reviews for: listing #18583 - San Francisco, California Condo rental

North Beach Victorian Gem as seen on THE FINE LIVING CHANNEL
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,000 - $4,000 /wk

sort by:

A super comfortable house in SF

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

This is a great location in Lombard Street, 10 minutes walk to fisherman's wharf and 15 minutes walk to China town. The decoration in the house is very nice and well maintained, we love the style, feel like our own home in SF. Only thing bothers me is a little bit difficult to find a place to park. Anyway, highly recommend a couple with 2 kids live here. A super cute twin beds with many pretty Barbie dolls make my daughter do not want to leave.

Also highly recommend to buy "Go San Francisco card" in Costco, 2 days card is only $65, but we use it to visit Academy of science, de young museum, Aquarium of bay, took 2 rides cruise, trolley tour which triple value than the cost of card.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect San Francisco Flat!

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful apartment over Christmas with our two boys (ages 13 & 14). The Flat itself is incredibly clean and extremely well appointed. The finishings and attention to detail make for an amazing place to rest at the end of the day. Besides the great kitchen, bedrooms(the room with the 2 twin beds feels as though it fell out of a storybook) and living space, we loved having 2 bathrooms and laundry facilities. This all makes for a incredibly pleasant and easy stay. The location is outstanding! Safe, quiet neighbourhood located within walking distance to EVERYTHING! Our family had one of our best vacations together, with this property playing a staring role in our memories. The owners are fantastic and very easy to deal with. I cannot say enough good things about this place. If you get the chance, stay here.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place, great location

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

We loved the apartment, everything worked well, just as explained in listing. Clean, well maintained, good service. Highly recommended. We walked to so many great restaurants in the area, even as far as union square. Easy to get a taxi,bus, trolley, no need for car. Quiet area. Groceries close by.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent place - Excelente lugar

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 18, 2013

We are from Argentina. All excellent: maintenance, cleaning, customer service, location, etc. Near from Chinatown, Pier 39.

The location is quiet and safe.
Photos and description on the website were accurate

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding in every way

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

Congratulations Charles on the presentation of such an outstanding property. The cleanliness, attention to detail, level of support, location and comfort were all as described, and better! We were within easy walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, restaurants at Washington Square, bike hire and Coit Tower. We had a group of 5, all adults, and were easily accommodated in this spacious apartment. We would definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Gem in North Beach

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

Charles and his lovely wife were fabulous hosts, made us feel right at home. The flat is quite spacious, and impeccably restored, with everything you could want/need for your stay. My wife and I brought our daughter and her two cousins, and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute, cooked breakfast and dinners in the well equipped and appointed kitchen. The area is close to many tourist spots - but in the middle of a settled and quiet neighborhood. Trust all the reviews on this site - this place is worth it. Charles was super helpful with arrival parking. There is a very convenient garage just a few blocks away. Definitely will be coming back for another authentic SF experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful location and stay

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

We stayed with our two teenage boys and had a wonderful time. It is such easy walking distance to Pier 39 and Washington Square.

Every thing we needed was provided in the condo. The only issue we had was spotty Internet but it didn't really matter since we were so busy enjoying San Francisco.

I highly recommend this location.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

You won't be disappointed!

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

This rental was great - in all aspects! From Charles' greeting and parking assistance to the clean and beautiful condition of this flat to it's great location! Our family of 5 felt very comfortable - even a bit pampered - during our three night stay. We are so glad we didn't opt for a hotel.

The description of the flat and photos were spot on. The flat is wonderful and offered everything we could have needed - including a washer and dryer, two baths and fully equipped kitchen. The beds were comfortable and we all enjoyed the media room. We never felt tight for space. Charles put a lot of detail into every aspect of the flat and it shows. Well done!

As great as the inside of the unit is, we loved its location with North Beach. Literally steps out the door was a great view of the curvy part of Lombard Street. A block away gave you a great view of the newly lit Bay Bridge at Night. Coit Tower is less than two blocks. The wharf was an easy downhill walk just a few blocks away. Bus transporation was easily available. We lucked out with a street parking place the first two nights. But we were able to park our last night in a garage just three blocks away (Stockton and Filbert) for only $20/night.

Our favorite hangout was Washington Park - just two miles away with great restaurants surrounding it. (Try Mama's for breakfast but get there early - or the little bakery across the street from Mama's.)

Charles and his wife were gracious hosts. Charles made available lots of information about the area, house rules, instructions for all appliances in the unit and check-out procedures which were very easy. The cleaning fee is included in the price of the unit which we appreciated.

We'd rent here again in a heartbeat!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, fun apartment

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

I chose a home rental over a hotel as I wanted the flexibility it would offer in terms of laundry (we had already been travelling the week before our arrival in SF), kitchen, living space etc. - the apartment did not disappoint!.
The apartment was clean and tidy, well maintained and fun to be in!
It is in a great location, an easy walk to the financial district, Fishermans Wharf, Embarcadero. The eclectic shops on Grant were a delight and I would recommend The House (on Grant) for great food. The apartment is certainly worth the 5-star ratings it gets, however, at the time of our stay there were maintenance works ongoing that prevented us from using the outside space and an issue with the washing machine that wasn't able to be fixed until 4 days into our stay (however Charles was kind enough to run a couple of loads of laundry for us which saw us through) thus the reason for 4-stars. Charles and his family are charming and very helpful, it was a delightful way to spend time in SF.

Owners response: Our Bosch washing machine broke down unexpectedly, but it has been replaced with a new one. The rear stairs have been repaired and look great!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A wonderful stay

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

Could not have been more impressed with this apartment, the location, the layout and the quality of the fixtures and fittings was amazing. Charles, the owner was so accommodating and friendly especially when we had to extend our stay by an extra day, this was no trouble and Charles made this easy for us.

This apartment is perfect for families with two children as in the second bedroom there is twin single beds with a queen size bed for the adults.

The location was perfect, close to North Beach and also walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf. There are supermarkets only a short walk away as well as plenty of smaller stores where provisions can be purchased. Area was quiet and private and a real haven away from the busy city.

I would not recommend this apartment any more highly, it was the perfect place for our first nights away on a long US holiday.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

You won't be disappointed!!!

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

How fortunate we feel to have had such a wonderful place to stay in San Fran! It was just perfect for our family of 4 (2 fifty somethings and 2 kids, ages 21 and 16). Having 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms gave us all plenty of room. The owners were there to great us with a smile and lots of information. The flat was immaculate. It was a pleasure to make eggs for breakfast on the Viking stove. The location is great for walking to the Wharf, China Town, Union Square, North Beach restaurants, Coit Tower, grocery shopping activities, rental car companies, etc. We felt like locals by the end of our stay. Get ready to climb up some hills, put on your sneakers and don't hesitate. We had one of our best family vacations ever.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best of the best

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

Perfect apartment, perfect maintenance and perfect location.Charles is a very good host.
You really are very close to everything and the walk is extremely nice.
Mi wife, my 3 kids and me, found ourselves at home in SF. We will definitely try to come back!

Jaime, from Mexico City

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best of the best

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

My family and me stayed there for 6 days. The apartment is very (VERY) nice, and the location is excellent. The apartment is very well maintained and neat, the owners are very kind and provided very good customer service. The neighborhood is really nice too. We wish we haved stayed more days...We will definitely try to come back!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice and well located

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

Very nicely decorated and very well equipped apartment. We immediately felt at home thanks to the friendly atmosphere in the apartment. The apartment had everything we needed. Big and good quality fridge, stove, microwave oven, etc. in the kitchen. Wireless and cable connected Internet, and even a printer, which was useful for printing tickets bought online and well as boarding passes for our return flight. We also made ample use of the washing machine and tumble dryer. Small things that made us feel well looked after was the presence of basics such as salt, pepper, oil, vinegar, etc. as well as tablets for the dishwasher, detergent for the washing machine, shampoo, etc., etc.

We enjoyed the location close to the Italian quarter with many restaurants and cafe's around Washington Square and on Grant Ave., Filbert St., etc. which was only 5-10 minutes walk away. Our children also enjoyed playing soccer on the nearby Joe DiMaggio Playground. Fisherman's Wharf (spoilt and touristic though) was also only 10 minutes away. We spent five days in San Francisco and visited many parts of town, and when leaving the was no doubt that North Beach was the best place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice home, spotty cell and internet

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 17, 2011

Very nice home with everything you need. My only criticism is that if you have AT&T as your cell provider, you will have very spotty if no cell reception except in the front room of the home. Also, the wifi that is available is very spotty as well and makes it very difficult to have internet access except in the front room of the home and even then the connection speed is so slow that sometimes you just have to give up. If you are a traveler counting on being able to work or make your daily sight-seeing plans using the internet, this could be frustrating.

Owners response: The wireless network has been upgraded to a newer system. It is now strong and much faster. Keep in mind that older PC devices will be slower on this system.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

We spent 5 nights in San Francisco & had the best family holiday. The apartment was absolutely perfect! From the central location to the beautiful decor we could not have asked for a better place to stay. We enjoyed walking to all the places we wanted to see, from pier 39, fisherman's wharf, shopping downtown, MOMA, china town & the cartoon museum. Charles was a perfect host and so very helpful! We were a family of 4 with 2 older children & this place was a perfect place to spend time together, but with enough space not to feel crowded. The neighbourhood is really beautiful with all the victorian architecture we enjoyed walking in the area. Just 1/2 block away from Coit Tower with its wonderful views of all San Francisco. I would love to go back tomorrow & would hightly recommend this rental property. Thank you so much for letting us stay with you.

Alice & family from Vancouver

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

North Beach Victorian Gem

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2010

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the flat we rented!! It was a wonderful experience and perfect for me and my 3 friends! It was in a perfect location and easily accessible to anywhere we wanted to go!! We were more than pleased with the cleanliness of the apartment and it was furnished with all that we needed for our week! The owner was very pleasant and we enjoyed meeting him! I would (and have) recommended this property to friends!!! If we ever come back to San Francisco, we would be thrilled to just stay in the same location!!!

While we were in San Francisco, we enjoyed many things!! Probably our favorite activity was riding to Napa Valley and taking a hot air balloon ride!! We also enjoyed swimming with the dolphins at 6 Flags! When touring the city, we rented Go Cars and although this was pretty expensive, we LOVED the whole experience!! The atmosphere in San Francisco (down by Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf) was tons of fun - kind of a New Orleans feel without all the drinking and carrying on!!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

My family and I stayed here the first week in August and really loved the flat. It is within walking distance to the Pier, Chinatown and all of the downtown area. It is easy to catch a cab to attractions that are further away. The flat is wonderfully decorated and we really felt at home here and are sad to leave. The washer and dryer came in very handy as August is apparently very cold here and we washed our warm clothes frequently! The pictures on the website resemble the flat perfectly. The flat was very clean and very well maintained. We would definitely recommend this property to friends and family and would stay here again as well if we return to the area. San Francisco is a lovely city with lots to do. The only thing that I would change is the time of year to visit so that it is not so cold and windy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes, this summer has been cold but you never know what the summer will bring. The last few summers have delivered beautiful weather. I guess you would call this summer a traditional San Francisco summer. That means temperatures between 55 to 70 degrees, with fog in the morning and clear skies in the afternoon. My favorite weather for this North Beach micro-climate has always been late Spring and especially September to November. The weather is usually perfect during these periods. Think about visiting then!

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

North Beach Victorian Gem

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

I have nothing but praise for this flat which is ideally situated in a safe,pleasant area,convenient for all that San Francisco has to offer.
It is extremely well-appointed with everything needed for a comfortable,"home from home" stay.
I would have no hesitation in recommending it and would love to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family from Minn.

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Thanks so so much! Everything was great! We had a great time and will recommend your place to our friends and family. Again, thanks!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great San Francisco getaway

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

The North Beach Victorian flat was beautiful, well-maintained and had all the essential amenities. It was in an excellent location, within walking distance of the wharf, China Town, near North Beach restaurants. Easy to catch public transport nearby plus car rentals within walking distance for day trips. Would definitely recommend it to friends and return ourselves.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review