reviews for: listing #18979 - Ogunquit, Maine Cottage rental

Oceanview Cottage Summer Rental off Marginal Way
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lookout Condominium
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $950 - $1,675 /wk

sort by:

Labor Day weekend rental

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

The owners of this condo donated this weekend to a local fund raiser (very nice of them) and my husband and I won the bid. They provided all the information necessary with photos. We went with 3 couples. It does sleep 6 but best not for 6 adults because there are two bedrooms and one futon couch in living room but we made due and it worked out fine. The unit was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. A beautiful porch/deck for sitting at night and relaxing. It was close to the Perkins Cove and Ogunquit downtown area and we used the local trolley to get there. We did not need to use our cars. It is an upstairs unit so there is that to consider. We would consider renting here if we come to this area again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't have asked for anything more

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This was our first visit to this cottage after years of staying in Ogunquit in our family cottage. We were looking for a change and loved the idea of having our own family time. We also loved the idea of having easy beach access and a pool, which we had never thought much about. Having that pool was so nice! Our girls (ages 11 and 12) would head to the pool early every morning, while we packed lunches and snacks for the beach and straightened up. We'd grab them a few hrs later so we could all head to the beach for the day. When we got back late in the day the girls would again head up to the pool while we made dinner or showered. It was just so great not to have everyone underfoot and to have the elongated day that the pool provided! We even used the tennis court on one occasion, which was a nice option on one of our earlier days back from the beach.

The cottage was great. It was clean and tidy and had everything we could ever want. There is easy access to the beach and to everything that Shore Rd and Perkins Cove have to offer. Great cottage with great amenities at a great price. We could not have been happier and will definitely be going back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another great week in Ogunquit!

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

This was our 6th year coming to Ogunquit and our first time staying in this cottage. Friends of ours rent a different cottage on the property so we were familiar with the location and amenities. We had a wonderful time and of the six years we've gone this was the best location all around. It's close to Shore Rd for town activities, close to the Marginal for the beauty of Ogunquit, and it's quiet in the evenings because there is no road traffic! (previously we've stayed right on Shore Rd.) And the wrap around porch was wonderful for providing a little extra space to relax still within the privacy of our own place.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

another wonderful vacation

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

this is a great little cottage in the perfect spot. you can walk to the beach and perkins cove. this is the 4th summer that we have rented this cottage for our vacation. and we will definately be back again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lookout Cottage

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

The cottage was very convenient to the Marginal Way and Perkins Cove. It was very clean and well-maintained. The landlords are dependable and responsive, and the neighbors are nice and helpful. The new bed is very comfortable. The deck and stairs are new and in excellent shape. The showers were small in the two separate 3/4 bathrooms. But, it was nice having the two bathrooms. The unit is close to the trolleys operating along Shore Road in Ogunquit, and also to the Amtrak station in Wells.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wish I could stay forever

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

This was our third year at this rental and it is like coming home every time I walk over the threshold. To say we truly love this cottage and location is an understatement. I think it gets more beautiful every time we come to this spot in Ogunquit (and we have been coming for almost 20 years). Thank you once again for sharing your little piece of heaven with our family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

You can't beat this location. You are able to walk into town, walk to the Trolley, and the entrance to the Marginal Way is at the foot of your staircase.
The beach is 5 minutes away. The kitchen was just remodeled and has granite counter tops and is fully stocked with everything you need. The unit was very
clean. The two bathrooms were great as my daughter, her husband and two grandchildren came for a few days. The deck is great, but needed repairs and painting. (the owner states the deck will be replaced in 2013). We loved the
deck and would have used it more if there had been better furniture. (the owner states the furniture will also be replaced in 2013. I would rent again and would recommend it to family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great cottage in wonderful location

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We've been coming to Ogunquit and staying in this cottage for fours years now. The bedrooms are both a nice size, and having two bathrooms is a plus. The owners redid the kitchen and bathrooms recently and are always very attentive to guests; making sure that everything is OK. The location is perfect. We park our car when we arrive and don't drive until its time to leave a week later. This is hidden gem.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place to stay near the beach

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We had a lovely time at Ogunquit beach thanks to this condo rental. It was very conveniently located to everything (restaurants, beach, shops sights, Marginal Way) yet it was a quite and relaxing location.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful location!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Just returned from a week at this lovely cottage condo. We were four adults plus my three-year-old daughter. There was plenty of space for everyone. The kitchen was newly updated and well stocked. The entire interior was pleasantly decorated and very clean. The wrap-around porch could use an update, but is great for sitting out to dinner or a drink and can be accessed from the master bedroom or living area. The surrounding trees obscure most of the ocean view, but provide lots of privacy. The grounds of the lookout condo ar lovely and very well-maintained, and having use of the public grills, pool, tennis court, and laundry was a great plus. The owner was also great about promptly answering all questions and called us immediately when there was an issue with the wi-fi (which then worked perfectly for the rest of the trip).The greatest asset for this rental, though, was definitely the location. It's ideally situated between downtown and Perkins Cove, and is an easy walk to both of these and the main beach. It is also RIGHT off of the marginal way. The only minor drawback was the bedding, which some in our party found uncomfortable. I personally slept without issue, but those with back problems might struggle with the master bed and futon and those picky about pillows might want to bring their own. However, the owner assures me that the beds will be updated, and we would definitely come back for another year. All in all I would highly recommend this condo for its cleanliness, pleasant decor, and fantastic location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I wish I could stay forever

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

I think this rental is really great. It is like being in your own home but better. I have done the "resort" route for many years but grew tired of having to find someplace to eat every day, twice a day. Also, these resort spaces are small and no room to sit around if you just wanted to relax. I love having a full kitchen and I love the update you did to the living/kitchen area.
Also, having two bathrooms and ample parking is another plus in my book (especially with three kids running about).
I love having access to the wrap-around deck from the master bedroom (I just like having a wrap-around porch :)- The one thing that I discovered this year that I did not last year is that I can hear the surf at night when the slider is open (what a lovely way to fall asleep).
Look forward to next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Path to Marginal Way

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

My family and I spent a week in this cottage. It was clean, spacious, quiet, and with views of the ocean. We walked every where. The cottage is close to Perkins Cove, Ogunquit center and the beach. Marginal way is a few steps away. The condo resort is well kept and nicely landscaped.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family venue

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This condo offered a casual, very clean and comfortable place especially suited to families. Our daughters, ages 17, 20 and 23, slept in the bunk beds and pull-out sofa while my husband and I slept in the 2nd bedroom. The two bathrooms were very convenient especially with so many adults in the house. The air conditioning was helpful on hot days, though the cross breeze in the apartment was great and allowed us to sleep most nights with just the sliders and windows open. The newly remodeled kitchen was very nice though we ate at restaurants most of the time. The tennis courts and pool were conveniently located on the property. The deck (which needed a bit of an update) offered a lovely view of the grounds which were filled with flowering shrubs and window boxes. In addition, this condo is adjacent to the Marginal Way and only a 10 minute walk to the beach. The owners were very professional and friendly. My only recommendation is that you bring your own pillows if you are sensitive to vinyl as the ones provided had a hygienic cover which I found uncomfortable under my pillowcase. I would also recommend bringing blankets as the ones provided were lightweight. Otherwise, the accommodations were exactly as anticipated. A great value!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer Vacation

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Great location. Walk to beach, shops and restaurants. Condo is well maintained. The weather was very warm so it was very nice to have AC in the bedrooms.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great cottage with convenient location

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This was our third year in the cottage and we plan on coming back again. The owners renovated the kitchen and bacthrooms recently so it is clean, modern and very comfortable. The location is great. you can walk to the beach and Perkins cove. Marginal way is right out the front door.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Stay!

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We were 4 adults and one 3 year old staying at this condo. We loved it! the condo was comfortable and the amenities were fantastic. Our daughter really enjoyed playing at the park, going to the pool and we really loved the common area and enjoyed many bbq's. we would definately recommend this place!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A comfortable cottage with a GREAT Location

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

We enjoyed our stay and love the location. The cottage is tucked away on a very quite lane yet an easy walk to everything...the shops, the main beach, Perkins Cove, the Playhouse.

It was just right for our family of five (2 adults/ 3 kids) and we found the two full baths very convenient. Our children enjoyed being able to use the swimming pool and play area. We would definitely consider stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

We have been staying at a hotel for the last 16 years on Shore Road and I was looking for something new -- this was a perfect switch for us. It was a great location and a good space for us (3 kids, 2 adults)-- loved being so close to the marginal way! The deck was huge and loved having a full kitchen. I would recommend this cottage to anyone - I wish I could live there year round :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great central location, nice walk to beaches

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We had a real nice time here. It's has a great central location, on the marginal way. A nice walk to the beaches and to town. You can also easily walk to Perkins Cove, nice choice of restaurants either way. The condo is kept nicely. The 2 bathrooms are nice to have.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Great location and comfort"

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

The cottage seems on the Marginal Way. The heated pool, the tennis courts and the play area for the kids were pleasant. The cottage smelt clean at our arrival. The owner answer all our questions by phone and by email. I would recommend this property to a friend. We also might personally go back there another year. The fireworks from the 4th of July were wonderful. We enjoyed two great dinners one at The Wild Blueberry Cafe and the other at Roberto. My three years old son enjoyed the trolley ride and play on the beach. The three sides deck was very pleasant with the patio furniture included.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location and comfort

Review submitted: July 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

The cottage seems on the Marginal Way. The heated pool, the tennis courts and the play area for the kids were pleasant. The cottage smelt clean at our arrival. The owner answer all our questions by phone and by email. I would recommend this property to a friend. We also might personally go back there another year. The fireworks from the 4th of July were wonderful. We enjoyed two great dinner one at The Wild Blueberry Cafe and the other at Roberto. My three years old son enjoyed the trolley ride and play on the beach. The three sides deck was very pleasant with the patio furniture included.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review