reviews for: listing #1899 - San Diego, California House rental

A Village in Forbe's U.S. Top Pics North/South Park 30th st.
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Park
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt
    $1,450 - $2,150 /wk
    $4,250 - $6,250 /mth

sort by:

A Step Back in Time

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

We had been spending the last week of summer visiting colleges and decided to take the last few days to enjoy sunny San Diego. I lived in Imperial Beach a few years back. My guests and their daughter were from New Hampshire. We decided on the 30th street home and we were impressed. It was in the heart of the old section of San Diego. the house was Beautiful. Across the street was a wonderful Italian Bistro. The rooms were large and very comfortable. We had coffee on the back porch in the Morning enjoying the flight and sounds of birds. In the evening we sat on the front porch enjoying the porch swing. The house is decorated from by gone eras which stirred memories from everyone and had our teen age daughters asking all sorts of questions. Thank you Jack Warren for the use of your wonderful home. Sincerely, Kat, Scott, Dave, Linda , Suleydi and Marley.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We have really enjoyed our stay!

Review submitted: May 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

Hi Jack We will be leaving soon, so just wanted to drop you a quick email to thank you for the use of the house. We have really enjoyed our stay! We used the master bedroom and the study down stairs. We have stripped the beds and cleaned the house and BBQ. Finn did well. It looks like you are in for a hot summer, so think of us heading back to our winter.
Thanks again. Gail , Phil & Finn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Recommended stay

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

We would recommend this stay for anyone who is interested in renting a historic home, but wishes to have all of the comforts necessary for an extended stay. We stayed with another family, and with four adults and four children, we still had more than enough room for everyone. There is a large dining room table that made it possible for all of us to sit and eat together, and the kitchen contained everything we needed to prepare nearly all of our meals, which helped us save a lot of money!
The neighborhood is very nice, and though not exactly quiet (as the property is next to a fairly busy street), it was not noisy by any means. Also, the house is very close to a nice little park where many of the neighborhood children play. It is also within walking distance to a small grocery store with very affordable fresh produce items, and stocked with all of the little things you may run out of - such as milk, bread, etc. The neighbors were all friendly and helpful.
My only suggestion is to be careful if you are planning to stay with small children. The owners have furnished the home with items of great historic value, and we found it necessary to move these items out of the reach of the children.
However, it is a great house for a family vacation, and very easy to find. The owners are very nice, sincere people who offer everything to make the stay comfortable (including plenty of towels, sheets, blankets, etc.), but are very unobtrusive. This is a great value, and a beautiful home as well. We hope to be invited to stay again, as we visit San Diego every summer.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

I would certainly recommend this home for anyone who is interested in a property with historic appeal, and yet with all of the amenities and comforts for an extended stay. We found the place to be very clean and cozy, and it is much roomier than the pictures may indicate. We stayed with four adults and four children, and there was plenty of room for all. The neighborhood was relatively quiet, and it was nice to be so close to the park.
I probably wouldn't recommend the stay for families with small children however. The owners have furnished the home with items of sentimental and historic value, and we took great care to be respectful, but it was necessary to remove many of the items from the reach of our small children. However, if you are staying with a large group, there is a very large dining room table, and a spacious patio in the backyard, so there is plenty of room to accommodate all.
The neighbors were very friendly, and very helpful with suggestions for entertainment. There is also a large, sturdy porch swing, and I sat every night and rocked my daughter to sleep. Considering that we live in Tucson, we don't spend much time outdoors in the summer, so that was a lovely experience for both of us!
Overall, this was a wonderful stay for us. The owners are very friendly and kind, and are not intrusive in any way. We come to San Diego every summer, and this was certainly one of my favorite stays.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your house is lovely!

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

Hi Jack and Cindy, Just wanted to let you know that we are back in Maryland - we left San Diego at 7:30 am this morning. Thank you so much for providing a comfortable, wonderful home for us to be with our family for the Christmas week - the fireplace was the greatest and sooo toasty. Your house is lovely! And, we loved the convenient location - very short distances to all the things we wanted to visit. The 70 degree temps also were great for those of us from DC, Boston, and Chicago!
Thank you again for a wonderful place to have our vacation. If you get to the east coast, give us a call! Happy New year to you both!
Best regards,Linda and Ed

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review