reviews for: listing #1854 - Big Sur, California Cabin rental

big sur mountain retreat
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $200 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

A True Hidden Gem

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

If only we had known about the absolute beauty, peace, and tranquility this place offered, we may have chosen to only stay here on our trip to California. What an absolutely perfect place. Untouched by commercialization, it's a true step back into the beauty of nature and a perfect place to regroup and revitalize. My wife and I loved it here. From the woodburning stove to the friendly horses and house cats there to greet you upon arrival and from the mammoth redwood tress surrounding the cabin to the breathtaking ocean views from the bathhouse, I can't imagine a better place to stay in Big Sur...especially for the value. We'd recommend this place and this area to anyone. It really is one of the "must sees" and we can't wait to make it back one day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, thank you so much for this stunning review!
We're delighted you enjoyed the cabin and look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes,
Peggy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely amazing!

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

We had the fortune of spending our honeymoon at the Big Sur Mountain Retreat the first week of April, 2013. I cannot even begin to describe the wonderful stay we had. This cabin is in the most beautiful setting, and we enjoyed every moment we shared there. The bathhouse is incredible, and I am already missing my evening soaks. Thank you so much Peggy and Richard for being such gracious hosts. We couldn’t have imagined a better way to start our marriage. We truly hope to be able to visit again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Cabin!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

My husband and I took a few days off after our wedding in Big Sur, and this place was perfect. Very well kept, clean, cozy, beautiful and peaceful. The bath house is probably the best part about it, with views of the ocean. The views from this place are incredible and you could just sit for days and days and never get bored. Access to nice hiking trails, and close to great surf spots. We cooked in all nights but one, and that night we had a great sushi dinner at Tree Bones, a yurt resort a few miles up the road. A storm came through on the last day and it was magical watching it come across the ocean and there is no place I'd rather have been while it was pouring outside. We read books, built a fire, and it was lovely. The horses are a great addition and come to say good morning too! Thank you Peggy and Richard!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: thank you so much Sean, for your wonderful review.
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cabin.
Best wishes,
Peggy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ridiculously Cozy!

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

My husband and I were spending our 10th anniversary in Big Sur. We had just hiked out 10miles from the Ventana Wilderness where we spent a night at Sykes hot springs. Tired, hungry and a bit dusty we were so looking forward to the next half of our trip, the cabin and bathhouse. We began our ascent up the road to the gate, and I just started laughing as it's a bit exciting to be honest. Just drop it into 2nd gear and keep steady on the gas and you'll be fine. We were greeted by 2 gorgeous horses and a wonderful silence as we pulled up and hopped out of the car. Within an hour's time we had each taken a glorious shower in the clean, rustic and delicious smelling bathroom, with homemade soap (that I'm going to order more of), changed into our cozy attire, started a fire in the wood stove in the cabin, popped a bottle of wine, and just exhaled. My husband summed it all up by saying, "It's ridiculously cozy here". We enjoyed the rest of our weekend, eating our dinner and breakfast at the quaint table for 2, reading by the fire, soaking in the deep clawfoot tub with endless hot water and ocean views, watching the humming birds and monarch butterflies tease the flowers in the garden, lounging in the chairs at the over look while having our morning coffee, or evening glass of wine and listening to the owls talk to eachother, and the crickets serenade us. At night we'd let the fire die down and open the windows to allow the fresh ocean breeze swirl over us, as we pulled the soft, clean linens up to our chins. The cabin took on so many moods throughout the day, as the light would dance through the windows on all sides and cast shadows and warmth throughout the interior, further warming the soul of this place. At night the moon light lit up the stoic redwood trees that surrounded us, and stood guard just outside the door. There's not much water right now in the creek beside the window by the bed, but I can only imagine how wonderful that sounds during the wet season. We brought our food, and drink, and clothes and were well equipped with everything else we needed. Simplicity at it's best. Thank you Peggy and Richard for creating and sharing such a wonderful retreat. We're already talking about returning for a longer stay someday....maybe for our 15th!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Simple luxury

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

This was one of the most incredible places I've ever stayed! The whole experience felt luxurious even though it was centered around living simply. The cabin was rustic, but spotlessly clean and comfortable. Being in the bath house felt like being at a private spa.

The view was incredible. It was so peaceful sitting above the ocean and watching the fog roll in with absolutely nobody else around. The owners thought of every detail to make the experience special. There was fresh lavender in the bath house, the nicest quality linens and towels, locally made soap, a fire already built and ready to light in the fireplace. We felt so spoiled and lucky. My husband and I can't wait to go back someday! Such a special place.

Oh, one warning though.. There is poison oak growing around the cabin and on the trail. Richard, one of the owners, pointed it out to us but my husband still got a little rash on his foot. Other than that, it was perfect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great place of beauty and drama..... Big Sur

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Towering cliffs, fog-banked canyon, roaring surf and the little cabin near the meadow and creek..... aahhh.. Big Sur.."a great place of beauty & drama."
This place is simply a magical hidden gem nestled in a Redwood Grove! You get a taste of what Big Sur has to REALLY offer.. the Pacific Ocean and the Redwoods. My boyfriend and I, along with our puppy, Joni Mitchell, had an epic weekend. We drove in with our hatchback Toyota Yaris on a steep, bumpy but short dirt road.
The pictures were inviting, but seeing the cabin, bathhouse, and garden in person were out of this world. You have to see it to believe it!
We woke up to the sound of trickling water from the creek. We read our books, including Jack Kerouac's Big Sur, next to the wood-burning stove. We didn't want to leave the cabin. We brought in our groceries. We grilled steak and ahi tuna. Everything was provided for us (charcoal, matches, firewood). The bathhouse is very unique. You will not find a bathroom like this anywhere. It has floor to ceiling picture windows and the skylight. We loved the dramatic views overlooking the Pacific Ocean, while bathing. We also got a chance to meet their 2 horses. They were so tamed that they didn't have to even wear bridles.
We are backpackers and we've done many hikes around Big Sur. This time we decided to treat ourselves in luxury by staying in a cabin at a reasonable price. We were lucky to find Richard & Peggy's place.
We will definitely return! Thank you Richard & Peggy! Your place is truly mind-blowing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A great place of Beauty & Drama

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Towering cliffs, fog-banked canyon, roaring surf and the little cabin near the meadow and creek..... aahhh.. Big Sur.."a great place of beauty & drama."
This place is simply a magical hidden gem nestled in a Redwood Grove! You get a taste of what Big Sur has to REALLY offer.. the Pacific Ocean and the Redwoods. My boyfriend and I, along with our puppy, Joni Mitchell, had an epic weekend. We drove in with our hatchback Toyota Yaris on a steep, bumpy but short dirt road.
The pictures were inviting, but seeing the cabin, bathhouse, and garden in person were out of this world. You have to see it to believe it!
We woke up to the sound of trickling water from the creek. We read our books, including Jack Kerouac's Big Sur, next to the wood-burning stove. We didn't want to leave the cabin. We brought in our groceries. We grilled steak and ahi tuna. Everything was provided for us (charcoal, matches, firewood). The bathhouse is very unique. You will not find a bathroom like this anywhere. It has floor to ceiling picture windows and the skylight. We loved the dramatic views overlooking the Pacific Ocean, while bathing. We also got a chance to meet their 2 horses. They were so tamed that they didn't have to even wear bridles.
We are backpackers and we've done many hikes around Big Sur. This time we decided to treat ourselves in luxury by staying in a cabin at a reasonable price. We were lucky to find Richard & Peggy's place.
We will definitely return! Thank you Richard & Peggy! Your place is truly mind-blowing!

Owners response: Wow, thank you so much for that fabulous review! We're so glad you enjoyed it so much and look forward to seeing you again. We really appreciate you for taking the time to review us!
Best wishes,
Peggy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great place of beauty and drama... aahh.. Big Sur...

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Towering cliffs, fog-banked canyon, roaring surf and the little cabin near the meadow and creek..... aahhh.. Big Sur...."a great place of beauty & drama."
This place is simply a magical hidden gem nestled in a Redwood Grove! You get a taste of what Big Sur has to REALLY offer.. the Pacific Ocean and the Redwoods. My boyfriend and I, along with our puppy, Joni Mitchell, had an epic weekend. We drove in with our hatchback Toyota Yaris on a steep, bumpy but short dirt road.
The pictures were inviting, but seeing the cabin, bathhouse, and garden in person were out of this world. You have to see it to believe it!
We woke up to the sound of trickling water from the creek. We read our books, including Jack Kerouac's Big Sur, next to the wood-burning stove. We didn't want to leave the cabin. We brought in our groceries. We grilled steak and ahi tuna. Everything was provided for us (charcoal, matches, firewood). The bathhouse is very unique. You will not find a bathroom like this anywhere. It has floor to ceiling picture windows and the skylight. We loved the dramatic views overlooking the Pacific Ocean, while bathing. We also got a chance to meet their 2 horses. They were so tamed that they didn't have to even wear bridles.
We are backpackers and we've done many hikes around Big Sur. This time we decided to treat ourselves in luxury by staying in a cabin at a reasonable price. We were lucky to find Richard & Peggy's place.
We will definitely return! Thank you Richard & Peggy! Your place is truly mind-blowing!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

heavenly escape

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

I loved my stay at this secluded cabin. What a great place. The hike across the mountains with a ocean and hawk view, and the amazing views right from the cabin outlook. The owners are nearby but I never saw them. The bathroom with a view was great. The road in was very interesting, just don't stop till your there. I will return again and again. Nearby are many beaches also ragged point and Gordo restaurants. I cooked right at cabin, didn't want to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful and Lovely Spot

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

My husband and I celebrated 10 years in this amazing place. Everything exceeded our expectations. The cabin is perfectly tiny nestled into the redwoods and beside a stream. The sitting spot overlooking the Pacific is breathtaking and perfect for coffee sipping or wine drinking. The hosts are kind and attentive. We loved the seclusion and hope to be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Romantic and amazing accommodations!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

My husband and I had THE MOST wonderful weekend in this gorgeous cabin. It is so private and was the perfect escape from city life. There is a trail right outside the door that leads to stunning views of the coastline. We took full advantage of the patio with the BBQ and enjoyed each morning on the chairs and table looking out at the ocean.

The separate bath house was perfect with a large soaking tub facing the ocean and it was all newly renovated. The horses were also a sweet welcome each morning-I have never been around such loving and beautiful horses! We also went to sleep to the sound of the bubbling spring outside the bedroom window.

We spent one day driving along the coast to Big Sur proper which is a gorgeous drive. Other than that, we just relaxed reading books and magazines and sipping drinks outside soaking in the sun and views.

Thank you Peggy and Richard for the amazing weekend! Your place is a gem.

Owners response: Wow, thank you Margaret and Bruce for the glowing review of the cabin.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and appreciate that you took the time to write this great review.
Come back again!
Best wishes,
Peggy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

We got lucky and very "spur of the moment" reserved 2 nights on Nov 2 & 3rd...perused VRBO and this place just kept tugging at me. So happy we chose it! It is just our style. We felt right at home as we live in a very small house...so it was perfect! Romantic, awesome views...the "Grotto" style bath house...cozy cottage! Succulents and flowers everywhere...and such sweet horses! We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay! The road was fine...plenty of power (nice to have a couple of days of no tv, radio, Internet, cell phone reception!) We will definitely be back! Thank you Peggy & Richard for sharing this jewel with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Tracey, for this wonderful review and we're so glad you enjoyed your time at the cabin. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes,
Peggy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BREATHTAKING and SURREAL peaceful retreat!

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

The only way to describe this is to say it is a must-stay! No pictures or descriptions can do it justice- but know you will be stunned by the beauty of this retreat! Was in search for a getaway in Big Sur area and loved this charming cottage- tucked away and AS COZY AS IT GETS, this was exactly what I was looking for and more! Spent two nights in peace and didn't want to leave! Managed to get out and take the beautiful trip up to Big Sur proper for a few hours, but couldn't wait to get back and relax at the cabin- woodburning stove, cute little table for two, and beautiful stone steps to the refreshing bath overlooking the ocean... every corner you turn there is another "are you kidding me?!" moment... two chairs to sit and watch the horses and coastline, and then back to the cabin to grill on the little wooden deck which sits looking down over a small mountain stream, also dwarfed by a couple of redwoods on the mountainside. Romantic, breathtaking getaway!! and not to mention very sweet hosts have it set up nicely and perfectly for a private retreat. Great for couples/ romantic, as well as a work retreat for a writer or creative. Will be back ASAP!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Peace, beauty and romance

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

We couldn't have chosen a better place to celebrate our first anniversary. My husband and I loved the cabin - from the gorgeous views, peaceful location, nearby hikes, pleasant animal company and sound of the stream lulling you to sleep, the place is perfection. Thanks Peggy for having us; we will be back!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Malinda, for taking the time to review our place. I'm so happy you enjoyed it and i look forward to seeing you again.
All the best,
Peggy

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

the pictures dont do it justice.

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

The most bueatiful views in all of big sur are from this cabbin. The bath house is amazing and the owners are great. I couldent of asked for a better weekend for me and my wife. The guy who wrote the bad review was out of his mind! The only bad thing I could say is the road but you can make it in a small car you just have to go slow. But if you have a truck it would be a lot better. Thank you peggy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I appreciate it so much and i'm glad you enjoyed the cabin.
Come again!
Best wishes,
Peggy

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing!!

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Super romantic! Gorgeous views, better than so many of the hikes that promise vistas in northern big sur. This was a highlight of our trip! We loved the horses and the trail off the property is great, goes all through different micro climates, scrub mountain side, redwood forests, perfect views for taking in the sunsets and best of all we saw no one on the trail, our own paradise on the side of a mountain. This was probably the best trail we went on. I am in agreement that this is a rustic setup, i/e tiny old fridge and don't forget charcoal if you want to grill! But I thought that was a major plus, really it made a real get away and that said for the same price you would get soooooo much LESS in the heart of big sur. We stayed at deetjens one night on our trip and it was $30 more and we had no fireplace, no kitchen, no privacy, no views, and a much less well appointed bathroom. So in consideration of the area, price, and other options I would never criticize any of the rugged qualities, you have to be realistic about the lifestyle of this area. Why would you want to draw curtains on the ocean, redwood, and a well landscaped yard? Granted we had amazing weather which meant we enjoyed the views and bathroom to the fullest. It is good that people mention the owners stop by once when you get there to pick up the balance owed for the stay and once early in the morning to take care of the horses, so be cautious, but really it wasn't intrusive at all and just use common sense when choosing when to walk around nude, the actual cabin is kinda hidden, so no one can see you from the drive or horse stable. Everything was so clean, the bathroom esp was spotless and had new fixtures(so really not too rugged!) The wood burning stove kept the cabin super warm and cozy and falling asleep to the babbling brook amazing. I wish we could have stayed here the whole time and I definitely hope to come back. loved, loved, loved! so inspiring! I cannot stress how unreal the views are, how fun the bathroom is, and how gorgeous the horses are! Thanks so much Peggy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reality Check: Cabin not quite as advertised.

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

As others have said, the cabin is a lovely bucolic, serene retreat near a babbling brook, nestled in a redwood grove. It is a wonderful romantic getaway for a few days. But all is not as the owners advertise.
First, the cabin is NOT in Big Sur. It is 3.5 miles south of the town of Gorda, which according to Google Maps is 32.5 miles south of Big Sur proper. The owners have a P.O. box in Big Sur, but the cabin itself is on Gorda Mountain, in the Los Padres National Forest, roughly 6 miles from the San Luis Obispo county line.
Bottomline: It is going to take you a good 45 minutes to an hour travel time by car to get anywhere in Big Sur from the cabin.
Second, the private road from the Cabrillo Highway to the cabin is unpaved, steep, rocky, twisty, and full of ruts and deep holes. A vehicle with low clearance has little chance of making it to the top without scrapping bottom. You need a car with good clearance, or preferably one with high clearance and four-wheel drive. In rainy weather, I would forget it without four-wheel drive.
Third, the cabin is underpowered in terms of electricity. A single solar panel with a battery is the only source of power, and one of the owners told us that if you leave a light on, you can easily drain all the power. So, don't expect to run a stereo, laptop, or other appliances the whole time you are there, because they don't have the power.
Fourth, because of the power issues, the mini-refrigerator they provide in the tiny kitchen is a gas-powered unit salvaged from a RV that never gets below 40 degrees. So, forget about ice!
Fifth, while the bathhouse is gorgeous and well-appointed, there are no curtains (nor in the cabin either). If you are at all self-conscious about being seen naked or partially undressed by one of the owners dropping by to pick up the rest of the rent, or coming by once a day to feed the horses, then you are going to have a problem.
Finally, the location is not all that quiet. There are two or three neighbors living in the same ravine, and a surprising amount of vehicle noises, dogs barking, generators running, kids playing, and power tools being used. We expected more quiet considering how remote the cabin is.
In general, we enjoyed our stay, but feel the accommodations are not quite as advertised.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: I have a few comments in response to this review.
First of all, we are in Big Sur, Gorda is Big Sur, and we say clearly in our add that we are one hour south of the heart of Big Sur.
Although we have only one solar panel, we have a back up generator and can provide more power when necessary.
I appreciate hearing about the refrigerator and will make an effort to upgrade that in the near future.
Usually, the mountain is very quiet and i'm sorry your experience didn't reflect that.
Best wishes,
Peggy

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Romantic get-away

Review submitted: December 29, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

We arrived in the middle of a four day rainstorm...cabin was cute and cozy when the fireplace got going. A bit of a rugged experience, as the electricity is solar and there was a shortage of power after so many days of rain. Owner did provide a backup generator, but this setup did require some work and attention from us.

Bath house was lovely, and outside, as advertised, but a five minute walk in the rain was not much fun. Also no heat in the bathroom, so you have to dress for the weather going back and forth. Still, it was a lovely experience, right next to a rushing stream with the promised ocean view, once the storm let up. I would recommend this to folks who enjoy "fancy camping"...and aren't too citified. Bring a good book or two!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Far from the Madding Crowd

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

What a remarkable time my wife and I had in this lovely and cozy cabin. We stayed four nights and had four spectacularly different sunsets each night. The owners have provided a truly special space to retreat from the hustle of city life. Reading on the deck beneath the stand of redwoods, feeding the two horses apples and carrots, having wine and cheese while watching the sunset, gazing at the milky way at night, the warmth of the wood fire, hiking to Silver Peak from the trail right outside the cabin, waking to the sound of birds--all make for a magical relaxing time.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Unbelievable views, unbelievable place

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 29, 2010

We arrived to the cabin in June to discover a property that completely exceeded our expectations. We were greeted by a gorgeous view of the ocean looking down the mountain, horses, and a bathhouse that I am pretty sure was constructed out of a dream. The cabin is tucked away in the redwoods with (seriously) a babbling brook flowing alongside the porch. The cabin is tiny - smaller than a hotel room - but has everything you need for economical cooking, and a very comfortable bed. There are no curtains, so in the morning we looked forward to waking up as light flooded into the cabin.

It's extremely romantic. I'd have to say, despite the beautiful views and great hikes etc. of Big Sur, staying in this place was the highlight of our trip, and I would recommend it to anyone (without kids).

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

The most romantic getaway ever......

Review submitted: May 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

This was the pefect place to be for our wedding anniversary.
I was not very sure initially becoz I booked this cabin as a surprise for my husband(my 1st surprise of this kind to him...so the pressure was immense)...but once we saw the place it was as if we were transported to some fairytale land.The cabin and bathroom suite setting are awesome with breathtaking veiws of ocean. It is a place to fall in love with!!!! A place where you want to be again and again and AGAIN...
To top all this Peggy(owner) was really very nice and helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! I'm so glad you had such a lovely experience.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Secluded Romantic Cabin

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

When we arrived at this cozy cabin above pacific coast highway we right away saw that the pictures on line did not do justice to this fabulous place. My boyfriend and I along with our 12 year old Border Collie, read books, talked, drank wine and never wanted to leave our little hidden treasure of 2 days. We ate lunch in Big Sur at but we couldn't wait to get back to the cabin. Watching the sun set over the Pacific sitting at a little table by the horse coral where two beautiful horses kept us company, was breath taking. I soaked in a steaming hot bath with insence and oils, candles lit and the whole time looking out at the ocean. The tub takes quite a long time to fill because of the water pressure but it's worth the wait. We loved this place and will return. Thank you to the Horan's for making this dream place available to the public.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Heaven

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2008

I took my mom on a surprise weekend get away to stay here. We had such a beautiful time cosy amongst the trees, eating dinner by candle light and listening out for critters.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cozy Romantic Retreat Near Ragged Point

Review submitted: October 28, 2009   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

What a gorgeous romantic getaway location. The coastline view is beautiful. The are so many great hiking trails nearby. We loved the evenings with the wood burning stove to keep us toasty. It was such an enjoyable stay and we know we'll return for a future visit. Thanks so much Peggy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Big Sur Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: November 26, 2008   Date of arrival: November 16, 2008

This place is even better than it looks online! My husband and I spent his 40th Birthday here and it couldn't have been better. The cabin and bathhouse are perfect and the views of the ocean and redwoods were amazing. There is a trail that leads from the cabin to the most beautiful vistas and passes an old homestead as well as an old Native American settlement! We spent our days driving up and down the coast but couldn't wait to get back to the retreat in time to see the sunset. I recommend this place to anyone who wants a private, relaxing get-away!
P.S. The owners are great! Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Beautiful cabin & view!

Review submitted: October 21, 2008   Date of arrival: October 12, 2008

The craftsmanship and set up of this cabin and bath house are fabulous and the view is amazing. We were there for our honeymoon and it was perfect. The only thing to be aware of is that the bath house is right out in the open (which doesn’t really matter with all the privacy) so you do have to be aware that the owners come down the take care of the horses so you want to plan your bathing around that. It wouldn’t have been a problem if we hadn’t been so lazy though ;-) There is a half bath in the cabin but the bath house is beautiful with great ocean views while you take a shower or bath.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review