reviews for: listing #18423 - Lakeside, Michigan Cottage rental

Harbor Country Cottages 90 minutes from Chicago. Pets OK!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Orchard Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $500 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Great Memorial Day weekend

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

Rented both cottages for a party of five adults and a young child. Really lovely, just as described. Bathrooms could use a little updating but otherwise quite nice, and a very quick walk to the private beach. Also easy walk to Blue Plate Cafe for breakfast or lunch, and short drive to wineries, parks, antiques and more. Highly recommend. NOTE: if you are only renting one cottage try for the blue one. There was a boisterous large family next to the yellow cottage, where the pool and deck are VERY close to the cottage. A little noisy at times.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK!!!!

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

LOVED the blue cottage!!! Was looking for a place to celebrate my birthday and this was the PERFECT place!! Loved the flannel sheets on the very comfortable beds! Haven't slept that good in months!! This cottage was very clean and well equipped!! And I loved the decorations. You can tell this cottage is well cared for! I am making plans right now for my next visit because I will be back soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Couldn't wipe the smile off my face!

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

I literally could not stop smiling from the moment we walked into the cottage. I felt so peaceful and so at home. This was a girls' weekend and we had so much fun I didn't even wait; While I was still there, I booked a week long getaway next Summer for my husband and our dog! The beach was just across the lane, and you could walk there in 2 minutes tops. The beach was pristine. I've never seen a cleaner beach. If you're looking for happiness, book the Cottage Provencal (blue cottage). There was a Swiss Bakery close by full of too many pastries, bread and goodies to list. They were delicious! We visited Sawyer Garden Center, which was stocked full of unique gifts and all the fresh, Christmas greenery you could ever want. A well~stocked grocery was also very close. It is not the small convenient store one would expect in a small communtiy, but had a very nice variety and many specialty items if you wanted to prepare a fine meal during your visit. The cottage has a full kitchen and an outdoor grill, so casual or not, you're set there, too. The beds were very comfortable and the bed linens were top notch. Another review mentioned the DVD and book collections. There was a great variety of both and I was told by the owner that they rotate their selection. I did not connect to the internet, but it was available. My friend used her laptop and had no problem. You could really tell that every detail was taken into consideration for your stay. I wanted for nothing. I can hardly wait for next Summer, so I can share the joy with my family. The Cottage (yellow one) next door is a mirror image to the Cottage Provencal (blue one), so if you want to bring a larger group, I suggest booking both. I'm already planning on a bigger family vacation instead of the Gulf Shores. Absolutely loved this place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

October Break

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

WOW what a wonderful cottage! We all had a great time and will go back again next October if not sooner. Everything from the enclosed porch to the fully equipped kitchen was just wonderful. The cottage is private, close to the beach and just what we thought we wanted for our week away. We could not ask for more! Thanks for a great time. Hannah our sweet black lab just loved not only the beach but the coziness of the cottage. We thought she looked sad when we were ready to leave@

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Chicago Deb- Best Place in Lakeside

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

I love Lakeside but it can be hit or miss when it comes to rentals-- but that this house! Couldn't ask for a better location, nicer house and best owner-ever. I had my best friend come from North Carolina to visit for Memorial Day and we had the most relaxing and best-ever long weekend. ( And actually she is coming back up for Labor Day as we are going back again we loved it so much!) I stayed for the remainder of the week and was in a heaven-like state of de-stress and comfort.

The house is spotless, fully equipped, lovely, well decorated and SO COMFORTABLE! You walk in the front door and sigh saying to yourself-- "yes, this is going to be great!" Beach is literally 2 minutes away and is what you would expect on Lake Michigan-- pristine, quiet, clean, relaxing.

There are lots of things to do (or not do!) including antiquing , wine tasting and more. I love going to Sawyer to the market and getting the most amazing steaks and produce which then you can grill in the back yard and eat an amazing meal on the patio. And of course, if you love breakfast, walk down the road to Blue Plate and pig out on eggs and bacon!

As an east coast transplant to Chicago, this is better than the Hamptons. A quick drive from downtown takes you to what I consider one of the best places ever. And of course, this house is part of the amazing, relaxing and welcoming and integral part of the trip.

Kudos and can't wait to go back!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Relaxing Cottage

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

Shawn, your lovely cottage made our anniversary weekend so enjoyable for my husband and I. The Cotswold was the perfect size for us and our two college-age daughters who joined us for the vow renewal at sunset on the beach. The beds were comfy and the little yellow cottage had everything we needed. We really got a kick out of our old jack russell who decided to go for a swim, it was so nice to have her with us. The wineries were just down the road and we liked the brewery tasting at the Round Barn as well. Also enjoyed meals at the Stray Dog, Rios (best quesadillas), Michigan Thyme, & The Red Arrow Roadhouse. Thank you for renting us the Cotswold and helping our family make more memories. We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cute, comfortable, close to beach

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

My husband and I just spent a few days at Cottage Provencal (the blue one). The cottage was very clean and charming, with comfortable furniture and lots of extras. Shelves were fully stocked with books, DVDs and games, plus an iPod dock for music. The cottage and property are light and bright with plenty of sun, but the plant life and landscape provides a natural veil of privacy from the road and surrounding homes. Close to lots of restaurants and shops along the Red Arrow Highway - the Blue Plate Cafe is within walking distance, and the Red Arrow Roadhouse just down the road. Plus, beach access is right around the corner - only half a block away. Our doggie enjoyed himself, too, with lots of walks along Lakeshore Rd.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

FANTASTIC!!!!

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

This place was so unbelievably perfect!! Making the reservation with the owner Shawn was effortless. We arrived on Saturday June 11th 2011. Entering the cottage is like opening a little door to heaven. Its hard to describe but it feels like happiness. It is clean, bright, comfortable, and stocked with all the necessities of home. Lake Michigan is a very short and fun walk away. We swam, lounged in the sun, took walks on the beautiful shore line and watched our 2 golden retrievers play and swim.I could write a small novel about our wonderful experience. In short, We are so happy and fortunate to have found The Cotswold Cottage. Our experience was 5*****. Cant wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2008

This is our fourth time in the yellow cottage and it certainly feels like home to us and the pups. Very relaxing! We built a fire each cool evening and enjoyed our morning walks along the beach. Thank you for the long weekend--we will certainly be back!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We loved this cottage! This was our first time here and it couldn't have gone better. With all of it's amenities, Cotswold Cottage was truly a home away from home. It's decorated beautifully. Here's our recommendations for your trip here: GOING TO THE BEACH--nice and clean, easy to get to, water is wonderful. CURIOUS KID'S MUSEUM --great rainy day activity in St. Joseph. BLUE PLATE CAFE--our favorite breakfast--and big cookies. THE STRAY DOG--great burgers and hot dogs--check out all the dog photos. OINK'S--great ice cream and fudge. If you're reading this, we hope you have as much fun as we did!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2009

We had an absolutely wonderful stay here. We lounged on the beach, hung out on the porch and enjoyed all the restaurants in the area. Our puppy Foxxy enjoyed long walks while we looked at the surrounding homes and the waterfront. We used this time to bond as a family. There is no doubt we will be back next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

warmest november vacation

Review submitted: November 18, 2008   Date of arrival: November 7, 2008

i have travelled all over the world....cotswald cottage was a true replica of an english/scottish country cottage experience....all needs were accounted for and every aspect of the stay was well appointed and comfortable....i couldnt have asked for a cleaner, more homelike environment and the proximity to the beach couldnt be better.....i mean you are right there on the great lake....what more could you ask for.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Wonderful Cottages Close To Beach

Review submitted: June 17, 2008   Date of arrival: June 6, 2008

We had a wonderful weekend stay with our friends at Cotswald Cottage and Cottage Provencal. The location was wonderful - a quiet wooded lane with private association beach access a few hundred feet away. The set-up was wonderful - two charming cottages side by side that made socializing easy while affording privacy at the end of the day. The cottages were clean and nicely appointed (downright cute even - and very sunny). The beds were comfortable. And the cottages were pet friendly - which is why we looked to book them in the first place. A mini vacation would not be the same if our dogs couldn't join in the fun. We loved everything about Harbor Country Cottages - from the pet-friendly cottages themselves to the easy booking process with Shawn - and are already planning our next short getaway.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review