reviews for: listing #18688 - Lake Cumberland, Kentucky House rental

Lakefront home-Air Hockey - Jamestown, Ky
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Harbor Springs
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $260 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,470 /wk

sort by:

Fall Getaway

Review submitted: October 26, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

Property and view as pictured. Weather didn't permit much exploring! Hope to stay longer next time, and have better weather. Thanks! Ken and Anne L.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great retreat for 3 generations

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

The listing description was accurate. The location was very quiet. The house was very clean, the bathrooms were immaculate, the kitchen very well equipped.. The wifi was down, which was a disappointment. It had specifically been promised, so I'm sure the owners didn't realize it was down. We were only there for 2 nights and didn't want to bother with calling for a tech guy. We enjoyed the grill on the deck. The grandchildren loved the air-hocky, porch swing, and dvd player. The grandparents loved the master bedroom on the first floor so they didn't have to navigate the stairs. There are some stairs at the entrance, but grandpa can manage a few stairs by holding on to the railing, and was fine once he get inside the house. Loved the screened in front porch. The only problem was a musty smell when we first opened the house. I think it was because the rugs had been freshly shampooed and the house was closed up before the rugs fully dried. We opened all the windows and the smell went away on the top floor, but not completely on the lower level. Overall I recommend this house because the problems were temporary and can be easily solved. The directions to get there were complicated. I recommend using a gps if you have one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful weekend

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

My cousin and I needed a long quiet weekend and we sure did hit the jackpot with this house. It is clean and wonderfuly furnished. The view was terrific. We sat on the back deck for hrs. watching the boats go by. We will come back for sure. Thank you Tara for being so wonderful!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

September vacation

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

We stayed at this house with our son, his family and another couple. We were very comfortable and enjoyed the stay. We will go back next year!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another great vacation!

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

This is the third time we've stayed at this property and it was another excellent vacation. The three bedroom house has a wonderful open layout that worked well for our three families ranging in age from 3 to 87. The basement bedroom/game room was great for the kids. We enjoyed our morning coffee on the deck overlooking beautiful Lake Cumberland.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Had a great trip to Lake Cumberland

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

Overall we had a great stay in Jamestown. The important items are that the home is located in close proximity to boat landings, was very clean, and had great amenities.

The down side is that the home could use new bedding for all rooms and the couch on main the level is in desperate need of replacement. After our visit I looked at the pictures that were originally posted in the ad and it shows newer couches in the photo, so I am not sure what happened.

We would stay here again, these are just some items that could be improved upon.

Owners response: Dear D.S.:

Thank you so much for your feedback!

We are very glad that you had a great trip and would be happy to host your party again!

I apologize that you were not absolutely satisfied with the mattresses and that the living room furniture did not exactly match the photos.

I am not sure what to say about the mattresses... we just took a group and stayed in this home Monday - Thursday and we all felt the mattresses were very comfortable. We have never before received any feedback on the bedding so maybe this is a personal preference difference? I will say that the headboard/footboard of the main bedroom unfortunately had to be removed and we are hoping to repair the damaged done by a guest to this lovely oak 4 poster , but of course that doesn't affect 'sleepability'.

Regarding the living room furniture, the long story turned (somewhat) short is: the couch and loveseat shown in the pictures were actually much older, clean (but ugly), basic pieces that had slip covers on them. We removed these when their supports began to lag. We believe that we upgraded to the current sectional with chaise lounge (for which we have received numerous compliments regarding the size, comfort, and extra sleeping room for kids) plus the hide-a-bed. While the support and comfort of this furniture remains very good, we, unfortunately have subsequently had to perform 3 separate patches to the fabric due to a renter sitting down with a screwdriver in their pocket and a couple instances of grape juice (or similar). So while the piece no longer looks brand new, I hope that you would agree that it is clean, comfortable, and strong. We are always keeping our eyes open for good quality hide-a-beds that would match the decor and will upgrade this piece again as soon as we find a good fit.

I would like to add that the photos also do not show the upgraded patio chairs, the foosball table, the increased view due to recent tree removals, or the new completely paint in the entire interior so we will be getting updated photos soon to avoid any surprises in appearance (good or bad!).

Thanks again for your feedback and your patronage!

Best Regards,
John and Tara

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great View

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

The cabin was in a nice location and had a great view of the lake. There was plenty of space and everything was in good condition.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Our spring updates including a full interior paint job and painting the exterior shudders and doors really freshened up the look of the home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great family friendly vacation home, amazing location

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2011

I stayed with my wife and two children for several months over the winter. This property was a great fit for us. A very family friendly layout, with plenty of sleeping space for guests. The house has a great view of Lake Cumberland, and is conveniently located close to Jamestown/Russell Springs and multiple boat ramps. The area around this house is quiet and residential, and walking in the area was a nice activity for us on warmer winter days. My only regret is that we weren't able to enjoy the location in the summer months! All in all it was a great property and we hope to come back some day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Buckeye Group

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. We had our 5 adult children and their spouses here(from SC, TN, OH and IN) for a week and we had a blast!! The kitchen is well equipped and we felt so comfortable in your home. We talked, laughed and played cards on the screened porch every night - we did not want the vacation to end!! We hope to get back down there before winter starts.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Priceless View

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

Lack of Internet access and a decent TV cable package hurt this facility. Without a technology upgrade, we would not recommend. However, the property managers are wonderful and the views from the house are priceless! Extremely clean house and pleasant neighborhood.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: October 2, 2006   Date of arrival: October 2, 2006

The lake house was wonderful with a spectactular view. We really enjoyed our stay and the house was more than accomodating with its amenities for the price. We are ususally "cuddy" people who rarely enjoy nights off the lake, but we had several friends with us the weekend we stayed in the lake house, and enjoyed several evenings of fun. The owners made sure all requests were promptly taken care of, and the house was full of all the necessities for cooking.
Thanks for offering your house for others to enjoy. Lake Cumberland is one of the beauties of Kentucky, and having a place like this to share provides the opporunity to so many others. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 24, 2004   Date of arrival: October 24, 2004

Thank you so much for letting us stay here! We all loved the stay. We all wished we lived here. The view is spectacular, we loved waking up to it every morning and falling asleep to it, we had very pleasant dreams. I know I hope we come back ASAP, its a hearbreak to have to go.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 2, 2004   Date of arrival: October 2, 2004

After staying here over a week it has become our home away from home. A total of 15 of us rented this and the house next door. Have had a wonderful time here running back and forth between the two houses, spent many late nights at 118 playing ping-pong. Spent quite a bit of time on the swing downstairs enjoying the view. You truly have a gorgeous home and state. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 12, 2004   Date of arrival: September 12, 2004

Sitting on your screened-in porch and writing this. Your place is very nice and we enjoyed the stay. The view is very pretty!!! Hope to rent your place again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2004   Date of arrival: August 12, 2004

A family from Michigan met here with a family from Iowa. We were truely amazed by the beauty and convenience of the house and its surroundings.

During one of our adventures we found ourselves near the south end of Beaver Creek where we noticed a gorgeous waterfall. We swam at its base and climbed around the rocks when we discovered a small box turtle - trapped in the rocks as the bottom of the falls. Marks on the shell lead us to believe that this poor turtle had gone over the falls before it became lodged in the rocks below. After freeing the turtle it was clear that she could not make her way up the steep edges to her forest home above. So, of course, we brought "Suzie" back here and released her in the yard. We saw her the next day - looking strong! Maybe you'll see her too!

Thanks for the terrific times!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 29, 2004   Date of arrival: July 29, 2004

Our family reunion, 15 of us used both houses. We had a wonderful time together. Rented pontoon and 2 jetskis for a grand time on the water. 3 generations of family in attendance.

You have a nice place both here and next door.

Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 19, 2004   Date of arrival: July 19, 2004

Thank you so much for letting us rent your house. It is beautiful and we all enjoyed it alot. Hope to come back again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 27, 2004   Date of arrival: June 27, 2004

You have a lovely house by the lake. We're glad we found you on the internet!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 13, 2004   Date of arrival: June 13, 2004

We have really enjoyed staying here it felt "just like home". It's such a beautiful peaceful place - may you all always be blessed as we have. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 31, 2004   Date of arrival: May 31, 2004

Here we are again, back to our favorite place! Enjoyed a long memorial day week-end, with family and friends.

We enjoyed sitting on the porch drinking our morning coffee, taking in the view. the lake was beautiful as always.

Thanks so much for sharing your house with us again. We love it here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 29, 2003   Date of arrival: October 29, 2003

Thank you for letting us stay in your house again. We enjoyed a couple of "Indian summer" days, with warm sunshine and beautiful fall colors. Hope to be back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2003   Date of arrival: October 19, 2003

Our time here was wonderful. We all loved this place and felt so at home here. The view of the lake and the surrounding area is the highlight of this place.

We'll definitely be back whenever possible.

Thanks for the opportunity of staying in such a great location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 8, 2003   Date of arrival: September 8, 2003

Thanks so much for letting us stay in your house again. We enjoyed time here with family. We appreciate the extra towels!

The lake was beautiful as always and we enjoyed watching the cigarette boats in the poker run this weekend.

But most of all we love the peace and quiet sitting on the deck taking in the beautiful view.

We hope to be able to come back in the fall to see the leaves change.

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 23, 2003   Date of arrival: August 23, 2003

The week was filled with days of sunshine and boating. I am writing this and looking back at the week. It was great. The days were lazy and crept past us as we laughed and played in the prestine water of this very special place. We are nearly packed and ready to go as I look out over the mirror of a lake which reflects all that surrounds it. We were very fortunate to have found your place. It was more than we could have asked for. We hope to be back sooner than later.

Thanks so much for sharing. Take care and count your blessings.

P.S. My personal highlight of the week was sitting out on the deck early one day and actually hearing a very large tree fall into the lake! It was incredible!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 23, 2003   Date of arrival: August 23, 2003

We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful home, we spent nearly every day on the boat, swimming, tubing and getting sunburned. The view from this place is incredible! Last night we barely got to the house before a terrible storm hit. The power was knocked out and we saw trees fall from the wind, but we had a great view of the storm. It was beautiful!

Well, needless to say, we had a great time! Thank you soooo much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 22, 2003   Date of arrival: August 22, 2003

Our family has enjoyed this lake for many years. This was the first time we had rented a house.

Lucky for us that we found one with such a spectacular view of the Lake.

The peace and beauty of this part of the state is its lake views. We plan to build [a home nearby] this fall - all because of our stay at your beautiful lake house.

PS Thanks for all the linens and stocked kitchen.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2003   Date of arrival: August 11, 2003

Thank you very much for letting us enjoy your home. You have a really nice place.

It is really peaceful here and convenient to everything.

We really enjoyed the lake. The kids had a ball fishing and swimming.

Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2003   Date of arrival: August 7, 2003

Your home is gorgeous!

We have really enjoyed our stay and appreciate the opportunity to have stayed here. We hope to come back someday.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 21, 2003   Date of arrival: July 21, 2003

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful lake home with us. It is a very peaceful place with such a beautiful view of the lake.

Your home is so comfortable and nicely decorated, and so convenient to the marina.

We hope to be able to come back many times in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 15, 2003   Date of arrival: July 15, 2003

This is an absolutely lovely home with a view and peace that lets God touch you with His hand.

The lake is stunning and we all had the most lovely time exploring all the little caves and water falls.

Thank you for sharing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 27, 2003   Date of arrival: June 27, 2003

Welcome to our home away from home - Serendipity!

We hope that you will get the same enjoyment out of it as we do. This is our dream home. No matter how bad of a week we've had at work, just the sight of the water cheers us up. Whether it's seeing the sun come up over the ridge across the lake or watching the shore change colors as the sun goes down. We feel totally and completely at home. Our only regret is that we can't enjoy it 365 days a year, but I really hope that you are here! Have a great vacation!

Read comments from our other guests that were entered into our guest book at the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review