reviews for: listing #18951 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Oceanfront Splendor - Mika 'Alua - Snorklers Paradise
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Kapoho Vacationland
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $254 - $269 /nt
    $1,778 - $1,918 /wk

sort by:

Awesome! Everyone loved being by the ocean.

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

Sleeping arrangements worked well for us. Enjoyed having spices, etc. available for us. Supplies for beach time were much appreciated. Loved the cat!! The property was clean. Found good snorkeling beach nearby. Enjoyed most of our meals at home, sharing cooking. Nice to have laundry facilities. Would recommend to others. Thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW!

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

The week at your home was a "WOW" week for the Hoffman family. Each and every morning we said wow, what a great home and wonderful location. The sound of the waves was like a gentle sleeping pill that lulled us to sleep.
We have stayed at several vacation homes, none of them compare with all of the amenities you had available for our use. We especially enjoyed all of the kitchen condiments that made eating at home very simple. We found out about the Wednesday night gathering at the location about 30 minutes west of your place, and really enjoyed meeting some of the local people. As you can tell, we felt extremely fortunate to have opportunity to enjoy your home for the week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Perfect Place for our 50th Anniversary!

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

Thank you for such a thoughtful gesture - the 50th Anniversary champagne was fun. We have all (8) enjoyed your house so much. Room for everyone and supplies well provided. The flowers on the table seemed determined to last all week! We have seen some lovely magical sights; snorkeling at the ponds; and enjoyed fine meals on your sweet patio. My husband & I felt like royalty in that room upstairs. All I needed was a sparkly tiara... We renewed "vows" on the big flat piece of lava just off your path. Thanks again.
I believe my wonderful wife of 50 years said it all, will add a great big thank you for a wonderful time and a big wish that we might return for our 100th!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Second Year!

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

After completing a second stay following our last year, we find that although the surprise factor was no longer there, the WOW! factor was. Spend a week snorkeling, eating fish and papayas and Kalua pig and....oh yes, and partaking of local refreshments. Hope to come back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Really Enjoyed the View!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 9, 2014

Really enjoyed the view. Got a good show from the whales one night - breaching and all. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Lovely Location!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

Thanks so much for sharing another lovely location with us. We stayed at a different home of yours a year ago - you win in location - details (Hawaiian treats in basket - fresh flowers, spices & paper products, laundry supplies - great feeling sheets...) I'm hoping we can return again another year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Beautiful Spot!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

What a beautiful spot! Mahalo for letting us share the beauty of your home. We spent the first week in Waikoloa and the second here. This side of the Island is beautiful and has many hidden treasures. I have enjoyed this Island very much!! Your hospitality and thoughtfulness have been greatly appreciated. You have been a great host. Aloha.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Already Talking About Next Time!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. We woke up at 6:00 am on January 31 and flew to Houston, LA and Hilo. Went to bed at 11:00 pm Hawaiian time...20 hours later and swore we'd never do it again. By 8:00 pm the next morning looking out over the ocean we were already talking about next time. We were originally disappointed that we couldn't rent the house we were in 2 years ago but now given a choice I think we'd return to Mika 'Alua. If you had it we used it. We used the pool, hot tub, bikes, snorkeling gear, grill, etc. It was fantastic.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lasting Memories!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 9, 2014

Thank you for the lasting memories my family and I have made over this past week in this fabulous home! My 60th birthday will forever be hard to beat! My brother, sister, in-laws and Mom could not say enough about this place - even saying this was "the best vacation they've ever had." I'm sure we'll be back - soon! All the high-end items (even the Egyptian cotton sheets) did not go unnoticed. You have a beautiful home! We even saw a couple of whales and a calf this morning as they hung out for a while - I could watch them all day. Thanks, too, for allowing us to hang out our last day as we waited for our late-night flight. I've been to Oahu, Maui and now Hawaii and I can't imagine going to any other island but Hawaii in the future - the "Hawaii" that is holding onto the best of their culture. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Difficult to Leave Mika 'Alua!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

It is, indeed, quite difficult to leave Mika 'Alua! While the Polar Vortex was inundating the mainland, we were in more of a Papaya/Snorkel/Relaxation Vortex. Returning home to Montana will be quite a change! In addition to the obvious beach and snorkeling highlights, we went to an "After Dark in the Park" talk at Volcanoes and cooked almost every meal in the well-stocked kitchen. Can't wait to return! Mahalo for the wonderful vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular Views!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: December 2, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your slice of paradise with us. We so enjoyed our mornings and evenings on the porch. The view is spectacular! We will miss the ocean sounds and the views.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 10, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful welcome basket at Mika 'Alua. We had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoyed having our coffee while watching the beautiful sunrises on the lanai. It was tough to leave that view. Snorkeling in the tide pools was amazing. Thanks for letting us stay in your beautiful house.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Stay!

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

Thank you for opening your beautiful home to us for an amazing stay in Hawaii. We experienced many amazing things and really felt a part of the community while we were here. It was so amazing to sit outside everyday and listen to the ocean and to star gaze in the evenings. We really were able to relax and be stress-free for the week. The ocean view was spectacular! As we go back to our families, jobs, and live in Colorado again, we will take with us fond memories of Hawaii. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I Love It Here!

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 11, 2013

Thank you for sharing your beautiful beach house. I love it here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Place!

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2013

The place is amazing, the water breathtaking, the fish beyond beautiful and all the surroundings perfect! We could not have had a better time. Everywhere we went we were met with so much hospitality, such a pure treat! Again, Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breathtaking Views!

Review submitted: December 9, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

We have truly enjoyed our time in your beautiful Mika 'Alua vacation home in Paradise. The view is breathtaking & we have not been so relaxed in years. Many blessings to you both & mahalo for opening my eyes & heart to the spirit of aloha. The house was big enough for two families and was fantastic. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Trip - We Will Be Back

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

This was our first visit to the Hawaiian Islands and thanks to the wonderful house, people and sites we will be coming back. The house was exactly as described and was stocked even better than expected. Falling asleep and waking up to the ocean sounds was amazing every day. To sit and listen to the sounds of the wildlife was totally unexpected. We did not expect the house to be so far from everything but this allowed us to explore parts of the island we never would have found on our own this made the trip even more enjoyable, from the thermal pools to the lava flow at Kalapana we enjoyed everything the island had to offer and more. We even drove to Kona to go fishing and had the experience of a lifetime, catching a 351lb. Blue Marlin was something my son and I will never forget. We enjoyed taking walks around the neighborhood every morning and evening to see and listen to the sights and sounds of the island as the day started and ended. The snorkel pools were something that words cannot describe, we have only seen those types of fish in pictures. The stories left by previous residents were priceless, from the children's stories to the parent's descriptions it helped us feel right at home. We visited Kaleo's restaurant as suggested in the book for our final night's meal and were not disappointed, delicious food and great people to talk to. We would really like to thank Jamie, she was a wealth of information for our trip. Thanks you for letting us use you wonderful home to enjoy our little trip to paradise. As was said to us when we were leaving, Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wish We Could Stay Longer!

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Aloha Jamie,

We are loving the time we are spending here. What a wonderful location and a very comfortable, well-equipped house. I wish we could stay longer
.
Mahalo for everything you did to make our stay here so enjoyable. It is clear that your guests matter to you and that is much appreciated. Aloha.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Super Views

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

We stayed in the Mika Alua for 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. We arrived late at night and had no idea of the view we were missing until we woke up the next morning. Awesome views to wake up to every morning. Jamie was great to work with from the very beginning. She was very attentive to our emails and answered all our questions and concerns timely. We have rented many VRBOs over the years and this kitchen was the best stocked kitchen of any place we have ever stayed. The location is peaceful and relaxing and great for touring the Volcanoes National Park. We had an easy drive to the Black Sand Beach and a memorable drive to the Green Sand Beach. My husband enjoyed snorkeling in the Tide Pools within walking distance of the home. Our only concern was the Guest House was on the warm side and we had fans going every night to keep us cool and the darn Coqui frogs! All in all it was a wonderful home and would highly recommend it to others looking for a nice quiet place away from the normal busy tourist locations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW!

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

"WOW when we woke up this morning we saw the most awesome view ever! Pictures do not do it justice! Thanks so much for the nice gift basket and the bottle of champagne...we have it cooling now. We will toast to this wonderful place you have here."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A spectacular week!

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

This was my first trip to Hawai'i, and I am so glad I chose Mika Alua! Our who family had a spectacular week. The oceanfront location was incredibly peaceful, and the sunrises and moonrises added to the charm. The house was very comfortable and everything we wished for was thoughtfully provided (including a lovely welcome basket). The location was perfect for touring Hilo, Volcanoes National Park, and much more. We enjoyed lunches in Pahoa, shopping at the Hilo Farmer's market, a drive down to South Point and Punalu'u black sand beach (where we saw sea turtles), and a day spent with Native Guide Hawaii (Warren Costa) touring the volcanoes (I recommend him unreservedly as well). The tide pools right down the street were great fun with the kids, as was the swimming pool. Meals on the lanai were a pleasure, and we particularly enjoyed the geckos in the garden and the star fruit ripe on the bushes behind the guest house. This property will not disappoint you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Splendor And More

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Aloha!
Many previous reviews have accurately described this lovely vacation property. What I would like to share is about the person who makes this possible. Jamie is the perfect representative of this home. I contacted Jamie a couple of months ago to see if it would be okay for me to surprise my wife for her birthday which was the day we were to arrive. I asked could I send the birthday gifts to the Mika Alua home and have them placed on the bed. Jamie accepted the idea with glee. She and I conversed periodically via email to make sure all was in order. Her staff did a beautiful job placing the gifts in gift bags. When we arrived, my wife went upstairs to admire the beautifully spacious bedroom. She was blown away with the surprise. I walked on air for the rest the evening. :) Oh, let me not forget the gift basket that Jamie had waiting for us. She's classy, personable and comes across like an endearing family member.
This is our 5th time visiting Hawaii, but first time in the Pahoa/ Hilo region. This beautiful ocean front home is in the perfect location. It was hard to leave the house for nearby snorkeling, tours, etc. The weather was great. Everyday sunshine, with just a few light latenight showers to cool off the evening. We look forward to returning to stay in one of her other properties. Can't give away our next vacation dates.:)
Mahalo
Jeff and Jackie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Splendor and More.

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Aloha!
Many previous reviews have accurately described this lovely vacation property. What I would like to share is about the person who makes this possible. Jamie is the perfect representative of this home. I contacted Jamie a couple of months ago to see if it would be okay for me to surprise my wife for her birthday which was the day we were to arrive. I asked could I send the birthday gifts to the Mika Alua home and have them placed on the bed. Jamie accepted the idea without glee. She and I conversed periodically via email to make sure all was in order. Her staff did a beautiful job placing the gifts in gift bags. When we arrived, my wife went upstairs to admire the beautifully spacious bedroom. She was blown away with the surprise. I walked on air for the rest the evening. :) Oh, let me not forget the gift basket that Jamie had waiting for us. She's classy, personable and comes across like an endearing family member.
This is our 5th time visiting Hawaii, but first time in the Pahoa/ Hilo region. This beautiful ocean front home is in the perfect location. It was hard to leave the house for nearby snorkeling, tours, etc. The weather was great. Everyday sunshine, with just a few light latenight showers to cool off the evening. We look forward to returning to stay in one of her other properties. Can't give away our next vacation dates.:)
Mahalo
Jeff and Jackie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sitting by the Ocean

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Abby and I are at this moment sitting on the lounge chairs on your back lenai and enjoying a glass of wine as we are being mesmerized by the beautiful ocean waves crashing ashore. We are having a wonderful and relaxing time together on the island and have found Mika 'Alua to be a very tranquil, classy and comfortable home in paradise. It is far nicer than I expected and though we have enjoyed activities from Hilo farmers market to the best snorkeling I have ever experienced at Kapoho, and Hawaii Volcanoes; we mostly just want to stay home and enjoy being at Mika 'Alua sitting by the ocean. My teenage boys are loving your house too and the pool has been an extra hit mostly with my Niece! The home is laid out so perfect with lovely ocean views from all three bedrooms and love love how nice it is and tasteful fun decorations and finishes. The back lenai is our favorite spot.

We hate to leave but will depart feeling so much more rested and at peace than when we arrived. I would absolutely love to return to Mika 'Alua my next visit to Hawaii Island.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Couldn't Be Happier!

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 7, 2013

We are having THE BEST time in your beautiful home!!! You have really thought of EVERYTHING to please and delight us. We thought it was going to be truly wonderful, and it still exceeds all our expectations. You have decorated it and added so many fabulous amenities! We are very grateful!!! Is there anything we can do for you? We will treat this house as our own. We love it! Mahalo for giving us the time of our lives. We are already talking about coming back! We couldn't be happier.

I've been so absorbed in the joy of being here, I haven't even checked my e-mail. At the moment we are sitting outside with breakfast and I've asked your question to the family.

One of our very favorite things was walking through your front garden and looking through the windows to see the ocean view beyond ... on an incredibly beautiful day. It just took our breath away!!!! And mind you, we live on a bluff overlooking San Luis Bay and see the ocean every day. We just love the house! It exceeds our expectations in every way.

The pool is wonderful and has been used every day, several times a day. One of the most ecstatic things for all of us has been snorkeling in the tidal pools down the street and seeing such an amazing variety of fish -- plus the turtles, oh the turtles! We've also been to the Champagne Pond. I loved snorkeling there in the rain.
Everyday we've had a fantastic excursion (the volcanic park, the botanical gardens, exploring the coast road south, waterfalls north of Hilo, etc.) and then we look forward to coming "home".
Thank you for making this all possible, Jamie!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5 Stars*****Wonderful Trip..We will be back

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

This was our first visit to the Hawaiian Islands and thanks to the wonderful house, people and sites we will be coming back. The house was exactly as described and was stocked even better than expected. Falling asleep and waking up to the ocean sounds was amazing every day. To sit and listen to the sounds of the wildlife was totally unexpected. We did not expect the house to be so far from everything but this allowed us to explore parts of the island we never would have found on our own this made the trip even more enjoyable, from the thermal pools to the lava flow at Kalapana we enjoyed everything the island had to offer and more. We even drove to Kona to go fishing and had the experience of a lifetime, catching a 351lb. Blue Marlin was something my son and I will never forget. We enjoyed taking walks around the neighborhood every morning and evening to see and listen to the sights and sounds of the island as the day started and ended. The snorkel pools were something that words cannot describe, we have only seen those types of fish in pictures. The stories left by previous residents were priceless, from the children's stories to the parent's descriptions it helped us feel right at home. We visited Kaleo's restaurant as suggested in the book for our final night's meal and were not disappointed, delicious food and great people to talk to. We would really like to thank Jamie, she was a wealth of information for our trip. Thanks you for letting us use you wonderful home to enjoy our little trip to paradise. As was said to us when we were leaving, Maholo.

The Converse Family
New Jersey

"Absolutely, I would recommend this accommodation to my best friend!"


My Detailed Ratings

Value: 5 of 5

Check-in: 5 of 5

Location: 5 of 5

Cleanliness: 5 of 5

Comfort: 5 of 5

Service: 5 of 5

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome House

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

Mahalo for sharing your home. This is our 2nd trip to the islands and this house was so awesome to be at. The view is beautiful and waking up to the sounds of the ocean is something we will take home with us to remember while we are in intense heat in the summer and freezing cold in the winter.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Pleasure!

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

We loved our Big Island home away from home. We appreciate that it was so well stocked with supplies and such comfortable beds. Such a pleasure to fall asleep to the sounds of the surf and rain. Shower and have coffee while watching the waves each morning. We had planned more excursions to other parts of the Island, but except for a zipline and a couple trips to Hilo, we didn't want to leave Mika Alua. Weather was beautiful and people were friendly. We hope to return soon! Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

Mika Alua was the perfect vacation spot for a truly perfect vacation! The house had everything needed to explore the island, as well as a view of paradise! We used everything the house had to offer and were pleasantly surprised with the ample amount of paper goods, towels, laundry detergent and enjoyed having a grill! Thank you for a wonderful week in paradise!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gorgeous View & Tranquility

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Mika Alua. We have visited the Islands several times, but we have never experienced such a gorgeous view accompanied by such tranquility. We enjoyed all you offer here - the star gazing, the pool, the hot tub, and the snorkeling equipment. We were very apprciateive of ample paper goods, towels, and the laundry, including supplies. We also made use of the grill! Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Views

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

The house is excellent and very well stocked. The views are amazing. We truly enjoyed our time here. Love the views and all the comforts this house provided. The location is the perfect place for relaxation. What a beautiful part of the island. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Drinks in the Hot Tub!

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

All 9 of us really enjoyed the house. Traveled around exploring the area and coming home to fresh rum drinks made in the blender and soaking in the hot tub. Thank you for providing such a wonderful kept house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Week

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your house. This was a wonderful week I will always remember. Such beautiful sights & sounds...and wonderful foods.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Beach House

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

Mahalo for a beautiful beach house...so comfortable & beautiful views. Your driving directions were spot on! Hope we wll return soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will Come Again!

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

Mahalo Jamie again for the great stay. Weather beautiful. Calmest ocean we ever had here. We went on ocean lava boat and saw some amazing views of lava pouring in the ocean! WOW! We'll come again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Base Camp!

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

This was a great base camp and a fine place to match our Kona stay. Kids felt very comfortable and safe. We were very comfortable and felt like it is a home away from home. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice vacation place

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

As advertised, with a few exceptions. The champagne ponds are not a short walk away. In order to access them one has to drive and park outside a gated community then walk through for quite a ways or drive over a VERY rough lava road, Not reccomended for a rental car. The tidal pools are a short walk away and that is where we spent most of our time, great place to snorkel with lots of fish but the trail in is rough and one has to navigate over sharp lava to get in and out of the pools. Early in the mornings it is great. Parking is limited and it gets crowded later in the day and on weekends.
The bicycles are another story. Two cruiser types that are decent and usable but the mountain bike types are rusted so bad they won't shift and in terrible shape. I took the WD 40 to them and got one to shift then the handle bars were loose and would not tighten. I gave up on them.
My wife and I stayed in the ohana, a converted garage in the back by the pool. It is a nice place and well done but it gets very hot and the breeze doesn't get to it. Even with every fan on it was like an oven. It finally cools off early in the morning when the fans pull the cooler outside air in but it needs some type of a/c. Very uncomfortable because of the heat.
We were not there to watch TV but liked to turn it on for a bit before bed or to get the morning news, however the cable in the ohana died after a few days and never did get fixed. No biggy unless you like to watch TV when the ocean is only 50 feet away just past the deck of the main house and the breeze is blowing through the palms. As I said, not what we were there for but would have been nice.
The great part of the place is that one can spend hours on the deck watching the waves as the tide comes and goes with a cool drink while the palm trees sway in the breeze or watch the storms move across the horizon and enjoy the rain storms as they cool things down.
Beautiful flowers and trees everywhere. The place comes complete with an adopted cat called "cali" since she is calico and she is very nice and everyone feeds her twice per day. Also there are a lot of resident mongoose's around and they are fun to watch. Also the geckos are very pretty and fun to watch.
Watch out for the snot worms (aka slugs) on the walks when it is dark. Not a good way to start or finish the day and not easy to get off the feet!!
All in all, we had a great time and enjoyed the area and sight seeing. Took a walk in the mornings and just enjoyed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: We thank the guests for their comments on Mika ‘Alua. We are glad to hear that their overall stay at Mika 'Alua was positive and enjoyable. The concerns they expressed are the first of this nature that we have heard – and the first less than 5* rating we have ever received. It is our aim to please, and are, of course, concerned with making any corrections within our control.

*The Champagne Pond, as described in our information, is approximately one-mile away. It is in a gated community (not ours) and as such, the public access is via a county maintained (not always great) road.
*The tide pools at Kapoho are easily accessed by walking less than 5 minutes down a peaceful tree-lined street. The East side of Hawaii has lava rock coastlines, rather than sandy beaches. It is what is presented in our information sent to guests. Guests of all ages love and use the tide pools.
*We provide bicycles whereas most other vacation rentals do not. There are 2 recently new bicycles at Mika ‘Alua. The 2 older bikes should have been removed and now have been.
. *The ohana (guest cottage) has fans, both ceiling and floor fans, provided. When the ohana windows and screen door are left open in the evening once the guests arrive home from exploring the Big Island, the o’hana should be comfortable for sleeping. We are working to improve the air flow.
*The issue of the snails is the first we’ve heard mentioned in this context. Our gardener has taken care of the situation.
*We apologize that the ohana satellite DISH went out during this guest’s stay. We immediately ordered a new one, but being located in a fairly remote area of the Big Island, it takes up to a week to get and install a replacement. The new satellite is now in place. The satellite TV in the main house was and is operational.

We appreciate all guest comments. Our guests are our best source to let us know if there are items not meeting their expectations. We appreciate knowing so that we can correct and improve their experience to make for a 5* vacation. Aloha, Jamie, Owner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kapoho Rental

Review submitted: June 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

Had a great stay. Property was well equipped and had lovely views. A little far from the town of Hilo and most sights are a drive, but other than that the trip was great. Would have loved to have had more time to explore the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Accommodations!

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

We are never leaving...I am turning in my change of address card today and moving in forever. Mahalo nui loa for the beautiful accomodations!! Love, love, LOVE!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The tidal pools were incredible.

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

04/25/2013

We definitely want to return. We love the house, it felt like home. The tidal pools were incredible. It is amazing how close the lava flow came to this location.

From Alabama

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

The title says it all. The view and house are just as good as they look online (the view might even be better). Lots of room, very peaceful location (the neighbors next door had a family gathering on Sunday which broke up around 9:00, otherwise we didn't see ANYBODY except a couple of fishermen for our entire 9 day stay), ocean right there to look at all day and lull you to sleep at night. On top of that, the house was well appointed with a number of little touches that didn't have to be there--good kitchen utensils (important in a location where you'll both need and want to do a reasonable amount of your own cooking), lots of spices and condiments that you wouldn't want to buy to just use a couple of times, bicycles and other play things, just to name a few that were important to us. And some of the best snorkeling on the Big Island just a 5+ minute walk along the water. And did i forget to mention the chance to enjoy a bottle of bubbly in the hot tub while watching and listening to the surf and/or stars? The only "problem" was that we liked it so much right there that we didn't get out and do quite as many other things as we'd planned to do before arriving!

We've stayed at a number of Big Island vacation rentals over the years, and the owners here obviously aren't trying to wring out as many dollars as they can for the fewest possible offerings in return (we've stayed in those, too), they obviously care about their property and the people that stay there. We can hardly wait to come back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Splendid place

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

From the moment we stepped in the door this place was great, the view was fantastic and the 1st couple of days we stayed and just watched the view and R & R. Got to see some whales and dolphins right from the back patio. The tide pools were neat. We wished we could have stayed longer. It has everything you could want and then some. Pantry was well stocked with spices and everything else. We would definitely be returning again but maybe stay for 2 weeks instead of 1 wk. It was clean and although we didn't see the owner it was okay by us and we would certainly recommend this place to other people. It was just as described and my husband who is picky raved about the place. It rained almost everyday but it didn't put a damper on things except for the last day on Friday it was a gully washer and I had planned on staying later but we left early anyways since we flew out of Kona but all in all it was a great place.

Kenny and Nicki from Oklahoma

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Trip of a lifetime

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

We just returned(3 couples) from the big island and our stay at Mika Alua(10 days). From the moment I emailed Jamie in early 2012 I knew that our stay would be perfect. We were not disappointed. Her communication with me was excellent. In fact, she went over and above what one would expect. The house had everything listed, and more. It was perfect for 3 couples( or 4) that enjoy cooking and eating under the stars on the oceanfront dining set. The location could not be beat. 2 blocks from great snorkelling, and a 10 minute drive to small towns and to sites that will drop your jaw with beauty. Everything was as disclosed, the pictures are extremely accurate, and the location was perfect. We wanted REAL HAWAII for our first trip to the islands, and we got it. We could not have been happier. thank you Jamie. My wife's 50th was an event that will never be forgotten! Cheers.
Brian and Donna Johnston, Ontario, Canada
Joseph and Kelly McDonald, Ontario Canada
Donald and Monique McElheran, Ontario Canada

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful home with all the amenities!

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

Just returned today, from our stay at Mika Alua... I never wanted to leave! The home is truly amazing, and was the perfect "Hawaiian Retreat" for our trip to "The Big Island". We couldn't BELIEVE all of the amenities at this home- everything we could possibly have needed was there. Just bring your shorts and swimsuit, and feel like you are right at home. The view was breath-taking, right on the ocean. And right down the street is some of the BEST snorkeling on the island! The owners are very nice and helpful, and provided tips, and directions, about The Big Island. This was ALL much appreciated. I would HIGHLY recommend this beautiful home to anyone, wanting a perfect escape in Paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"The" Perfect Island Experience

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2012

My husband, myself and another couple stayed here for a week. I will be honest and say I'm not sure I could put into words exactly what a wonderful time we had. But here it goes =) The house itself affords all the luxuries from home and even more. The surroundings and the neighborhood are amazing. Having the patio look out towards the ocean is gorgeous. The location was perfect for us as we were able to explore the whole island with this being a wonderful base to always come 'home' to.
They have a nice book in the house for people to write their experiences there which was really a treat to read as it gave us some great ideas. I booked way in advance and some changes happened throughout that time but the owners were wonderful, prompt and easy to communicate with.
We will definitely be returning as I can say without a doubt I have never had such a relaxing yet fun vacation. Not to mention all the wonderful locals we met along our way.
Mahalo !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed everything from snorkeling down the street

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

Date entered: 10/19/2012

Eight of us stayed here and enjoyed everything from snorkeling down the street, lava tree park, volvano and Captain Cook kayaking. We loved every minute and would come again.

Guest city-state/province: Colorado & San Diego

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a view!

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

date entered: 09/23/2012

We had a fabulous 1st anniversary trip to the Big Island,
spending the second half of it at Mika Alua.
What a view!
We found many fascinating tide pools to snorkel in at the
Marine Sanctuary down the street, enjoyed several relaxing
drives under the canopy (Hwy 137, Hwy 130 to Kalapana, and
other out-of-the way scenic byroads), watched the lit-up
cruise ship sail by at night from the comfort of the hot
tub, explored lush tropical trails at Hawaii Volcanoes NP,
ate "ono kina" Thai food at Nang's in Pahoa, talked story
with (and bought gorgeous orchids from) the vegetable
ladies, prepared the most delicious meals from local produce
and seafood, and basically ..!
Had an AMAZING Time!
We hope to be back. Thank you for equipping this lovely
home with so many nice amenities!
P.S. - Visit Two Ladies in Hilo for yummy Mochi!

Guest city-state/province: Modesto, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Kapoho Retreat

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

Very clean, beautifully appointed, all amenities...just perfect. Our parents, celebrating their 60th anniv., are still telling their friends about our lovely vacation rental. We ate every meal on the lanai..even during a couple of heavy downpours. The view was amazing. A very quiet location. This was our 4th stay in Kapoho and the best rental yet. We hope to rent one of the Phillips' other properties next year, confident that it will be just as clean and lovely.
Mahalo for offering up such a nice vacation rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house; amazing views

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

Fantastic oceanfront vacation rental. View and sound of the waves is great. House is equiped with everything you could possibly need, including bikes and snorkel equipment. Pictures and descriptions are completely accurate and it is even better in person. Bedrooms are arranged for privacy and each has its own private bathroom. Ceiling fans are everywhere-even in the bathrooms! Windows and doors are screened. The owners were great to deal with and there were no problems on site. Walking down to the tidepools was quick and easy. We saw the Milky Way at night. Easy access to Hilo and Volcano. The town of Pahoa is very close and has a number of good restaurants. I would definitely recommend this rental to friends and family and would stay again myself.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This villa was absolutely magic

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

Date entered: 09/20/2012

Thanks so much Jamie. Mika 'Alua was amazing. This was
the last three days of our trip and it could not have been
better. We were ready to relax and watch/listen to the
waves and this villa was absolutely magic. Can't wait to
come back.

Guest city-state/province: Arlington, TX

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a wonderful stay

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

Date entered: 08/10/2012

What a wonderful stay. We loved all of the conveniences
as well as the fact that this is such a "non-touristy"
location.
The tide pools are amazing and don't miss the drive along
137 West. We were especially excited about Champagne Pond,
the Rainbow Falls in Hilo, the Black Sand beach in Punalu'u'
was totally worth the drive.
Of course, the pool and the hot tub were a great amenity.

Looking forward to our next visit!

Guest city-state/province: Minneapolis, MN

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible ocean views

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Date entered: 08/02/2012

We had a lovely time at your beautiful house.
Incredible ocean views
Lovely furnishings
Great hot tub!
We had a great time exploring this side of the island.
Thank you for the goodies & all the extra food supplies!

We hope to visit again.

Guest city-state/province: Northridge, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't get enough of your place!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

Date entered: 07/07/2012

Aloha's

Can't get enough of your place!

Aloha and Mahalo

Guest city-state/province: Kona, HI

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

Date entered: 08/21/2012

Aloha Jamie.

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us and for
your warm hospitality. We had a wonderful time.

Warm Regards,

Guest city-state/province: Tampa, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

Mika Alua was an awesome place to stay! Right on the beach, we loved hearing the waves at night and watching them during the day. The hot tub in front was great! There were games and the kitchen had enough cooking supplies to make shopping and cooking easier. The home is clean, well stocked and very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again!
Make sure to check out the drive west on 137. There is a thermal pool that we found our last day. We went to Volcanoes Nat'l Park, and Kona. Saddle Rd. is awesome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What an amazing view!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Date entered: 08/04/2012


Thank you Jamie. We had a wonderful time. What an amazing
view! Thank you!

From my HTC Sensation 4G

Guest city-state/province: Northridge, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best we have had in 5 trips to Hawaii.

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Date entered: 07/14/2012

Thank you. We had a wonderful time. The view is gorgeous
with the hot tub and ocean. The snorkeling at the Marine
Preserve is the best we have had in 5 trips to Hawaii.
Thanks for the bikes, water shoes, snorkels, fins, etc...
Come in very handy.
Recommend Ning Thai restaurant in Pahoa. Also made a trip
to Champagne Pond at the end of KBL Road.
Also recommend Mackenzie Park down the Red Road. Crashing
waves on cliffs is amazing!!
We also appreciate gift basket. Lovely to come into
spices, oil, sugar etc... Supplies like TP & detergent made
trip very convenient.
Wonderful house. Had fabulous time. Plan to return on
our semi annual trip to HI.

Sincerely,

Guest city-state/province: Fayetteville, NY

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was the 3rd time I have stayed at this house

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

July 2, 2012

This was the third time I have stayed at this house and
everything was exceptional as usual! We had a wonderful
vacation and enjoyed the pool, hot tub and tidal pools!
Really awesome and thank you again!

Guest city-state/province: Ellsworth, ME

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely best Vacation ever in the Best Place ever!

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at your house! It was just the right size for the 7 of us to get together for dinner or spend time alone. We toured the island extensively but also enjoyed the ocean view as well as the tide pools and the Farmer's Market. Our favorite has to be when we spotted a sea turtle while snorkeling and the hikes through the Volcano National Forest. Everything we needed for a great stay was found at the house, any questions we asked were answered promptly and the ocean view was amazing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mika 'Alua - Perfect for us...

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

I booked for my family and two other couples who had not been to the big island...the highlight of our BI trip was the Kopoho/Pahoa area....and our time at Mika 'Alua. Turned out that both other couples were AMAZED at the setting, snorkeling, markets and Pahoa's offerings. Didn't hurt either that the Milky Way shone in the sky for a couple of nights too! You'll see more of us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

GREAT snorkeling in the tide-pools!

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Date of Stay: April 7, 2012

Wonderful & Comfortable Home - Amazing Ocean and GREAT
snorkeling in the tide-pools!

Thanks so much for sharing this delightful home with us.

Warm Regards

Guest city-state/province: Santa Rosa, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved, loved, loved our stay

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Loved, loved, loved our stay.

Your home is so beautiful & well supplied.

Guest city-state/province: Petaluma, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The view is amazing!

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

Thank you so much for allowing us the pleasure of staying in
your beautiful home. It was a honeymoon well spend. The
house had everything we needed. The view is amazing! This is
a trip that will not be forgotten!!
Mahalo,

Guest city-state/province: Palmyra, PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is a trip we will always remember

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

Aloha Jamie -
We had such a great time! Your house is beautiful. You
think of everything for your guests. Loved snorkeling at
the tide-pools, swimming and Champagne Pond were the best!!
The Farmers market in Hilo were so much fun, we went twice!
This is a trip we will always remember.
Mahalo

Guest city-state/province: Cayucos, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely wonderful!!!

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Aloha! We really enjoyed your beautiful place. It was the
perfect place to spend time with our family looking out at the
peaceful ocean.
Absolutely wonderful!!!
Mahalo

guest city-state/province: Sherwood, AZ

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome with such a beautiful sea-view

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Aloha Jamie,
Your house is awesome with such a beautiful sea-view. My
family love this house so much. We enjoy our time here a
lot, very relaxing. this is an unforgettable journey for
all of us and a special experience to stay in a house like
this.

Mahalo from Hong Kong

Guest city-state/province: Hong Kong

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You have thought of everything with this rental.

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

What a great place! The views are gorgeous. Your home is
the perfect base to explore the east side of the Island.
The tidal pools, hot ponds, black sand beaches, volcano,
Mauna Kea were all magnificent. You have thought of
everything with this rental. We had everything we needed
and then some! We hope to visit again and would highly
recommend this place to all our friends & family!!

Mahalo,

Guest city-state/province: ON, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is our 3rd visit to your beautiful home

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Aloha Noi & Jamie!!
This is our 3rd visit to your beautiful home here in
Kapoho!! As usual, everything was fantastic! The relaxing
atmosphere, the hot tub, the pool, the modern conveniences,
and above all else, our reunion with our family!! We missed
last year, so we have not had a family vacation in 2 long
years!! Thank you so much for sharing your home and your
gorgeous VIEW!!!
Mahalo

Guest city-state/province: Garden Grove, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We NEVER dreamed we'd be in such a secluded place

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

Aloha Jamie -
Thanks for a very relaxed vacation.
We NEVER dreamed we'd be in such a secluded place - away
from everyone - everything.
You have a lovely place, a very comfortable home.
Loved the volcano tubes.
We found you home stock-full with all we needed and more.
Thanks so much for a wonderful vacation.
Mahalo!!

Guest city-state/province: Lancaster, OH

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The sound of the waves at night

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us! We enjoyed
the house and the wide open lanai, hot tub and ocean views.
The sound of the waves at night with the occasional downpours
are so relaxing! We walked about a mile or so to the
Champagne Pond on the trail you mentioned and loved the
snorkeling at the Tide Pools next door.
Thank You

Guest city-state/province: Waikoloa, HI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great place!

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

What a great place! Comfortable & private, the wonderful
sound of waves. We really appreciated the fully stocked
kitchen & grill. We loved the tide pools right down the
street!

Guest city-state/province: Arlington, VA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Without a doubt it is very tops

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 6, 2012

We have rented quite a few vacation homes & without a doubt
it is very tops - so well stocked, anything we needed was
here. We had a great time snorkeling & hanging out -.
Thank You

Guest city-state/province: Great Falls, MT

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house was perfect and had everything we needed

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

date entered: 04/01/2012

Aloha Jamie,
We had a wonderful time at Mika 'Alua! The house was perfect and had everything we needed and then some. The view was amazing and we enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the ocean every night. It was the perfect base to explore the east side of the island. Tidal pools, warm ponds, black sand beaches, volcano, mauna kea....amazing!

Thanks for everything!
Guest city-state/province: ON, Canada

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING! Perfect getaway!

Review submitted: March 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

We stayed here in March for a week with 2 couples and a 11 month old baby. This place is amazing. The view is to die for! It has all the modern convienances (wifi, free LD in US/Canada), luxuries (pool and hot tub with an ocean view), location (the Wai'Opae tide pools a 5 minute walk - and AMAZING), and quiet a person could possibly want. The kitchen and home are fully stocked and there wasn't a thing we were looking for that wasn't there (my husband is a foodie - and didn't expect to find red wine vinegar or paprika - but they were just a few of the many items stocked in the cupboards!) We grilled on the deck nightly. The Fish & Chips in Pahoa were amazing - thanks to Mike & Jamie for the recommendation. I couldn't come up with a complaint even if I wanted to. We loved every minute of it. Only regret is that we couldn't spend more time. If I return to the big island, I would definitly stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Speechless

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 6, 2012

I've stayed in many rental homes, and always had good experiences. This one topped them all.

The house was beautifully decorated and so well stocked. Each bedroom suite was private and allowed for all of us to have our own space, yet we had a great common area. The views were breathtaking every morning, and in the afternoons we saw whales almost every day. The front yard has a great privacy fence, and, except for an occasional fisherman, we didn't see anyone on the ocean side of the house. The neighborhood was very quiet, and very safe. Every place we went on this side of the island, we were greatly impressed by how friendly everyone was.

The tidepools were an easy five minute walk, and some of the best snorkeling I have done anywhere. There were few other people at the pools, and they felt very private.

We enjoyed this vacation so much that next year we are planning on returning to this paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The view was terrific!

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 10, 2011

We had a great time exploring the area. The view was
terrific! The fish from the farmer's market was fresh. We
grilled almost every day. It was easy to get around the
kitchen which has everything we thought of. Thanks for paying
attention to so many details and made this feel like a
vacation paradise.

Guest city-state/province: Wisconsin

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely place

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

Lovely place to spend our 15th wedding anniversary.

Guest city-state/province: Renton, WA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Ever! Some tips for your visit...

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

We enjoyed Mika 'Alua for what seemed far too brief a time in February - wish we could have stayed and stayed. The house far exceeded the description and our expectations. Others have described the incredible location and exquisite decorations, personal touches, amenities, etc. I'll summarize that this is easily the most enjoyable house we've ever stayed in (comparing to many, many homes).

Some info that might be useful in planning your stay:

This house is RIGHT on the ocean, with a lovely lawn down to the high water line. I would not swim here, though it looks tempting (mild rolling surf, not the roaring/smashing of Keneha). Instead, walk down the street about two minutes and enjoy the protected Kapoho Tide Pools with the most pristine corals I've ever seen (and we're 20-year master divers). The tropical fish are very approachable for photographs, not shy like fish at Kona / Kohala.

The house is extremely private, including both front and back yards (which are both carefully tended gardens). We never saw or heard the neighbors even though the houses were occupied. Totally quiet and peaceful - what a contrast to crowded Kona! We had no bugs at all, but screens suggest they may exist in some other season. There are many separate areas to enjoy the outdoors: premium recliners right near the water (watch the mesmerizing waves), ocean-front dining (with umbrella) on the patio, another dining area (with umbrella) on the north deck, recliners at the pool, and the hot tub! Tiki torches abound. Tons of space indoors as well.

This is the spot if you want sunshine, warm temperatures and light breezes. Our weather was fantastic, and we didn't even use our wetsuits for extended snorkeling. It's obviously a drier climate, though not like barren, desiccated Kona / Kohala. Yet only a short distance inland is a gorgeous rain forest you drive through on your way here. See giant trees and ferns 25-feet tall, and stop at Lava Tree State Monument on the way. We usually had rain from Hilo to within a mile of Mika 'Alua, where it reliably turned sunny and dry - amazing. Sunrises were consistently colorful and dramatic.

The Mauna Kea observatories are not far (1.5 hours drive from here to the summit road turn-off). 2 degrees C, 25kph wind, snow banks, stars!. Returning to Kapoho, we jumped in the ocean-side hot tub and enjoyed the same incredibly star-filled sky - seemed like we were still at 14,000 feet, or in a remote Utah desert. Utter delight!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sit out on the lanai watching the waves

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

It seems that you pay special attention to all the amenities
you provide. We were constantly amazed at everything that
you had available for us to use from beach boards, snorkels,
the kitchen was stocked with all condiments and more and
books, wifi and fresh flowers! We had an amazing time, one
of my favorite things to do was sit out on the lanai
watching the waves. Loved the hot tub, too!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thoroughly enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2009

Date entered: 11/13/2009

Great time in your great house! It was great to have
everything we needed all supplied. Thoroughly enjoyed the
pool and hot tub. The scenery cannot be beat! Highly
recommended the Ocean Lava tour. If you stay here - it is
right down the road and is spectacular.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll all be dreaming of palm trees & sunshine.

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

Date entered: 02/20/2010

Back to the snow tomorrow, but we'll all be dreaming of palm
trees & sunshine.
Mahalo

Guest city-state/province: Saskatehewan, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your house was such a better place

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

Mahalo Jamie & Noi,
Your house was such a better place to spend our holiday
than cramming into a hotel room. I think we toured the
whole island, from horseback riding in Waipio (north), parasailing in Kona (east), down to South Point & the green
beach & of course the Volcano National Park here on the
east. Spending a few days around the house were just as
enjoyable. There was something to do for everyone.

Guest city-state/province: Saskatehewan, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best I've ever experienced

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

Date entered: 03/03/2010

Wonderful, Absolutely wonderful!!
Beautiful island & people.
Your home & surroundings, furnishings, view, etc. are the best
I've ever experienced. Thank you for the 'Magic Carpet' ride
Hopefully Next year

Guest city-state/province: Bend, OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful place & time!!

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

Date entered: 03/03/2010

Great, Great, Great - A wonderful place & time!!
We saw turtles at the Black Sand Beach!! Once in a lifetime
event -!!
Had such a great, fun, exciting times!!!

Guest city-state/province: Bend, OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I will say it was even better than I expected

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

Date entered: 03/03/2010

As my first visit to Hawaii, I will say it was even better
than I expected. Your home is incredible and we all loved
staying here.
Mahalo!!

Guest city-state/province: Bend, OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was wonderful

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

Date entered: 03/04/2010

Thank you! Everything was wonderful and I do not want to
repeat all my friend's comment except to say ditto!!
Mahalo!!
Aloha!!

Guest city-state/province: Bend, OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best View in the World!

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

This was a Fantastic Vacation - The Best View in the World! The ocean has taken all the stress out to sea. I am so glad to have found this house on the internet. Thank you so much...every day was a new adventure.
As my first visit to Hawaii I will say it was even better than I expected. Your home is incredible and we all loved staying here. Mahalo!!!
Great, Great, Great - A wonderful place & time!! We saw turtles at the Black Sand Beach - once in a lifetime event!! Had such a great, fun,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I "SWAM with the TURTLES" together in a natural

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

It was definitely a "Blessing" enjoying all of "God's
Beautiful Creation" here! Reef walking, Lava walking,
Snorkeling, Observing hundreds of Gorgeous Flowers!!! One of
the major Blessings was when David & Cheryl and I "SWAM with
the TURTLES" together in a natural setting!! Another
highlight from the upper back deck of this house where all
of us repeatedly observed large group of whales surfacing
sometimes 2/3 of their body length out of the water and
crashing down like (large sized vans

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

Date entered: 04/11/2010

Mahalo!!
Thank you so much X X
Wonderful time

Guest city-state/province: Tokyo Japan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your place had everything we were looking for

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

Date entered: 04/17/2010

Jamie & Noi,
We had a wonderful time. Your place had everything we were
looking for, seclusion, hot tub/pool & beautiful view. We will
recommend your place to friends & family!!
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW!! What a fabulous place to vacation!

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2010

The whole family loved your house. You thought of everything. It was so relaxing sitting in the hot tub & watching the ocean
splash. Looking through the tide pools & watching the
fishermen was neat. This is such a beautiful area of the
island. We went around almost all of it but was always glad
to come back here and call it home during our stay. The
snorkeling couldn't be beat and we will never forget the
sights and sounds of this beautiful island. Hope to be back
soon!
MAHALO!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the snorkeling & just watching the waves

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2010

Your house is amazing and was even better than expected.
We felt very at home and we especially appreciate the crib
you provided for our son. The welcome basket was a very
nice surprise and treat. The house had everything we needed
and more. We loved the snorkeling and just watching the
waves roll in. We would love to come back as much as
possible and we're even looking at buying property.
Mahalo
Guest city-state/province: Gig Harbor, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow, what a way to experience the big island

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

Date entered: 06/10/2010

Wow, what a way to experience the big island for the 1st
time! The description and pictures of your home online
don't do it justice! We felt we were in the lap of luxury!
And, what a amazing location! We can't thank you enough for
making our time together in your home the vacation of our
lives! Mahalo!!!
We hope to come back soon to stay in your wonderful little
slice of haven!

Guest city-state/province: Cheyenne, WY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The sound of the waves was totally memorable

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

Date entered: 06/23/2010

We had a wonderful time here. The view is spectacular.
Sleeping with the sound of the waves was totally memorable.
You have a beautiful home and we enjoyed it to the full. We
had a great helicopter ride over the volcano. This is such
a beautiful island.

Thank you for your fantastic hospitality.
Guest city-state/province: Dublin, Ireland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kiaora!

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

Date entered: 06/23/2010

Kiaora!

Thank you for sharing your amazing home with us.

Guest city-state/province: Christchurch, New Zealand

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your house is lovely

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Date entered: 07/04/2010

Thank you for a wonderful time. Your house is lovely.

Guest city-state/province: SLC, Utah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I will keep this magic in my heart!

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

Date entered: 07/27/2010

Mahalo to you and your family for letting me share your
home here. This has been an amazing transformation being
here on the island this week. Waking up to the sound of the
waves and gorgeous sunrise, in addition to the soothing
sounds of the coquis at night--- What an amazing world here.
I hope to return here someday very soon but I will keep this
magic in my heart!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It is so beautiful & secluded

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Date entered: 08/07/2010

Thank you for sharing your absolutely beautiful house with
us! It is so beautiful & secluded. If anyone is looking
for a great place to eat in Pahoa, they should go to
Kaleo's. We had some of the best food any of us has ever
had at Kaleo's - Delicious! Also, great snorkeling at the
tide pools & surfing a the Isacc Hale Beach. Just miles
away from the house.

Guest city-state/province: Healdsburg, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful job making the house unique & special

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

Date entered: 08/13/2010

It was perfect! We enjoyed every moment in Paradise. The
house was everything we could have hoped for. Hearing and
seeing the waves crash on shore everyday was amazing. You've
done a wonderful job making the house unique and special.

Mahalo
Guest city-state/province: Ontario, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a house, it was unbelieveable

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

Date entered: 08/20/2010

What a house, it was unbelieveable. We enjoyed ourselves sooooooooo much that we are thinking of going back in 2012. The house was more than we ever expected and thank you for the house warming gift. It did take us a few days to not wake up at 4-5 am but the sunrise was perfect. The family vacation was wonderful and to be able to go home to a place we all loved was the best. Thank you and we will let you know when we want to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review