reviews for: listing #18640 - Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida House rental

SANDANCE Oceanfront - Guana Lake State Park
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  South Ponte Vedra
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $350 /nt
    $1,800 - $2,200 /wk

sort by:

Lovely location

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

Nice to be on the beach. The property is dated, but comfortable. There were a few issues that perhaps are being dealt with since there were construction people working in the lower unit parked out front as well as a large dumpster. Master bedroom with large balcony was welcoming, old giant tub with hand- held shower off the master not so much. Twin mattresses in downstairs bedroom may be fine for children, not for adults. Consider bringing your own pillows. The ones provided are old, and of the $3.99 variety. The door to the front balcony doesn't lock...
But the views are fantastic! Sawgrass is nearby for golfers. St. Augustine is close for day trips. All in all, it's all about the beach and we had a great time. And Cap's restaurant never disappoints.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Needed vacation

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 3, 2013

We had a great time at Sandance. The house and the location was a perfect way to enjoy the ocean. Weather could have cooperated a little more, but was ok. I loved the openness of the house and all of the decks. We watched the sun rise every morning with a cup of coffee and a walk down the beach. There were plenty of dolphins to watch and many shells to collect.

I would recommend Sandance to anyone who wants a beautiful place to watch the ocean and unwind.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation getaway at Sandance

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

We had a most wonderful time at Sandance,sharing time with our family. The house and location are perfect. Irene was great to work with. Loved waking up to the surf, sunrise and dolphins. The location is very private spot on the beach and the forest preserve Guana park(very cool place) is a short bike ride away. We fell in love with the whole area, and we would definitely stay here again!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here at Sand dance, beautiful sunrise from the bedroom balcony. We even got to see a turtle nest which they marked that very morning. We made sand castles galore and enjoyed the boogie boards and walking on the beaches. What a difference to go to Jacksonville Beach for a day and come back to the quiet of our own "private" beach. We all just loved it and with lots of things for the grand kids to do it was just wonderful. The house had everything we needed and the pictures are just what we got. We enjoyed "Caps on the Water" for dinner one night and went into Jacksonville to "Slidders" for tons of Oysters. Thank you so much for sharing your place with us. Terri

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Terri,
Glad you enjoyed your stay. I am so jealous that you got to see a new turtle nest. As many times as we have been at the house ourselves, I have not yet seen a newly mounded nest with the females tracks to and from the water. Come back in 60 days and maybe you can catch the hatchlings trek to the ocean, usually during a full moon! I have also never seen a whale out there although I have had guests tell me of sightings.
Being surrounded by Guana Preserve, our "neighborhood" is quiet and removed. But it is great to have the Jacksonville Beaches just a short drive away. So many good restaurants and things to do. The outdoor amphitheater on the ocean in Jax Beach has something going on almost every weekend: free movies on the big screen, symphony concerts, and various festivals.
I hope you come back to enjoy yet another season with us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sand Dance

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

Our stay at Sand Dance was marvelous!!! The owners of the property were so kind and accommodating. We not only enjoyed the ocean but took full advantage of Guana State Park and chartered a sailboat at St. Augustine Yacht Club for a fun packed day sail. We will be back next year for more fun!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed Guana Park which is really the "Secret Jewel" of our area: so much to see and do... and so close! The chartered sailboat sounds like quite an exciting adventure. Next year try the kayak tours in Guana, a bit less speed and a little more exercise. A wonderful, quiet nature experience and the guides have unlimited knowledge.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

See you next year...

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

It was great being back at the beach house. It’s like returning to our second home. We always enjoy getting away during “mud season” and the kids kept talking about their sand, block and Lego structures during the trip south. Loved the latest changes you’ve made -- the bedroom carpeting, the extra bed in the 3rd bedroom, the new gas grill and the Wi-Fi!! It’s such a great help that you have the bikes and we don’t have to load our own. Thanks for keeping things the same and thanks for the latest changes! See you next year. Judy, Red Hook, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Many thanks!

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We all loved it and plan to return in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another satisfied guest

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

We had a Wonderful time in your beautiful vacation home!!
Thanks so much! We hope to vacation at SandDance again in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location , Very dated property

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

I stayed in this beachfront home during the last two weeks of August 2010. We had a wonderful time enjoying the tidal pools and early morning fishing. There were quit a few shark sitings during our stay as well as afternoon schools of dolphins.
The home needs some work. The master bath has a handheld showerhead only that rests on a nail. The air conditioning was working well but rather loud in the bedrooms. The outdoor bbq grill needs to be replaced. There were some problems with the cable tv. We had the occassional roach siting but mostly on the deck, only a few in the house.
All this being said, the owners are very nice, occomodating people and the house was priced at a discount. Considering all the options at this price point in the area, I would consider a different location next time around.

Owners response: Thank you for your comments about our beach house. Sandance is located across from Guana Park, a nature preserve and it affords us so many opportunities to observe nature. The boardwalks and trails are wonderful for running, walking, birding and biking. The GTMNERR website lists 44 mammals, 358 bird species, 41 reptiles, 21 amphibians, 303 fish and 580 plant species in the area. I am so sorry some bugs found their way into the house, that's a little closer than we are comfortable with. We do have a pest control contract that regularly visits and the bugs should not be inside.
Thanks for letting us know about the BBQ grill. It has been replaced. Other items that that you mention have been looked into and corrected.
I hope you do come back to our area to enjoy the natural beauty.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Returning Guests

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

As usual, we had a wonderful two week stay at Sand Dance.
At your place, everything was in great shape and I like the changes you have made in furnishings, etc. June 2010

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sea Turtles!!

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Irene - we loved the place and had a great time. thanks so much. We got to see some of the turtles emerge and go to the ocean. We ate at a1a, harry's, and had the brunch at the reef-all good. July 2010

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

I'm sorry for writing so late, but as usual the first weeks after our vacation were very busy.
Nevertheless I want to thank you and hope everything was all right after we had left.
We spent a wonderful time at your house and enjoyed our stay very much.
The ocean was very warm and we loved to walk on the beach collecting shells or watching dolphins.
Also with the ping pong table we had lots of fun.

South Ponte Vedra Beach is a great location to get away from business and just enjoy nature.
You are lucky to live there.
I'm sure we'll try to come back for vacation, soon :-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

We just got home. Thank you very much! We had a great time!! The only regret is that we didn't have more time. My nephew was home from college for the weekend so I finally had a chance to do some fishing with him.... We had red drum, whiting, spanish mackerel and tons of bluefish. I hope we get a chance to do it again next year.
Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

Thank you for sharing your home with us this past week.

What a beautiful spot, it was perfect for our family.

We also appreciated the tip on Cap’s – unbelievable food and views.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

We've arrived safely. Your house is terrific. As expected, the kids are having a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

We wanted to let you know we so enjoyed our week at your beautiful home which sits on a gorgeous piece of beach. We appreciated all the amenities that you offered which made us very comfortable.

Dolphin watching became a much anticipated event. The tide info on the fridge was very helpful in determining their arrival. They never ceased to have us in awe! We enjoyed many of our meals on the porch.

Again - thank you. We had a wonderful holiday.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review