reviews for: listing #18889 - US Virgin Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

Casa Azure-Oceanfront Villa,pool,Up to 20% Off!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $488 - $1,029 /nt
    $3,415 - $8,050 /wk

sort by:

All You Want and MORE.

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

We had an unbelievable time.
Working with Doug and Bonnie was a breeze. They were always willing to answer any questions and we made use of the offer to have their house manager pick up groceries for us. They also had a taxi driver waiting at the airport for us, which was such a help in the craziness of the arrival. The house manager was also always accessible via phone whenever we had a question. Great hospitality! I work in the industry myself and I can tell you that they knocked it out of the park.
The house was BEYOND what we imagined, even from the pictures. It was spotless. The groceries waiting for us were a lifesaver as all we had to do was fire up the grill and relax night one.
We used the pool and hot tub every day either before or after beach trips and boat trips. Sunrises and sunsets were the stuff of postcards!
The owners were great about advice on what to do. We followed many of their recommendations. My favorite beach they suggested was Secret Harbor. I think we spend the whole day in the water!
Red Hook was great. We spent our nights out there at a few of the many restaurants and bars. We met a taxi driver our first trip to Red Hook and he became our personal driver for the week when we wanted to have a few or more drinks. Driving was a breeze to and from the house otherwise.
Two of us took a trip to town when there were cruise ships docked- it was a crowded mess! We realized how lucky we were at Casa Azure! You can see no one else your trip if you so chose or hang out in Red Hook if you feel like getting out there with others. We were truly spoiled and did not want to leave.
We cannot wait to return, hopefully staying at Casa Azure again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

BEYOND A Room With A View!!!!!

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

You both are to be commended for your exceptional home that you allowed us to stay in. The floor plan was perfect for us and the location on the East side of the island allowed us to do even more than we thought we could ever plan. Anyone looking for a home environment while staying on St. Thomas should consider this magnificent home. The bedrooms are all a great size, the hand carved furniture was breath taking, the pool was a sure enjoyment. When you take all of these items which by themselves would make an incredible week in paradise but then you combine them ALL and on top of that place them on a property perched right on the ocean your body and senses take over and transport you into a world where the only time you are ever grabbing your cell phone is to strictly take another incredible picture of a beautiful yacht, sail boat or the turquoise water itself that feels as though it is only a small reach from your fingertips. We cannot wait till or next visit! The home comes with literally everything that you could even imagine that you might need and leaves you with a truly short list of items to bring. Thanks to your wonderful letter along with numerous suggestions and helpful connections of locals to facilitate our wonderful week..... We did not have one moment ....not even one minute that was wasted while we were visiting. Thank you both!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice view but home was outdated and smelt.

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

We loved the view.Best part of property. The home smelled of mildew and linens were dirty.

Owners response: Wow, we are confused because this guest wrote a great review in our guest book before he left. In fact all the linens and towels were washed and beds made and the place cleaned the morning of his arrival. We do this the morning of each guest arrival. We have on island management and he never said anything to them. We would have re washed everything and remade the beds and re cleaned Casa Azure if we knew he was unhappy.

Mold is not a problem at Casa Azure since we are on the water. Where it is a problem is up in the mountains of St. Thomas. For some reason the higher you are above the water the bigger the problem.

Casa Azure was totally remodeled two years ago and almost everything is new: new kitchen, new tile inside and out, new sliders, 4 new air conditioners, new furniture from Bali.

We even offered this guest some free days if he would tell us why he wrote two different comments but we have heard nothing from him. We have tried to contact him by phone and email numerous times but he has not responded.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stupendous Views!

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

When you open the front door you see the incredible views! They are breath taking! Casa Azure was very clean and located on paved road so no need for a 4 wheel drive car. Casa Azure was very clean and fully air conditioned. We will come back soon since the location is perfect and views spectacular!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation in Paradise!!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 13, 2012

Our 8 night stay was absolutely wonderful! The views from the Villa are stupendous. You can see White Bay Beach on Jost Van Dyke from the upper deck! Truly breaktaking. My family joined us for the second year in a row on St. Thomas. The Villa is great for three couples. We even had our 2 1/2 y/o grandson along who enjoyed everything as much as we did. The highlight of the trip, my son proposing to his girlfriend. Maybe we'll be back next year for the wedding! Thank you so much for your hospitality!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise at Casa Azure!

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

We just returned from 6-night stay with 2 other couples and couldn't be happier. The property was exactly as stated on VRBO except the view-no way to explain how beautiful that was!!! Loved waking up every morning to that. There was enough space for everyone and everything we needed was available in the kitchen. Owners offered information about local activities and were very responsive throughout the process. We visited the Ritz Carlton beach nearby & one across the road from that; Magen's Beach (gorgeous), enjoyed the ice cream shakes at Udder's, took a fishing excursion recommended by owner, toured the Nat'l Park on St. John, and swam in Cinnamon Bay Beach (our favorite!). Check out the Carribean Steakhouse in Red Hook and Grand Cru restaurant in Yacht Harbor. Thanks for the relaxing and memorable vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stupendous Down Island Experience!

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

We stayed at Casa Azure in August and will be back every year! We go to St. Thomas every year and this is the best 3 bedroom villa we have every stayed at! The views are STUPENDOUS! I counted 16 islands from the Great Room alone. The Mega yachts and ferries cruise by all day long! It is very quiet at night and the laser lit multi color pool is magnficent! All 3 bedrooms have down island views and are air conditioned. The carved Teak poster beds are beautiful! Can't wait to get back!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

We loved Casa Azure

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

I and my family stayed at Casa Azure in April. The house was everything we were hoping it would be. I was a little concerned about it being a duplex but that was never an issue. If anyone lives on the other side, we never heard or saw them. We liked the arrangement of the house. It worked well for us. We traveled with our children and grandchildren who are 1 1/2 and 5. We could easily keep track of the grand kids on the lower and upper decks. Both the hot tub and pool were wonderful. My grandson looked for the iguana which was in the trees every morning. Even saw a deer right off the patio. The view from the decks was incredible. I loved watching the ferries go by. My granddaughter still runs to the window now that she is back home and waits for the boats. The weather was incredible. It was between 84 and 87 and not humid. Loved it as it was still snowing back home when we left for the trip. We did manage to lock ourselves out once but Irene came to our rescue. The door locks when you shut it so you need to carry the keys.
I want to thank Doug and Bonnie for all their suggestions and help with this trip. We got in late at night and it was wonderful to have Curlson waiting for us at the airport. We probably would not have found the place in the dark without an escort. We rented 2 cars and we had no difficulty with the roads. We brought are Garmin along and it navigated us everywhere which was wonderful because there are some roads there that I would never consider driving on. The beaches were gorgeous. The water was crystal clear. Snorkeling was great!. We tried the grill and couldn't get it to light. I emailed Doug and someone was out to look at it in the morning and it was replaced before supper that night. I can't even get my husband to fix things that fast. We loved the island. Traveled to St. Johns and that was beautiful also but in a different way. We ate at the Big Bambooze and Molly Malones. Both were great. I was surprised by the high prices of the food in the grocery stores. We spent most of our time at the house but visited a different beach every day. When we needed anything, we ran into Red Hook. Everyone was helpful and friendly. We did spend one day at Charlotte and went to Easter service at the Frederick Lutheran Church which was another delight.
This trip will be remembered as one of my best. I hope I can get back soon. Thanks Curlson, Irene, and especially Doug and Bonnie for allowing us to have such a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great Location, Great Views and Great Memories

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

We stayed at Casa Azure for a week. 3 couples all celebrating 10 years of marriage. We were very happy that we selected Casa Azure for our stay. The views of Red Hook, St. John’s and the BVIs were amazing. It was fun to see all the sail boats and ferries go back and forth from Red Hook to St. Johns (although some of them were loud…) As mentioned in other reviews, the home is a duplex with 2 bedrooms on the main level (and deck w/ Hot tub) and one down stairs bedroom with kitchenette (with patio and pool). The layout couldn’t have worked better for our 3 couples and 2 were early risers (who shared the main level) and one that like to spend a little more R&R time in their room (they had the downstairs.) My only complaint with the lower level is you have to go out the front door to walk down the steps (and the door requires a key for entry.) It would be wonderful if there were stairs from the upper deck to the lower patio…

Beyond that, Casa Azure was very welcoming, comfortable and up-to-date. It fit our need perfectly, and trying to plan our next trip back.

The location of Casa Azure was great. Away from Charlotte Amalie where all the cruise ships port and all the crowds. It is a 2 minute drive (or 8 min walk) to the Ritz, if you want a beach. 5 minute drive to Red Hook, which was our hub for everything we did, Fishing, Boat trip to BVIs, and day trips to St. Johns.

Couple other recommendations:
If you like to Fish, go through SeeSki, and ask for Raymond. He has a nice boat (not real good for Marlin, but they weren’t biting when we were there.) and think he is one of the top, if not the top guide in Red Hook. Other boats went out and came back with just a couple fish, and we had good luck (other than the shark fishing…)

If you haven’t been to the BVIs, definitely take a full day, with captain, to the BVIs. When we go back, we will do 2 days, cutting our stops in half allowing for more time at each.

I recommend you strongly consider Casa Azure, assuming Bonnie and Doug still own it. From the moment we booked our stay, to even now 3 weeks later, Bonnie and Doug have been extremely responsive to any questions, concerns or recommendations to help us have a wonderful & memorable Anniversary vacation. Thank you Bonnie & Doug!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dan, thanks for the great review. We do our best to keep Casa Azure in great shape. Don't worry we have no plans to sell, so come back any time. We give great discounts to returning guests and remember the water temp is always over 79 F!

Doug & Bonnie

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Very Nice Accommodations on St. Thomas

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

We stayed at Casa Azure and enjoyed our stay. The Villa is very clean and with the exception of a few glitches which were promptly attended to by the Owner. The views are spectacular and the hot tub and pool very nice to have on premises. The a/c units worked, were individually controlled in each room and were extremely quiet.

The beds were very comfortable and the rooms furnished in nice Island decor.

The only cons we found were that it is a duplex and while the owners have no control over the adjacent tenants we found that they were chain smokers and we could smell cigarette smoke early in the AM and after 5. The neighbors let their trash and garbage pile up at their front door and I suspect this led to the roach condition. The sofas and pillows in the living area could us a good soap and water cleaning or replacement. Lots of dust on the nicknacks and beautful teak carvings.

There are lots of steps down to the unit that we had not anticipated. Lighting is inadquate as well as handrails. Luggage was a problem toting up and down for us as well as coming home in the dark.
If you have any kind of handicap, hip or leg issues you might want to keep this in mind.

The bedroom configuration is not necessarily ideal for couples. One bedroom is located on the lower level at the pool. The other two bedrooms are what I would call walk-throughs. You have to walk through on to get to the other and then back from the other to get to the living/dining areas. I guess you could go outside to the deck and in through those doors, but that means it is difficult to lock up the house at night. Also the door separating the upstairs bedroom does not close or lock so privacy would be impossible.

If you are a family then these issues may not be important, but if you are 3 couples I could see it being disappointing.

No complaints about the road. That is just how it is in the Islands. You need a four wheel drive anywhere you go.

House is close to Red Hook, grocery store, good restaurants.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: The owners appreciate all comments so that they can continue to make Casa Azure pristene and a wonderful home to enjoy St. Thomas. Without comments to them or the housekeeper,improvements could not be done.

That being said, the neighbors were contacted about their garbage being left outdoors. This was urgent as garbage left outside of cans invites all sorts of critters in the tropics.

The space under the kitchen sink was resealed as that seems to be the spot where ordors come into the house.

All pillows have been dry cleaned.

The automatic light, lighting the stairs to the downstairs bedroom has been fixed. Yes, guests that are older or who have walking problems should not stay downstairs because of the steps. We try to screen all guests and suggest that older guests not stay in the downstairs room. As the owners with grown children we prefer downstairs because of the privacy and the children can stay up late and party without bothering us. It is also great to next to the pool. We usually go to bed early and get up early and watch the sun rise which is spectacular.

The two bedrooms upstairs are built in a European style with an outside covered hallway to pass through to the rest of the house without bothering each other. This arrangement also allows for an ocean view for each bedroom. Locks have been added to the common door on each side for privacy.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nov. 27, 2010 - Dec. 7, 2010 Total Relaxation

Review submitted: December 13, 2010   Date of arrival: November 27, 2010

A 10 day vacation in St Thomas, very good. Staying in a private villa, excellent. Staying at Casa Azure, PRICELESS! We had the most relaxing vacation of our lives. Can't say enough about how great the experience was and I highly recommend this property to any and all who wish to vacation in ST Thomas. It's location is very handy to Red Hook and the ferry to ST John as well as the services of the Ritz Carlton. The house is low maintenance and ideally set up for up to 3 couples. The views are mesmerizing. Can't wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Sept stay

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

Pros: pool and jacuzzi were great, views were great, loved having a grill! Home was very well taken care of, and had everything we needed!
Cons: weak water pressure, occ. roaches, road getting to house was not paved, closest beach is not the safest walk

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your comments.
The road was recently paved. We do recommend a small SUV as the roads are just not great in all of St. Thomas. There are not a lot of street lights so walking at night is not advised because one can not see the road well and we have no side walks so one must walk on the road. We walk the road every morning with all the other walkers and joggers to the Ritz, through their wonderful grounds and back again. If we go early enough, around 6 am, we always see our local deer.
The lack of pressure was due to the filters and they have been changed out. We do collect rain water and the filters need to be changed out often. The best thing for us to do is change out the filters more frequently which we are doing. We also regularly spray for critters which are so common in the tropics. There are no cold winters to kill off the bugs so they can breed all year around. We need our guests to let us know about all issues so we can address them and continue to make every body's vacation wonderful!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Top Notch!

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

We went to Casa Azure in July. Be prepared when you open the front door of the Villa and be stunned by the breathtaking veiw's through out the entire house.
The photos don't do it justice! The Deck is huge. Spent most of our time out there and watched the Boats go by. Just a wonderful place for our trip. Stayed 10 days, went by to quickly!

It was great and so were the owners,(Doug & Bonnie) they were so helpful.

D

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful House in a Wonderful Place

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

House lived up to and exceeded expectations. Although pictures do sell the place - you have to see it to believe it. Loved the multi-deck, fabulous views and hot tub / pool. Our kids (teens) were in the pool everyday. After full day at the beaches and/or scuba - house was a great place to come back to - cook our meals, relax and enjoy an island drink on the deck. Plenty of room for us (4 adults and 4 teens). Close proximity to Red Hook (although recommend a car) - but plenty of privacy. Walked to the Ritz beaches a couple of times - although our favorite was Secret Harbor just a bit further and more easily accessible via car. Owner was accessible for questions once we were on the premises. Stunning views from each bedroom - would love to come back and hope to again some day.

We did go into the small Harbor town of Red Hook each day for scuba, quick bites, quick shopping, happy hour at Fat Boys or the Caribbean Cafe. Latitude 18 for some fun live music ala island beer garden on the water. Nearby Eco-Tours for sea kayaking and we snorkeled each day at a different nearby beach. 30 minutes to Charlotte Amalie for some shopping and Blackbeards Castle. Ferry from Red Hook makes St. John easily accessible. Things we didn't get to do - but will target for next round: Golf at Mahogany Run, Dinner at Roberts, British VI.

Overall - a wonderful house in a wonderful place

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

amazing vacation!!

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 26, 2010

This villa is everything it looks like on the web site and more! The view is spectacular, the house is extremely clean and well-stocked, and the amenities are perfect. The air conditioning works very well, and we loved having separate controls for each bedroom. We really never needed the ac during the day and used it little at night. We traveled with 4 teenagers, and they never got bored. The owners helped us to plan everything before we left, so we could start vacationing immediately when we arrived! We traveled the entire island and found this the absolute best spot to be. Highly recommend for all ages.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

amazing vacation!!

Review submitted: June 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 26, 2010

This villa is everything it looks like on the web site and more! The view is spectacular, the house is extremely clean and well-stocked, and the amenities are perfect. The air conditioning works very well, and we loved having separate controls for each bedroom. We really never needed the ac during the day and used it little at night. We traveled with 4 teenagers, and they never got bored. The owners helped us to plan everything before we left, so we could start vacationing immediately when we arrived! We traveled the entire island and found this the absolute best spot to be. Highly recommend for all ages.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Clean, great price, no problems whatsoever!

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

As a recent guest I would like to respond to a review that someone made about Casa Azure, saying that none of the windows worked, and that there was mold everywhere and that will never return. These people are crazy and could not have really stayed in Casa Azure. It is beautiful and comfy, we found everything working great and we even had an extra cleaning service in the middle of our stay- because we have children and they are very messy ;) The jacuzzi and pool were a hit with the teenagers and at night we loved just sitting on the deck and feeling the breeze. We would recommend this place to anyone- it is an incredible price for what you get and so managable. We loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous vacation!

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

We recently stayed at Casa Azure and had the most relaxing vacation, our young daughter totally loved the jacuzzi and pool. The house had every amenity we needed, it was clean and comfy. Bonnie was so awesome in helping us have a great time. We'd recommend this place to everyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Place!

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2008

My family recently vacationed at Casa Azure and it was such a beautiful, lovely vacation. The house had every amenity we needed, it was clean and in a great location! We had such a relaxing time, we want to move down!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hands down the BEST VACATION!

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

We recently visited Casa Azure with our daughter and we had such an amazing time! We were surprised to see that recently a guest wrote such a negative review- they must not have stayed here, because there Casa Azure, fulfilled every amenity we needed, it was clean and beautiful and Bonnie and Doug were so helpful in helping us have a great time. So don't listen to anyone else- you will have a fabulous time

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We stayed at Casa Azure for 12 days in April

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

It was wonderful! The views are fantastic! You are right on the water with your own private pool and Jacuzzi.The last review is not even close. We found no mold, the hot tub was pefect, the sliders are new and work fine. The mattress is in a storage area and is replacing one of the queen beds. You will love it!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We stayed at Casa Azure for 12 days in April

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

It was wonderful! The views are fantastic! You are right on the water with your own private pool and Jacuzzi.The last review is not even close. We found no mold, the hot tub was pefect, the sliders are new and work fine. The mattress is in a storage area and is replacing one of the queen beds. You will love it!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Hideaway

Review submitted: February 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2009

My family of eight stayed at this wonderful villa for eight great days and this was to short. The views from the two decks of this villa are breathtaking. We saw so many different boats, parasailers, the ferry going to and from St. John and so many other things. The villa itself has everything you need. They were stocked with coffee,tea,plenty of condiments in the frige and the bar was well stocked. They had blowup rafts for the pool as well as beach toys for the little ones which were great use out since there are beaches a short walk away. The new pool deck and laser light pool are really great and the hot tub was wonderful in the evening while relaxing and looking at the ocean. we rented the whole villa as we have grown kids who are married as well as little ones and we all had privacy as well. The downstairs room is really great for older ones and it leads out on to the pool and deck. The living aera is everything they describe it is. This was a wonderful vacation and hope to go back as the week went way to fast.

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Sight seeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Childern, Romantic Getaway.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

beautiful hideaway

Review submitted: June 4, 2009   Date of arrival: May 20, 2009

My family of eight stayed at this wounderfull villa for eight great days and this was to short.The views from the two decks of this villa are breathtaking.There was a different view or activity going on everyday.We saw so many different boats parasailers the ferry going to and from St.John and so many other things.The villa itself has everything you need.They were stocked with coffee.tea,plentyof condiments in the fridge and the bar was well stocked.They had blowup rafts for the pool as well as beach toys for little ones which we ot great use out of since there is a beach in walking distance. The new pool deck and laser light pool are really great,and the hot tub was wounderfull in the evening relaxing in it while looking out at the ocean.We rented the whole villa as we have grown kids who are married as well as little ones and we all had privacy as well.The downstairs room is really great for the older ones and it leads out on to the pool deck.The living area is everything they descibe it is.This was a wounderfull vacation and hope to go back as the week went by way to fast.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Previous Con's have been attended to!

Review submitted: November 20, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

The owner's bought new mattresses and they were perfect. The owner's had local rum in the liquor closet, but it's so cheap to buy there, $4.00 so when we ran out it was no big deal. The road to the villa is all part of the experience, it's fun and the potholes have been attended to. Most of it is paved as well! It's an island we wanted to feel like we were having an adventure! Beautiful and spacious, the views are breathtaking and its soooo close to everything. Great deal!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Winter paradise, mostly

Review submitted: October 9, 2008   Date of arrival: December 14, 2007

Fantastic get away from it all spot, you can have solitude or get out to explore :
Comfortable, spacious villa, we were pleased to see rainbows out the windows/off the deck almost daily.
Third bedroom, with sep entrance, allowed additional privacy for members of our party.
The service we received was great from the owners - planning and recommendations on area services/activities readily provided. Trip planning was so easy with this assistance. Delay of one member of our party no problem for the escort to accomodate. Housekeeper able to do prelim shopping ahead of time, we were already set when we arrived - nice perk!
Easily able to establish a safe zone for child about a year old, though some of the decoration may be dangerous/fragile around very active toddler.
Working husband took full advantage of computer access/wifi without problems.
Hot tub after day at the beach was quite relaxing.
Great access to the ferries to St. John & BVI from here. Redhook (closest town center) also has multiple good restaurants and a grocery to stock up on supplies.

Cons:
I like firm mattresses, but this was a bit much.
Kitchen was a bit understocked - even for dishes/pots/pans.
The road to the villa is a bit hazardous with potholes (unless already fixed) - would recommend 4x4 to ensure trouble - especially if there's any rain during the visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation at Casa Azure

Review submitted: April 15, 2008   Date of arrival: April 4, 2008

Pros:
The villa is nice and has great views from it's beautiful deck and huge windows.
The service we received was great from the owners, escort and housekeeper
The deck and hot tub are awesome and the living room couches are nice and wide for cuddling.
In the closet there is sand castle toys, beach chairs, and a cooler.
There are remote controlled air conditioning units in the rooms. There is a computer set up in one of the bedrooms with internet and a printer, and there is also wifi.
Evening breezes and the sounds of the ocean lapping against the cliff (you can use the screen and shades.)
It is near the Ritz and Redhook for fine dining options, ferry terminal, grocery store, and boat charters, (it is on the other side of the island from Charlotte Amalie)
Cons: (Some nitpicky)
The mattresses are on the hard side and we sometimes woke with back soreness.
Tiki torches didn't light by the hot tub
The kitchen could have used some amenities like sponges, storage bags and nonstick pans
The barstools are not comfortable and need cushions or something
Some of the sliding doors are sticky.
Several food items were empty (coffee, bar items, etc). They say to partake of the "full bar" but it is just a few half empty bottles of vodka, Baileys and gin with glassware (in an armoire) Is the housekeeper supposed to be checking and restocking things or does she not see it because previous guests are not throwing away empty items they've used up? It would have been nice if there were more stuff to mix with (like amaretto, kalua,and locally made flavored rums for instance). We bought our own juices and some Champagne.

I would recommend this place overall for it's beautiful views, outdoor space, personal service, amenities, and proximity to the Ritz, Redhook, and Beaches (Lindquist, Vesup, the Ritz beach, Coki, etc).

Stuff to do:
Pirate's Penney boat charter to Virgin Gorda and the Indians.
Jewelry shopping in Charlotte Amalie
Visiting St. John's national park beaches (Snorkel out to Waterlemon Key and on the snorkel trail at Trunk Bay) and sugar mill ruins
Passionfruit Chefs personal cheff service (Lorna was our cook and it was delish)
Latitude 18 for reasonably priced good food (had the burger).
Mim's for yummy waterfront dining
Mango BBQ Ribs at Coconut Cove at the Ritz
BBCs, Bushwackers, and Cruzan Confusion drinks
Coral World and Coki beach snorkeling
Bring plenty of sunblock, an underwater camera/video and your snorkel gear!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review