reviews for: listing #18969 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii House rental

Oceanfront Private Estate w/ Pool & Spa - New Lower Rates!!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $500 - $1,100 /nt
    $3,500 - $7,700 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful place to stay on the big island

Review submitted: November 25, 2008   Date of arrival: November 14, 2008

We enjoyed staying at this property very much. It was exactly what we needed. It had beautiful ocean views, turtles swimming in the bay, a nice pool, and hot tub. The owners were nice and easy to make arrangements with. We would like to come back with our children and would try to stay at this property again. We loved the big island! We loved the Pu'u'lu Valley hike to the black sand beach with it's crashing waves, we loved the sea kayaking and snorkeling, we loved the horseback riding in the Waipo Valley, we loved the beaches, we loved the night time lava viewing as it flows into the ocean, we loved the waterfalls, and we loved the luau that we attended. We had a great vacation and were glad to have such a nice place to stay, too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha ! Mahalo for your great review ! We are so blessed to live here on the Big Island and to share this beauty with our guests at Kona Shangrila. It is our passion to provide a First Class experience to our guests so they can enjoy all the wonders and adventures of this Paradise! We look forward to your return visit and please bring those you love to share it with you. Aloha and Mahalo !
Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 11 / 13

 

Wonderful Family Reunion at a Great House!

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

We planned very early for a large family trip to Hawaii and found this house on VRBO. We worked with Sterling in the early planning stages and found his correspondence quick and informative. Our group of 14 included family ages 13 thru 90, and the house setup worked very well for us. Everyone had the ability to have private space and we grouped for meals either on the second floor or on the beautiful patio which was able to seat all 14 of us at 1 table very well. The best amenity of the house is the view and the open windows to that incredible view. Grandmother has mobility issues and was able to get around very well using the elevator. The younger of the group walked out to the water to either walk around the tide pools, snorkel, or kayak directly from the house. There is a very easy walk in beach just a few miles down the road for those not able to navigate the waves. From the house we saw many sea turtles, dolphins, and in the distance could watch the whales. Boogie boards provided were great. The pool was used more than we had planned, the water temperature was perfect. Kitchens also turned out perfectly we had every appliance, utensil, and accessories needed, just bought our food. Even with 14 there were plenty of beach towels and the multiple washer and dryers allowed us to return home with clean and dry clothes. We were able to find a message therapist that came to the home and gave messages at the open windows. We did find that the house was so comfortable and the view so great that we did not get out and see Kona as much as we thought we would, it was just to great to leave! On our day of departure Sterling was very helpful and even mailed back a small item that I left at the house. If you are looking for location and space you can't go wrong here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha from Hawaii and Mahalo for taking the time to write a Beautiful Review of Kona Shangrila.
We are so happy that you found everything you needed and enjoyed the magnificent views.
Our mission is to give our Guests and their families Memories of a Lifetime and we so appreciate your telling us how you enjoyed the house.

We look forward to your return someday to our little Paradise on the Ocean.

Aloha and Mahalo,
Sterling and Trisha

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Guests Email upon departure.

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

Good morning trish and sterling -

We have had such an amazing week in your beautiful house! We want to stay another month - can you call our bosses and let them know?? Thank you for everything. The house was wonderful, comfortable and we'll stocked. We will be checking out by 11 this morning.

I wanted to let you know the clip that holds up the shower head in the 2nd floor bathroom broke last night. It just snapped in half when someone tried to rehang the shower head. We saved the broken piece because it could maybe be super glued. It's in the shower.


Thank you again for everything!


Shanna


Sent from my iPad

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Needs work

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 22, 2014

First off I'd like to say that it is a nice property, but could use some work. Location is good, but getting out of the drive can prove to be a problem because the palms are blocking the view, plus it's on a curve. My biggest complaint is the amount we were charged, in my opinion we were over charged according to their rental schedule for January. Plus I was charged an Event Fee, but we couldn't have the Vow Renewal and party there because it wasn't large enough. Even though I told them we were having the party elsewhere, they still they charged the event fee anyway. They charged us more per night then they are advertising on their site. So not happy about the overcharging at all! Plus there is a cleaning fee on top so be aware that if you are planning a party of over 12 people forget it, not large enough even though they say it is. I tried 2 catering companies and they said there wasn't enough room, and the Owners recommended them. The 3rd floor is a crazy setup. From the stairs you have to walk right through the master to get into the condo, or walk all the way around to use the elevator. Very inconvenient! Plus, they told my husband that the second floor is the main unit, therefore most items are there. So if you want a quiet night without family, you have to chase for pots and utensils because most of them are there. The second floor master is ridiculous. It has no shower, just a huge useless Japanese tub that would drain the tank leaving no water for a shower for anyone else in the house. That should be taken out and a useful shower installed. The main floor was basic, but ok except there is no key for them to use the elevator to come to the higher floors for breakfast or supper. That's a huge problem when you have 80 year olds who have trouble doing stairs. We were told to leave a key in the lock box for them to use. Not a great idea when everyone is in and out and someone forgets to put the key back. An extra key for the upper floors would be more logical. We used to live in Kona, and have rented a lot of properties there. Yes it's on the ocean, but be prepared for noise from Alii Drive and the surfers out at 6:00 am yelling. Most of the other houses and condos we rented are in much better shape and setup a lot better. But if you must be on the ocean, and don't mind the noise and quirks, then this is a great place to be. For price and what you get, there are a lot nicer places for a far better price even during high season so do your research.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Aloha Antoinette,
We are very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at Kona Shangrila. Our main goal is to provide our guests quality accommodations at a fair price and enhance your overall Hawaiian Vacation Experience. So it pains us when one of our guests is unsatisfied.
The house was built in 1985. Since taking ownership in 2004, we have spent over $300,0000 in improvements and upgrades. Both Kitchens on the 2nd & 3rd levels plus 4 of the 5 bathrooms have been completely renovated with Granite Counters, quality cabinetry, fixtures and appliances. The interior was completely repainted in early 2013. Every effort is made to constantly maintain and upgrade.
You will note from all the other reviews that our guests approve of our efforts.
YOUR ACCUSATION THAT YOU WERE OVERCHARGED IS TOTALLY UNFAIR AND UNJUSTIFIED.
1. We charged you the 2013 8-person rate of $750 per night which is $50 cheaper than the 2014 rate of $800. YOU ACTUALLY GOT A DEAL!
2. You booked the house in Aug. 2012 - 17 months in advance. You agreed to and accepted the rate quoted on the rental contract. Never once did you say that you were overcharged or disagreed with the quoted rate.
3. We never made any claims on the ability to have large parties on the property. All the recommended caterers have catered events at the property before.
4. You never informed us of your decision not to hold your event at the house until this review.
5. Finally, you personally inspected and previewed the house in November 2013, and made no mention of any doubts or dissatisfaction.
If the setup was not suitable for your group, you had ample opportunity to cancel your reservation and seek alternate accommodations well in advance. Now you are making it sound like you walked into a situation you were totally unaware of.
This is why we are puzzled by your negative review.
We realize that sometimes customer satisfaction is a subjective thing.
As owners, we are very ethical in our business dealings and take it very seriously when you question our integrity and honesty.
Mahalo,
Trisha & Sterling
Hawaii Shangrila Vacations

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent location and fantastic views!

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

My family and I had an amazing time at Kona Shangri-la. It was perfect for a family and the different floors offers privacy while still enjoying communal areas.

Views: This is the absolutely the highlight of the property. There are huge open panoramic windows on the 2nd and 3rd floor with the ocean outside.

Amenities: We made very good use of the grill - it had propane and was very easy to grill. The pool is on the smaller side, but we put it to good use. The hot tub is fantastic in the evening.

Dining Areas: The outdoor dining table was great. There were also tiki torches that we lit nightly. We primarily used the 2nd floor kitchen and dining table, but there is an identical kitchen on the third floor. Great cook ware and basic seasoning, oils and condiments.

Bedrooms: Master bedrooms are spacious. The secondary bedrooms are also a good size. Beds are comfortable as are the pillows - especially for a vacation house.

Bathrooms: Master bedroom on the 3rd floor is excellent. The 2nd floor master bathroom has a tub only (does not have a shower).

Others: We really appreciated the extra beach chairs and boogie boards. There is also an elevator which is great for those with mobility issues. The only issue is some road noise from Alii Drive as the house is right off a main road. However, if you close the bathroom doors to the master bedrooms, it really isn't bad at all.

Overall it was a great stay. My entire family really appreciated the view, location, and beautiful house. The owners were also kind enough to give us a tour when we arrived and are extremely professional and responsive.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Magical Stay

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

What an amazing house for our grand family vacation. Considering we had 4 generations present...there was something for each and every one of us. No matter what we needed, we found it in Shangrila! We wanted to give a big giant THANKS to you both for having such an amazing spot that we could all enjoy and share. From each one of us...MAHALO!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We had a Lovely vacation at Kona Shangri-la

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

My family group of 7 loved staying at both of the Shangri-la's for our 9 night Big Island vacation. This review pertains especially to Kona Shangri-la. My teens and 20 somethings enjoyed the private pool and hot tub, as well as being able to go explore down at the shore right outside the back gate. We saw turtles on the rocks every morning! The kids also liked the bright green geckos and the lovely garden plantings. My husband and I liked watching the paddle boarders who enter the ocean nearby each morning. We liked being able to use the fully equipped lovely kitchen ( we really only used one) for breakfast every morning. It saved us a lot of money over eating out all meals every day, and there were plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms, allowing private time when needed, and family time when wanted. That was a great advantage over being cooped up in a couple of hotel rooms. Really the price was better than three hotel rooms would have been for our group at a similarly nice hotel, and I believe the benefits of being at our own private house were way better than any hotel could offer . The house was conveniently located for exploring both north and south Kona -- we even got up to Kohala and the Pololu Valley which was an awesome day trip.. It is not close enough to walk to any restaurants but they are just a short drive away. We did not experience any heavy traffic during our stay on Ali'i Drive. We also appreciated the convenience of using the laundry room at the house! It made for some light packing! It was so awesome the way the windows open up on two of the levels to let the breeze and the sound of the ocean come in... however I will say that while we were there Kona was having a bit of a heat wave ( mid to high 80's) and we did need to use the air conditioning for comfortable sleeping. But probably at other times of the year, the breeze would be comfortable enough. The units were beautifully decorated and very very well kept and super clean. If we are ever blessed enough to visit Hawaii again we will definitely look up Sterling and Trisha's properties again! We had absolutely no problems whatsoever our whole trip! We highly recommend Kona Shangri-la! P.S. while in Hawaii don't miss going to the Place of Refuge, visiting the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, taking a trip to the top of Mauna Kea to see the stars, and make the drive to Pololu Valley and hike down to the black sand beach. It was all absolutely beautiful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Kay.
Thanks so much for taking time to write such a great review on Kona Shangrila. We so love that you enjoyed your holiday. It is our mission to provide a comfortable and beautiful space so you can create memories of a lifetime for yourself, family and friends. We try to provide all the amenities and guidance you need to explore the island with its wide range of adventures. Please come back again and visit us in Paradise. Aloha and Mahalo, Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing holiday location

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

We stayed there as a family, and thoroughly enjoyed Kona Shangrila. Sterling and Trisha were excellent to deal with. The home is lovely, well stocked and in a great location. We were a close drive to Kailua -Kona, White Sands beach and Kahaluu beach. We were able to paddle board and snorkel right from our doorstep. We loved the sliding windows that opened up to the ocean breezes and the wonderful sounds of the surf! This home is perfect for separate family units, should one need it, as there are 2 fully equipped kitchens, but ended up using only one kitchen as our home base.Lovely to hear the surf, see the trees, sunsets and turtles . Amazing. Should we ever need a large home for an extended family trip again, we would definitely consider staying here again. Thanks for a great stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha Kim Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review on Kona Shanagrila. We do strive to provide Memories of a Lifetime for our guests and provide a very at home feeling by providing amenities to make you comfotable. So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back another day with family and friends. Aloha and Mahalo. Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Donna D

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

This house was simply lovely and all 6 of us enjoyed our stay. We hope to come back one day soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Aloha Donna..
Thanks for posting such a nice review on Shangrila. We hope to see you again one day soon . Aloha and Mahalo, Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A+ All the Way!

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

This was a wonderful location for our group vacation. Trisha and Sterling were very helpful throughout the entire rental process, and we found all of the directions on getting to the house and what to do once we arrived to be clear and easy to follow. We had five couples, so we all appreciated having our own bedroom and bathroom. We used the kitchen on the middle level (with occasional runs up to the top floor when we needed additional microwave or oven space) and found it to be very well-stocked. We were especially glad to find such a nice selection of condiments, spices, and basic ingredients - those sorts of things that you need to have but don't always remember to buy! It was also well-supplied with items like beach towels, some snorkel gear and beach toys, and even coolers. We used the washers/dryers, and were pleased that detergent was provided for them. Many in our group enjoyed snorkeling in the bay - what a treat to have that right next to the house! And the hot tub was also quite popular after the snorkel adventures. We enjoyed watching for sea turtles in the bay. One evening we had a wonderful barbecue on the lanai. We loved the large sliding windows and kept them open most of the day if we were around. The ceiling fans and portable fans helped us to keep the house comfortable - and we appreciated the detailed directions on the use of the ceiling fans. The house is in a terrific location - close to Kailua but out of the traffic - and so convenient to other areas. We visited the farmer's market, the Pu`uhonua o Honaunau Historic Site, Kealekekua Bay, Painted Church, and Bayview Coffee Farm. We also did the tour of the Original Hawaiian Chocolate Factory, which was excellent. We were very sad to leave, and we hope to return someday soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha Laura,
Thanks so much for taking time to write such a nice review on Kona Shanagrila. It makes us feel so happy to know our guests enjoy this beautiful home and location. It is our mission to help our guests create Memories of a Lifetime by giving them the amenities and guidance to create that space in their lives for their friends and families. We hope to welcome you once again to Kona Shangrila for another wonderful holiday. Aloha and Mahalo, Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

We love Hawai'i

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Our Hawaii trip was wonderful. The house we chose to rent was great. Dealing with Sterling and Trisha was easy. The house and grounds are clean and well maintained. I was amazed at all the extras we found: laundry detergent, cooler, variety of items for small children (stroller, safety gate, stuffed toys), the books and videos that were on each level, stocked kitchen (sandwich bags, spices, condiments, dishwasher detergent and dish soap. Having a wonderful place for all of us to stay with the possibility of alone time or joining the group was nice. The sound of the surf I miss. We opted not to use air conditioning and used the fans with the windows open. Having wide open living room windows was awesome. The location was great. It provided us with a base to visit many sites and participate in activities. Our son even was married on a beach. The volcano tube and Volcano National Park are worth seeing. We all enjoyed kayaking. Those of us who surfed found it enjoyable. Whale and dolphin watching was definetley worth rising early for. It was amazing how cool the thatched huts were in the national park we visited. Hilo definitely is rainy. The Botanical Garden was truly amazing. Hawai'i is truly a beautiful place and this home with ijt's kind owners is an awesome place to showcase the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

A Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Sterling and Trish deliver what they promise and more. The stocked kitchens were a bonus. We even found sandwich bags that came in handy when we made lunches for long day excursions. The closets held a variety of handy options: cooler, carriage, safety gate, booster seat etc. The laundry room was even stocked. Our 'home' was wonderful. We liked having the living room windows fully openable to enjoy the surf and ocean breezes. We opted not to use air conditioning and found open windows and the fans provided kept us cool. Having all containers clearly labelled for garbage or recycling was thoughtful. It was easy to find shopping and activities or stay at home and use the pool and hot tub. Having access to the shore was a bonus. The house and yard was clean and well maintained.We had trouble with the propane BBQ and help was provided as well as charcoal briquettes. We would not hesitate to return to Hawaii and return to this lovely home. We proudly showed off the house before we arrived and rave about it now we are home. My daughters did not like the geckos and some found the birds singing too early in the morning. We toured Volcano National Park, Thurston Lava tube (very cool), surfed (the orange shack on Alii), kayaked/snorkelled/cliff jumped (a favorite of all 10 of us), whale watched (only 6 of us but he gets 5 stars), visted Hilo and toured a water fall and Botanical Garden. Hawaii is a magical island. Most of us loved the turtles (please do not touch). Good advice for the lotion for sunburns. Bring and wear water socks as the lava cuts easilyon the beaches and in the water. Lefty's (Mexican) served generous portions of delicious food. The Kona Eatery had tastey beer and good food. Having a GPS was helpful to navigate. Groceries and gas were expensive.

Owners response: Aloha,
Thanks so much for writing such a great veview on Kona SHangrila. We love that our guests enjoy their stay with us and create incredible memories for themselves, their friends and families. We try to provide the amenities you need to make your stay an easy and comfortable experience. Please come back and bring your friends and family to share this beautuful space again.
We apologize for not responding earlier to your review, but somehow we did not see it until today. Mahalo and Aloha, Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Paridise by The Ocean

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

My family enjoyed staying in this home. It was truly a home away from home. It was convenient to have stocked kitchens and a BBQ. The pool and the hot tub were a bonus and well used. It provided us a wonderful base to venture into Kona and explore the island. It was relaxing just to stay at home and enjoy the view and listen to the surf. The location was desirable and easy to locate. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to experience Hawaii in your lovely home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Robert,
Thanks for taking time to write your review on Kona Shangrila. It was our pleasure to ensure that you had what you needed to create beautiful memories for you and your guests. We hope to welcome you again one day back to Shangrila. Aloha and Mahalo, Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect home for a large family!

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

From our intitial contact with Trisha and Sterling, until the very last moment when we had to drive away from Kona Shangrila, we had a perfect experience. Our hosts were extremely communicative in answering our questions by email prior to making our final decision to book this residence.
The location was even better than expected, with the ocean easily accessible just a few steps away, and the visibility from the pool deck was absolutely wonderful.We had plenty of room to spread out, plenty of bedrooms to share, and even with 13 of us, we only used one kitchen.
The house was wonderfully equipped with everything we needed, from spices to snorkle gear. We found all the cooking utensils and serving dishes we needed, just like in our own homes. The family which left just before we arrived left several items in the pantry and refrigerator, which we used, and in turn left anything that was fresh or unperishable for the next group. It truly was like having your own family vacation home!
From the photos, we thought the rooms were a little larger, but the home was lovely, well appointed, and very comfortable. The Wifi was great- we could even send emails from the pool deck!
The town of Kailua was very convenient, and we took advantage of the farmers market several times, gorging ourselves on fresh pineapple, bananas, avacados papayas and mangoes all island grown and at great prices! We loved Splashers Grill across from the King Kam for casual dining, great breakfasts, and drinks. They also run a snorkle boat.. Ask at the restaurant and you'll get a discount! Their snorkle trip was 4 hours, we swam with the dolphins, and saw more fish than we could count or identify at the Capt Cook monument. The boat was fully stocked with beverages and snacks, and wonderful healthy wraps for lunch.
I wouldn't miss a driving trip over the top of the island, to Waimea, seeing the vast grassy ranch land, and be sure to spend a few hours at Volcano Nat'l Park.
We fell in love with the Big Island, and will certainly return... hoping these hosts will have a place for us next time we are ready to book. Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Barbara and Paul.. Thanks so much for taking time out of your busy day to give us such a wonderful review ! We just love to hear nice comments from our guests. When you make your next reservation, please let us know when you stayed with us and we will give you a "Returning Guest" Discount. Mahalo and Aloha.. Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

We had a wonderful stay. The grandchildren and adults enjoyed the privacy of the pool and patio area for all to sit and relax. The ocean was very relaxing and calming during the day and evening. The view from the pool area was absolutely fantastic. We enjoyed all three units. Having the family together and the privacy day and night was all that we had hoped it would be. We would recommend this home for vacation to any one going to Hawaii. The owners responded quickly to a few minor requests.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Owners response: Aloha David.. Thank you so much for taking time to write such a nice review on Kona Shangrila. It is our mission to provide our guests with memories of a lifetime. When you plan your next stay with us, please mention that you are a returning guest and date of your stay, and we will give you the "Returning Guest" Discount. Aloha and Mahalo
Trisha and Sterling
Hawaii Shangrila

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Kona family vacation

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

This was an excellent property for our family group of 10. It was well-maintained, comfortable inside and out (well-represented in VRBO description), parking was perfect for our 3 cars to access busy Alii Drive, the owners were easy to reach and very helpful when we had any questions. Location good for trips to Kailua for restaurants and shopping and other activities, nearby beaches great for snorkeling and swimming. A wonderful property to come back to after exploring the Kona coast.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Barbara.. Thanks so much for taking time to send this great review. We will post it on our website. It is our mission to provide memories of a lifetime to our guest. Next time you come, please ask for "Returning Guest Discount) and we will be sure to get you the best rate we can. Aloha and Mahalo.
Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Paradise

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

This house was great. We especially loved that the ocean was at our backyard. The waves were very loud, the view was gorgeous and relaxing. The bed on the bottom floor is pretty hard, but all others were pretty comfortable. The snorkeling was unbelievable and we saw turtles every time. The house is on the run route for the Ironman, it was a perfect cheering spot. There was a BBQ on site, the kitchens were well equipped, we had no need to go to a restaurant. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Wendy for submitting your Review on HomeAway website. You will find your comments in print on our Guest Comment Section of our website.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the house and took the time to give your comments.

Aloha,
Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Review submitted: September 2, 2009   Date of arrival: September 2, 2009

My husband, teenage son, and I stayed on the third floor of the house and LOVED it. The condo is very clean, attractive, comfortable and offers everything exactly as described, including the 'Million dollar" views. Trish and Sterling were warm and responsive hosts. We would love to return with other family members, and dont think we'd ever got back to a hotel again after this relaxing stay. A real "home away from home" in Paradise, and in fact, much better than home!

Owners response: Aloha Lisa
I know this is a little late, but we wanted to thank you for the comments you sent as a review on Kona Shangrila for your stay back in September of 2009. We just were able your review and are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We strive to give our guests the best vacation and memories to last a lifetime. Please come back and enjoy Shangrila again. Aloha and Mahalo.
Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We found everything as described, with both homes fully equipped and in good order. Our stay in both places was thoroughly enjoyable, and we highly recommend a stay at either place !

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 17, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Just wanted to say that Trisha has been extremely
helpful and accommodating. Thank you for all your
help and advice.

Owners response: Aloha Denver
I wanted to thank you for taking time to write a review on Kona Shangrila on the Big Island of Hawaii. We strive to help our guests create memories of a lifetime.

We apologize for not responding sooner, but we just were able to read your comments which you submitted in March of 09. Please forgive us. lWe hope to welcome you again to Shangrila one day soon. Aloha and Mahalo, Trisha and Sterling

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 29, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Stayed at house from 10/6/08 to 10/13/08. Was there with a work group for the 30th Ironman event. The house and location were excellent. The 3 separate levels of the house worked out great to give some privacy to each floor. Great open views from 2nd and 3rd floor.

Sterling and Trisha were very responsive to any requests. The only issue we had was with the wireless access. Being there for a work function, the wireless access was critical. Sterling tried to help but I believe the issue is with the wireless router. Sterling has promised to fix.

Overall, great house, location and management. Would recommend to everyone.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 22, 2008   Date of arrival: June 22, 2008

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us. We all enjoyed our stay very much."

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 10, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

It's been nearly a year since our family stayed in your wonderful home. There's not a month that goes by when we don't wish we were there. When we return it will be to celebrate with other dear family members. Can't wait.

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 7, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"This was HEAVEN on EARTH! Thank you for sharing! We will return!.... Wonderful memories!

We celebrated two anniversaries and one birthday!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2008   Date of arrival: April 20, 2008

E-mail from Guest:"Dear Trisha and Sterling: I’m sorry that I haven’t gotten back to you sooner, but things have been a little hectic around here. First, I want to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay there at Kona Shangrila. Everything about the house was perfect for our family. You had anticipated most of our needs with the various items that were there at the house. Next, the view was great and the location was outstanding. We couldn’t have picked a better location. It was centrally located for everywhere we wanted to go. Finally, I really appreciate your assistance when we encountered a problem because of the Aloha Airlines debacle. Your flexibility and pricing when we had to extend our stay for three days were outstanding. Also, your final accounting on our bill was certainly fair. Thank you for everything. I will be sure to recommend your house to any of my friends who might want to rent a place in Kona. Also, I will be sure to use you again the next time I need a large house in Kona. Mahalo! Jim Smirl"

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Incredible trip

Review submitted: March 13, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We traveled with my 3 young kids and met my brother-in-law's family and parents-in-law at this house. Our 3 families (11 people) fit perfectly with the 3 separate apartments that this house has. We had the ability to make our own meals and stay together in a convenient location. The pool was great and the kids had a blast. We ate every meal outside. The location was convenient to the things that we wanted to do near Kailua-Kona. Overall, it was just a fantastic trip and a fantastic house. I can tell you that I pushed to get a house right on the water and everyone was grateful that we were ocean-side. We slept every night with the windows open and could hear the waves. There is an ocean-access right next to the house but we didn't use it to swim. It was rocky and could be a little rough to enter the water (we did see a lot of locals that meet and swim at this beach) but we did enjoy exploring the tide-pools and climbing around on the lava rocks.

A few things we really enjoyed:
- visit to Puuhonua-o Honaunau Nat'l Historical Park (City of Refuge) was a great place to visit and explore - only about 45 min south and was just a 1/2 day trip
- Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Tour - just amazing to see the lava flowing and to fly through the steam coming out of the volcano
- Fair Wind 2 boat trip to Kealakekua Bay to snorkel was great, even for 3 little kids (5 and under)

Have a great trip!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha Gina,

Thank you very much for your comments. It is so rewarding to know that our guests enjoyed our vacation home.

We hope you will visit again.

Mahalo,
Trisha & Sterling

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 28, 2008   Date of arrival: February 28, 2008

Excertp from Guest Book

'On behalf of my entire family, I would like to express our thanks for the hospitality of Kona Shangrila. The accomodations were very clean, well-maintained and well-equipped. The floor plan allowed for quality family time and meals, yet afforded each branch of our family its privacy. Our favorite perch was the 3rd floor deck which afforded beautiful views. We saw the resident turtles and welcomed one of the first whales of the season. This has truly been our 'home away from home'. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 28, 2008   Date of arrival: February 28, 2008

Excerpt from Guest Book

'You have a beautiful place here and we all enjoyed our time here very much! The view is beautiful and the sunsets breathtaking. Having 3 separate floors accomodated our families - giving us all our 'own space' when needed. We enjoyed watching the surfers, watching and seeing the whales and dolphins. Of course we cannot forget the geckos running around - how cute and funny they are. Mahalo!'

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 4, 2007   Date of arrival: October 4, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"Thank you for a great week here at Shangri-la. We had a great time here on the Big Island....

Your place is great. The kids (& adults) enjoyed watching the turtles come up to have a mid-day snack and the geckos provided entertainment as well.

Once again, thank you - our vacation was fantastic. Now back to the mainland and reality."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 10, 2007   Date of arrival: August 10, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"We live on the Calif. coast and so it's not easy to impress us.

We were blown away by the beautiful coastline and lovely house."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 4, 2007   Date of arrival: August 4, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"Thank you for sharing your beautiful home and island.

Coming from the mid-west U.S., it was a real treat to rest by the crashing ocean waves.....

Saw turtles & dolphins in the back yard here!!!

Enjoyed the pool & hot tub too.

The place worked well for our family!

Back to the corn fields of Nebraska. GOOD BYE PARADISE!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 2, 2007   Date of arrival: July 2, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"Thanks so much for the use of your beautiful home. You have thought of and have anticipated all our our needs. This was a wonderful setting for out family to celebrate our Dad's 80th Birthday. The elevator is a great plus!

Your thoughtfulness was greatly appreciated. The baskets and flowers were an extra special touch! Thanks again!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 22, 2007   Date of arrival: June 22, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation home. The 10 memebers of our family had all 3 levels and it was the perfect spot. The problem we all had, the hours here in Hawaii seem to be very much shorter that in Largo, FL; Tacoma, WA; McHenry, IL & Crystal Lake, IL. We are all sad to leave. Wish you all the best always. Keep doing everything you are doing!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 6, 2007   Date of arrival: May 6, 2007

Email from Guest:

"We have received the $500 deposit--thanks! We have told many people about your beautiful home. It was a perfect place for our family. Plenty of space to be together, but also space for private time when somebody needed it. The view was spectacular--far better than any of your pictures. Our grandsons loved being able to jump into the pool any time they wanted to cool off. It was the best vacation ever!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 16, 2007   Date of arrival: March 16, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" This was truly a vacation we'll never forget. To celebrate our 50th birthdays this winter, we brought along the folks and the kids and had a great time at Shangrila. Our favorite place was on the deck by the pool where we gathered every morning and evening. The accomodations were perfect, the view spectacular, and the sounds from the sea so tranquil. We spotted two whales, numerous sea turtles, geckos galore and the occasional birds that flitted in and out the windows. A great time was had by all. You really have a slice of heaven here. Thank you so much for all you've done to make our vacation so enjoyable."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 6, 2007   Date of arrival: March 6, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" It's time to leave and no one is ready. Time has went so fast this week! Thanks for the chance to stay at a great place. All of us have had a great time."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 9, 2007   Date of arrival: February 9, 2007

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"Shangrila is awesome! We had 8 people here for a week & had the best Hawaiian trip possible! The three levels offer so much space for quiet time, cooking, eating, swimming, watching the surfers, seeing the turtles, drinking coffee in the morning & drinks in the afternoon and evening!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 23, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Absolutely the most beautiful vacation home I have been in. It was 5 star, my family can't wait to return

Owners response: Mahalo Kim,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kona Shangrila. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 30, 2006   Date of arrival: December 30, 2006

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"The Hansens clan from WI, TX and NY say Aloha and Meloha from us all. This has been a wonderful place to spend Christmas week."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 30, 2006   Date of arrival: November 30, 2006

Excerpt from Guestbook:

" Thank you so much for providing such lovely accommodations. When we thought 'wonder if there's...' we found it here. We all felt very much at home.

Shangrila is the perfect spot for the family vacation! We ranged 3 - 75 yrs old & each of us found our own special something here.

We all look forwards to returning & will highly recommend it to our friends at home in CA, TX & FL."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 24, 2006   Date of arrival: June 24, 2006

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" Today is our last day and we wanted to thank you for this perfect place to spend our week on the Big Island!

Shangrila is the #1 place to stay!
We would rate the location a 10 out of 10!
The beds, bathrooms, kitchens - 10 out of 10!

We are a large group of different ages and all had a week filled with fun things to do or just relaxing by the pool. The views of the beach are amazing! From poolside to the top floor - the beach is gorgeous - the waves crashing onto the shore - relaxing!

Thank you for your assistance when our son was ill. He recovered so quickly we almost forgot to mention it!!

Aloha!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 10, 2006   Date of arrival: June 10, 2006

Excerpt from Guestbook:

" We had a wonderful time at your house, celebrating our family. We loved having a central place to gather (esp. the pool deck!) and seeing the wildlife - spinner dolphins, jellyfish, geckos and of the amazing sea turtles. We will always remember our time at the Shangri-La fondly.

Aloha!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 3, 2006   Date of arrival: June 3, 2006

Excerpt from Guestbook:

" Trisha & Sterling ~

Thanks for sharing your home with us. It was great for our party of 10. We loved the Kona area and the beautiful ocean and coastline. We visited the Volcanoes National Park and other snorkeling beaches. We really appreciate your hospitality and hope to be back in the future.

Thanks again for having us!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 1, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

Excerpt from Guestbook:

" Aloha~
What a wonderful house for our wonderful vacation. This was absulutely perfect for the families to gather for our wedding!

Thank you so much for everything! Can't wait to come back again."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 22, 2006   Date of arrival: April 22, 2006

Excerpt from Guestbook:

" Dear Trisha and Sterling,

What a wonderful family vacation we have had at Shangrila! This morning we all tossed our Wedding Leis into the beautiful ocean and they all went out to sea, so we KNOW we'll be back. We can't think of a thing that would have made our time here any better (just more time).

Mahalo for everything. We especially enjoyed the opportunity of meeting you both. May we meet again one day."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 15, 2006   Date of arrival: April 15, 2006

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" Shangrila is amazing! We loved Hawaii so much we bought our own concdo, I guess we are going to be snow birds next winter. The views are awe strucking and watching the surfers in the bay is a great way to waste an hour...."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 26, 2006   Date of arrival: March 26, 2006

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"Dear Trisha and Sterling,
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home w/ us!! In reaching capacities limit (on all three floors!), the Foerschler family is quite a handful, but Shangrila was perfect in every way! Each family on each floor was able to enjoy privacy when necessary and also unified throughtout the three floors! As returing visitors to Kona, thank you for letting us feel right at home in every aspect!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 14, 2006   Date of arrival: March 14, 2006

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"We're sure this house would work well for a large family, but it also has been quite wonderful for just the two of us! Using the top floor and having the pool area all to ourselves has been a special treat.............."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 3, 2005   Date of arrival: December 3, 2005

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" Great for the 10 of us! Nice view - really fun watching the surfers & close to town. Our only tiny suggestion would be maid svc in mid week for sheets, towels & general clean up - trash etc. (We are very lazy people). Slept like babies! The surf is narcotic. Thank you."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 20, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

What can you say about paradise, this place was fantastic, you literally only need to bring your clothes, the owners think of everything, no matter if adults are going or family, they were ten in our group and not one person had anything bad to say, the location to town is perfect away from the noise but close enough to walk, also the location to the beach was worth it alone, we walked and walked, seeing the turtles come the shore line, where you could go in the water and be right next to them was worth it all. All the comments describing this place are true. We felt that having such a great place to relax after our daily excursions made that much more wonder. Staying here was like having your home on the island, because they thought of everything you felt like home.

Thank you for making our trip to the Island that much better.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2005   Date of arrival: October 19, 2005

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" The view was wonderful. We had such a wonderful time. We hope to be back soon & enjoy this little peace of heaven. It was great to have the place, entire place, that is for our family. Our own pool & spa. A great view on the beach. Shops so close by, we could not have ask for more. Well maybe more time to spend it here.

Thank you for having all of us."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 17, 2005   Date of arrival: September 17, 2005

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"We love your 'Shangrila'. Our family of 9 spread out, but were together in your home. This was a first visit for our cousins from Houston, TX - could not have been better. Thank you and we all look forward to our next visit to Shangril."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2005   Date of arrival: August 12, 2005

Excerpt from Guestbook:

" As the week draws to a close, it is hard to put my sentiments on paper. What a wonderful place for 4 generations to gather and be a whole family again. The house has everything you could need and then some. Sleeping and waking to the sound of the ocean is magical. The turtles were an added bonus. Everything here is perfect. We were so lucky to have found your Shangrila. Mahalo and much Aloha.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 18, 2005   Date of arrival: July 18, 2005

Excerpt from Guest Book:

"Hi!

As a guest of the Bierig Family this week I have loved every single moment of being in your home. It has been a glorious experience - The panoramic view, the sound of the surf, the wonderful little balcony, too much to write about. Mahalo!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 18, 2005   Date of arrival: July 18, 2005

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" Great place to be! Really appreciated all the thoughtful touches - lots of trash bags, the downstairs bin of beach equipment, all the towels and linens we'd ever need. And of course the view & the sound of the ocean is a once-in-a-lifetimne experience. It was a wonderful place from which to orchestrate our daughter's wedding. Many thanks."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 4, 2005   Date of arrival: July 4, 2005

Comments from Guest Book:

" What a beautiful spot to spend a week with family and friends. The view from our windows and lanai are postcard perfect! All ten of us spread out over the three levels of the house and enjoyed being together and yet having our own privacy. Having a pool and barbeque was an added plus. We can say we enjoyed every inch of the lovely Kona Shangrila and all its amenities! It's hard to leave such a "slice of paradise"!!

Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 7, 2005   Date of arrival: June 7, 2005

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" The view is spectacular - picture postcard perfect! You have equipped the house to meet everyone's needs and that contributes to a wonderful vacation.

Thank you."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 21, 2005   Date of arrival: May 21, 2005

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" We have had a beautiful time while staying in this "Little Slice of Paradise". Our family vacation has been fillled with wondreful memories of morning coffee on the deck , games and conversation around the pool, beutiful views of the ocean and swimming turtles, and gentle sound of the waves crashing all around us. Thank you so much for the lovely accomodations. It was so helpful to have everything we needed close by. But as well know, all good things must come to an end......

So until next time."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 9, 2005   Date of arrival: May 1, 2005

10 of us stayed at the Kona Shangrila home in April, 2005 for 10 days and had the most memorable trip. The home has absolutely everything a group could dream of: privacy on each floor, fabulous views, the ocean out the back door, and the wonderful breezes through the sliding windows and doors.

The sunsets were gorgeous, the pool and jacuzzi refreshing. We barbecued, played games, went out to dinner in Kona,and did as many tourist things as we could pack in.

All of us recommend the Shangrila home to groups who care about beauty, want a clean and beautiful place to stay with very responsive owners.

Thanks to Trish for all her help in making our stay great.

Owners response: Mahalo for your wonderful comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves at Kona Shangrila. It really makes it worthwhile when we can share our paradise.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2005   Date of arrival: April 30, 2005

Excerpt from Guestbook:

" You certainly have a beautiful home! Thank you so much for sharing! Once a year we four siblings & spouses go somewhere for one week together. All children grown now so it is nice to get away & enjoy each other. The set up you have here is great for just that. Some went snorkeling, some shopping, some kayaking, all went to Volcano & Hilo - some just sat around the pool, sitting in their rooms enjoying the beautiful view - we all loved just laying in bed at night hearing the ocean. We loved seeing the turtles, watching the surfers, we even saw some type of shark & a Manta Ray! All in all, great place, great time & again thanks for sharing!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 21, 2005   Date of arrival: April 21, 2005

Email comment from gues .....

" I just wanted to send a great big Mahalo to you for the wonderful setting you provided for our family last week. I know the E______s and the rest of our party thoroughly enjoyed staying at Kona Shangrila. Tim and Sylvia were celebrating their 40th anniversary, Chris is just graduating from Cal State, I just am finishing my masters at University of Phoenix. It was a conglomoration of celebrations in one setting and cannot tell you enough how wonderful it was. For my first time in Hawaii it was definately a memorable one!! Everyone except Chris and I left on the 18th and we stayed at the Royal Kona for our last night. We were bummed. Though the next morning we had to drive by and wave goodbye and say Aloha to the Kona Shangrila before we turned back to the airport. We have many memories we will cherish from staying there!!! I have to say its not the same being back at home again. We're all having withdrawals!!!

Thank you again!!! "

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 20, 2005   Date of arrival: January 20, 2005

Excerpt from Guestbook:

"How can we say thank you for sharing your wonderful home?! We have had the most wonderful vacation ever! We have enjoyed the warm Hawaiian sun as well as warm, special moments with family... made easy by the location and convenience of this wonderful house! We were able to split up meals and everyone had privacy - this house is very well equipped and the layout just worked so well for us - THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!
We stayed at the house & enjoyed the ocean & pool several days and we also took several days for trips.... We can't wait to come back ... thank you again - this house & Hawaii was exactly what we needed! Aloha."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 19, 2005   Date of arrival: January 19, 2005

Excerpt from Guestbook:

"What a great setup for a three generation family reunion! We will miss going to sleep to the sound of the sea. The building was well equipped. Having Internet access was a bonus we enjoyed, though we avoided the news. Thank you."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 8, 2005   Date of arrival: January 8, 2005

Excerpt from Guestbook:

"Wow! What a way to kick off the New Year! The house could not have been any more perfect for our family of 8 - we could spread out and be alone yet be together to enjoy the spectacular views!.......

We hiked, snorkeled, sailed, whale watched, oohed, ahhhed and ate (and ate and ate). The house was so nice to come back to tranquility after fun filled go-go-go days!

Thanks for sharing such a great house with us!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 29, 2004   Date of arrival: December 29, 2004

Excerpt from Guestbook:

" From our first correspondence with you until our departure today, you and Shangrila have been exceptional! Our family vacation was the best ever!......
To wake up to this unbelievable view was a dream...
Thank you so much for everything. This was a perfect place for our extended family!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 23, 2004   Date of arrival: November 23, 2004

Exerpt from Guestbook:

" We really enjoyed the pool and the beautiful view from our units' windows. We enjoyed the sound of the ocean and the beautiful sunsets! Saturday November 13 was fabulous!..."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 16, 2004   Date of arrival: November 16, 2004

Excerpt from Guestbook:

" Mahalo Nui Loa for a beautiful vacation here in Shangrila! We had such a great time - made even better by this relaxing and private spot. We really enjoyed having our own pool & spa and a perfect spot to watch the sunset....
... Thanks once again for all your assistance and direction in planning our trip....."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 6, 2004   Date of arrival: November 6, 2004

Excerpt from Guestbook:

"We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your paradise home! Love waking in the early morning to view the beautiful starry sky. Love the constant sound of ecean waves breaking on the beach.........
.....We leave here with great memories and totally relaxed, refreshed, and stress-free. Thank you."

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 15, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

Trish and Sterling,

What a beautiful place.
I read the comments.
I would love to have John's family do a big vacation there.
How much is it for 4 people, 2 adults, 2 children, age 10 and age 12. Would we just rent part of it? Which part?
How much for 1 week? I am dreaming already. It was so great and such an honor for you to return to me. These bonds are forever. Thank you.

Christine

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 29, 2004   Date of arrival: August 29, 2004

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" Thank you very much for making our stay here a memorable one, we just can't put into words how great everything was!!
..........See you guys next year!! Mahalo, Mahalo !!!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2004   Date of arrival: August 11, 2004

Comments from Guest Book:

" This is the perfect house for a family vacation. We all loved being here, the pool was so nice, the garden beautiful. And each family had its own space and privacy.
Thank you for a such a beautiful space!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2004   Date of arrival: August 2, 2004

Excerpt from Guest Book:
" Our family reunion with eight of us from two countries was wonderful here in Shangrila. ..... This was the perfect spot. We enjoyed snorkeling out the back gate and had many bareque meals around the pool. The units are very nicely equipped, we had everything we needed!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 2, 2004   Date of arrival: August 2, 2004

Excerpts from Guest Book:
" .... We loved this beautiful house for our whole family ( 8 of us in all). My mother-in-law who is very particular was thrilled with everything. She said to mention how much she enjoyed the decorative touches in the Penthouse..........There was nothing better than coming home to Shangrila and this magnificent view though. We had many great meals off the grill by the pool (Glad there is a Costco here!)....You are gracious hosts and we wish you all the best of blessings with this home"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2004   Date of arrival: July 23, 2004

EXCERPT FROM GUEST BOOK:
" A BIG Mahalo from all of us for sharing such a beautiful home. We were a party of six - taking up all three levels, and we couldn't have been more comfortable............
... ...We were wonderfully surprised by a Manta Ray in the surf just outside the window, and were also lucky enough to snorkel with turtles!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2004   Date of arrival: July 17, 2004

Excerpt from guest's E-mail:

"I just wanted to drop a line a let you know how much we enjoyed the house last week. It really was an integral part in our best vacation in years. Mike and I are thinking of coming out next summer for 2 weeks, with our kids this time, if you haven't sent it back yet, hold our security deposit ($500.00), for deposit on next summer and I'll call with firm dates asap. Thanks again for providing such a beautiful place to stay!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 14, 2004   Date of arrival: June 14, 2004

Excerpt from Guest Book:

" We did indeed find a Slice of Paradise! It was truly our Shangri-La in every way!..............................
Maybe that's a lesson we can all learn - one's Shangri-La is never that far to reach - you just have to be on the Look-Out for it!
As I'm sitting here soaking up the view one last time - I will savor the sounds & scene in my minds eye - and conjure this vision to calm the stress on the Mainland.
This respite was wonderful.
Truly, Truly, Truly - Mahalo!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 30, 2004   Date of arrival: May 30, 2004

Comments from Guest Book:

" We have enjoyed our stay immensely! What great facilities! And there are not words to describe the view. We leave here with wonderful memories of a great time in a great place.
Thank you for the wonderful accomodations and all the amenities "

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2004   Date of arrival: April 20, 2004

Comments from Guest Book:

" Mahalo! Mahalo! Mahalo!
Kona Shangrila is seeing Hawaii in animation. Every waking moment we were in awe of the view. Sea turtles and colorful fish were all within our eyes view. We were so comfortable here and all the extra accomodations you provide made our stay all that more special. Kona Shangrila gave us a memory that we hold dear to our hearts......"

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2004   Date of arrival: April 6, 2004

We are the new owners of Kona ShangriLa. We have just begun renting out this fabulous house and will enter our guests comments as they come in. We welcome comments from our guests. Trisha

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review