reviews for: listing #18622 - Corolla, North Carolina House rental

One Particular Harbor- Private Pool, Hot Tub 5BR Oceanside
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Ocean Sands
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $950 - $3,125 /wk

sort by:

Newbie house renters had a wonderful experience!!

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

We arrived at the house after a long drive from Ohio and were so pleased with the accommodations. The weather was not so great so the first couple of days were spent watching dvd's and playing games with the littles ones...Thank goodness for the great library of games...i think we played every one that was suitable from 8 and under!! Chicken Limbo was hilarious!! Once the weather got better we spent every moment we could either at the beach, the pool or site detour to the Outer Banks Emergency Room, which I have to say was quick, helpful and everyone was so sweet. The three year old was not traumatized by her visit at all...we just went on to the aquarium in Nags Head...nice distraction...

Since we were there at the end of the season alot of the beach equipment had been woefully used and abused...not one boogie board had the cords on them (which may not be a big deal for those accustomed to using them) so we were afraid they would get away from us and the beach chairs were in pretty bad shape.

There is only a short walk to the beach but don't overload yourself with too many things....the steps over the dunes can get some getting used to especially if travelling with small children.

Overall, this was the best vacation we have ever had and look forward to doing it again soon!! Thank you for your hospitality...Cheryl was so gracious and answered every question that i had and i had a few!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review! I'm glad to hear you have such a nice time at the property with your family! I appreciate all your feedback and it helps us to improve the property! We also believe that the chairs and boogie boards have seen their last season and have purchased many new ones for the 2012 season. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope we can serve you again in the coming years.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

i want to thank you and your family for renting us your home. we had the best vacation of our lives. it was amazing the sun shined the whole week everyone is so friendly. and the house was welcoming, clean and like home. thank you so much for making our summer vacation the best one of our lives.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3


Great house

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We had a great time at one particular place. Everything you might need is provided and convenient my family and pets had a blast. Very relaxing vacation. I recommend this house!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks very much for your review of our house. I'm so glad you and your family had a great vacation. It was a pleasure serving you and I hope you will think of us for your next OBX Vacation!
Thanks again:)

Helpful votes: 5 / 5


Girls Getaway Weekend

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at One Particular Harbor for our girls getaway. The owner was friendly and very attentive to our needs. We had a great time in the hot tub and enjoyed the beach. The house had fun, bright decor and was clean and spacious.
Thanks again for being a part of our great weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your Rental!
I enjoyed having you stay with us for your Taste of the Beach Weekend. I hope you enjoyed the event and will choose us again in 2012!
Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Great Rental – Cannot wait for my stay next year!!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

What a comfortable, cozy, and clean house to stay in with only about a 5-7 minute walk to the beach! The website pictures and information described the house to a T but it is even better in person. What made this house stand out above other homes we have rented in the past is how attentive the owners were, I felt like I personally knew them! They called the day after we checked in to make sure everything was OK in the house and had even left some good general information for the house on the fridge as well as for the surrounding area. The kitchen was awesome, I was amazed at how much was available for us to use in the kitchen and really throughout the entire house. I know the owners just took over the property before the 2010 season, but they really have the process down! Their communication before, during, and after our stay was awesome! We enjoyed the home so much, we are definitely going to rent again next year. The pool, beach, and great room were definitely the most popular areas, but the decks were so nice to just relax on at night after the sun went down. Overall, I think this is a great home to vacation in, with nice owners to boot, and cannot wait for our vacation stay here next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3


Can't be beat for the money!

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

This was the first time we visited this particular part of the Outer Banks and our stay couldn't have been better. The house is very inviting, inside and out, and the owners were extremely friendly and even called the day after check-in to see how our stay was going. I have to say, that is above and beyond. We have stayed at rental homes up and down the east coast and elsewhere, and the owners of One Particular Harbor seemed genuinely concerned that we have a good time in their home. The great room on the top floor was where we spent most of our time (other than the pool and the beach!) because it allowed all of us to gather no matter what was going on; cooking, eating, watching TV or movies...everything! The beach is nearby and it only took a short walk through a wooded area behind the home and down a short street to reach the dunes. All in all, I hope to visit One Particular Harbor again in the future, maybe even in the off-season for some much needed mid-season R&R!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. Check us out in 2011 for some new and exciting changes and improvements.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3


Long Walk to Beach and Tired Decor

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Very disappointed in this house rental. It is not a 5 minute walk to beach, it's almost 15 minutes, not fun when you have to lug beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, etc. Owners seem nice and I believe they just took ownership this year. The house needs major sprucing up. The bathrooms could have been cleaner. The ceiling fans were filthy--so much dust on the blades we wouldn't even run them in the bedrooms. The bedroom with the bunk beds had a horrible odor--good thing no one slept in there. A paint job would do wonders for the inside. The bedding was tired and old--bleach stains all over our blue sheets. Glad we brought our own blanket and pillows. The vertical blinds in the the master bedroom were missing about five slats. We had to cover with the quilt to keep out the sunlight in the morning. The pool was a saving grace, cold water and full of jellies. However, put some umbrellas and tables out in the pool area.

Little things go a long way--this house just missed them all. No umbrellas, beach chairs that should have been replaced. No dvd player. Loaded with a bunch of old vcr tapes, but no vcr to play them in. Nothing unique or charming about this place.

Owners response: Thank you for your review. As brand new owners this year, we value the comments and suggestions of our guests and admit that this first year has been a learning experience for us. These reviews assist us in improving our property for future renters. We have many planned improvements and additions to the property for the coming year. I am confident that had you mentioned any of these issues when we spoke on the phone, we would have made our best effort to correct them in order to make your stay more enjoyable.
We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at our home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review