reviews for: listing #188826vb - Kaimu Bay, Hawaii rental

LOCATION, PRICE AND WATER. HONU KAI HAS IT ALL!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 179 - $ 250 / night
    $ 1,190 / week
    $ 4,260 / month
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

excellent stay at Honu Kai

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

Our family of four had an excellent stay at Honu Kai. From booking inquiry through departure, we felt very well taken care of. The pictures don't do justice to how close the house is to the tide pools, we simply strolled about 150, 200 ft down the street with our 5 yr old boys to get our snorkeling fix in. The house was immaculate, and very well stocked, we ate in nearly every meal and never felt we were lacking any kitchen gear. There must be about 5 or 6 ceiling fans which provided plenty of nice cool breeze on hotter days and made sleeping very comfortable. We were amazed by how well the unique sounds of the local frogs at night lulled us to sleep (this is coming from a light sleeper). To top it off the house comes with a lot of beach toys, rafts, snorkel gear, beach cruisers, chairs etc for use. Last but not least, the downstairs separate full bathroom was very convenient for washing kids off before going into the main house after snorkeling excursions. All in all, great place, great location, and great personal service and attention by the booking manager!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Owners response: We are always happy when our guests enjoy their stay at either Honu Kai or Hula Cove. For some people it is a trip of a lifetime so we try to make this vacation as special as possible. Honu Kai is going thru an : "updating " in the next few weeks, but we will strive to keep that special "old Hawaiiana feeling " in the furnishings and ambiance.

Mike M.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fell in love with the east side

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

We had a great time on the east.side of the island at this house. This cute, comfortable cottage was accurately described in the listings. Very well stocked! We loved snorkeling in the tide pools ( the best snorkeling we did on the entire island) ! Great location - right across the street from the tide pools. We were grateful for the hot tub after snorkeling. VNP was an easy drive away and amazing! I highly recommend eating at Kaleo's in Pahoa for dinner. Terrific food and service! The drive to Kalapana down red road was very cool. Fun drive among the beautiful rainforest trees and shoreline. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sutherland's

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

This place was great, the pictures don't do the rental justice. Very clean, Had bikes,snorkles,rafts basically anything you needed was here. No a.c. but the trade winds kept the house cool. Very safe area. Literally steps away from the tidepools which are AMAZING! Were from oahu and the tidepools that are by this rental is the best snorkling we have ever seen!! Also the owners are very easy to be in contact with, always emailed right back which was great. They also have a binder full of detailed places to visit around the island which was nice to read. Also we had no cell service here which was kinda good because you shouldn't be on your cellphone on vacation anyways lol. The only service that really worked was AT&T. Sprint,verizon didn't work. But they do have a house phone for local calls. They do have WIFI so atleast we had that! :) The fridge had all your food condiments so all we really had to buy was meats or whatever we were cooking. & They do have a large grill. Overall great place. I could go on and on. We are already talking about coming back to this rental. We were sad to go! Def recommend to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Highly Recommendable - Your home away from home, just pack your clothes and come. Perfect-quiet-clea

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

All the incidentials you need are here. Just bring your clothes. My husband, daughter, fiance and his parents stayed here April 2012. We were in Hawaii for 2 weeks visiting 4 islands. This was the nicest places we staed at. His home was clean, stepts away from the best snorkling (of course he had everything you needed). We had one minor problem with the hot tub, and it only took one call to the man who maintained it, and first thing in the morning he was there. It is away from the Hustle and bustle of the Island, but close to the Lava Tree Park, volcano heated pools, and so much more. We have bragged about this to our friends, and recommend it to anyone going there. Nice quiet residental neighborhood. The owner provided so much helpful information and recommendations. He made our 1st trip to the islands so easy. Thee is not one bad thing I can say, he even followed up with us to see if there were any suggestions we could give or repairs we thought were needed. He is proud of his home and it shows in the care he takes of it. Grab this place while you can, you will not be sorry. We would definately come back again. Except for food, anything and everything you need is there, we were shocked at all the things he had, If you are not traveling to other islands don't bother bringing all those toiletries, towles, hair drier, lotions, His place is well stocked with good quality items. Honestly it was maintained so well, nicer than our own home. I can;t say enough about it or the personal care and attention that the owner gave us. He worked us us on our schedule and made sure the lights were on when we arrived. Our GPS took us directly to the house. We are looking forward to coming again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha Beverly,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay at Honu Kai. It was our pleasure having you as out guests and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Islands and Honu Kai.

Mahalo,
Mike McGinley

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay at Honu Kai

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 20, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Honu Kai. The home itself was well stocked and clean. We felt very comfortable there. The best feature, however, was its close proximity to the tide pools. The snorkeling was fabulous and the area was not crowded at all. We felt like we had our own private tide pools. The tide pools are also a great spot to catch a beatiful sunrise! We also enjoyed all the sounds at night/early mornings - the geckos, birds, frogs, etc. Very peaceful!
Mike, the owner, was also very helpful and curtious.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 23, 2010

Thanks for the great stay at your beautiful home. Very tasteful interior design and very clean and well stocked.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2010

Your house is darling with lots of the "wow" factor.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 17, 2009

Honu Kai is simply amazing. This is truly the oasis for complete relaxation. It was delightful and easy to book our vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2010

As former Hawaii residents we thouroughly enjoyed our 5 days or revisiting "Old Hawaii'

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

TEN WONDERFUL DAYS OF VACATIONS ARE ALWAYS FUN. THIS WAS EXCEPTIONAL!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Honu Kai in Paradise

Review submitted: August 22, 2009   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

Our stay at Honu Kai was awesome. We found the house clean, comfortable and well stocked. Each morning we took our coffee out to the lanai and enjoyed the sound of the ocean and the tropical birds. There we would plan our day. We visited Kilauea Volcano, Kalapana, the warm ponds, the farmers' markets, Pohoiki, and of course we snorkeled down the street nearly every day. We were thankful to the geckos for keeping the place insect free. I love Kapoho, and have rented a different house each time I visited. I hope Honu Kai will be available next time I come to the Big Island. I definitely recommend this house to anyone who enjoys the less glitzy, more relaxed Hawaiian experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review