reviews for: listing #18863 - Mystic, Connecticut Cottage rental

The Carriage House at 26 Pearl
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Historic Downtown
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $250 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Great spot

Review submitted: July 11, 2008   Date of arrival: February 23, 2008

I have stayed in this cottage myself - with friends - and sent my parents for a short stay. Both times we were thrilled with the amenities, the location, and the trip overall. I definitely recommend this to anyone looking for the perfect getaway in Mystic. I know the town well and this is a real gem.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 22

 

Beautiful Weekend

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

My husband and two young sons stayed the weekend here and it was just beautiful. The cottage was comfortable and lovely. It could be in a magazine! We have never visited Connecticut before and between the town of Mystic and a wonderful place to relax we will definitely be coming back. You really feel like you are home here. We had a lovely weekend. Thank you so much!

The Barnes Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

an ideal break!

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

we wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life and could not have asked for a better place during our spring break! the carriage house (we stayed in the smaller unit) was the perfect place to settle in and take a break for a few days. upon our arrival, we parked the car and made the most out of the location by walking into town, grabbing a bite to eat (and an ice cream cone) and truly absorbing the charm of mystic.

sue was very hospitable and her hard work maintaining the property is evident in her attention to even the smallest details. "mayor" otto made sure to let us know he was available if we wanted some extra company during our stay. :-)

the location of the carriage house made it easy for us to enjoy the best parts of the area without feeling like we had to take another road trip once we "checked in" . we picked up a mystic pizza and a bottle of wine the first night and our only complaint was that we wished for a little less chill in the air so that we could've shared it on the patio outside. we made a trip to foxwoods for bingo one evening and found the drive to be quick, quiet and especially pleasant ("especially" after winning a few bucks!)

overall, a wonderful stay and we hope to come back and visit again!

Helpful votes: 8 / 11

 

A perfect getaway

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We had a last minute decision to getaway, Sue was very accommodating. Less expensive then most hotels that are worth it, and a million time more comfortable, clean, and detailed. More amenities and thought put into the place made it fun to explore and relax. Whenever we go down there that is where we will look first. Truly an experience!! <3

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 

Perfect spot to "make some memories"

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

Mystic's charm was enhanced with the fine attention to detail Susan put into this little cottage. You will need for nothing and appreciate the cleanliness and care she puts into her property. Otto the dog greeted us upon our arrival and left us to enjoy our stay after I gave him his 3rd biscuit (which Susan provides by the back door in a lil Snoopy tin). The bathtub was an oasis and Susan left the best smelling and highest quality bath foam to enjoy.

Location is key, especially since we realized parking is a pain in town. You can easily walk to everything worthwhile. We are looking forward to returning each season. Thank you, Susan, for allowing us to become part of your cottage family...Cheers to making memories!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

26 Pearl is a hidden gem.

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 7, 2011

My mom, lil sister and I had such a wonderful time at 26 Pearl. The cottage was beautiful and warm and walking distance to Mystic Pizza!. The accommodations were wonderful and Otto was such a great addition to the ambiance. We hope to return next December and make the cottage at 26 Pearl our annual Christmas gift to each other!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! I am happy to be included in your holidays traditions! Best Wishes...Sue

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

26 Pearl is a hidden gem!

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 7, 2011

My mom, lil sister and I had such a wonderful time at 26 Pearl. The cottage was beautiful and warm and walking distance to Mystic Pizza!. The accommodations were wonderful and Otto was such a great addition to the ambiance. We hope to return next December and make the cottage at 26 Pearl our annual Christmas gift to each other!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An Excellent Find for the Discriminating

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

My daughter and I stayed here just for one night. As soon as we walked in the door, we wished we could stay longer. This is an owner who cares about fine details and anticipates the needs of a discerning guest who might typically stay in a luxury boutique hotel. Charming, well decorated, clean and great location. We will be back! Thank you Susan!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Quaint & Charming Getaway

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

This place is so adorable. You feel like you're home as soon as you walk in the door. Sue should be so proud of what she's accomplished here. The decor is perfect. She thought of everything you'd need.....right down to her very sweet Golden Retriever, Otto. We loved to come home at night, call him to see if he was outside, and if he was..he knew exactly where to come for his treat! The location was perfect, walk right out the door up the street and you were on Main Street, Mystic! Loved every minute of our stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

Peicture Perfect and so much more.

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

It started with deciding to take a little getaway to Mysic and then exploring the internet in search of the "perfect getaway". When I came across this site I found myself staring in awe. I made the necessary arrangements with the owner (she was wonderful!) and when we finally arrived and saw the cottage in person it was exactly as the photo showed it to be. When we opened the door and entered we knew that we were really "not in Kansas anymore". OMG it was like walking into Heaven! We had to pinch each other to make sure we weren't dreaming. Everything about the cottage was phenomenal! (Cleanliness, wall hangings, shower, beds, coziness, etc.) We rented both sides and both were equally beautiful. We couldn't have picked a more perfect little getaway. And the little 2 block walk to the water in the early morning was breathtaking. Oh, one more thing, even though a work in the progress, we loved the gardens, back and front. We had only one regret - leaving! Can't wait to return!
Thank you so much, Susan.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A must stay if you are going to mystic

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 16, 2009

Place is absolutely fabulous...Exquisitely decorated...with a wonderfully private patio...location is extremely convenient to center of mystic...within walking distance to harbor and plenty of fine restaurants

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Girls getaway

Review submitted: October 18, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

We loved the carriage house. Clean and comfortable.
The yard was a different story. It has great potential, but was not maintained to say the least. I would love to see the outside match the simple elegance of the interior.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Girls: I am glad you enjoyed your weekend. Please note to future guests...I am in the middle of renovating my back garden area . This was quite obvious when viewing the mulch, loam and landscape fabric.Everything else was (and is) perfectly kept!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great Place with Limitations

Review submitted: May 29, 2009   Date of arrival: May 23, 2009

This was a great location, near enough to downtown that we could walk wherever we wanted. Close enough to our favoirte restaurant S & P Oyster that we could walk.
We stayed in the smaller suite for 3 days and have the following comments:
The seating was extremely limited. There was a hightop table with two chairs. One chair was very unstable so only one person could sit at the table. The only other chair in the room was at the desk. Certainly not comfortable enough to sit and read.
We ended up putting pillows on the floor and leaned against the bed.
Certainly not what we expected for the price.
If there had been better seating, we would have given an Excellent report. Everything else was very nice.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I was not made aware of the "wobbly chair" as I would have fixed it immediately. It is a shame that Sue & Tom didn't take advantage of the lovely patio seating & lounge chairs. I have taken note & will add comfy seating. Sue

Helpful votes: 16 / 17

 

great getaway

Review submitted: April 20, 2009   Date of arrival: April 17, 2009

This is one of the most adorable carrirage house renovations I have ever seen. Susan has done a beautiful job decorating and providing every amenity to make her guests feel comfortable. The cottage was extreemly clean, nicely decorated, beds were comfortable, and the location was ideal for touring.
Perfect place for a romantic retreat, small family, girls weekend or even wedding.
Would highly recommend it to anyone, Can't wait to return myself.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 11, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Awesome location & beautiful accommodations. Great for members of the LGBT community. Sue is very friendly and a terrific hostess! We could not have asked for a better place to have our wedding.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice getaway

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: December 31, 2008

Ideal location, felt like home and real cozy during a snowstorm. It was a nice getaway for New Years. Would go back during other seasons.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 15, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Great location and spotless carriage house ! Nothing but good things to say, gracious host nearby yet unobtrusive, spotless yard in an awesome neighborhood just a minute stroll to downtown Mystic. Open the door and be impressed!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A little piece of home.

Review submitted: July 15, 2008   Date of arrival: July 7, 2008

This place was wonderful. I felt like I was at home. The cottage was cozy and had all the basics and more. Otto the dog added that extra bit of hominess to the whole experience. The cottage is an ideal location located in the center of everything and within walking distance to a lot of shops, water, hwy access, restuaunts and plenty of sight-seeing. You have to plan early as there were people in as soon as the others were out. We will definitely be back to Mystic and this will be our first choice place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Place to Stay!

Review submitted: July 15, 2008   Date of arrival: June 9, 2008

I cannot brag about this cottage house enough! It's charming, private and incredibly relaxing!

I would recommend this cottage house as a "must" when we travel to Connecticut again.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Cozy

Review submitted: April 14, 2008   Date of arrival: October 10, 2007

Felt like home.Very nice, clean- quiet and warm. Close to downtown. Large bathroom - (hot water runs out quick -brrrr) otherwise very nice. BIG comfy bed too.

PS - Very much liked being visted by owner's dog!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I believe that these guests had a problem operating the shower valve. As I have a (state of the art) on demand propane instant hot water system I have NEVER run out of hot water in the past 6 years of operation, despite the amount of guests using the system! I have never had one complaint!

Susan / Owner

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 27, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

What a beautiful place. Your photos and description do not serve it justice. You've truely thought of everything. We look forward to recommending and returning.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Exceptional Property

Review submitted: August 27, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

What a beautiful Carriage House you have. The pictures and description do not serve it justice. Sue, you really didn't forget a thing. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 8 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review