reviews for: listing #18826 - Cayman Islands, Caribbean Condo rental

The Ocean's Edge - New OceanFront Condominium
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  North Pointe
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $275 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,925 /wk
    $3,250 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Wish we were there now!

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

We are trying to plan our trip for this summer, and my daughter is pushing to go back there again. The condo is the best one of the small complex, and it is a quiet and relaxing location. We definitely needed a car, and we had a great time exploring the island. There was great snorkeling off the beaches closest to the condo. The pool was nice, and the condo had everything we needed. We loved playing the card games that were provided at the condo, and even had to buy one when we got back home so we could keep playing it.

It was a great location to charter a boat for Stingray City, and the bioluminescence tour is definitely worth doing. The only problem was that some of the snorkel gear was broken, and there were only two sets of flippers for the three of us to use. It would be nice if there were three or four sets of adult-sized flippers since they aren't easy to pack. Hope to make it there again either this summer or next.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Vacation

Review submitted: March 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

Everything was exactly as mentioned/shown on the website and in the brochure. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 week stay at your beautiful condo. The weather was great (sunny and 83-86 degrees everyday). We only had 3 days when a storm hit the island with wind and rain. Back in Ohio it was snowy and -15 degrees below zero (Fahrenheit) - so no problems with the couple of days rain. The rest of the time was wonderful. The views from all of the windows were spectacular. The lanai was a great place to have afternoon drinks, breakfasts, lunches and dinners. We used the electric grill a number of times for meals - which was great. We spent a lot of time at the pool and at Rum Point. We ate out a fair amount of time and found the restaurants in our part of the island to be great - especially "Over the Edge", "Kaibo", "Tukka" restaurants. The Wreck Bar also had great food and drinks on Rum point. My wife fell in love with the Blue Iguana beverage. Our sunset sailboat cruise was great, as my wife got to steer the boat for a while with the captain next to her. I got a great picture of this as well. Of course we had to swim with the stingrays which was awesome. When our time came to an end, we were very sad to leave as the time just flew by. We would definitely go back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great ocean views and breeze

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

My husband and I took out 12 year old granddaughter on her first plane ride and trip to the Caribbean. This was an awesome place stay to stay- like home. Loved the cat and we enjoyed the pool and ocean right at our door. My husband loved the hammock for naps and the granddaughter loved it to read in. We are looking forward to another stay here. The location was easy drive to Rum Point or back to Georgetown. The property was clean and well stocked with pool and beach toys.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect escape

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

Fabulous view from master BR and screened in porch. Loved relaxing in the hammock. Condo is very clean. Kitchen has everything you need. Hilary is such a helpful owner. READ the welcome packet she sends. She has so many excellent suggestions on where to eat, what to do. She is also really nice about answering any questions you have before you go. This has to be one of the best vacations I ever took. We enjoyed this condo immensely. If you like snorkeling, you will love this condo. Swim straight out, or a little to left of condo if you are facing the ocean. Went to 3 different shore snorkeling destinations and right out of the condo was my favorite. Lots of fish and beautiful corral. I also recommend taking the Ocean Frontier reef trip. that was great. Thank you Hilary for sharing your beautiful vacation home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your vacation.
Thank you again for renting from us.

Hilary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Condo!

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We would highly recommend this Ocean's Edge condo. We found everything to be exactly as listed and pictured here. The owners were very prompt and thorough in answering all of our questions and providing us with a lot of additional information including rental car companies, good restaurants, grocery stores, snorkeling sites, other activities to do on the island - everything we could possibly need to know to make our stay stress-free and enjoyable.
This condo is located on the quiet and less populated side of the island which we absolutely loved and has some of the best snorkeling right outside the back door! The condo also had many beach chairs, rafts, beach towels, and snorkeling masks & fins which we really appreciated because it saved us the hassle of finding a place to rent these items.
Overall, this is a wonderful condo for any type of getaway!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A piece of paradise

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

The location of this condo is excellent. The condo itself has everything we would want and feels like home away from home. The peace and quiet we are looking for remained undisturbed. We will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful condo

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

We stayed at the condo for a week. We loved every minute of our stay. Everything listed about the condo is exactly as it is. The views are great from every room. The condo was equipped with beach chairs, towels, a cooler, and some random snorkeling gear that made it so easy to pick up and go to the beach. It is very quiet and peaceful here. The pool is nice to.
The cat that lives at the condo is so sweet and was so happy to see us each morning. The location is very convenient to everything on the north side and east side. As long as you rent a car it is no problem to see all the sites. We didn't get to snorkel in front of the condo but snorkeling is wonderful at nearby snorkeling sites.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean edge

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

The owners of this unit a great people, we were arriving on a Sunday and stores are closed the owners arraigned to stock the fridge with wine and beer so we could hit the beach and enjoy some drinks. The unit itself is first class clean upgraded and of course you walk right out onto the beach. The area itself is very nice and close to restraints etc. I would highly recommend this unit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean's Edge

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in this condo. The property lived up to its name with stunning views from all rooms and it felt as though we were on a ship when we woke in the morning and looked out of the bedroom window. The condo was clean and well furnished and equipped and the owners provided very helpful information about nearby activities, attractions and restaurants. We had spent 5 days on Seven Mile Beach and enjoyed the contrast on the north side which was much quieter and more laid back with excellent free beach facilities at Rum Point. It was also a good starting point for visiting the botanical gardens and the east end of the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place stay, if you have a car

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this location for approximately one week.
The unit itself was a great home away from home with killer views of the beach and ocean.
This unit could easily cater to a family of four, or two couples if one couple were willing to sleep in separate beds. The screened in porch is a god send allowing you to sit and enjoy the ocean sounds all night long.
All the equipment needed to enjoy the nearby ocean was also found out on the porch. From snorkels to beach chairs, its all made available for the guests use. (Some of the toys are starting to show their age)
The ocean in front of the unit was some of the best snorkeling we experienced on the island for both water and wildlife, and we really snorkel most of the island!!
The kitchen left little to be desired, though I was happy I brought my own chef knife as the ones supplied are of little use for dinner prep.
We purchased seasonings, but found an ample amount at the condo. These were obviously left by previous guests and should not be expected.
If I were to have any criticisms, they would be as follows.
1) Fire alarm was on table without battery during our entire stay. Did not notify maintenance guy, so this is somewhat our fault, but I do enough maintenance at my own properties I couldn't be bothered to do so on holiday. I'm guessing owners will correct this upon reading review.
2) left side lock of master bedroom sliding door does not work. Really not a big deal, but for personal comfort it would be nice. While in grand cayman there were a few break-ins that made the news in this area.
3) No safe. Wild be nice to have a place to lock your valuables, if not your passports.
4) We were shocked at the amount of garbage washed up on shore. Somehow this does not translate to the water itself, as the waters are the clearest and cleanest we saw on the island.
This is obviously more of a statement about our society rather than the condo, but while we were there we saw their maintenance crew through the garbage off to the neighboring property rather than bag it.
With this said, we also stayed at the Ritz Carlton on the opposite shore, and experienced more garbage in the water than we did at Northpoint.
Due to its location, a car is really a must.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ocean's Edge Condo

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 week stay at this condo. The property description is accurate, and there are great views of the Caribbean from all the rooms. We especially enjoyed meals on the lanai. The location is quiet and close to restaurants and Rum Point. Snorkeling is good right off the beach when the wind isn't a problem. Windy conditions do make the water somewhat cloudy. The unit is very well maintained and the kitchen had everything we needed during our stay. I would recommend this property to friends and would be happy to stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas in the Caymens

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

Best Unit on the Island! We had a spectacular view from every room, a welcome breeze to keep bugs down and make those sunrise runs to Starfish point enjoyable. As a woman running alone, I felt perfectly safe. There were many like minded fitness nuts welcoming the day to wish good morning to and the locals going to work were extremely courtious, moving over with cars leaving ample room. The unit is close enough to enjoy some ammenities (restaurants, bars, ect...) at Rum Point but so private that it often felt like you had a privite residence. The unit was very clean and well stocked. Hilary was sooooo helpful and accurate in her pointers to enjoying some of the island's best. If you stay here, you won't believe your good fortune! Thanks Hilary and Rich--best Christmas ever!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Grand Cayman Condos. We loved the pool right in our backyard and the easy access to the ocean. Although there were other renters in nearby condos, we found that we had plenty of privacy when we wanted it. The condos were fully equipped and were very clean. We spent a lot of time on the lanai enjoying the beautiful view while visiting with our family. The location of the condos provides for a slower paced vacation, while being conveniently located to local attractions and activities.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

Could not have asked for a better experience! Communication with the owners both prior to our trip and after was very prompt and courteous. The transaction was made very easy and simple.
The condo itself was perfect for our family of 5. We moved from a resort over on SMB and were thrilled with the unit, the location, and the change of pace. Everything is as described by the owners and is very relaxing and convenient.
If we have an opportunity to return to the island again, we will definitely be staying here.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I will be going again soon!"

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

Hilary and Rich- once again you made one week of my life excellent! you guys know how much i enjoy the peace and quiet, relaxing atmosphere and beautiful views...will go back...and im not gonna wait another 3 years ! thanks to you both :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A beautifully decorated condo with all the amenit

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

I have stayed at this condo before and always found it to be clean and well stocked. The condo is beautifully decorated and full of all the little amenities that make a vacation more enjoyable. There are coral reefs right off the beach so the snorkeling is excellent. The condo is situated near other fantastic snorkeling areas so this is the perfect place to be. My family and I have enjoyed this condo several times now and will continue to come back here. The location is great!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

5 of 5
This was our 2nd stay this year at Ocean's Edge, Grand Cayman. We have already booked a 3rd trip in October. That should say it all, 3 stays there in 5 months! We don't think we will want to go anywhere else for a long time. The condo is lovely and quiet, the best snorkeling is right in front of the condo, the water is warm and calm. There is nothing we would change, the condo has everything you need! Every room looks out on the ocean! As an added bonus, the owners are wonderful, nice, kind, helpful people who never seem to tire of our endless questions about Grand Cayman!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

'Brillant Spot' - The Grahams,Ontario Canada

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean's Edge for ten days, We had never been to the Caymans and weren't sure what to expect. When we arrived at Ocean's Edge you couldn't find a more beautiful place. The condo has everything one would possibly need to enjoy a holiday plus on-island support from Ian. The king bed,the crisp white linens,beautiful washroom and comfortable furniture,great vista - what more would you want. We brought a soft cooler of frozen meat and cheese from Canada and made use of the charcoal BBQ. The kitchen was well equipped and we made quite a dent in the ice cube supply provided by the automatic ice maker.The pool area has lots of loungers plus the condo provides your own beach chairs. Lots of great entertainment and tours run out of Rum Point which is about 8 minutes up the road.
We shared some drinks and laughs around the pool with some great American people and a nice family from Perth Ontario.All in all it was a wonderful vacation and out thanks go out to Hilary.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent Property, Would stay there again

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Our stay at Ocean's Edge was an excellent experience. It's located in a more secluded area on Grand Cayman, offering a very relaxing atmosphere. The condo is very well furnished, including comfortable beds, a fine assortment of kitchen equipment and supplies and a good assortment of beach items (towels, snorkel gear, chairs, etc.) The cleanliness and condition of everything was excellent.
The condo is 2 miles from Rum's Point which is a good snorkel location and has a nice beach side dining area for lunch. It also has a fine restaurant for dinner dining. Over The Edge is about 4miles away and has a good breakfast menu.
It's a must to have a car to travel to the condo and to shop for groceries and dining. Condo is on 2nd floor requiring ability to climb several steps.
Overall, we couldn't have asked for a better experience and plan to return for future stays.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place! Comfortable! Had a wonderful time!

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

My husband and I rented this condo in April 2011 as a 15th wedding anniversary get away. It was very comfortable and relaxing. We loved all the cute seashells and conchs decorating the living room and lanai. We even added a few of our own that we found. The beds are comfortable. Loved napping in the hammock! We ate breakfast every morning in the lanai. The beach is pretty. Great snorkeling right outside your door! Must wear water shoes as it is very rocky and you do not want to walk barefoot if you go strolling down the beach. Another family staying in the complex built a lean-to with their kids under the palm trees. It was made out of sticks/branches and palm leaves that had fallen from the trees. We helped them decorate it with conch shells, coconuts, and pieces of rock and coral we found on the beach. It was great fun. And it was also a good place to escape from the sun for a little while. There is not much shade available. We took a trip to "sting-ray city". Wow! That is a must see! We spent a lot of time finding areas around Rum Point to go snorkeling. I don't dive, but I would recommend you contact one of the dive shops and make arrangements. I heard many stories from other people staying at the complex about how absolutely beautiful it is. So if you like to dive, you won't be disappointed. Unfortunately, the only downside to our vacation was all the trash that washed up on the beach. It is very clean and well maintained around the condo, but if you want to take a stroll, you will have to walk around trash. Definitely do not walk barefoot! Such a shame that other properties do not keep their area clean like it is in front of the condo. Not the owners fault however, as we heard from many locals that it is trash dumped into the ocean from Cuba and then washes up on the beaches of Cayman. Seven Mile Beach is gorgeous and pristine white sands, but it is also the "tourist area", so it is better taken care of. Rum Point is fun and the areas around the water are clean here as well. But again, it is an area that tourists go to. Other than that, we had a great time! I highly recommend this condo. It has a great location and is comfortable and clean. My husband and I have wonderful memories to cherish!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A glorious step out of the box.

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

My sister and I, both widows, found this beautiful condo on VRBO. The owner sent us a packet with all the information we needed along with a laminated brochure of the property, ocean and sea urchins pictured. Upon our arrival, we were delighted that the condo was just as beautiful as pictured. Once we were settled into our vacation home, we went to the pool which is right by the ocean but protected from the wind by shrubs. However, the shrubs did not block the gorgeous view of the ocean. We had a hammock on the lanai which we truly enjoyed. We played cards and read great beach books left by the owner. The location is perfect to go to dinner at Rum Point, Kaibo, Italian Kitchen, Lighthouse, Over the Edge, and Tukka. We only went to Georgetown once because we were so happy at the condo. The other guests were absolutely delightful. We look forward to returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great secluded place

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

Ocean's Edge is exactly as described owner. Great condo in excellent conditions with fantastic view right on the edge of the ocean in pretty secluded location. You stay virtually on the beach just 100 feet of the ocean. The condo has everything you may need for your vacation. The ocean near condo is not good for swimming - too many rocks but just 3 km down the road is famous Rum Point beach with a lot of facilities. That beach is probably the best beach on the island (with plenty of beach chairs). Everything is free. Also, you can take few interesting tours right from the beach. Sting Ray City tour is simply fantastic! Rum Point is so good that people from 7 miles beach are coming here for half day day tour!
Thanks, Hilary and Rich.
Albert & Valentina, New Jersey

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

My Wife and I recently stayed for 1 week and could not have been happier with this unit!
The condo is perfect for either 1 or 2 couples or 1 family. The whole unit is spotless clean and there are plenty of towels, washcloths and beach toys to use. Tile floors throughout. The queen bed in the master bedroom is very comfortable. The view from almost every window is an ocean view and the when the windows are open, there is no need for A/C or ceiling fans. Both Bedrooms and the living room have sliding glass doors that open onto the fully screened lanai. The back door on the lanai provides access directly to the beach. The community pool is always clean and the pool area has plenty of chairs and is very well maintained.

The location of the unit is ideal for those wanting to get away from the bustle of Georgetown and seven mile beach. The unit is about a 3 minute drive from Rum Point beach and about 7 or 8 minutes from over the edge restaurant which is the only place close that serves breakfast. With the unit facing open ocean, the waves breaking over the reef and onto the beach can easily be heard throughout the entire condo.

Kitchen is fully equipped so if you bring your own supplies, you shouldn’t have any needs. The ice maker in the fridge does a pretty good job of making cubes quickly. The unit has a cooler you can use to take food/drinks to the beach with you.

I would highly recommend this unit to family, friends and others.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

My Wife and I recently stayed for 1 week and could not have been happier with this unit!
The condo is perfect for either 1 or 2 couples or 1 family. The whole unit is spotless clean and there are plenty of towels, washcloths and beach toys to use. Tile floors throughout. The queen bed in the master bedroom is very comfortable. The view from almost every window is an ocean view and the when the windows are open, there is no need for A/C or ceiling fans. Both Bedrooms and the living room have sliding glass doors that open onto the fully screened lanai. The back door on the lanai provides access directly to the beach. The community pool is always clean and the pool area has plenty of chairs and is very well maintained.

The location of the unit is ideal for those wanting to get away from the bustle of Georgetown and seven mile beach. The unit is about a 3 minute drive from Rum Point beach and about 7 or 8 minutes from over the edge restaurant which is the only place close that serves breakfast. With the unit facing open ocean, the waves breaking over the reef and onto the beach can easily be heard throughout the entire condo.

Kitchen is fully equipped so if you bring your own supplies, you shouldn’t have any needs. The ice maker in the fridge does a pretty good job of making cubes quickly. The unit has a cooler you can use to take food/drinks to the beach with you.

I would highly recommend this unit to family, friends and others.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best vacation ever!

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Not only was the island itself incredible, the condo was in a quiet beautiful location, and everything we could want was in the condo itself. Lovely, lovely, lovely! We were alone in the ocean in front of the condo and on the beach. What a nice change from the busy and crowded resorts we were used to, Aruba, Mexico, Curacao. On top of that the owners of the condo were the most charming people, so helpful when you have any questions. This is the best place we have stayed and the best people we have dealt with and we travel A LOT! We are going back again only 2 months later!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely place on a lovely island!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

Our family of 4 (two boys 8 and 10) stayed here in march for 2 weeks. Absolutely amazing views, comfortable house. we went fishing right off the beach (beach shoes are very necessary!). So many critters to find right at the doorstep- watch for the hermit crabs in the early morning in the sand by the parking lot! we even spotted a moray eel right on the shore in 0.5 inch of water! Great location (away from the tourists, but still convenient). Rum point is very close and we went there several times. The snorkelling at rum point was good (even barracuda and sting rays!), but not as great as the beach by morritt's (great beach restaurant, have the squid!). It was great to see so much live coral. Make sure you feed the fish at the restaurant- they eat anyhting!
The condo had everyhting we needed- even water play stuff!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Most relaxing vacation with kids...ever!

Review submitted: February 28, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Of the ten units at North Pointe, Ocean's Edge has the very best views of the beach and is the most secluded. There are beach views from every window. The condo is furnished nicely with all that you need for a fabulous vacation. The North Side of the island is fantastic- almost making you feel like a local. Rum Point is 2 miles down the road and is a great place for kids, families and prestine beaches.

We highly recommend contacting Captain Gleason for a private snorkeling trip to Sting Ray City, coral gardens and coral reef on his 53 foot boat. When you go to seven mile beach, you'll find it beautiful...and very busy. It will only make you appreciate the North side even more.

We loved it! Thanks, Hilary and Rich. It was fantastic and you will definitely have repeat customers.
Gail and Shayne from Milwaukee

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review