reviews for: listing #19084 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii House rental

Oceanfront 3bed/3bath home, AC and Spa by Kahaluu Beach Park
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $375 - $399 /nt
    $2,625 - $2,793 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

WHAT IS REALLY ATTRACTIVE AND NICE ABOUT SPENDING YOUR VACATION IN A HOME ON THE OCEAN IS THE PRIVACY AND RELAXATION YOU HAVE VS. HOTELS OR CONDOS AND WE HAVE DONE IT ALL. WATCHING THE TURTLES COME AND SWIM RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE HOME IN THE OCEAN IS REALLY SPECIAL. THE QUALITY OF THIS HOME, KOA WOOD FLOORS AND GRANITE COUNTERS REALLY MAKES IT SPECIAL. YOU CAN LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN IN THE MASTER BEDROOM AND THE OCEAN IS VERY CALMING. GETTING UP AND DRINKING A POT OF COFFEE ON THE OCEAN READING MY BOOK IS THE BEST YET. KOA HALE IS VERY CLOSE, SHORT DRIVE TO KAILUA TOWN AND YOU CAN WALK TO THE BEST BEACH ON THE ISLAND.

Helpful votes: 8 / 12

 

Beautiful Home and Setting

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 23, 2014

We've just returned from a wonderful 11-day stay at this well-located home in Kona with our family. The home is very beautiful and well maintained. WiFi access is extremely good for those who need to do some work or check in with friends and family. Home was very clean upon our arrival and well stocked with towels, kitchen wares, snorkel gear, etc. But the best part is the lanai! We spent many hours watching/listening to the surf and enjoying sunsets from this very ample sized location. The tiki torches added a nice touch at night. We are very happy that we rented this home and plan on doing so again on our next visit to the Big Island. If you stay at this property, you will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Randy Thank you very much for enjoying our home in Kona. We pride ourselves in making and keeping it nice for our guests enjoyment. You are important to us. We look forward to having you back. Take care

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home and great location!

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

This is our second time staying at Koa Hale and we feel in love with it all over again. What a beautiful home! The views from the lanai are amazing. We saw whales, snorkeled almost every day, took afternoon walks along Ali'i Dr., enjoyed the sunsets and the stars at night right from the lanai. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen had everything you could need, including beautiful plates that made eating in a special occasion. We will definitely be coming back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't say enough!

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 3, 2013

This is a very special place! The view, the sunsets, the beautiful decor and the complete outfitting of the home. Everything we needed was here and we have had a wonderful vacation. It is a perfect location, so close to everything. Thank you for allowing us to share your paradise with us. Our very dear friends have loved it here, and we've all relaxed. Thanks again. Aloha!

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Beautiful setting for a stay on the Big Island

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

The house was exactly as described - with most of our time spent eating outside on the lanai watching for marine life and the morning lifeguards on their daily swim from nearby Kailuu Bay. We saw many turtles in the late afternoons and even ventured with our snorkel gear out front (although this is not recommended for beginners). The kitchen was very well stocked and the dishes were beautiful - which made our outdoor dinners that much better. The three rooms and bathrooms were all very comfortable and private. We never used AC with the use of the ceiling fans. The front gate was a bit finicky and required 2-3 times most days to open and close but this quickly became just part of our routine. We hope to be back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

AMAZING - better than we expected...we will definitely be returning!

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

I feel the lanai and home's location were not raved about enough in the description or reviews, and from the pictures, I feared the living area was going to be a little cramped, so we were basically pinching ourselves the first day because we were so pleased with this rental! (we were a little weary despite the fabulous location due to an unpleasant rental about a mile down the road from last year's vacation!). We enjoyed ourselves for 9 nights and hated to leave; we spent most of our time on the lanai when we were home as I'm sure most everyone does!

There was so much room for our family of 5 (kids aged 14, 12, 9); it was so nice to have 3 bathrooms/showers so everyone had their own space; and the master is separated from the other bedrooms by the dining/kitchen/family room, giving the adults more privacey + the master bath is nice and big w/the jacuzzi tub and shower separate + double sinks; the entire house felt a little like home!

The ocean is literally about 30 feet from the lanai with public access one house over. It should be noted that locals do frequent this location, right below the lanai to enter the ocean via a "swimming hole", so if you are seeking complete solitude this may not be for you. It was never crowded, but worthy to note.

Incredible snorkeling right out back, better than the snorkel beach just down the road, but definitely don't miss the snorkel beach if sea turtles interest you - they are there daily along with a food/Hawaiian shaved ice truck! Don't forget your underwater camera!

Furnishings are not 5 star, but who cares; the location, lanai, snorkeling and sunsets from the lanai are !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

a perfect spot for enjoying the Big Island

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

This charming house is the perfect base for a vacation on the Big Island. It is a short walk (or swim) to Kahaluu Beach where my husband likes to surf, and there is a great beach for snorkeling and for kids to play. It is also a quick 5-6 minute drive to the heart of Kona for food and shopping. The house is a spacious 3 bedroom, 3 bath with a wonderful lanai overlooking the ocean. Two of the bedrooms have sliding doors to the lanai and the nighttime breezes are perfect. There is air conditioning but we never used it, even thought the locals were complaining about the humidity! The kitchen is well stocked and we made some great hamburgers and chicken out on the grill. We also enjoyed soaking in the hot tub at night, even on nights when there was some light rain. We hated to leave when the week ended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

koa hale

Review submitted: January 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

fantastic house right on the water. clean, well equipped in a great location. watched whales and dolphins while sitting on the deck. snorkeling in two locations within walking distance, along with swimming with sea turtles. would definitely return.

Owners response: Thank You soooo much for enjoying our home. We always want to have it like you would at home and very very clean. It means alot to us when we go on vacation to be able to totally enjoy ourselves and not worry about anything and no stress. I love our hot tub and the lanaii right over the ocean. That is the best way to see our pet turtle Clyde come visit and eat off the lava rocks in the ocean. Pretty special and thanks again. Come back and stay again and contact me for a discount on return stays! Take care.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Beautiful Home and Beautiful View!

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2011

We loved every minute of our time here. From the lanai we saw whaes, dolphines, & sea turtles. After watching the locals, we finally ventured out to the swim hole & had a blast. The only problem we had was that the days passed too quickly & our time here seemed too short!

The place was very well equipped for our 13 mo. old. Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a way to end our Hawai'ian Vacation!

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Thank you for allowing us to experience the Kona side of the Big Island from your beautiful home! We loved relaxing in the hot tub as we looked out at the ocean. We were lucky enough to see a pod of dolphins swim by and got to snorkel with a sea turtle at Kahalu'u Beach--experience of a lifetime!

p.s. Spectacular rainbow to the ocean on the morning we leave--a perfect final memory of the house & the Big Island!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Every Minute!

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

This was the perfect place for my kids and I to relax and regroup after a cold and miserable winter back home. We have loved every minute of our stay here and are so sad to leave. We loved sitting on the lanai over the water, and the house was everything we could have hoped for! Snorkeling and swimming off the rocks below was such a treat, as was exploring the island from such a centrally located spot. Thanks so much for sharing your home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is Awesome!

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

The only problem we had was having to leave this beautiful paradise! We absolutely loved being so close to the ocean- loved listening to the waves!! We were also entertaining by the crabs on the rocks below :)

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us- we really enjoyed our stay!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A magnificent before"Back to School" break

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Hard to pin point a favorite Big Island memory but "Koa Hale" will feature in most. The house & location are beautiful and so relaxing. From the morning to night, we've enjoyed every moment.

A.M. Kona coffee on the lanai watching the sunrise.
P.M. Sunset dinners on the BBQ and stargazing from the hot tub or recliners- couldn't be finer!

Have to add two more from the many experiences! Mid-day: our own spinner dolphin show. Mid-night: interesting to watch several families fish from the rocks below & catch big fish at high tide.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Thank you for allowing us to experience the Kona side of the Big Island from your beautiful home! We loved relaxing in the hot tub as we looked out at the ocean. We were lucky enough to see a pod of dolphins swim by & got to snorkel with a sea turtle at Kahalu'u Beach--experiences of a lifetime!

What a great way to end our Hawai'ian vacation! Mahalo!

p.s. Spectacular rainbow to the ocean on the morning we leave- A perfect final memory of the house & the Big Island!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

This was the perfect place for my kids and I to relax and regroup after a cold and miserable winter back home. We loved every minute of our stay here, and are so sad to leave. We loved sitting on the lanai over the water, and the house was everything we could have hoped for! Snorkeling and swimming at the rocks below was such a treat, as was exploring the island from such a centrally located spot. Thanks so much for sharing your home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

The only problem we had was having to leave this beautiful paradise! The house is AWESOME! we absolutely loved bing so close to the ocean- loved listening to the waves!! We were also entertained by the crabs on the rocks below :)
Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us- we really enojoyed our stay!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

We had a great time during our stay in Kona. From the views to the amenities, this house is spectacular! You have thought about every detail to make our stay enjoyable. We hope to return! Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

A magnificent before "Back to School" break. Hard to pin point a favorite Big Island memory but Koa Hale will feature in most. The house and location are beautiful and so relaxing. From morning to night we've enjoyed every moment.
A.M. Kona coffee on the lanai watching the sunrise.
P.M. Sunset dinners on the BBQ and stargazing from the hot tub or recliners: couldn't be finer!

Have to add two more from the many experiences! Mid-day: our own spinner dolphin show. Mid-night: interesting to watch several families fish from the rocks below & catch big fish at high tide.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beautiful waterfront home

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

When we booked our vacation, we were supposed to stay at another home. that homeowner mistakenly double booked us, and found us this rental to stay in for a few days. Her mistake was our benefit. What a lovely home, right on the ocean. The sound of the surf was amazing. The pictures do not do this property justice, and the home was spotless. This house is a very good value. Thank you for sharing your home. We stayed in January 2010.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

Love the house and the lanai, what a beautiful spot. Snorkeling is wonderful here, this is a Beautiful Island. We will miss the sound of the crashing waves and beautiful sunsets. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

Can't think of a better medicine for the soul than listening to the surf & breathing the Big Island breeze for a week....OK, maybe 2 weeks, or four. This home & this island are slightly addicting. We made sushi & burgers & salads. We dipped in the jacuzzi, fed the baby under star drenched night skies & spotted whales-all from the gentle perch of the lanai. We are grateful for the shelter of family & luxury that brought us all here to celebrate 60 & so much more! Alohas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 7, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

This is our second stay in this beautiful house, and what a way to spend Thanksgiving. We had a small accident in the swimming hole out back & one of us ended up getting stitches as a gift from the rocks. However, besides this small set back we were very thankful for the perfect weather, great waves and amazing view we experienced every day at Koa Hale. Although we are sad to be leaving, we know we will be back to make more memories. It was a blast!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A dream come true!

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

Beautiful house, beautiful island. There could not have been a better place for our family to spend a week togerther. A dream come true, memories that will last a lifetime! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love this house!

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

We love this house, and the lanai. What a beautiful spot. Snorkeling is wonderful here, this is a beautiful island. We will miss the sound of the crashing waves and beautiful sunsets. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Minnicks-Yorba Linda, CA

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2009

This is our 2nd stay in this beautiful house, and what a way to spend Thanksgiving. We had a small accident in the swimming hole out back and one of us ended up getting stitches as a gift from the rocks. Hoever, besides this small set back, we were very thankful for the perfect weather, great waves and amazing view we experienced every day at Koa Hale. Although we are sad to be leaving, we know we will be back to make more memories. Thank you for sharing your home, it was a blast!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Manns San Diego, Georgia & NC

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

We can't think of better medicine for the soul than listening to the surf and breathing the Big Island breeze for a week....OK, maybe 2 weeks or four. This home and this island are slightly addicting. We made sushi & burgers, and salads. We dipped in the jacuzzi, fed the baby under star drenched night skys and spotted whales. All from the gentle perch of the lanai. We are grateful for the shelter of family and luxury that brought us all here to celebrate 60 and so much more. Aloha

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This home is awesome!

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

The patio and view with the ocean waves were beyond our expectations. We spent most of our week on the deck reading, sunning and enjoying the sounds and sights. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home. It was a great get away and so relaxing. We had local friends over for dinner and they loved the home too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome escape by the Sea

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

My husband and I and another couple rented this home for an island R&R get away and it was awesome! The listing description was very accurate but the home even exceeded expectations. The home is very well maintained and laid out beautifully to allow privacy for each couple while providing a central living area. We especially loved the spacious lanai and panoramic view. The four of us spent most of our 11 days on the deck reading, sunning, listening to the waves and enjoying the view. The waves crashing on the rocks lulled us to sleep each night and was a highlight, for sure! The location is great - a short walk away from great snorkeling & surfing. We all were delighted with the accomodations and would definitely recommend to friends & family. In fact, we have friends who live part-time in Kona and they came down for dinner one night. After a delightful evening on the lanai, they said next time they have company visiting they'd let their company stay in their condo and they'd rent this house for themselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfort and Beauty

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

The house is beautiful, from the Koa wood floors to the hot tub and bbq on the lanai, we enjoyed it all. The home was impeccably clean and well maintained. The views from the two ocean side bedrooms are amazing. We enjoyed listening to the sounds of sea at night - no air conditioning was needed. The pictures and descriptions are accurate but the view from the lanai has to be experienced to be appreciated. We walked to Kahaluu beach each day where we started the day swimming with sea turtles and beautiful reef fish. The rental agent was responsive and helpful. We look forward to our next visit to Hawaii and Koa Hale.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 7, 2009   Date of arrival: April 7, 2009

We enjoyed our stay in your beautiful home. What a wonderful respite from cold Colorado in April! The lanai was gorgeous and the home is so well equipped for every activity. We had three generations on vacation and we all had fun.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 29, 2009   Date of arrival: March 29, 2009

Thank you for sharing your delightful home in Kona with us. We all enjoyed splashing in the waves, taking pictures and just relaxing at home. We also loved looking over the edge of the lanai out to the ocean. I hope the next family that comes here will have as much fun as we did.
Mahalo
PS We loved the hot tub!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 21, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

Thank you for the use of your great home. We loved the lanai and saw such beautiful sunsets from it. We also loved using your kitchen and dining area for some great meals and games of speed scrabble.
It was wonderful to return to your home after a day spent seeing the volcano, snorkeling at Captain Cook or just exploring the island.

Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

Thank you for the use of your incomparable home for our brother and sister reunion. We never want to leave!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 3, 2009   Date of arrival: March 3, 2009

Thank you for sharing your lovely home. We certainly enjoyed the beautiful views off your spectacular lanai which was where we spent most of our time. An absolutely perfect week. It was the best! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 1, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Thank you so much for sharing your home. This was the perfect vacation home! It was very well stocked and you have thought of everything we could have needed. It was amazing to sit on the lanai and watch the whales and dolphins and sea turtles. Snorkeling in front of the house is great. After you see the island---sit back and enjoy the rest of your vacation from the lanai! It doesn't get any better! We'll be back!
Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2009   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

We be happy! We be with Alice and Mike! We'll recommend to others. We liked the deck and the waves!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2009   Date of arrival: January 17, 2009

Thank you for sharing your little slice of heaven with us. Your home and the amenities were delightful. Thoroughly thought through! What a perfect break from our winter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 5, 2009

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We saw turtles, dolphins and whales from the best deck we've ever sat on! We made lots of warm memories to get us through the cold winter at home.

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 23, 2008   Date of arrival: December 23, 2008

We had a wonderful time, the surfing was great. Go to "two steps" for snorkeling. This house is perfect and well stocked. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 13, 2008   Date of arrival: August 13, 2008

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home with us. This has been such a relaxing and refreshing week, what a wonderful setting! Your home is lovely, truly a sanctuary.
We will always treasure our time here, thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 3, 2008   Date of arrival: August 3, 2008

What a "beautiful week"...Koa Hale is a home away from home. You have truly picked a magical setting, sunrise, sunset and everything in between. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home. We look forward to many, many family memories here at Koa Hale.
God bless you both!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2008   Date of arrival: July 17, 2008

What a lovely home and great vacation! We had a grand time seeing the volcano erupting, snorkeling and snorkeling with the manta rays. We toured the island and enjoyed the beaches. We came as a graduation gift for our son from graduate school. It was a great time before he begins his life in the "working world". Wonderful weather and a wonderful time

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2008   Date of arrival: April 23, 2008

A wonderful vacation in paradise. We celebrated my husband's mothers 80th birthday. Our 4 year old twins had a blast swimming with a turtle and other exotic fish. Thank you for the superb accommodations and hope to be back in a few years.

The Bingham Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 12, 2008   Date of arrival: April 12, 2008

Most fantastic holiday. House was spectacular! Swam with the turtle, just amazing. The 6 of us could not have had more fun. Wonderful house with great views. Dolphins, turtles and snorkeling too. Koa Hale has been the ideal haven for we friends from Scotland, Arizona and Canada to reunite and bask in the beauty of Hawaii. Thank you for two weeks of bliss.

George, Fiona, Dave and Debbie, Judy and Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 26, 2008   Date of arrival: March 26, 2008

Great views of the ocean, beautiful house. One week of real relaxation, warm waters. Thank you, we needed this. Mahalo till next time.

Jesse and Veronica

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 27, 2008   Date of arrival: February 27, 2008

Great snorkeling right in front of the house. We enjoyed the house, the view and the ocean. You home was perfect for our 3 couples. The accommodations were great and the sound of the ocean so relaxing. Especially enjoyed the gecko, turtle and whales. Thank you for sharing your home.

Jerry, Sharon, Linda, Jim, Chuck and Pat

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 14, 2008   Date of arrival: February 14, 2008

What a beautiful home and setting for our family to enjoy a week of snorkeling, exploring, eating and relaxing. Clyde the turtle came by most days to say hi. We saw dolphins and whales of course, gorgeous sunsets, our favorite restaurant is the 4 Seasons. We enjoyed setting out on the lanai and grilling fresh fish. Thank you so much for sharing this house, wish we could stay longer.

Bret, Karen, Krista, Joe, Mike and Jan

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 7, 2008   Date of arrival: February 7, 2008

We had a wonderful time. Beautiful home. Superb snorkeling right here at the house. We snorkeled everyday, watched a whale and her baby for over an hour on the 2nd night here and saw a pod of dolphins WOW! We had a great week. Also a couple of turtles here in back of the house. Thanks so much for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2008   Date of arrival: January 31, 2008

We so much enjoyed staying in your lovely Kona home. It's so well kept and very well equipped. Your decorations have been chosen with care and we felt at home immediately. You've done a wonderful job. We enjoyed each and every minute here. For the past 4 years we have rented a house with a pool on the ocean on Alii Drive. Your house is so much better. Aloha and many thanks!

Jim, Barb, Stacey and Lindsey

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2008   Date of arrival: January 22, 2008

What a wonderful experience it has been to stay in this beautiful house. Our time in it was a "WOW"! The sunsets, the comfortable beds, the lovely decor, the fans and high ceilings, light coming in from every angle. Stunning view from the lanai and sounds of the crashing waves. Thank you for everything.....so much.

Ann, Chuck and Tessa

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 3, 2008   Date of arrival: January 3, 2008

What more could we have asked for? Beautiful home, incredible snorkeling, gorgeous sunsets and so much more. We are so lucky to be able to visit your home and enjoy it as much as we did. ALL of us enjoyed this vacation and can hardly wait to come back. This Island is truly amazing and so much to do. We will never forget this awesome vacation!

Arturo, Rosie, Clarissa, Vanessa and Jose

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 14, 2007   Date of arrival: November 14, 2007

What a wonderful place to celebrate turning "40". Our oldest begged to go to the "Turtle Beach" every day, but we explored many other Big Island beaches too. We found that (after a storm and the choppy weather cleared) the best place to snorkel on the Island is right behind this house. Such interesting topography and SO MANY fish! We all enjoyed the comforts of your lovely home and are grateful to you for sharing it. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 6, 2007   Date of arrival: October 6, 2007

Koa Hale is a spectacular place. We enjoyed watching the locals swim in their favorite watering hole. We learned, if you come down to swim there, you must help keep it clean of any trash. (A local girl shared this with us) Lori was so great to work with, this was a memorable relaxing vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 27, 2007   Date of arrival: September 27, 2007

Koa Hale was ono kine! We had a delightful stay and spent most of our time on the back deck relaxing, reading and watching for turtles (our daily visitors) The accommodations were superb and the location was perfect.
Mahalo Nui Loa

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 25, 2007   Date of arrival: September 25, 2007

The house is wonderful. We kept the Carroll's company for awhile. The deck has all the advantages of being on a cruise ship without the movement or crowds. The weather was great and we had a fabulous time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 25, 2007   Date of arrival: August 25, 2007

We had a great time! The house was fantastic, the view of the sunset was beautiful and the snorkeling was some of the best. Thank you so much for the use of your home, it made memories that will last a lifetime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 22, 2007   Date of arrival: July 22, 2007

Awesome house, fantastic location. The ocean could not have been closer or more beautiful. The lanai and awning stole the show. Spent many hours sitting out there, watched the ocean everyday till it was too dark to see, but then we could hear the waves crashing in the rocks.

Thanks for sharing your home with us, we also liked the way you have decorated it and made it so comfy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 17, 2007   Date of arrival: June 17, 2007

This was an amazing vacation and one hard to top. Snorkeling right out in front of the house was great and we went all over. We did the night dive Giant Manna Rey trip and it was out of this world, enjoyed the luau at King Kamahamaha Resort and had fun. The house was awesome and the trip perfect.

Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 13, 2007   Date of arrival: May 13, 2007

What an incredible vacation...the house, the view, the water. Everything was soooo perfect. Your house is beyond beautiful and thank you so much for your generous hospitality. Can't wait to come again.

Thank you so much, this house, view, Island etc, are so beautiful. Thanks for letting us stay here, this experience and vacation are one that we will always remember....Your house is gorgeous!

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 3, 2007   Date of arrival: May 3, 2007

WE LOVED IT! Our girls ( 4 & 6 ) begged to go back to Kahaluu to snorkel and watch the turtles. Close to Kona but away enough to not deal with the crowds. We felt totally at home here at Koa Hale. The decorating is how we would do it ourselves. Come to Colorado, we will trade houses.

Mahalo again and again

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 13, 2007   Date of arrival: April 13, 2007

We had a BLAST!! We went swimming out back and it was so fun to swim with the tide. At night, it was so soothing to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. The view from the porch is breathtaking. WE LOVE THIS HOUSE!

p.s. We saw turtles and a pod of 20 dolphins! Soooo COOL!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2007   Date of arrival: April 3, 2007

We had a wonderful vacation. The house layout is wonderful and to be able to swim and snorkel right outside the door was outstanding. We lost count of the dolphins and turtles.
We will miss the sound of the ocean and the warm salt breeze.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 4, 2007   Date of arrival: March 4, 2007

We really enjoyed your house. It is truly paradise. Planning our wedding while relaxing on the lanai is something we will never forget. Jeniffer took some great pictures from the lanai of the whales and dolphins frolicking.

Much mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 14, 2007   Date of arrival: February 14, 2007

Amazing views, saw the Southern Cross the first night from the lanai. Also sighted humpback whales from the lanai. Close to snorkeling with a diverse amount of tropical life. House and amenities made our visit.

Shaka and mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 14, 2007   Date of arrival: January 14, 2007

Thanks for the beautiful flowers! The house is great and so CLEAN. It is by far the nicest house we have ever stayed in. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2007   Date of arrival: January 2, 2007

GREAT WEEK, THANKS FOR EVERYTHING!
We had a lovely time! Saw whales and a one legged billy goat! Also, dolphins and lots of fish. The swimming hole out front is scary at first but with fins, we found it to be the best place to snorkel.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 23, 2006   Date of arrival: December 23, 2006

Thank you so much for sharing this special place with others. We enjoyed Koa Hale VERY MUCH!!! It was a wonderful week filled with rest and relaxation. Thank you for this magical week and memories for a lifetime. Thank you Lori for your wonderful service, personality and attention to every detail. Made planning our trip a breeze.
Mahalo to all and Merry Christmas and best wishes for a wonderful 2007.

Randy and Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 10, 2006   Date of arrival: December 10, 2006

We loved the house! We will return and recommend to others we know. Mahalo Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 24, 2006   Date of arrival: November 24, 2006

A long journey here but so very worthwhile. We have loved everything about your beautiful home and delightful island. Wish we could take some of the weather and flowers back to the UK but we shall just have to content ourselves with so many happy memories. June and Robert

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 27, 2006   Date of arrival: October 27, 2006

TERRIFIC HOUSE, WONDERFUL WEEK.....CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK.
MAHALO

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2006   Date of arrival: August 11, 2006

Loved everything about the house. The ocean, the Turtles and the yellow fish. The house was wonderful...loved sleeping to the sounds of the ocean waves...we can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 16, 2006   Date of arrival: July 16, 2006

Thank you for the use of your home, very accommodating and well thought out. We had a wonderful time here exploring the island and enjoying the water. This is a truly special place. Our family will have unforgettable memories of our stay here. Hate to go but we miss our dogs!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 3, 2006   Date of arrival: July 3, 2006

We loved the house, especially at night when you felt like you were on a ship in the middle of the ocean! How cool! It was so relaxing here that it will be hard to go back home to the country. We enjoyed spending quality time with our children, especially eating meals together! "What a concept" Thanks for the memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 14, 2006   Date of arrival: April 14, 2006

From Jazlyn: This place is awesome, it has everything ...but Hawaii in general BEAUTIFUL

From Tyrus: This place rocks!

From Jim: Call me crazy but I did miss the seagulls!

From Gail: Do we have to leave?!! It's been a fabulous vacation!! Clyde "The Sea Turtle" visits every morning, today he brought a friend. Thank you for sharing your wonderful house. What a treasure. A great view, walking distance to snorkeling and a good location for day trips to explore the island. Thank you and mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2006   Date of arrival: March 27, 2006

We loved our stay here....especially the lanai.....and the view....and the Turtles.
The floor plan of the house really accommodated our friends and family's short term stay while giving us privacy. To be able to jump into the ocean right in the backyard was awesome!
Mahalo
The Peters

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 5, 2006   Date of arrival: March 5, 2006

We came to celebrate out Mother Judy's recovery from cancer and cancer treatment.
People were saying our weather was not usual and not perfect but our overall experience here was perfect.
Thank you for the beautiful place and space, can't wait to come back.
Love and Blessings,
The Gordon's

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 3, 2006   Date of arrival: January 3, 2006

We loved the place, enjoyed the unusually high surf conditions and this was a great spot to watch the world class surfers who came here to ride the year's biggest waves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 29, 2005   Date of arrival: December 29, 2005

What a lovely and comfortable home! Sitting outside was so relaxing! Just what my kids needed after college finals! The Island and the people are wonderful, we took a helicopter ride to Mauna Loa and it was unbelieveable. My Son took a lesson flying in one and it was a memorable experience. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. I hope we are able to return in the near future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 18, 2005   Date of arrival: November 18, 2005

WOW! The perfect vacation, your home is wonderful! My family surprised me for my 50th birthday. Don't want to leave! Aloha Koa Hale, see you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 6, 2005   Date of arrival: November 6, 2005

What a magical week! So much to see and do on the Big Island and we never wanted to leave Koa Hale. Nothing was missing-we had everything we needed here! It was a beautiful gift, your sharing this special place with us.
Mahalo Sergio and Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 3, 2002   Date of arrival: July 3, 2002

Our Family loved the way you have fixed this home so nicely and our younger group enjoyed going into the water here and swimming to the beach. Thanks so much for such an enjoyable place for our group to go to a wedding.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review