reviews for: listing #18742 - Sanibel Island, Florida Cottage rental

Cardium Guest Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sanibel Shores
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,000 - $4,800 /mth

sort by:

Cardium Cottage, Sanibel, FL

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Cardium Cottage is a very special place!! We've always loved Sanibel and hoped to find a place to rent for a month. We found Cardium Cottage online and, based on the description and photos, it sounded great. Little did we realize how wonderful the cottage is until we arrived! The decor is perfect... a perfect balance: 'island', classy, and cozy. Every possible need has been anticipated! If we could just stop bringing too much where ever we go (we drive), we'd need only a satchel of clothes and our laptop. Did we mention that there is wi-fi as well as a great entertainment system? The tropical landscaping is terrific and really makes the cottage special as well as private. In addition, there are some marvelous potted plants! The beach? An easy 2 block walk. Stores? Shops? Very close! Questions? Whenever we had one, an email to the owners took care of it. Our visit was great and we are looking forward to next year at Cardium Cottage already. We feel very lucky to have found such a special place.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love our guests and are happy to hear that everything you might need is in the cottage. When our family visits we like to travel light, make a quick stop at Jerry's grocery store on our bikes with the amazingly handy Burly cart attached and know that we have everything we might need during our stay. We are planning to visit ourselves this spring and with each trip we add something new to the cottage.

Based on first-hand experience, the cottage turned out to be a perfect spot for the elderly. We brought my 85 year old mother with us on one trip and she loved the cottage because there is only one step when entering making the use of her walker easy. The shower has a grab bar and along with a weather-proof kitchen chair placed inside, it proved to be a perfect arrangment for her. She also enjoyed the fact that there are many large windows that made it easy for her to keep up with all of us when we went in and out of the cottage. And, my favorite part is that Billy's bicycle shop provdies free beach-style wheel chairs for walks to and along the beach. What could be better for someone with limited mobility?!

Thank you to all of our past and repeating guests (and especially those that watch over the garden for us by watering the plants on occassion if it doesn't rain for a bit) and for all the wonderful things that they have written about the cottage.

We invite you to come to Cardium Cottage and live as a Sanibel local on our wonderfully non-touristy street. We have been delighted to learn that some of our guests have shared cocktails and dinners with neighbors at both Cardium Cottage and their homes, trip after trip. It's a great place to be if you want total privacy or a bit of socializing. Thank you nice neighbors.

Please come and share our little piece of paradise :)

One more thing... Our neighbor Kelly is available to dog sit should you need her services.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful charming cottage

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

We loved our time in your cottage and found it adorable, well equipped and in a great location. So close to everything! You can walk right down to the beach, no need to drive! It is quiet, lovely and well taken care of. The bedrooms are roomy and have all the amenities you could want. Love sitting on the screened porch with a glass of wine at dusk and enjoying the quiet! I would recommend your cottage to anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

our favorite place

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2009

Stayed on the island for the last twenty years, once or twice a year. Been renting this property for the last eight years. Always delighted at the constant updates and improvements. A great street, near beach and shopping. We no longer rent a car, cab to the island and bicycles from there. Relaxing, cozy, laid back. Much better than resort properties we used to rent.Back yard is tropical, front screened in lanai is hard to leave. A great value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Chris and Mandy, delighted

Review submitted: October 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

This is a delightful place to stay on Sanibel Island. So quiet and a lovely garden. Close to the beach and very well equipped, very clean and beautiful fittings and facilities. It is so much better than being in a large complex, with lovely privacy. We were very satisfied by the nearby amenities - so we stayed another 3 weeks beyond our original rental agreement. We loved the 'Ding' Darling Refuge and the other associated wildlife enterprises and hope they will prevent further human encroachment on this fragile 'paradise'. This has to have been one of the most lovely places we have visited in our 3 month, extensive tour, of America. We will be very sad to leave.
Chris and Mandy

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home!

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

We have no idea where to begin, the accommodations both inside and out, were phenomenal. Cardium place was super clean and comfortable. It was like home away from home, only better! The grounds were kept impeccable! There were so many relaxing havens to choose from including the hammock under the palms, the lounge chairs and umbrella, the Adirondack chairs on the front patio and the comfy screened in front porch. The beach was lovely and so close we walked the dogs there each morning to watch the sunrise and collect shells. We could even see dolphins jumping at dusk or early am! Cardium felt tucked away and private, yet we were close to everything! Jerry's supermarket was close and convenient for all our needs including a dining room with great inexpensive food. My daughters enjoyed the parrots outside in the mall and the gelato shop. Our family favorite was Island Cow for breakfast,lunch and dinner! You can ride your bikes everywhere! I must say Sanibel is by far the closest climate and foliage to Hawaii, in the USA. Although we were there in July, and the heat was unbelievable, we coped by going walking or biking early in the morning or just before dusk. Also, there was a fantastic showerhead like hose in the backyard that was ideal for cooling us and the dogs off at anytime during the hot afternoons. The house was completely air-conditioned and ceiling fans were in every room. It was perfect! The kitchen was so complete that you could cook all your meals right there! We even grilled out some evenings. The "No See'ums" were out and about, however, bug spray worked wonders and, speaking of bugs, the house was roach and pest FREE! Captiva Island is connected at the north end of Sanibel and we loved spending the day at Tween Waters Resort where you could use their pool and beach facilities all day for just $25.00 You paid that to park your car and then the $25 was given back to you to use for food and drink at the poolside bar and restaurant. We, a family of 5 from the midwest, would highly recommend Cardium Place for a getaway anytime of the year! We miss it already!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

April

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2009

We spent a wonderful month at the Cardium Guest Cottage. Everything was wonderful. The new bikes were fabulous... hope you can enjoy them too. Weather was great!! A friend from Northern Wisconsin visited us and fell in love with Sanibel. This was our second visit to the Cottage and I'm sure we will return again. Thanks, Rich and Joy

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review