reviews for: listing #19181 - Estes Park, Colorado House rental

Awesome River Home, Mountain Views, 5Bdr/4Ba!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  1
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $245 - $595 /nt
    $1,680 - $4,095 /wk

sort by:

A Winner!

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

This was our first trip to Estes Park for our family vacation. I had no idea where the property was actually located except that it was on the Big Thompson River. We found the location to be excellent. It felt so secluded and from the house you couldn't see anything but the river, beautiful trees, a meadow full of elk and mountains in RMNP. However, everything the town had to offer was minutes away! The home was so big and comfortable with everything we needed for a delightful stay. The backyard area had steps down to the river with two benches at the river's edge. The elk may not always be in the same place but one day there were about 30 across the river. Amazing! I know I always worry that a property that I want to rent may not be as nice as it sounds. Let me tell you with utmost sincerity, that this property is as wonderful as it sounds. Do not hesitate to go for it!! You will have a very memorable time in a wonderful home in a delightful area of Colorado!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are very happy that you enjoyed our "slice of heaven" and hope you will return in the future.
Hope you have a wonderful summer.
Thank you,
Jane

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great for large family gatherings!

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 24, 2014

Great for our large group and family reunion get together! Plenty of open, common spaces and yet, areas for quiet and relaxing indoors and outdoors overlooking the river. The outdoor spaces (deck, patio, riverside patio) were especially nice to enjoy the wildlife and sounds of the river! Close to town but feels like you're in a remote mountain location. Nice perks were the hot tub, Xbox game setup, and ping pong/air hockey/pool table for kids big and small!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

We really enjoyed this beautiful home, it worked out great for our grand children to have room to rome and we had a herd of elk cross the stream all weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing house, great location, so much bigger and nicer than the pictures show.

Review submitted: November 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

What we loved about the house:

It was bigger and nicer than the pictures show.
Clean and tidy, tastefully decorated.
Large open common space, kitchen overlooking the dining room and living room.
Large dining room table
Pool/air hockey table was an added bonus.
All Bedrooms on one side of house, away from noise of the common space.
5 bedrooms, each with a king bed!
All basics covered--plenty of towels and a well stocked kitchen.
Minutes from RMNP.
Minutes to Estes Park town center.
Elk sightings in the yard.
The river in the yard, hearing it, listening to it, so peaceful!
A bit cool to sit outside too long, but the back patio overlooking the river was peaceful and beautiful. I can only imagine how nice it is in the summer.

I would recommend this to any small group.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our home. It is a very special to us and we work hard to make our home enjoyable for our guests. May the wonderful memories last your lifetime. May you have a blessed holiday season, Jane

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place to stay!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

Seven women together for a weekend. What a great time we had! Beautiful, spacious surroundings, comfortable beds, a great kitchen. Everyone agreed this was one of the best trips we have taken together and we would love to come back. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very happy that you enjoyed our home and are looking forward to having you as our guests again. Thank you!!!! Jane

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing home, don't miss this one.

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We just returned from Jane's wonderful home. If you are thinking about renting this cabin, absolutely go for it...you will be making a mistake to pass it up. All of the routine worries you would have in renting a home will be gone the minute you walk in the door. Everything will be exactly as descibed (actually better), so you have no concerns over the "What if...." of renting someone else's home. The cabin was more than spacious for all of us (ages 5-70). Plenty of room to spread out and have your own space. Now on to the important things. This house has an amazing secluded feeling where you will enjoy the peace and quiet of the river below without realizing there are other houses nearby. Yet, you are only a couple minutes from Estes Park and all that it has to offer in terms of downtown shopping, restaurants, etc. One quick turn the opposite direction and you are in RMNP in a couple minutes. I mean that literally, you will be downtown or in RMNP in less than 5 minutes. For those of you wanting relaxation, the steam shower and hot tub combined with the sounds of the Big Thompson River will leave you in perfect bliss. The views from the expansive patio and deck are breathtaking. For the wildlife lovers, we saw numerous elk, bighorn sheep, a black bear, rabbits, several mule deer, marmots, & hummingbirds. Fisherman, like me, hear this- We caught several good size Rainbow Trout in the Big Thompson right off the lower patio and backyard. We cleaned one and ate trout that was swimming only minutes earlier. You won't get fresher than river to grill in 25 feet!!! The hiking in RMNP is outstanding and it might as well be in Jane's backyard it is so close. I could go on and on about RMNP or Estes Park, but those two great places are even more enjoyable when you have such an amzing place to call "home" for the week. Jane's pictures are great, but will not do justice to what you are really getting when you rent this cabin. I would not hesitate to recommend this house to anyone who is interested. The only downfall was of our entire experience was having to leave to go back to the real world.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing home, Pictures don't do it justice

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We just returned from Jane's wonderful home. If you are thinking about renting this cabin, absolutely go for it...you will be making a mistake to pass it up. All of the routine worries you would have in renting a home will be gone the minute you walk in the door. Everything will be exactly as descibed (actually better), so you have no concerns over the "What if...." of renting someone else's home. The cabin was more than spacious for 15 of us (8 adults ages 37-70 & 7 kids ages 5-12). Pleanty of room to spread out and have your own space.

Now on to the important things. This house has an amazing secluded feeling where you will enjoy the peace and quiet of the river below without realizing there are other houses nearby. Yet, you are only a couple minutes from Estes Park and all that it has to offer in terms of downtown shopping, restaurants, etc. One quick turn the opposite direction and you are in RMNP in a couple minutes. I mean that literally, you will be downtown or in RMNP in less than 5 minutes. For those of you wanting relaxation, the steam shower and hot tub combined with the sounds of the Big Thompson River will leave you in perfect bliss. The views from the expansive patio and deck are breathtaking. For the wildlife lovers, we saw numerous elk, bighorn sheep, a black bear, rabbits, several mule deer, marmots, & hummingbirds. Fisherman, like me, hear this- We caught several good size Rainbow Trout in the Big Thompson right off the lower patio and backyard. We cleaned one and ate trout that was swimming only minutes earlier. You won't get fresher than river to grill in 25 feet!!! The hiking in RMNP is outstanding and it might as well be in Jane's backyard it is so close. I could go on and on about RMNP or Estes Park, but those two great places are even more enjoyable when you have such an amzing place to call "home" for the week. Jane's pictures are great, but will not do justice to what you are really getting when you rent this cabin. I would not hesitate to recommend this house to anyone who is interested. The only downfall was of our entire experience was having to leave to go back to the real world.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic House for our family of ten- Ages 8 to 70!

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

All of us (2 grandparents, 4 adults, 1 teenager, and 3 children ages 8 to 10) loved our stay. Sleeping to the sound of the Big Thompson right outside our windows was loved by all, as was the hot tub, the wonderful patio and porch overlooking the river, the roomy well equiped kitchen, the huge TV in the living area plus all the others provided (but not used-to much better things to do). Lots of room for everyone. Especially loved the huge dinning room table that sat everyone at once. With the dry air in Colorado the steam bath in the Master Bedroom was a real plus. The kids and adults also appreciated the combo pool, air hockey and ping-pong table. The beds were comfy, towels were plentiful and good quality, even some terry robes were provided. The scenery was spectacular just from the house, but this whole region of Colorado is AWESOME. Our Florida family sure enjoyed the snow up off the Trail Ridge Road. Hiking is available for everyone. We especially enjoyed the Lily Lake area and the falls off Fall River Road.
The more adventurous raved about the hike to Emerald Lake. Our favorite eating spot was " Smokin Dave's BBQ", very close to the house. Besides seeing loads of Elk, hummingbirds and ducks from the house we also spotted a bobcat out the kitchen window for a few precious minutes. We would strongly recommend this property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our home. We our very blessed by it and are blessed even more when other enjoy it too. We hope to have you as our guests again. Have a great summer. Thank you, Jane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place for a family gathering

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

Thanks so much for renting your very lovely place to me and my sisters and brother. It is a wonderful home, and we really enjoyed ourselves. You really did a nice job to make the house beautiful and comfortable. Having 5 private bedrooms is a real find. My family likes it privacy and this house was great for that. The hot tub by the creek made our stay - we got to sit in it in the snow!

All my sisters loved the bear and moose themes and the pine interior. The great room and kitchen are nicely laid out and it made our stay relaxing and fun. Everything was clean and well maintained. The location by the creek was idyllic. I would definitely come back again if I had the opportunity.

Cathleen

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect mountain getaway

Review submitted: March 1, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

I Have Stayed In Several Mountain Vacation Homes In The Area But This Was By Far The Nicest. It Is Secluded Along A Quiet Dirt Road And Has A Very Private Feel. The Setup On The Inside Is Perfect For A Large Or Small Group. If You Are Into Wildlife, This Is A Great Place To See it. Each Morning We Saw Several Large Elk Walking Down The Road Right Past The House. Some Even walked Up Our Driveway. There Were Also A Couple Of Moose Seen.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

On the River

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We stayed at this newly remodeled & refurnished home with 7 adults in June 2012. Everyone had their own room and we still had room to spare. The house layout is with the living room/dining room/game room on the far left, the kitchen in the middle and then the bedrooms down a hallway. The kitchen was well equiped with whatever you may need and the dining room table was large enough to sit 8. There is an attached garage along with the garage door openers if you want to use. I think the biggest plus with this home is that it sits right on the river with a wonderful back deck and hot tub. There is plenty of patio furniture for you to sit and relax. The infrared gas grill was wonderful to grill on. Even though the home sits on a street with other homes, you feel secluded because of the layout of the home and the fencing. All bedrooms had king beds which was great for the couples. The location was fantastic too. We had 40+ elk come right through the back yard one morning. We purchased a hummingbird feeded and hung one from the tree of the back deck and enjoyed watching the hummingbirds all week long! One of the mornings the men got up early to golf and as they were leaving the home, right on the other side of the house fence, they saw a bear. First time in 20+ years of coming to Estes Park that we saw a bear up close. We also saw 4 moose and another bear on the Grand Lake side of the park coming back from a day trip to Winter Park. Right before dusk is the best time to see the wildlife. The construction on Bear Lake Rd in the park is a hassle but if you go in the morning it is not bad at all. Fall River Rd was open early due to lack of snow and should be on your list to do. My nephew went at (6:30) one morning and took Fall River Rd and saw several big horn sheep standing in the middle of the road! The men did do some fly fishing off the deck in the back and caught a couple of nice trout. Jane was very nice to work with and we will definately come back and stay again.
Restaurants: Our favorites are Momma Rose's, Poppy's, The Other Side, Wapita, Claire's and Village Pizza.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Estes Park Fan

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Thank you for opening your home to summer vacationers!
Our entire family enjoyed our week in Estes Park.

The house was perfect for our large family (13 people). We had plenty of space for cards, games, and alone time. You made sure we had everything we needed (plenty of dishes, pans, crock pots, linens, washer dryer, family movies). The location was absolutely perfect! I will miss sitting out on the deck listening to the sound of the water going over the rocks.

I will contact you in the fall to rent the house next summer .
Thank you for the wonderful hospitality.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect House for a Group!

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

Our stay at this home couldn't have been better. It was a beautiful place, literally on the river, with backyard decks and views that were relaxing and lovely. There were 4 families staying here together and every one of us enjoyed our visit! We were very close to the town of Estes Park and could drive in and out of town several times each day without feeling like it was a burden. However, once we turned onto the road leading to our house, it seemed like we were out in the woods, with complete privacy and seclusion. It was really a perfect combination. The house had everything we needed and was furnished comfortably and appealingly. We had young teenagers with us and they were very happy with the games table (ping-pong, pool, air hockey) and with the river, as well as with the wonderful hot tub. I really can't think of a thing that we did not like about this house and property. I would highly recommend staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Excellent place to stay

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

A wonderful location right on the river. Each room was decorated with a designer's touch. The bedrooms (5 of them!) were well appointed and there were no lack of bathrooms (4) or hot water, so it made it easier for all of us to get out of the house and on our way to adventure quickly. The master bedroom was fabulous with an on suite steam shower, stone fireplace, and direct access to the hot tub. We enjoyed sitting by the river, gazing at the stars while relaxing in the hot tub, wonderful outdoor spaces with decks and patios to BBQ and hang out, and wonderful light with lots of windows to constantly enjoy the views and wildlife. The kitchen was spacious and well equiped. The great room was huge, there was so much space in this house that we never felt cramped, a huge dining room table that we could all eat at, and a family room that the kids hung out in and watched movies and played games. The pool table, air hockey and ping pong table were a huge bonus. Great access to the Rocky Mountain National Park and the lovely town of Estes Park. We will absolutely come here again and again. Thanks so much for the wonderful home that you shared. We had a great time in a great location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review