reviews for: listing #18813 - Wilmington, New York Chalet rental

The '46er' - Romance, Nature, Adventure - Hot Tub, Fireplace
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $185 - $200 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,300 /wk

sort by:

Perfect.

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

This place was absolutely perfect! It was great for our girls weekend getaway. We wish we could have stayed longer! Everythign went great. The hot tub was a blast and the front deck was perfect for our morning coffee looking over to the snow capped mountains. Thanks for everything, we wil be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The 46-Er trully amazing

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2008

Rating
5 out of 5

The 46-Er trully amazing

sandy88 NY

Review Submitted: April 29, 2008 Date of Stay: April 2008

this house is so relaxing. It is cozy and surrounded by nature. It is trully an amazing place, very serene. You can either get really buzy with all the numerous amazing activities offered in Town or lake placid or you can simply relax on the deck and gaze into the woods and listen to the beautifull sound of nature.
A place when you can really recharge your battery.
Highly recommended. Keep in mind that many of the restaurants around town were not open till May 15 when the season starts again but it was not a problem for us as we enjoyed great cooked meals on the BBQ and ate outside every nights and then cooked some marshmallows in the outside fire pit...great experience especially for kids.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

46er is simply charming

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2008

Rating
5 out of 5

46er is simply charming

Maremoo North Tonawanda, NY

Review Submitted: June 17, 2008 Date of Stay: May 2008

We recently rented the 46er during the 2008 Memorial Day weekend. What a beautiful, relaxing, charming home. My only regret - we only booked for a 4 night stay! There was so much to do, we did not get the chance to fit everything into our schedule!
The home itself is simply charming. The owners certainly take pride in the property -- all the little "extras" (freshly planted flower boxes, a bouquet of lilacs awaiting indoors, toiletries for your convenience) we're a welcomed surprize. The home was clean, well maintained, and just perfect for a small family. We especially loved use of the hot-tub after climbing Cascade & Porter mountains!
The home is located in Wilmington, just a short distance to Lake Placid. There are many activities in the area -- we did some mountain climbing, ferry to Vermont & tour of the Vermont teddy bear factory, viewed the sites of the famed winter olympics, and of course shopped, shopped, shopped! I would highly recommend this home for your next ADK adventure.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Perfect place !

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2008

Rating
5 out of 5

A Perfect place !

Chavelita Montreal

Review Submitted: July 24, 2008 Date of Stay: July 2008

A very nice week-end in Wilmington !! This chalet is very quiet and relax ! Perfect for a week-end in the mountains !
We enjoy the BBQ outside ! and the spa after a day of downhill mountainbiking in Whiteface (5 minutes by car from the chalet) . We also went swimming in the river after biking and there was a lot of fishermans !! It was a perfect day ! And we also visit Lake Placid village and have an Ice cream at Ben&Jerry !! We will go back for snowbording during this winter !!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Retreat

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2008

Rating
4 out of 5

Lovely Retreat

Dima&Lila Homosassa, FL

Review Submitted: September 6, 2008 Date of Stay: August 2008

My husband, our 20-month-old son and I stayed for 5 days. We found the house very relaxing wonderful retreat from which to explore the Adirondacks. It was in a good location away from the crowds but close enough that we could get to Lake Placid easily for all the food and entertainment. There also were a lot of lovely hikes to take in the area which we enjoyed. The house was very cozy. On the upside, it was well equipped with lots of things for your outdoor adventures; however I found it slightly cluttered, there wasn’t a lot of room to put our stuff away. The other concern was that they allow pets, great if you have one, not so much if you’re allergic or bothered by pet hair. Once my allergy meds kicked in we were very comfortable there.

Overall, it was a great stay, I sat on the porch that looks at Whiteface Mountain in the afternoons and watched the humming birds at the feeder. My husband loved the selection of books and movies at the cabin for cozy evenings with hot tea when the air cooled down. My son loved frolicking in the hot tub!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxation!

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2008

Rating
4 out of 5

Relaxation!

adventure girl NY

Review Submitted: October 30, 2008 Date of Stay: October 2008

Our long weekend away was just what I needed! The Chalet is so cute, very cozy and a perfect place to relax and unwind, forgetting about any stresses on my plate! It is very secluded, private and there was no one around to be bothered by. Being pet friendly it was nice to be able to bring my Bernese Mountain Dog and not have to worry about putting him in a kennel. He loved the outdoors! We took advantage of the bonfire and the indoor fire place. There is something so comforting about having a good fire to keep you warm. I brought up with me a crock pot and some groceries to make chili which we ate days and just hunkered down. All in all it was a great weekend and I would recommend the Chalet to anyone who is looking for a retreat in the mountains. Beautiful view! The only thing that I would have liked to have had was a light over by the hot tub. It gets so dark there that it was pitch black by the grill and the hot tub. Other than that things were great, and very tidy. Thanks for the weekend!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy Getaway

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2008

Rating
4 out of 5

Cozy Getaway

Karen & Jake Munnsville, NY

Review Submitted: November 5, 2008 Date of Stay: October 2008

My husband and I stayed here on our annual aninversary getaway. We have always come to the Lake Placid area but this was our first stay in the 46er. We had a great time. The chalet was very cozy and the hot tub was the perfect end to a day spent hiking. We felt very warm and welcome the minute we arrived. This was our first visit to the Hungry Trout as well, and the view was wonderful, not to mention the food - excellant choice. This home is in a very central location, minutes to hiking, shopping, dining, fishing, kayaking, anything! We took some super pictures and the view from the deck was amazing!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A great base for exploring Lake Placid

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2009

Rating
5 out of 5

A great base for exploring Lake Placid

David CT

Review Submitted: July 26, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2009

We've just spent a relaxing week at the 46-er. It was a great base for hiking (Haystack Mountain & Whiteface), exploring (High Falls Gorge, the awesome ski jumps at the winter Olympic village), shopping (Lake Placid) and just hanging out (the HOT TUB!). The 46-er is a lovely base to come home to - a relaxed style with everything that's needed to enjoy your break.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ironman 2009

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

Rating
5 out of 5

Ironman 2009

Family from MA Massachusetts

Review Submitted: July 31, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2009

We loved the house. It have everything we needed. The house is small...but very cozy, clean and comfortable. It's in a great area. Close to Lake Placid. Views of Whiteface mountain were spectacular. We took the gondola to the top...a definite must on a clear day. We had great weather...swam in the river and went to waterfalls near by. It was also great that we were able to take our 2 dogs. They loved being on vacation with us and running through the woods out back. We had an amazing vacation. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

wonderful week!

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2009

Rating
5 out of 5

wonderful week!

cherylterr Frederick, Maryland

Review Submitted: October 26, 2009 Date of Stay: October 2009

My husband and I stayed at the 46-er from Oct 10-17th. The place is
ideally located for exploring the high peaks of the Adirondacks. Wilmington NY is about 10 miles from Lake Placid. It was our first visit to this part of New York and we weren't sure if we'd picked the right area to stay - we had! Whiteface is a mile away as the crow flies, Wilmingtom Flume minutes by car and the scenery was fantastic. We would easily choose Wilmington again. You will probably have to go to Lake Placid for most of your food shopping but there's a diner in Wilmington and a pizza place and gas station.

As for the 46-er in particular; we would definitely choose this place again. Charly and Renata were very easy to communicate
with. They have decorated their place as a "home" with lots of touches
that make you feel like you are staying in a home, not the average rental. The hot tub was very hot, the bed comfortable and the fireplace
cozy.

We will whole-heartedly recommend the 46-er to any and all who ask.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Oct. 25th- Oct. 29th

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2009

Rating
5 out of 5

Oct. 25th- Oct. 29th

nanook Hamlin , NY

Review Submitted: October 31, 2009 Date of Stay: October 2009

This was our 2nd stay @ the 46er. Had a great, great time. Loved the place, AGAIN !
We were unable to hike last year @ the same time because of an unexpected 1 1/2 foot snow storm. Which was awesome being in the hot tub in the snow fall. ( Only wished we brought the snow boards ! )
The hiking was beautiful. Glad we got out this time. Also, saw by reading the other reviews that there are trails right behind the chalet. Did not know that. Great info for next time.
We only would like to see 2 changes. Would have the creepy mask removed from above the front door, (yikes !) and would make the check-out time just a bit later. We LOVE sitting by the fire and watching the birds and critters at the bird feeder while we have our coffee in the a.m. We even brought our own bird seed this time. Would love to be able to enjoy the last morning a little longer before the long ride home.
All in all it's great. We love winter A LOT so may have to bring the boards and ride Whiteface sometime this season- Awesome place, thanks, Karen & Dennis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Adirondack Hideaway!

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2009

Rating
5 out of 5

My fiancée and I decided we needed a vacation. I was tasked with finding a perfect one-week getaway and The 46'er is definitely it. The cabin is fully stocked with everything you would want for a peaceful romantic retreat in the Adirondacks. Renata and Charly have done an amazing job of stocking this retreat with all the little touches that make it feel as one is coming home to their own magical retreat. Every drawer and nook held another wonderful surprise that made our trip just that more perfect. It is clearly evident that the owners love this cabin as much as their guests. They have left no detail unchecked with property and they were both excited and happy to offer advice on what to do in the local area. For a first time visitor to the Adirondacks, their vast knowledge and willingness to share was invaluable. We went hiking every morning out the back yard on miles of trails that surround the property. For a wonderful early morning view of Whiteface, We highly recommend hiking to a small clearing up a 4-wheeler track out the back yard. We grilled almost every night and enjoyed much needed relaxing soaks in the hot tub on the tranquil privacy of the wrap-around deck. It was a spectacular feeling to relax and simply gaze at the pitch-black country sky full of stars one will never see in the city. A rainy day meant chili in our crock-pot and Casablanca on the TV (thanks to their wonderful movie selection). A second rainy day was no worse. We simply enjoyed the peaceful silence that comes from no outside distractions. The pitter-patter of raindrops on the roof recalled a simpler time while we relaxed on the couch each with a good book. No annoying cell phone calls, no intrusive Internet, no loud neighbors, just the wonderful luxury that is peace and quiet. We loved reading books from their diverse selection, hiking with our Scottish Terrier, canoeing on a nearby lake, shopping in Lake Placid, and wine tasting at some of the local wineries. Dinner at The Hungry Trout was a wonderful experience. Hiking at the nearby Wilmington Flume and up Whiteface was just as fun. The best part of the trip was being able to bring our Scottie. He loved chasing the numerous squirrels and chipmunks that inhabit the property and we loved not having to worry about him in a kennel for the week. It was great to have our entire family (man, woman and Scottie) together on vacation. It truly was Heaven on Earth. We are already planning our next trip!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review