reviews for: listing #18840 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii House rental

4bd/3ba W/pool across from OCEAN & BEACH
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  White Sands Beach
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $285 - $335 /nt
    $1,995 - $2,345 /wk
    $7,500 - $8,500 /mth

sort by:

The Kona Lighthouse

Review submitted: November 5, 2008   Date of arrival: October 12, 2008

We spend a week at The Kona Lighthouse. Our group was 7 adults and one 2 year old. Our family with the child stayed in the master bedroom where they had their own bathroom. Two couples stayed both in other bedrooms where they joined the bathroom. Our single stayed downstairs in his own little apartment.

Everything in the house was like it was in the web pages. No bad suprises at all. The Magic Sands beach was in the walking distance from the house.

The communication and the renting process was very easy with the owners. Our requests conserning the money transfer and everything else were fulfilled.

The renting experience, which was our first, was very pleasing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Otto was one of the nicest people. From Finland. We really enjoyed having him and his family stay at our vacation rental. We encourage anyone wishing to stay with us to call and talk to us. It is always a pleasure serving you. Mahalo Nui Loa.

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Special vacation!

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

I thought this place was amazing!!! We just sat on the big deck watching the waves and sipping cocktails every night! Soooo what we needed........ The house was very clean and a lot of special touches from the owners!! They were very helpful with all our questions about the big island and possibly buying a house in the future.. Will def stay here again..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEST VACATION EVER!

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: February 4, 2013

Kona lighthouse was perfect for our family of 10!
My husband and I stayed in the master, 2 of our 3 sons and wifes took the 2nd and 3rd upstairs bedrooms and our 3rd son and wife and two children took the apartment downstairs.
The kitchen was equiped with everything we needed for meals, and they had everything we needed for the baby.
We loved walking to magic sands beach, and did so every night to take in the beautiful sunset!
They had everything for a day at the beach...chairs, mats, snorkle gear, toys for the kids.cooler,and towels.
We would love to come back....soon!!!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

LOVED the lighthouse!

Review submitted: December 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

Great getaway beachhouse!

One of those places that you instantly hope you can return to once (or even better more than that!)

Clean, comfortable and also quite a few hosts' personal touches throughout!

Our family had the easiest and most enjoyable stay here, we loved the easy walk to magic sands beach as well as the close convenient shopping center in Keahou (sp?) very soothing feel all in all on the property but also an easy jaunt to Kona's best dining, vendors, people watching etc.

The decks are large, and the pool feels very private, as does most of the house thanks to the trees and surrounding yard.

Great airy kitchen/dining & living area that made mornings & breakfast so nice (sounds of the surf, ocean view from almost all of the living area)

Great details like a "sandy feet hose" as well as washer/dryer, HUGE fridge & dishwasher also added to our comfort, as well as the nicely sized garage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo, we love it when our Guests enjoy the Lighthouse!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful home with us. It was perfect for our whole family. We loved how open it was and the comfortable feeling it had. The kitchen was nice and well equipped. It was also nice to have a barbecue to cook the fish the guys caught. The kids loved swimming in the pool and spent a lot of time in it. It was also nice having the Magic Sands beach within walking distance. We enjoyed sitting on the deck in the morning watching waves come in as well as at night watching the sun set. We had a great vacation and were very happy to have a wonderful house to stay in.
Thank you again Suzanne, Margaret, and our whole family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Tropical Get Away!

Review submitted: December 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 7, 2011

We found the Lighthouse a perfect place to vacation with the beach so close, and we loved watching the dolphins from the deck in the morning. The hosts were very accommodating, and the house was very well equipped. The pool was refreshing after our journey to the volcano. Highly Recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Perfect Vacation Hideaway

Review submitted: December 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 30, 2011

Thank you so much for letting us share your lovely home in Paradise. My family and I had a wonderful time. Your house was just perfect for us. Very clean and a well supplied kitchen for cooking.
We loved the birds singing and the ocean views, the warm humid days and evenings. And the pool was great entertainment for my grandchildren while we were cooking dinner. Magic Sands beach was a great spot for our kids to boogie board and swim with the turtles. The next beach down was wonderful for snorkeling. My birthday celebration couldn’t have been better.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Property Needs Help

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 14, 2011

Our experience was not enjoyable since both refrigerators went out for over two days. Instead of bringing in another frig immediately and saving our food, the owners tried to fix it. When another frig arrived, it was placed downstairs making a three floor trip up and down with food. There was never an apology nor any thought for our inconvenience. The house is a delightful property, but we found too many things either broken or just worn out, I could not in good conscience recommend this property.

Owners response: When one of the refrigerators broke we flew back from out
of town to try and replace it immediately, but had to rent
one before the new one could be delivered. The rest of the
family was very understanding and seemed to totally enjoy
their vacation. An unusally negative review....

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great family vacation for adults

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

Kona Lighthouse was a great place for my husband and I and our 4 adult daughters (and significnt others) to celebrate our anniversary and our first trip to Hawaii. Plenty of room to be together or apart. We had a gas grill to use on the lanai and could see whales in the ocean. There were enough outdoor patio sets so we could all eat together. Plenty of towels, ocean toys, kitchen dishes, refrigerators. The girls loved having a dishwasher and washer/dryer on premises. A quiet neighborhood. Magic Sands Beach was within 5 minutes walking and was awesome! If there was a negative, town is 5 miles away but that is only if you want to be close to town. Highly recommend!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are always so happy when our guests enjoy the Big Island by staying at the Lighthouse!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

birthday vacation getaway

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

We just left the lighthouse after a wonderful 8 days! The house was comfortable, cozy and had all the amenities we needed. It was great to have such a short walk to the White Sands Beach. We made it our morning ritual to go swimming, watch the waves and see the resident sea turtles. The owner and caretaker were very helpful and accommodating to our group. We spent every night grilling on the BBQ and enjoying listening to the waves from the ocean while we relaxed. We would highly recommend this rental to any families or groups. We filled every bedroom, but the house still felt roomy and spacious. If we ever travel back to the Big Island we would love to rent this house again. Everyone had such a great time. It was great having coolers, chairs, mats and other beach gear available. It is a drive to get to the volcano or Hilo from the house, but managable on a day trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Big Island wedding

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2009

We rented the Kona Lighthouse for 7 days in April for the wedding of our son on the Big Island. Our group was 9 adults for the first 2 nights and 5 after wedding. My sister lives walking distance from the Lighthouse so the location was perfect for us. The house is a little dated but that was not a problem. Everything was clean and well equipped. The kitchen and lanai were great for our group meals. The lanai was great for having the feel of the beach without having to leave the house. Having the magic sands beach within walking distance was a real plus. I hope to stay here on our next trip to Kona as for us this was the perfect house for a group to be together or to go your separate ways.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Mahalo,
We love it when our Guests enjoy the Lighthouse and
do everything we can to accommodate them!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Big part of a great vacation

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

The home was just as advertised and in a great location. We stayed with my family of four, two parents, and brother and his wife. It was like the house was built for us, we took the two rooms on one end of the house and shared the bath with our kids, gave my parents the master with private bath and brother and his wife took the studio down stairs by the pool. The house is starting to show its age a bit but was clean and the deck on the ocean side was where we spent most of our time. Having snorkles and boogie boards at the house were an unexpected bonus. The house is nearly four miles from town but we spent more time in the south end anyway. Being a block off of the main drag was nice, less trafic but still close.

We would recommend the place to anyone. Didn't have much interation with the owner because everything went smooth but he made sure to leave his local number so we could have if needed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Family Accommodations

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

The Lighthouse had all the promised features. A well-equipped kitchen, high chair and playpen/crib for the baby, lovely lap pool with waterfall, and all the beach equipment we needed. The Great Room and lanai with ocean view were perfect for our family gatherings. We saw whales off the lanai in the mornings! The location south of Kona was convenient for our planned destinations. The owner, Wendy, was excellent to work with. We would recommend this house and rent it again for family vacations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect location and perfect space

Review submitted: March 7, 2009   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

We rented this house for 9 nights in February. It was spacious, well maintained and the kitchen had some staples included (don't always get that with a rental). We appreciated the boogie boards, snorkel equipment and coolers. The wireless internet was great, as 3 of us were sort of working while we were there. I enjoyed the lap pool daily. This was our third trip to the Big Island and we knew the area was just right: shopping, beaches, restaurants and tennis nearby, but a quiet spot. I would rent this house again.
Mary

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The perfect spot

Review submitted: February 26, 2009   Date of arrival: December 25, 2008

We stayed at the Lighthouse in late December and really enjoyed our experience. It's truly in a fantastic location. A quick walk to Disappearing Sands beach, a short drive anywhere else in Kona. It's really spacious. We had a 5 year old and 2 year old with us and there was plenty of room for them to run and play and lots of fun stuff to do nearby. The home has lots of room for cooking, lounging and sleeping. Well stocked. Quiet neighborhood. We LOVED sitting on the lanai to eat our meals and watch the waves. A couple of mornings we saw dolphins playing while we had our morning coffee and one day we even swam out to join them! Great place. Great vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review