reviews for: listing #18422 - Whidbey Island, Washington House rental

Mutiny Bay Beach House-Sandy Beach-Sunsets and Moorage
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mutiny Bay
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $450 - $550 /nt
    $2,600 - $3,850 /wk
    $3,750 - $13,500 /mth

sort by:

Better than the Pictures

Review submitted: August 25, 2009   Date of arrival: August 13, 2009

The house and property could not have been more beautiful. The owners were wonderful to work with and the whole experience was great. My family, adults and children- had a wonderful vacation there. The children want to decorate their bedrooms just like the kids' room at the house. The kitchen had every convenience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Nana P.
Thankyou for your kinds words. Having grandchildren ourselves we truely want to create special memories for them to pass down. We believe "family times" like the one you just had last a lifetime and love being a part of that. For that reason, "Three Generational
Families" like yourselves are our favorites and that is why we try to cater to all ages.
Marlene

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Gorgeous!

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

This property was perfect in every way for our three generation family. The water view was stunning, the beach perfect for playing and strolling, and the house couldn't have been more comfortable. From the welcome basket to the lavender sachets on the pillows to the well equipped kitchen, the attention to details throughout the house was remarkable. We would recommend this property to anyone hoping for a truly memorable vacation and we certainly plan to come again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sherry:
It is such a pleasure having "guests" like yourselves that enjoy our home as much as we do. Thank you very much for staying with us.
Marlene

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house, fantastic view and outstanding owners

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

For several years now, we have chosen vacation rentals for our summer vacations. We have rented good properties in the east coast, west coast and even abroad. In general, we always had a good experience. After renting dozens of properties over the years, this property in particular stands out. It is a great house to spend time with family and friends and you can enjoy the fantastic view from just about anywhere in the house. The owners keep it very well stocked and very clean, and there is plenty of room for different "groups" to enjoy the house (i.e., kids playing outside, adults enjoying wine on the deck, someone reading a great book by the living room, others collecting shells by the beach, etc.). You never feel that you are on top of each other. The best thing about this property is the fantastic view of the beach and the mountains! It is just stunning and second to none! The description and pictures of the house just don't do justice; once you get there you'll realize how much more beautiful it really is.
A great vacation starts before you leave home and ends when you get back home, and Marlene (the owner) makes that experience possible... always helpful, answering all your questions, providing detail instructions, giving recommendations and most importantly making sure that you truly enjoy everything her property has to offer.
We look forward to the opportunity to stay in this property again.

Owners response: Gunnar:
What a wonderful way to start the day; reading your very kind words. We love sharing our home with people that enjoy it as much as we do.
"Three generational" trips are our family's favorite and I get excited imagining this of others doing the same at our home. It's warming to know our guests are "creating memories".
I will look forward to working with you another time.
Thank you!
Marlene

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved this house and location!

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

My husband and I rented this house for three days with another couple and we each brought or 16 month old sons with us. We absolutely loved it! The location was perfect and we really enjoyed the big grassy lawn, especially with the toddlers. They played on the lawn (and stayed clean :)) but also loved playing in the sand. The house was much larger than we expected and was very comfortable. The owner was so nice and helpful throughout our renting experience. We liked this place so much that we are going back in a month!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mutiny Bay House

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2011

This was an excellent rental house for the cliff views of Mutiny Bay, watching Puget Sound boat traffic, and the Olympic Mountains on clear days. I think we saw some sea otters. The house accommodations were great with oversized rooms and beautiful local paintings. We had a grand time on this second visit to the house either relaxing inside or going sight seeing along the island and nearby Olympic Mountain’s Hurricane Ridge. I did try a little late season salmon beach fishing which is my favorite pastime.

Kevin H.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Ken: What a treat to have you return to Mutiny Bay from Texas for a second time. We loved sharing our home with you again and hope next time a salmon bites. Thank you for your kind words. Sincerely, Marlene Frost

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Family Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

We just stayed at this awesome property and cannot say enough good things about it. First off, the owner is a pleasure to work with. She is very responsive and attentive in the whole setup process. The house itself is incredibly comfortable. We went with four adults and four children and there was ample room for sleeping and spreading out. The great room has an awesome fireplace with a wood burning stove and it was quite cozy at night to have a fire going. By day, the access to the beach and sprawling lawns are incredible fun for the kids. The house is fully stocked--toys for kids, a chef's kitchen with nearly everything you could imagine needing to cook real means (we even baked and had everything we needed right there). Plenty of plates and tablewear and serving pieces to really feel at home. I'm sure we will be heading back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow!! What a thrill it is to have such wonderful guests like you enjoy our home. It makes sharing our home so much fun. Thank you for your kind words and of course we will look forward to having you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay at this Beautiful Home

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

We just returned from an amazing time at Mutiny Bay. This gorgeous home has all the amenities you'd ever want, plus some! We loved relaxing on the deck in the early evening with a glass of wine watching cruise ships pass by... early morning beach-walks... lunch beside the glorious flower gardens... and evening bonfires. We highly recommend this wonderful experience to others. Thank you Marlene and Ron for a special time at your magical home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Kate:
This is such a wonderful compliment coming from a vacation owner like yourself. I truely value your comments and look forward to working with you again sometime.
Marlene.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Slice of Heaven!

Review submitted: August 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

We just got home from a 10 day stay at Mutiny Tides and my entire family is sad we had to come home. We had more than a vacation at this beautiful house -- it was a welcome retreat from the crazy suburban lifestyle we lead. The house is picture perfect, exceptionally clean, exceptionally well-appointed, thoughtful in every regard. The setting is as beautiful as I've ever seen -- gorgeous Olympic mountains to the southwest, Cascades to the southeast (plenty of opportunity to see the famous Baker and Rainier Mountains) bald eagles flying overhead, loads of deer and rabbits and sea creatures of all kinds. Clamming at low tide with the kids was a highlight, as was relaxing and swimming every day at the private beach. We made great use of the firepit by night for s'mores and conversation. If you are considering a beach vacation, this is the place to go!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Karen:
We enjoyed working with you as much as you enjoyed The MutinyBay House. Thank you again for choosing our "slice of heaven" for your vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mutiny Bay was so Beautiful

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

We have no rreturned from a truly wonderful week at your gorgeous home. We could not have been happier with the week. We loved Whidbey Island - the first time we've really explored it despite being in Seattle 30 plus years. We think you have the best spot, if not the very best home, on Whidbey. Mutiny Bay was so beautiful.
We even got to see the owls one night (two of them) calling to each other as we sat on the deck.
I hope you find everything in order and I just want to thank you again for sharing this lovely home.
We sincerely do hope to some day return again.
Thank you,
Linda C.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

What a wonderful place th share the holidays with family. Your home is large and yet was so cozy around the warm rock fireplace. We will never forget this Christmas. We have loved watching the winters storms.
Thankyou and we hope to return again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

Thankyou for sharing your lovely home. We have been staying at homes on Whidbey for the last ten years and all the family agreed that your home was the highlight. We will return again.
We are making plans for next year, will you be renting again?

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 27, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We have had the opportunity to stay at this beach house several times. We go back because we love to be there. We can totally relax when we're there or we can have the children and grand children come and enjoy great "family" time. There is plenty of room/beds for all of us.
There are so many different things to do for adults and children. Walk on the beach and search for "treasures." Enjoy the wild life. Relax on the deck while enjoying the incredible views of the water and mountains. Or,if its cold outside, stay inside the beautiful great room, start a fire, watch a movie, play games, or read (movies, games & books are provided). And you still have the great view!
The beach house is so well stocked with everything you might want or need. Just bring your clothes, relax, and have a great time! We always do!!
Thank you Marlene, for making our visits to your beach house such a wonderful experience!!

Debbie & Dave

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 9, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Comment Text: Comment Text: My husband and I have enjoyed several relaxing stays at Mutiny Tides and we look forward to returning. The privacy is wonderful, the view and beach always rejuvenates us and the home is so comfortable and offers absolutely everything we could want. The cleanliness is beyond reproach. The best vacations we've had have been at Mutiny Tides. Last time, in the off-season, we took our children and grandchildren and it was a fantastic time for all of us. The spacious family room allowed us all to be together while enjoying different activities. Yet the bedrooms and baths offered plenty of privacy and comfort for all of us. My grandchildren loved the children's room and the closet of toys. The beach lured us all, night and day. We still talk about watching the cruise ships in the evening. Now, they all want to go back this summer. What a fabulous and completely comfortable and clean home. We always want to go out for dinner but we can never drag ourselves from the house because of the view and the kitchen amenities!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 15, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Marlene was an ABSOLUTE joy to work with over email/phone! I proposed to my girlfriend on the beach right outside their cabin (maybe 30 steps...) and its ecological milieu was beyond refreshing and stupendous. The cabin itself was 'microbiology lab standards' clean. Upon entering, pleasant neutral colors with a warm ambience from the surrounding décor filled my sense of being. Immediately, one can tell that quality materials were used when considering everything from flooring materials to linens. The pictures do not do this beach cabin justice! The view from their living room/kitchen/deck will allow you to drift asleep in its dreamy magnificence. The owners truly believe in providing the best possible, well-rounded renting experience one can pay for. My family has been around rentals our entire life and this couple provides the COMPLETE package. Do not hesitate to rent this beach cabin as it provides for a great relaxing getaway! Just imagine the pure crisp air right off of the Puget Sound while relaxing on their beautiful huge porch; you’ll then realize that later in life you will either have to buy something similar or return as a valued guest. Marlene and her husband due to their professional experiences, provide that detailed experience that one wishes for with ALL rental experiences! Their location focuses on the beauty, serenity and rural feel that our everyday life can’t provide so enjoy their exquisite beachfront cabin. Allow the beautiful Puget Sound showcasing the Cascade Mountains with Eagles flying majestically in the background and deer roaming the property to engulf your sense of reality; contact Marlene NOW!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review