reviews for: listing #18571 - San Clemente, California House rental

Watch the Waves, THE BEST location Casa Azul!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $145 /nt
    $850 - $1,290 /wk
    $2,190 - $2,190 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful getaway

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

The view of the ocean is wonderful! It was so relaxing to sit in the patio with a cup of coffee and watch the waves. There is a park right across the street and the beach is just a couple of blocks away. Loved it, highly recommend. We travel with our dogs and it was great finding such a beautiful place that was dog friendly.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Corin. The lower unit you stayed in is the one with the patio that faces the ocean. It is a nice vantage point to relax while listening to and watching the waves as you relax on your very own little patio. It is always so rewarding for me to know that my guests enjoyed their stay at the casa. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Listen to the ocean

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Casa. The view from the downstairs patio is great. I could sit there all day and watch the butterflies and hummingbirds. There was plenty of room for the three of us. The Casa could easily sleep four +. The walk to the beach is short. My husband would go down and surf in the mornings, then I would go for a jog, and then we would all go to the beach in the afternoon. If you are a lite sleeper I would recommend the upstairs. The floor is a little creaky. But we couldn't have asked for a better beach vacation. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks Genvieve! I always love to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay at the casa. I try very hard to supply everything you need to make your stay great. I have noticed that creak in the hallway and have a contractor scheduled for Nov. 23 to come and repair it. I have just had the outdoor stairway, landing, fencing and doors painted along with the second bedroom upstairs and a nice new shower faucet, shower head and spout installed in the upstairs bathroom. This inbetween season of Oct/Nov is the time to get all the maintenance done. I'm on it!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Simply AMAZING

Review submitted: December 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

First I must talk about the owner Victoria. She was so accommodating and delightful to work with.

The house was very nice. It more than well equipped, and THE VIEWS!! Victoria needs to add some more pictures of the views! We spent more time in the casa then we thought we would, it was just that cozy. We went up to the town and brought meals back to enjoy the views while we ate. She provides satellite television, and movie channels. The beds are all comfortable and there are extra blankets and pillows. The kitchen is fully equipped (but I don't know who cooks on vacation :) and there is a washer and dryer.

The town itself was cute and relaxing. A lot of shops and VERY GOOD restaurants. I recommend Nicks, Beachfire, and Mimosa.

We will definitely be returning sooner than later. I have already begun spreading the word about this place and hope to bring business to Victoria. I have stayed and a lot of luxurious hotels, but this by far was my best vacation accommodations.

Thank you Victoria!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

Loved this place. Its an easy walk to the beach and pier. The view of the islands was fantastic all day long. Fishing boats and surfers to watch. Excursions on to the Dana point harbor and fishing boats was an easy 15 minutes away. We traveled to San Diego for a day at the Gas Lamp Quarter and back easily.
It was very clean and lovely. Vicky the owner is delightful and very helpful with 'local knowledge"

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa Azul is fantastic!

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

Just spent two beautiful weeks at Casa Azul. I stayed in the downstairs unit and had a great view of the ocean from my deck. Walked down the "hidden" staircase every morning to the beach trail for my daily walk. Had coffee at a nice little restaurant across from the pier, and also enjoyed happy hour at the Fisherman. Property was clean and fully equipped with microwave, dishwasher, etc. Owner provided great service, and yes, I've already recommended this property to several friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casa Azul

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Wow! Our family had a magical week here - the view, the park, the beach - we couldn't have had a better time. Beautiful home, everything we needed was provided. Easy access to anything at all we could have imagined doing, and did :) Highly recommend this rental if you want to have a worry-free, fantastic week at the beach or shopping or dining out!! Excellent find and can't wait to visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Fantastic Home to Make Memories!

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2012

I have been coming to Casa Azul for years and evey time I come I wish I could stay forever! I have stayed in both units and they are both very comfortable and cozy. Vic has decorated them with such loving care. The upstairs has the beautiful vaulted ceilings and the downstairs has the wonderful back patio to relax and enjoy the view of the canyon below and watch the waves. You really can hear the waves breaking, it's that close to the beach. This last time we were there, we could even see Catalina Island it was so clear! There is also so much to do. We especially like running on the trail along the beach in the morning or walking on the pier. The downtown has lots of great shops to browse through. There are also lots of great restaurants on Avenida Del Mar, too. El Ranchito is a must, as is Nick's, and the Italian Deli.
Casa Azul is only 5 minutes from I-5 to take an afternoon trip to San Diego or up to Disneyland. We have already booked for the end of October when the weather is at its best and no crowds. Thanks, Vic!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

We Had a Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

Casa Azul was such a wonderful place. My family spends a week in San Clemente each year and this was one of our favorite places to stay. The view of and access to the beach are wonderful - really just a few short steps down a hillside path and you're in a park that ajoins the beach - splendid.

I can't say enough about Vicki the owner - Really a wonderful person to work with. She made our visit so easy and pleasant.

Thanks Vicki!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing.. We will be back

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

I almost don't want to give a review because I know it'll become popular. :( This place is a wonderful secret.

We stayed here for one week over the kids October break. Honestly, one of our best vacation. It felt like this was our house on the beach and we had it during very nice weather. The things I like best about this place:
View and location are the biggest thing here. RIGHT off the I5 and on the beach. HUGE!
Full kitchen /Fridge / Microwave
Awesome BBQ
Washer/dryer
Full Satellite - keep the kids entertained
Internet was perfect - had to do a few meeting much to the dislike of the wife. I also download a movie for the kids on the laptop, so perfect. WAY faster then hotel.
Jack/Jill bathroom which worked well for us. Kids loved running around in circle - the little things, right?
San Clemente - Town is amazing.. lots of things to do if you just want to hang out.. but Disney is 30 mins - even in traffic. VERY practical place.
Kid's Park - nice park right there with swing set and place to play ball.
Nice parking for the car - always a problem for the beach.. this place was nice.

Something we learn, don't forget to leave the windows open as it can get warm if they are closed. Plus, you can hear the ocean.. awesome.

Wonderful place. We'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful views! Nice layout!

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

I am the mom and daughter with the 2 'gigantic' dogs mentioned in the one-star review. (They are medium-sized by any standard). As mentioned by the owner, there was a family below us for several days before this other couple came and we had no problems between us, chatted, and were friendly with each other. Our unit was clean. Why would the other unit not be clean? I just want to note that this property has all great reviews except from this one couple. 'Nuf said. This property was really great for us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

An Ocean-lovers Dream!

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Just returned from a dream-come-true stay at Casa Azul and I'm already missing the breathtaking views from the huge windows and the sound of the waves. My adult daughter and I stayed in the upper unit and reveled in the views and shore breezes. The beach was close and perfect for the long morning walks that I was looking forward too. The beach trail--dog friendly--was an added bonus and gave us a second long and gorgeous walk each day. Great dinners in town and at the pier restaurant watching the sunset. The spacious unit was all we could have wanted, including a fully equipped kitchen, 2 bathrooms, free WiFi, cable, and washer and dryer. I arm-wrestled my daughter for the master bedroom and was lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. Each morning I enjoyed the luxury of lying in bed and watching the waves--a dream come true!

The owner, Victoria, was a joy to work with: she went out of her way to make our mother-daughter getaway a reality. She could not have been nicer or more helpful. I'm already scheming for a way to return for a longer visit in future--highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Regina. I'm so glad you and your daughter enjoyed your stay at the casa. It warms my heart. Victoria

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location great place!

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

My wife and I enjoyed staying at the Casa. We loved the patio that overlooked the ocean. We could see the waves and beautiful sunsets. Walking to the beach took only a minute and you can also walk to the main st. In 5 min. It's so great not to have to take the car out! We stayed in the downstairs unit as we have for the past 3 yrs and loved it just as much as ever! The owner is always updating and improving which keeps us coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Alan! I'm looking forward to seeing next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awful Experience

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

This was the worst vacation that I ever didn't have. My husband and I rented "Casa Azul" for 7 nights in late June and were so looking forward to the trip. We left after the first night because the situation was unbearable. We rented the downstairs unit and were told that a retired couple would be above us. Instead, there were several people above us and two gigantic dogs. The floor was so thin that all we heard all day and late into the night was stomping, thumping, and creaking. We tried to sit out on the balcony, but the giant dogs barked out the window the entire time. The place was filthy and the bathroom smelled horrible. I acutally bought some cleaner and cleaned it myself because I could not handle the smell. There was thick dust on everyhting and the tub was peeling so bad it must have been 60 years old. The couch was so filthy that I did not even want to sit on it. We called the owner right away and told her we had to leave because we could not even sleep at night due to all the thumping from above us. Her response was for us to drive 100 miles back home and come back later in the week when the retired couple would be there. We told her that this was not an acceptable solution. She said she would give us a refund the night we left and never sent a dime. This was an absolutely horrible experience!

Owners response: I was very saddended by the behavior and percieved problems these guests were exhibiting. We all know there are two sides to every story. These guests were hoping for a luxury experience at a family priced place. Even though I did return their payment they never acknowledged it. How is it that no one else during the past seven years has ever had anything bad to say about the Casa? It's all about expectations. Many guests have said the casa was much better than they expected! There is an ambiance that can not be conveyed through the photos. You really can see and hear the waves. Many guests who return year after year prefer the downstairs because of the nice patio just outside the sliding glass door that faces the ocean and beautiful sunsets. Look at my calendar to see that many weeks are reserved by returning guests year after year. During the the previous 6 days there were other guests in the downstairs unit experiencing the exact same things the these guests were and they wrote an excellent comment in my guest book when they departed on Saturday.
Then these new "guests" moved in. They went upstairs to confront the mom and daughter who were staying there without letting me know anything about a problem! The daughter was brought to tears by the behavior of these "guests" who arrived downstairs.
The problem guests decided to leave. There was nothing I could do or say to please them. I would suggest they try a more exclusive area next time they book a vacation rental and always stay in the upper floor if hearing a few footsteps is unacceptable.
I have been renting out the Casa for more than 20 yrs and have never encountered people such as this. It makes my heart sink...I do have guests that love the Casa and come back year after year. I'll have them write some reviews to let everyone know that these people are the exception and out of the normal range of human experience!
Saddened vacation owner,
Victoria

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

Paradise!! What a beautiful house with breathtaking views, ocean waves to lull you to sleep and a great walking trail. It is so nice to be able to walk everywhere. San Clemente is a jewel... We look forward to returning. Thanks Vicki for providing us with a lovely winter retreat!

Dick and Cindy
Cheboygan Michigan

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

We had a wonderful week here at "Casa Azul". We thoroughly enjoyed the view from inside and out on the patio! It was even better than expected. The kids enjoyed the park and our everyday jaunt to the beach. It was just what our family needed. The farmers market was great too. It's a vacation none of us will forget!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

You have a wonderful place in a beautiful beach side community. Thanks for your hospitality and allowing us to stay at this incredible villa with a beautiful view!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 29, 2009   Date of arrival: October 29, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in Oct-sharing the cost for 2 couples was similar to a hotel stay but the experience was so much better. We had the lower unit which has a lovely patio to enjoy a flass of wine while overlooking the park and the ocean. We could walk to dinner, walk to the pier it was a great spot to tour San Diego from. The master bedroom mattress was a bit soft for our liking but everything else was great. The owner was very easy to work with. Lots to see and do in the area.

Owners response: Thank you Janet! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. The mattress is a Tempurpedic which is the best for backs! Hopefully you will enjoy it more the next time you try one!

Victoria

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 24, 2009   Date of arrival: March 24, 2009

Got this for a friend's family, and they didn't want to come back! They loved the view, the walk, the kitchen, the rooms.
Vicki, you are best owner i have ever worked with!

Owners response: I'm sure Tracy meant they didn't want to come back HOME! Tracy is already planning a trip back in May!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 25, 2008   Date of arrival: July 25, 2008

We LOVED Casa Azul. It has a beautiful view, especially from the living room and back porch (we stayed in the bottom unit). We loved eating meals outside and hearing the ocean in the distance. We also could easily walk to the beach and take our kids to the park, just outside the house. We'd highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 7, 2008   Date of arrival: January 7, 2008

It was great to sit at the window and watch the waves crashing and to see the children playing in the park. Then to sleep in the ultra comfortable bed! I can not say enough about your place, it was just the best experience. Thank you again!!! Liz

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 6, 2007   Date of arrival: November 6, 2007

Third stay at Casa Azul. We love it! It's what San Clemente is all about. Great views, easy walk to beach and downtown area. Will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 28, 2007   Date of arrival: October 28, 2007

I found this vacation rental online at while searching for a place for members of my family to stay after they were evacuated from their homes during the recent San Diego wildfires. This was the first rental I inquired about and the owner, Vicki was just SO nice and understanding and told me to have my relatives go to the condo and make themselves at home. They went there right away and LOVED the place!! When the freeway opened up, I went there to visit my relatives and I too loved the place!! It's very spacious, well furnished and had everything needed. SO much better than a hotel in my opinion... The only regret is that we weren't able to enjoy the outdoors due to the poor air quality from the fires.
I plan to look into renting the unit for my own immediate family for a get-away.
Thank you Vicki for being so understanding and hospitable to my Mom and my sister and her family. :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 29, 2007   Date of arrival: July 29, 2007

We stayed here last minute and loved the place. It is perfect old California when California beach towns were beach towns. Perfect view, quiet and easy going place to stay. Easy walk to the beach in about 3 minutes. Thanks for letting us stay and will see you again!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 20, 2007   Date of arrival: March 20, 2007

We had such a pleasant stay here, will stay here again!

Terry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review