reviews for: listing #18772 - Puerto Morelos, Yucatan Barn rental

b
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Barn
  • baths  ½
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  1
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1 - $1 /nt
    $1 - $1 /wk
    $1 - $1 /mth

sort by:

Peace, Joy, Laughter, Fun, Memories

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

From the moment you walk through that gate you hear the sound of water , feel the cool from the many tropical trees and plants and the lovely pool in the middle of the courtyard. The setup of the apartments is ideal for large groups and we were huge, 15 of us. Adults ,toddlers, preteens, and teens and it was a perfect fit for all. There were a few small problems with water leaks , but were very quickly taken care of. Johnny the owner answered all our questions, even all mine about trees and everything else about the area. If we wanted to tour he had it set up for us in a moment. Need a car? It was taken care of. The staff at the villa worked hard and were very friendly. And we never felt that you had to keep your things under lock and key. Villa Clarita is truly a place to experience and make a lifetime of memories. Then there is the town of Puerto Morelos, it is such a sweet and fun place to visit. The food is out standing and there is shopping everywhere. Puerto Morelos is not a gated town , and I found that to be a pleasure. It is a place where the locals can go on their day off and swim in the lovely sea, and eat at the many wonderful cafes. The Town Center has a lovely church and a place for families to gather and play. The towns location is very central to anything that you would want to do and see. I think there is a little bit of magic in this part of Mexico and I left with a bit of it in my heart. Thank you so much Johnny for a week that I will never ever forget. Darlene

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded our high expectations

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

We found Villas Clarita online. Its reviews were very favourable, and the pictures looked good, so we booked a week, hoping for the best.

Like some of those reviewers, I find myself a bit reluctant to share how much we enjoyed our stay, but it would not be fair to the owner to try to keep it a secret.

In a nutshell, neither the reviews nor pictures truly do it justice. It is areal find.

For starters, all the fundamentals were as promised: our apartment (one of the large ground floor units) was comfortable, clean, and well supplied; the grounds were quiet and very beautiful; the daily housekeeping was very good; the pool, the breakfasts, the rooftop sundeck... everything just as advertised. Most of all, and hard to put a price on, the feeling around the place was friendly and convivial from start to finish.

And then there's Puerto Morelos itself... quiet, friendly, safe, and loaded with small, non-commercial restaurants, all within a 5-10 minute walk from Villas Clarita.

Finally, there's the picture-perfect, calm, not-overcrowded white sand beach (with just a bit of seaweed), just a 1-2 minute walk away.

We certainly plan to return, and we would recommend Villas Clarita without hesitation. Just leave a week or two for us!

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your review. We are awaiting your return next year with anticipation.

blessings

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exceded our high expectations

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

We found Villas Clarita online. Its reviews were very favourable, and the pictures looked good, so we booked a week, hoping for the best.

Like some of those reviewers, I find myself a bit reluctant to share how much we enjoyed our stay, but it would not be fair to the owner to try to keep it a secret.

In a nutshell, neither the reviews nor pictures truly do it justice. It is areal find.

For starters, all the fundamentals were as promised: our apartment (one of the large ground floor units) was comfortable, clean, and well supplied; the grounds were quiet and very beautiful; the daily housekeeping was very good; the pool, the breakfasts, the rooftop sundeck... everything just as advertised. Most of all, and hard to put a price on, the feeling around the place was friendly and convivial from start to finish.

And then there's Puerto Morelos itself... quiet, friendly, safe, and loaded with small, non-commercial restaurants, all within a 5-10 minute walk from Villas Clarita.

Finally, there's the picture-perfect, calm, not-overcrowded white sand beach (with just a bit of seaweed), just a 1-2 minute walk away.

We certainly plan to return, and we would recommend Villas Clarita without hesitation. Just leave a week or two for us!

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best place

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

I am reluctant to share this since I would like to keep this place a secret! The entire experience staying at Villas Clarita was 5 star. Johnny was the consummate host taking care of any and all needs. The rooms were spacious and yet cozy. Everything was very clean and well kept. The ocean is only 100 meters away...maybe less. For what we paid this place is the best ever. I would highly recommend this place and fully intend to return ASAP.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

I rebooked before I left

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2011

I absolutely love Villas Clarita and there is no question I'll return. I was there for a 6 week period.

My travels through Mexico have been extensive and over many years. I've finally found my niche.Villas Clarita will without question be my annual "go to place"

The apartment/ villa I was in was large and immaculately clean.
It's in a perfect location, 122 steps to a beautiful white sand beach, 20 steps from my apartment to the pool. A 10-15 minute walk into town, very quiet area. I travel on my own and at no time was I ever worried or had any concerns whatsoever about my safety.
Villas Clarita is not your "cookie cutter" accommodations, it has character and warmth with a Mexican Hacienda feel.

The owner Johnny is an absolute delight, a wonderful host always ready with advice, a story and a laugh. He's lived in Puerto Morelos for at least 27 years and is very helpful about information about the area.

The manager. Martina is a treasure, she will go far beyond expectations and duty to make your stay comfortable and memorable. If there is a problem or a request she will have it dealt with immediately. She too, has been in Puerto Morelos for quite awhile and Martina has many contacts within the local community and can connect you with people you would never have the opportunity to meet and interact with.

Martina is also a massage therapist, and without question the best I've ever been to and I've been to many due to health issues.

The only issue I was not happy with is that the grounds, which are lovely,with the potential of being spectacular, could be kept much better. It's only fair to note that they were just ramping up for high season and that problem will most likely be taken care of.

I'm giving it 5 stars with the proviso that the grounds issues will be taken care of.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Feels Like I'm Coming Home Every Year

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

I have been coming to Puerto Morelos and Villas Clarita every year for 7 years. Johnny and his staff always make me feel welcome...I feel like it's my second home! I actually look forward to February now because I know I will be at Villas Clarita for much of the month! The rooms are clean and attractive and I love sitting around the pool, enjoying my morning coffee or reading a good book. Puerto Morelos is a beautiful place with a gorgeous beach just a block away from Villas Clarita. The town has wonderful restaurants and shops and is just a 10 minute walk or short taxi ride from Villas Clarita.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Caryn We look forward to seeing you again next year

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

a bit of paradise

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

spacious well equipped excellent service. Peaceful, beautiful location across street from endless beach, easy walk to authentic Mexican town. Superb gracious hospitality. Feels like home in a very short time. a perfect escape for family or on your own.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Puerto Morelos

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

I have stayed at Johnny's lovely Villas Clarita several times in the past years. I have always found it to be one of the cleanest, best-maintained, most convenient locations in the village. It's private and quiet, and it's only a short walk to the main square in town. The complimentary pool-side breakfast is delightful. Little birds join you at your table to sample the fruits and sugar. You'll certainly enjoy your stay there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: October 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

Villas Clarita is a great place to spend your Mexican/Caribbean vacation. The accommodations are super clean, comfortable, and beautiful. The owner is very helpful and has a wealth of information about the area. Villas Clarita is situated in a prime location, not far from the airport and right across the street from the long, sandy beach. The town of Puerto Morelos is quaint and easy to get around with good places to eat and not far from many places of interest. We've stayed here many times and return as often as we can.

C&S

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

can this be our little secret?

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 16, 2009

lush courtyards, beautiful pool, close to town and the beach, delicious tropical breakfast,knowledgeable and gracious, privacy if you want it
or meet the neighbors/other guests around the pool. comfortable and attractive, what's not to love.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review