reviews for: listing #18621 - Lincoln City, Oregon House rental

Whale Watch--Stunning Oceanfront and Pet Friendly too!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $195 - $350 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,400 /wk

sort by:

Fabulous views and location

Review submitted: August 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

We had a family reunion over the Fourth of July at Whale Watch and it was perfect! We really enjoyed the house and the set up was perfect for us. We had a toddler and a dog so the fenced in yard worked great for us as well. We spent a lot of time walking the beach and flying kites. The mornings and evenings where spent hanging out watching whales off the back deck. I can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful property!

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

We stayed at the Whale Watch house for a long birthday weekend and had such a lovely time! The photos of the house are accurate, but don't sufficiently capture the charm of the house. The tiled living room with wood burning stove and big, plush couches and chairs/ottomans looking out on the ocean is the perfect place to relax. The covered outdoor deck is great for lounging or dining outside. The hot tub is roomy and sooooo relaxing, with nice strong jets. The master bedroom is spacious and has a private attached bath, and a sliding glass door going directly to the deck, which is very handy for trips to the hot tub. The other bedrooms are not as luxurious, but honestly that's not where you spend most of your time on a vacation anyway. The kitchen is large and well equipped. The enclosed yard is awesome for dogs, and the view down to the beach will take your breath away! My only point of caution would be that the stairs up to the front door and to the upstairs level could be rough for anyone with limited mobility, so keep that in mind. Overall, I highly recommend this rental, and look forward to returning here again someday!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Barbara for the nice review and glad you had a wonderful time at Whale Watch and oregon coast.

Best,

Nancy and the Miller family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Total relaxation!!!!!!

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 29, 2014

2nd trip to this property and within 20 minutes what do we see?! WHALES! Love this backyard the views are amazing....laid out and actually got a major tan in April. House is well equipped with all your cooking needs bbq, they even have lotion shampoo so that's rare.

Owner is fabulous! She snuck us in very last minute. Spacious, beds are comfy...we'll be back!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

6 Best Friends in the Whole World (Corvallis and Las Vegas)

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

this is our 3rd annual trip for our girls weekend (we had to skip last year) but we are so happy it worked out this year. We looked at maybe trying another location for our event but we just kept coming back to this house. Love the layout, all the beds, has enough bathrooms, the view is to die for, great hot tub, close to everything by walking OR driving.
We will be back next year!!! Fyi......the hair dryer in the Masterbath does not work.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Cindy. Glad you and your gal pals enjoyed Whale Watch again! Thanks for the "heads up" on the hair dryer in master bath. It's already replaced! Cheers. Nancy Miller, Owner

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Yes, Saw Whales!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at Whale Watch. The kitchen had all the necessary equipment for the two dinners we prepared, and the accommodations were comfortable and inviting for the 4 adults and one teen. Loved the clear view fence for watching the waves and the surfers trying to conquer them. Would definitely stay here again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Cynthia! I see that you did write a review and I very much appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Whale Watch!

Best,

Nancy Miller
owner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun Property

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

We had a "mini reunion" with three brothers and their spouses last weekend. There was a major storm brewing, and we were in the right location where you could easily see the ocean and waves, but were able to keep dry--even when venturing outside thanks to the covered deck! Those from Arizona, Alaska, and Illinois really appreciated the storm, as it was a new experience for most.

The house is very comfortable without being pretentious. Tile floors in the living areas were appreciated--so much easier than sand in carpets. The kitchen was well equipped and the beds were comfortable. There were tons of towels and the hot tub was superb--from the condition of the tub to the remarkable ocean view.

There were some minor issues, but a phone call took care of them all. I made a few recommendations privately, and they were fixed immediately.

I have no qualms recommending this property in beautiful Lincoln City.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome girls weekend!

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

My first stay at the Whale Watch and was pleasantly surprised. Came with 5 others for a long girls weekend. Home was immaculate, spacious and came with everything one would need for a short or extended vacation, i.e., iron and ironing board, hairdryers in both downstairs bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen with everything from dishes to glasses, to cutting boards, pots and pans of all sizes, cooking utensils...you name it, it was there! All we had to bring was our clothes and food, everything else was supplied. Beach access was very convenient, and the views from the master bedroom and patio were awesome! It was also great to have a full size new washer and dryer in the basement, oh and the beds had the most comfortable oversized pillows, I slept like a baby! Great patio set up out back for sitting and relaxing or having a meal and watching the surf roll in. The area was very quiet and private as well. My friends and I had a great time and will definitely be going back to Whale Watch again for what will become an annual girls getaway!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

What a great trip!

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

We rented the house for a week, brought in family from out of town, and had a great time. Two complete families stayed all week + other family would drop in for meals and we always had plenty of room! Even fed 18 on the patio one evening! Kitchen was well-equipped, loved on-site laundry. Both the owner and in-town manager were friendly and helpful when we ran out of gas for the BBQ and trouble-shooting wifi. It was great to have a fenced yard for the dog, off-street parking, and proximity to Lincoln City amenities. Photos were accurate, property was clean and maintained, really loved the trip. We'll be back next year!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Girls Weekend!

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

This was our 2nd Annual Girls Weekend to the coast AND to this property. There was 8 of us this year and we played our Murder Mystery Dinner again. We all dressed up in our character role and had a blast. The accommendations were great, the place was clean, the hot tub was great! We couldn't find a potatoe peeler but we survived. :)
We arrive to cloudy, rainy weather, woke up on Saturday to a beautiful sunny warm day, sat out on the deck, drank some beverages and soaked up the sun. Sunday we woke up to snow. Thanks again and I am sure we will be seeing you next year. The girls from Corvallis, Albany, Eugene and Las Vegas.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fantastic time!

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

We were not disappointed!; the listing is very accurate. the view was spectacular and right outside our large windows; just like the photos. We appreciated the backyard to sit out in and enjoy our picnic lunch. The home was open, clean,bright and cozy. The hot tub was extra special. The beach access is just down the street.
The kitchen pretty much had all you need though being a 'foodie' I brought a few extra gadgets that I favor, just in case :-) The house comfortably fit the 5 of us with more room/beds to spare. We even received a couple of welcome messages from the owner which was so nice.
I would highly recommend this house and would definitely book it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cathy G.

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

We've been coming to the Whale Watch for over 15 years. First of all, we love that it's pet friendly.
My family and friends feel so comfortable and at home here. They have every amenity you could want.
In the winter, I love reading by the fireplace and looking out over the ocean. In the summertime, I love the view from the hot tub! The fenced in back yard keeps my kids in a safe environment and I don't have to worry about them. We love walking on the beach too, winter or summer.
It's a convenient location to shopping but when you're at the house, you feel like no one else is around. Can't wait for our next trip.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful family trip

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

My family flew in from Salt LAke City, UT to spend my Mother-in-laws birthday at the coast. We stayed at the Whale Watch Beach house and had an amazing vacation. The house was perfect...plenty of beds and space for everyone there was a total of 6 of us with room for more. The beach access was super convenient. The house had everything we needed and was clean. Even stuff for Grandma and my son to bake together. There is a grocery store right at the start of the neighborhood. The hot tub was a nice extra...being able to relax in the hot tub while looking and hearing the ocean. It was the best. It is close to all the great things to do in Lincoln City and Newport. If we ever make it back to Lincoln City...we will be staying at the Whale Watch again!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

September Wonderland 2011

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

We had a great time at the Whale Watch house. The weather was wonderful and we LOVED the backyard, both to watch/listen to the ocean and for our 2 small dogs. The house was very comfortable and in a great quiet neighborhoood location. It was so comfortable it felt like home! Didn't want to leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relax and enjoy the Ocean

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

The view of the house is Awsome. It is the big house and spread out, so you won't fell so closed in. The kitchen have all the plates, cups, silverwear, big bowls you can imagine. I like the dryer in each bathroom.
Very convinient. Love the sound of the ocean. We can't wait to go back. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fall 2010 trip to the Central Oregon Coast

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

We greatly enjoyed our trip to the accurately named "Whale Watch". The view from the property is absolutely breathtaking and we spotted whales almost every day of our 1 week stay. It was our first trip to the Oregon Coast and we were very happy to have selected Lincoln City which offered many attractions including great restaurants, the Chinook Winds Casino and the outlet mall is walking distance from "Whale Watch"! The property exceeds the impressions from the photos on the web. We found it to be very spacious and well appointed. It was very clean and everything that was expected was provided for. The beds are very comfortable and the hot tub overlooking the ocean is to be enjoyed every night!! Can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful visit

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

Beautiful view. The accommodations were great. We had 8 people in the house and we never felt crowded. The kitchen is equipped with all the amenities. Adventures were all around us. Surfing, hiking, shopping, aquarium, seal lions, whales, sand dune rides etc. We were never bored. We felt at home from the moment we walked in. The sunsets.......breathtaking.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Absolute fantastic home to rent

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 10, 2010

My fiance and I just stayed at this lovely home and it took everything for us to leave it. We were stunned by the views, the upkeep of the home and most of all everything this home had to offer. If someone showed with just a suitcase of clothes, it would be all they need. The kitchen is stocked with every utensil, serving wear, pot, spices, so much. Our dogs loved had a blast with the secure fenced in yard. Our dog Mo so much appreciated the ability to see all the lady dogs friends from above as they walked on the beach below. We saw alot of whales which was exciting as we sat in the hottub with a glass of wine. Thank you so much for having this wonderful home available to rent out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 11, 2003   Date of arrival: June 1, 2003

We stayed in this great house over Memorial Day 2003. Had the best time! Very comfortable with everything you could possibly need! The beach was fabulous as always. Loved it! Hope to come again. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review