reviews for: listing #18627 - San Francisco, California Condo rental

Luxury Tudor Style Flat As Seen on the Fine Living Channel
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,100 - $4,400 /wk

sort by:

We loved it!

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

From the moment we drove up and were met by Charles, the owner, it was a perfect experience. The flat is located in a very quiet neighborhood and as safe as any place in the city that is not gated.

The flat is very clean and fashionably decorated and well appointed and detailed including a well outfitted kitchen. The unit is perfect for two couples.

Probably the best feature is location. Virtually everything is within walking distance, especially in reasonable weather. Walking to the wharf, downtown, the ferry building are all reasonable and of course the fabulous restaurants of North Beach are just 3 or 4 blocks away. One need not have a car to enjoy the city. Transportation is only needed to venture out to the gate, the ocean and beyond.

The only shortcomings we experienced were the lack of included parking...we parked in a garage about 4 blocks away and the internet connection is not strong.

Overall, it is an excellent value.

We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The BEST and most BEAUTIFUL flat!

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2014

The property is in absolutely the best location you can imagine. The flat itself is flawless. Its decorated beautifully, very comfortable, and has everything you could possible need. It was perfect for our family of 4. We had two teens with us and the fold down couch was super comphy! The owners were so easy to work with. The key was simple to get, the communication was awesome, and they even went above and beyond to mail us back an item we left behind. I would highly recommend this property to anyone! And on a side note, Mama's restaurant is just around the corner and may be the best breakfast ever!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic San Francisco Flat!

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

What a perfect place to stay in San Francisco! Very spacious, clean, and bright. The location couldn't be any better, we walked almost everywhere we wanted to go. The jacuzzi was a fantastic retreat every evening and a gas fireplace created the perfect ambiance. Very romantic stay, definitely recommend this flat. If we ever visit San Francisco again, we will definitely book this flat.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gorgeous North Beach Flat

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

This flat was gorgeous! It is just as lovely as it is pictured and just as it is described. It is also very clean. There is a fully equipped kitchen for cooking. Many amenities are provided including a blowdryer and washer and dryer. The wireless internet worked great which is a plus as many places we have stayed claim to have wireless internet and then it doesn't work.
We had a car, and although there was no on street parking we found a parking garage just a short walk away that worked out well.
The owner was more than helpful when I inquired about the property and answered all my questions in a timely manner. He was also very friendly when we checked in. Booking the flat was also very easy online.
The location was amazing. The restaurants in North Beach are only a few blocks away. If you like bakeries and cafes this is the place for you. We loved Stella Pastry & Cafe, Cafe Greco and Mara's Bakery. Cafe DeLucchi is wonderful for an Italian Breakfast. And Gelateria Naia is amazing for gelato. You can also get take-out lunch from one of the Italian delis and have a picnic in Washington Square Park.
We were able to walk to The Embarcadero where we visited The Exploratorium and the Ferry Building. We also were only a block or two walk to public transit stops to get to other parts of the city like The Mission District and Japan Town.
China Town is nearby and not a difficult walk.
We took two day trips. One to Berkeley and one to the flea market on Treasure Island, which were just a short drive from the flat.
I would most certainly recommend this flat and would stay there again! It was even more than I hoped it would be.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

We stayed here from 7/26 to 7/30 and were very pleased. This flat is very clean and the location couldn't be better. We did have a car and Charles recommended a garage just a couple blocks away that was very reasonable. We only took the car out once to drive to Muir Woods and up to Napa. We walked just about everywhere else as the location of the flat is close to so many things. I would highly recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

San Francisco North Beach Flat

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

Our stay at the North Beach Flat was wonderful. It was our first time booking through HomeAway and I was curious as to what to expect. The apartment was just as listed in the description, the pictures were accurate and the location was perfect. The apartment was immaculate, very clean and well appointed. The owner was friendly and accessible for any questions. The location was perfect for all San Francisco activities, running, site seeing, shopping. I would highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

We love this place. Is just like the pictures. Is in a beautiful street, very quiet. Close to every thing. The apartment is very beautiful. Very clean, with nice furniture.We loved and miss a place like the apartment in the rest of our trip.
we are two couples of medium age.
En español: maravilloso, nos encanto. lo recomendariamos y repetiríamos de todas maneras

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice apartment, superb location

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

The apartment in Lombard Street (about half a mile from the squiggly bit of Lombard) is a superb location if you want to feel bit like a local. It's easy ( by SF standards) to the real touristy places like Fishermans Wharf, a block away from the Coit Tower and two blocks away from Washington Square, where you can sit and watch the SF world go by.
The apartment itself is a curious mix of antiques and modern, but has everything in it that you'd want for a really nice stay.
Interestingly, we live in the British countryside so living in an apartment in a wooden building was a new experience to be able to hear people in other apartments. Even more so, we were asked to keep the noise down after 9pm and not wear shoes on the wooden floor so as to not disturb the neighbours, yet the people with the toddler running around above us at 10pm had not had the same instructions. Having said that, it did not spoil our experience.
We'd absolutely recommend this property for it's location alone.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best experience

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

I went to San Francisco with my partner and my 2 nieces. We wanted an apartment to spent as much time as possible together but we didn't want to be all sharing a bathroom in one crowded hotel room.
This flat was the best choice we made and our host Charles was wonderful and warm. He is very well organize and everything at the flat was spotless with crispy sheets and lots of towels. Charles has all the instructions for the house written in a binder that comes very helpful when you don't know where to dispose the garbage or how to operate the TV.
We had a wonderful time during breakfast and dinner, we didn't want to leave the flat sometimes, we were so confortable. I will be recommending this place to all my friends knowing that I will not get any complaints. I highly recommend it to anybody whose interested in staying in a clean and beautiful flat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful property

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

I have to agree with all of the other positive reviews. The flat was immaculate and had all of the amenities that we could have possibly wanted. The location is excellent, walking distance to Coit Tower, Fisherman's Wharf and many more points of interest. There was always hot water for showers; a real plus for a group of four women. We felt very safe in the neighborhood and enjoyed many great meals within a few blocks of the flat. Our group highly recommends the Tudor Flat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful flat in a great location

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

This property is beautifully decorated and has all of the amenities you'd need for a relaxing stay in San Francisco. Charles (the owner) met us at the flat and he was very helpful regarding the various sites, restaurants and transportation options that were nearby. The flat was spotless and very well maintained (the pictures from the on line listing are very accurate.) The flat is on the second floor so be aware that you must climb a fairly steep set of stairs to get inside the flat; however, you must also remember that San Francisco is the city with the most hills in the US, so most of your walking with be up/down hills anyway! We walked to almost every site we visited because they were all downhill from us, but sometimes took a cab to get back to the flat instead of taking the long uphill hike. Being so close to the North Beach area, there are tons of restaurants, bakeries, coffee shops, etc. to satisfy almost every taste. We would certainly stay here again and would recommend this terrific flat to our friends and family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

San Francisco getaway at an amazing tudor flat

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

We had an amazing experience at this beautiful tudor flat. The flat was immaculate and turnkey in design. It was fully equipted with dishes,towels, all linens, soaps, and a washer and dryer. The location couldn't have been better as it was close to the wharf and neighborhood shops and dining. We absolutely loved it and will return again...Lori H.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Definitely a home away from home

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in the Tudor apartment! The apartment is lovely, cozy, warm and comfortable. Charles has thought of everything that a person might need to make the stay comfortable and stress free. The apartment was so wonderful, we hardly left to go sightseeing. The location is great with multitudes of restaurants, shops, parks and stores. Thanks Charles! We will be back in the spring.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceeded our Expectations!

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

My husband and I took our 18 year old son, who is leaving for college in a couple of weeks, to San Francisco for a special trip together. We wanted a nice comfortable place for the three of us and a location where we could easily get to many of the great sights and enjoy everything the city has to offer. I searched and searched online for just the right place and came across this flat. I contacted the owner and told him what we were looking for, and he thought this place would be a good fit for us. He was so right! This place was perfect and I would highly recommend it. It's exactly like the pictures show and you won't be disappointed. The neighborhood is within walking distance of the Coit Tower, Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, Chinatown, Nob Hill, and all kinds of shopping and tasty restaurants. We had a wonderful trip and enjoyed our stay here very much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fabulous Vacation Rental

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We were extremely satisfied with this rental property. The listing acurately described the flat and its amenities. It is beautifully decorated, clean, well maintained, and in an excellent location near the top of Telegraph Hill. It is a very short walk to Pier 39, with breathtaking views. The central location made it easy for us to either walk or use public transportation to everything we wanted to do. We enjoyed everything we did, including Chinatown, Golden Gate Park, the De Young Museum, the Japanese Tea Garden, Muir Woods, and a Victorian Walking tour of Pacific Heights. It was easy to rent a car for one day and drive to Point Reyes National Seashore, which we highly recommend. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend or relative. It was great to have such a wonderful home base to explore San Francisco.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Location, Geat Time

Review submitted: June 2, 2009   Date of arrival: May 23, 2009

We came here with our family to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We were very happy to find out where the condo was located. You can walk down to the end of the road turn right and see the water and Pier 39. It is about five or six blocks away. The location is also in an Italian section of the city with some great restaurants. Parking is difficult although there are garages around if you want to walk a little. We did walk the city and took public transportation to get around.
The condo was in excellent condition and the owners are nearby if you have any questions. There was only one small TV but it does have a DVD player and there is a rental store in the neighborhood. The condo did not have a wireless hook up to the internet but it did have one hook up for DSL. I would recommend bringing an internet wireless card. Overall we were very happy and would recommend this condo to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We now have wireless internet and a flat screen TV.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review