Yosemite National Park.
We really couldn't have enjoyed our time at SierraScapes more!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for submitting your review, all the way from Ireland! We were thrilled that you both found The Scape so to your liking and that you enjoyed such a special honeymoon there. We look forward to hearing from you again when you're here in California, you'll be amazed at how different things are with the changing of the seasons! Congratulations, once again ~ K & J

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Yosemite Retreat

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

It's off the beaten path, best to get there in daylight. The owner gave great directions the day before; we also went to two places with great directions. The listing was accurate and the property was clean, with many amenities for those who need computer connections. The property had many extras, such as a washer and dryer, gas grill and hot tub. The owners were available and helpful for questions and directions. We went to Bass Lake, the Merced River recreation area, and multiple trips to Yosemite using the Rt 41 and 140 entrances. We visited, Yosemite Valley, Mariposa Grove and Glacier Point. We ate at Yosemite Lodge and a pizza place with a salad bar that was great. There are 2 good food stores in Oakhurst. I would suggest shopping after you see the house, as many food and paper products are provided. I would recommend this property to anyone who would like to get away from the tourist crowds. We saw chipmunks, finches, deer and hawks. The creek behind the house was dry, but fun to climb around.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Well it's good to know that you found our directions to both the house, and surrounding attractions so helpful Pat and also, that you all so enjoyed SierraScape and Yosemite. Good to know, too that the coffee, condiments, bottle of wine, full spice rack and plentiful paper products were to your liking, sorry if you ended up having duplicated some of those items ;-). It was a pleasure having you all at SierraScape. K & J

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Rental

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Our experience with this rental property was nothing less than fantastic! The home is lovely and well appointed, and we immediately felt at home. The property is wonderful as well...clean air, large trees, wildlife, and a beautiful little creek off the back of the house. The spa was a welcome treat after a day of hiking in Yosemite National Park. This home will be the litmus test for all future rentals we stay in. We would recommend this property to anyone, it is truly a jewel.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We LOVE hearing that Denise, can't say enough about how much it means to us that your experience with SierraScape was nothing less than "fantastic"! Our cleaning staff appreciates the feedback, too, they work so hard at preparing the home and it's nice to know it's apparent. Thanks for saying so, we sure do appreciate your review. Kirsty & Jerry

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Respite from Reality

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

From the moment we stepped in the door, we knew it was a haven for rest and relaxation. The description of the home and location were exactly as described on the website. There were so many amenities to enjoy - privacy, peacefulness, the creek, a spa, comfort, the acreage, and furnishings. This property is very well maintained and equipped with everything you may need or may need to know. The owners are extremely helpful with any concerns or questions. We would never hesitate to recommend this property to friends or relatives.
Naturally, Yosemite was the main reason we searched this area. in addition to the park, we also enjoyed our day trips to Coulterville, Groveland (a beautiful drive), and Fresno. We discovered the Mariposa Coffee Co. - a "must-stop" if you love coffee, ate at Salvadore's in Mariposa several times (Mexican fare), and attended the local art fair and wine tasting event.
All in all, this place is awesome!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ahh, Linda, what fun we had having you two as our guests! It means the world to us, knowing that you found our representation of the home and location to be so accurate and we're just thrilled that you both found your stay so interesting, and enjoyable...................

We very much appreciate your willingness to recommend us to relatives and friends, and for your having taken the time to post this review. We hope to perhaps have you visit us again someday, but seeing as you came from so far, the memories may have to suffice! ;-)

Thanks once again for choosing us and take care ~ Kirsty and Jerry

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Not as described!

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

I just returned from spending the weekend at Sierrascape with my Sister and Brother in Law. The owners told me there were 2 bathrooms with one being a Master Bath. The only bathroom with a shower was located upstairs from the Master next to the kitchen. We all had to share the bathroom shower. There is one small powder room between the two upper bedrooms which didn't work. The small air conditioner in the livingroom that barely cooled the downstairs while the two bedrooms upstairs were like an oven til midnight. I had to sleep on the floor downstairs in front of the ac. To top it all off there were three books of strict rules and regulations which were meant to be read upon arrival. We found it all so unfriendly. The home is located off a dirt road also not mentioned and 10 miles from town. Mosqitoes were a nightmare and made enjoying the patio impossible. All in all not worth the money!

Owners response: Wow... We are absolutely amazed at the incredible inaccuracy and unfairness of this spiteful woman's deceitful description of SierraScape. We suppose that when one offers their vacation homes for long enough, eventually, something like this is bound to occur. This was our 965th guest in over seven years of renting and never, ever have we encountered such bizarre and vindictive behavior. After an incredibly minor change in her cleaning fee that was in complete compliance with her rental agreement, this woman quite unexpectedly went off the deep end, threatening to report me to VRBO and to Visa. For what, exactly, I wondered but in an effort to avoid what was quickly becoming an unreasonable objection to an agreed upon fee, I immediately refunded her that amount as it certainly wasn't worth the ordeal... that was not good enough... I was abruptly accused of being a "psycho!!" and her retaliatory review immediately followed. As for Peggy's description of the home's layout, I can only assume she did not even BEGIN pay attention to our online listing. We take great pride in providing a complete, and ACCURATE description of the entire home… "Master Bath"? never. It is called a "full bath", which it is, AND we explain exactly which level of the home it is on., the “First floor”. The online description also clearly explains that the 2nd bath is in fact only a "half" bath (which is always in FULL working order, I assure you). EVERY bedroom AND the front room have their own A/C units, and "three books of strict rules and regulations" Huh?? Our "welcome book" is full of local information, restaurant suggestions, coupons, schedules, detailed directions, the few necessary check-out procedures etc., but nowhere are there “strict rules & regulations”, and we have only ONE book, not three. "Located off a ‘dirt’ road". Say WHAT?? This home is in fact located DIRECTLY off a paved, county maintained road & the driveway is gravel, not dirt, ALL the way up to the house. We are proud, managing owners of 3 well-established (since 2004) Yosemite area vacation rentals and are extremely conscientious, treating all of our guests with the utmost respect & consideration. It is our hope that you will take this retaliatory review with a grain of salt and give equal, or greater value to the other reviews that have been thoughtfully submitted by our many, more reliable guests. (you may also refer to VRBO ID's 71178 & 72162 for additional reviews on how we, in truth, do business). K & J

Helpful votes: 4 / 8

 

"Little Yosemite" at SierraScape

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2011

Hi Kirsty,

We had a wonderful, quiet time at your place with our dogs. The rushing creek and large boulders on your property is like a "little Yosemite." And enjoyed the beautiful surroundings with birds, bright stars in a well designed and unique secluded home. Enjoyed everything about your place!

We would love to come back and visit the SierraScape soon :-)
Thanks again for providing such a wonderful place to get away.

JH

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are more than welcome, and thank you both so much for your kind words and for treating the home so nicely. We are always thrilled to learn that yet another of our guests have been pleased with their accommodations and appreciative of the incredible location and setting of SierraScape. Looking forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Serenity!!

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

We had such a lovely time at Sierrascape! We decided to get away just the two of us over the Thanksgiving week since we'd be spending Christmas the following month with our daughters back east and since our son was deployed. It was hard not being with the kids but being at Sierrascape was so relaxing and soothing it helped a lot. We didn't even mind that it rained half the time. There was a very generous supply of firewood for the beautiful stone fireplace and we took great advantage of it! Jerry and Kirsty are gracious and accommodating hosts and we felt right at home during out stay. We enjoyed a wonderful walk along the scenic country roads in the area. We discovered an awesome health food store in town. It was one of the best we'd ever been in. If I'd known it was there I wouldn't have bothered buying so many groceries to take with us! Mariposa is a cute little town that, weather permitting, makes for a lovely day of shopping and exploring. Oh, and the creek was amazing - especially after the heavy rains. And the hot tub (which we only got to enjoy once because of the rain) was wonderful, too. We highly recommend Sierrascape to any couple looking for a wonderful place to get away from it all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are once again humbled by the kindness, and appreciation of our guests, thank you again, Dan and Julene for being so gracious and for treating the home so kindly. Our local High Country Health Food Store is indeed wonderful, their info is of course posted in our reference book there at the house so interested guests can easily find them. We were pleased to know that you so enjoyed the fireplace and the amazing creek and sure wish you'd have tried that spa during the rain after all, you missed out on a really incredible experience! Thanks again, Peace and take care.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Family, A Wedding and a Winery!

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2010

Kirsty and Bob, thank you for your warm hospitality during our week-long stay in your lovely home! We were delighted when we walked in - everything is even better than it looks in the photos. And that outside deck with running creek below was fabulous and became THE photo op place!

Our son, his wife and their new baby stayed upstairs and my husband and I took the master. We had all the space we needed. After a trip to Pioneer Market, we were able to enjoy eating at the house - I guess it's just more fun to cook in someone else's kitchen, especially when it provides as much as yours does! We used the grill, too. You have absolutely thought of everything your guests could ever need.

Others in our family were happliy housed in one of your other properties, Vineyard View, and at several small hotels in Mariposa.

The highlight of our trip was the wedding at Butterfly Creek Winery. The bride made quite an "entrance" when her Dad drove her up the hillside road to the chapel. She was in full wedding gown and veil and her flower girls were sitting next to her - all on the top of the convertible's back seat, just like in a parade. Once they arrived, the wedding went off without a "hitch" in the lovely chapel. It was truly a memorable event, and we can't thank you and Bob at the winery enough for helping make it such a success.

We also made several driving trips to the park (thanks for the great directions!) and took in the waterfalls, hiking trails, trees and spectacular views. Glacier Point is not to be missed!!

Other places in Mariposa we enjoyed during our stay included Savoury's Restaurant, Happy Burger, Butterfly Cafe and Salvador's Mexican Cafe. The folks at Mariposa Shipping Co. were especially nice when we needed a place to check our emails and handle shipment of the wedding dress back to Texas! The staff and beer were great at Mariposa Brewing Company, too!

We work in Galveston, Texas which is also a tourist town. We know customer service and hospitality when we see it, and Mariposa and Sierra Scape just couldn't be better! We look forward to another visit sometime in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Well Jerry and I were thrilled that you all had such a successful stay, Sue, Bob at the Butterfly Creek Winery is of course always a most wonderful host and officiate and Miriam, at Savory’s is as warm and professional as can be. Your family was a delight to have stay, thank you all for treating our homes so kindly, we very much appreciate it. Looking forward to your returning, it's been a pleasure working with you all....Kirsty

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2005

You testify with fresh air architecture
A church within the sanctuary of nature

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2004

Having the fire ready to light when we arrived after dark was the perfect start to the continually amazing time we spent here at SierraScape. The windows in the tub/shower made an inviting place to meditate and watch the many different kinds of mountain birds and skies. We made use of the hot tub under every condition possible...sunny, cold, rainy, dark, feeling the rain on your face and watching the drops hit the water, reflected in the light of the spa at night was the BEST combination! We really don't want to leave this place but can't wait to go see Yosemite.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2004

Your home is lovely! We enjoyed all of the "extras" you provided, it made our stay all the better because it was SO well stocked. We had a wonderful stay and look forward to returning!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2004

The ultimate in relaxation! Thanks for opening up your home to others, we'll definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2004

Details, details, and more details...what a wonderful place, or should I say "home". We enjoyed everything about SierraScape, thanks for the perfect retreat!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review