reviews for: listing #19201 - Douglas Lake, Tennessee Cabin rental

Serenity Hill Cabin
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Paradise Landing
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $200 /nt
    $840 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 9, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

What a wonderful time at a wonderful house. From the seven deer walking around the cabin to the beautiful views of the lake and mountains, this was paradise for a week. Thank you Greg and Belinda.

Owners response: Thank YOU, Don. You all were wonderful and treated our home with great respect. We really appreciate that. Thank you!

Greg & Belinda

P.S. Glad you got to see some deer. Maybe next time you'll get to see the bald eagle that comes by on occasion!

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

Greg and Belinda,
Thank you for sharing your lovely cabin with us. The cabin was neat, clean and tastefully decorated. The kitchen was equipped with everything and anything anyone could possibly need. Husbands enjoyed the game room, especially the air hockey and foosball tables. Your attention to detail with the book of "house rules" plus local restaurants, attractions, etc. made our stay enjoyable and relaxing.

The hot tub was an added plus. Gazing at Lake Douglas while soaking in the hot tub was a wonderful way to spend a Friday night! We're already started to talk about a revisit to Serenity Hill Cabin.

Thank you again,
Lynn & Jon Nelson and Kim & Bruce Nelson

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

amazing even in the rain

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 9, 2011

It rained the whole time and my family loved it! The rain on the roof was so soothing and we had a blast with the game room. Whenever we come back to the Smokeys we will be sure to stay here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so sorry it rained both days (and nights) of your stay, but we're glad you had a good time anyway. You were wonderful guests and we really appreciate your business!

Greg & Belinda

P.S. Hopefully it will be nice and sunny during your next stay and you'll get great views of the lake and mountains. That's what this cabin is really all about!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 23, 2010

This is a beautiful cabin on an incredible
site with views of the Smoky Mountains and
Douglas Lake. This property has everything
you need for a restful getaway. If you
want to get away from it all, we recommend
this place.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

Was this cabin worth an 11 hour drive from the Twin Cities...yes,yes,yes!We were blessed to stay eight nights at Serenity Hill Cabin the first week of October and we keep remarking that it was one of our most wonderful vacations.
Words almost fail as to how lovely this property truly is...from the decorating and landscaping to the vistas of the lake and the mountains.From our first contact with Greg and Belinda we knew that we had made the right decision in choosing Serenity Hill Cabin.Everything was professionally handled from the web site,the reservation process,all of the helpful hints.
We also were blessed to renew our wedding vows(12 years of marriage)in such a gorgeous setting in front of the fireplace with lots of pictures taken outside.
Our prayer,Greg and Belinda is that as you have refreshed others our Lord will refresh the both of you.
Again,our deepest appreciation.
Jules and Lorrie Bobst

Owners response: Wow, thanks for the glowing review Jules and Lorrie! We're so happy you thought the 11-hour drive was worth it. And thank you so much for the pictures of your wedding vow renewal! They were wonderful...as was Jule's CD. (What a beautiful gift God has given you!)

Thank you for your prayer. The Lord has refreshed us in many ways - but especially through the great guests and new friends we have made through the cabin. We thank Him for the pleasure of getting to know you!

Greg & Belinda

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

The pictures do not do justice to this wonderful home. I call it a "home" instead of a rental cabin, because while you are staying there, you truly do feel "at home". We happened to stay during the fall, and the extra little decorating touches, from the pumpkins, floral arrangements, and decorations by the front door were so charming! Although it rained during our ENTIRE vacation, Serenity Hill provided a wonderful refuge from every day life. Sitting in the outdoor hot tub on the screened in porch while listening to the rain fall softly on the leaves in the tree tops was so relaxing! Must make lemonade out of lemons! The fireplace is great, warm and cozy. The cabin is spotless, has everything you can think of for your use, including a washer and dryer! You don't have to bring so many clothes and that will surely lighten your load. The lake was low at this time of year, but it was still beautiful and a few mornings, I got to see a heron standing in the water. Greg and Belinda, the owners, work so hard to make this place wonderful and they truly accomplish this in every way. Greg is so helpful with suggestions, directions, restaurant reviews and funny stories! The web site is very helpful and informative. The cabin is pretty centrally located too - not too far from Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Seiverville, the Biltmore Estate in NC, rafting, boating, etc. I don't think you will go wrong picking Serenity Hill for your next getaway!

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind words, Sue & Brian! Sorry it rained the whole time, but kudos to you for making lemonade out of lemons! We truly enjoyed having you as our guests and hope you have many, many "sunny" days ahead!...(maybe even some at the cabin ;-)

Thanks again,

Greg & Belinda

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

Greg & Belinda,

I want to thank you both for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home. This was the most peaceful vacation we ever had. We could not ask for more. From the beautiful sunsets, watching a lighting storm over the mountains and even watching the moon set, there was always something to see! The views were wonderful of the lake and the mountains, so you got the best of both worlds. The cabin was spotless and there were so many little extras around every corner that you were not expecting. We had a blast and just wanted to thank you for letting us enjoy your home! It was a pleasure doing business with you both.

Annie & Ron

Owners response: The pleasure was all ours, Annie & Ron. Yes, the lightening storms over the mountains and lake are definitely something to see! It can actually be a little intimidating at times sitting in the porch swing up on top of the hill, but thankfully the cabin builder did a good job of building the cabin nice and solid for when the storm finally reaches the cabin.

Thanks again Annie & Ron!

Greg & Belinda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay for a peaceful vacation!

Review submitted: August 30, 2009   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

My husband, brother in law and sister in law stayed here from August 22nd through August 29th. What a fantastic place to unwind. Extremely clean and the views are to die for! It is like having the whole lake to yourself. The road up is a little twisty and the driveway is steep, but no problems once you get used to it.
Great open floor plan, views on three porches and just so peaceful and great sunsets every night. Watched a lighting storm over the mountains and the moon setting. Watched fish jumping out of the water.
I would not hesitate to recommend this cabin. We had a fantastic time. Greg and Belinda are great to deal with, just rent it and you will have a great time!

Annie & Ron

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 11, 2009

What a wonderful cabin!!! From the wonderful landscaping and wooden rockers and porch swing to the warm and cozy decor inside, the cabin was beautiful!!! The views of the lake are amazing from everywhere on the wrap-a-round deck!!! The "little things" (linens, toiletries, detergents, etc.)that are provided are greatly appreciated. The communication back and forth with the owners was fun and informative. We definitely will be adding this cabin to our list of vacations to be repeated. Thanks Greg & Belinda for everything and for making our first of many vacations on Douglas Lake such a memorable vacation. (Also, we recommend using the Indian Creek Marina if you have a boat. The owner there was also super nice.)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 26, 2009   Date of arrival: April 26, 2009

If you are considering this cabin, go for it! It exceeded our expectations 10 fold. The house itself, the game room, the views, the hot tub, the jacuzzi tub,the decks, the dock - all were wonderful! Hosts are very accommodating with great attention to detail. I have stayed at several great VRBOs and this is by far the best!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Serenity Hill Cabin Review

Review submitted: October 21, 2008   Date of arrival: October 9, 2008

What a beautiful cabin.It is decorated beautifully and is very, very clean. Everything you could possibly need is provided. Greg and Belinda also provide details of good restaurants and attractions in the area along with detailed instructions on how everything in the cabin works. The property is located in a very peaceful area with beautiful scenery and breath taking sunsets. We will definately be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Lloyd! We can't begin to tell you how much we enjoy your visits. You and Mary are always such wonderful guests, and we really do appreciate the kind words and how well you always care for our home. We're really looking forward to your next visit!

Thanks again...we'll be talking soon!

Greg & Belinda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 15, 2006   Date of arrival: September 15, 2006

Greg & Belinda – There has been so many terrific words that have already been said regarding your wonderful place & I “ditto” them all! Like we spoke about, you have truly been blessed with this great place & we are so, so blessed that you want to share it with ALL of us… Enjoyed it tremendously!!God Bless,Becky The eagle was soaring out here yesterday. What a sight…lovely.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 10, 2006   Date of arrival: September 10, 2006

This place is the best! It more than exceeded our expectations. Everything about it is first class and we will for sure try to come back. Thank you so much for allowing us to share your place. I was told the swing was the best feature because when I was there I wasn’t talking all the time – I guess the view left me speechless! Each morning was sheer joy to wake to the view of the water and the mountains. We rode thru the Smokies, Chip golfed and I had my day on the water. Everything has been just wonderful. We’re going back rested and a little sad to be leaving this beautiful, beautiful place. Thank you again for sharing with us. We look forward to coming again.Bev & Chip, Sue & Johnny, Go Cats!P.S. We rented at Swann’s Marina and were very pleased. Prices reasonable and the pontoon ok.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 30, 2006   Date of arrival: July 30, 2006

Dear Greg & Belinda, What a privilege it has been to stay here to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. The cabin and setting exceeded all our expectations, which were pretty darned lofty based on your website. You two have done a marvelous job of decorating and furnishing this place. It’s apparent how much thought, effort and resources you’ve invested to turn a great site into a space for gracious living. We’ve appreciated extra and unexpected amenities, such as the quality and completeness of the kitchenware and the “puppy soft” throw on the couch. Thanks for answering so many of our questions by e-mail prior to our visit and for taking time to suggest things to see and do in the area – based on our particular interests. We have done some hiking and taken a driving tour of the Smokies, but mostly we came here to relax and unwind: reading, napping, soaking in the hot-tub, cooking some leisurely dinners for each other and practicing a little yoga against this beautiful natural backdrop. We’ve enjoyed watching turtles in the cove, the herons, woodpeckers, doves and jays. We’ve seen two turkeys (the feathered kind), a coyote and a hummingbird. We’ve lost count of the deer, but have twice encountered a doe w/two spotted fawns grazing just around the bend. The salamander – in – residence under the gas grill also added a bit of excitement to our stay. Thanks for providing this quiet, secluded spot where we could step off the world for a while. Best Regards, Kelly and Mark

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 26, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Our yearly motorcycle trip found us staying at Serenity Hill Cabin this year! What a great find! We couldn't have been happier with the location,
personal service, and calibur of living. You truly give up nothing to stay at this cabin. Two huge bedrooms with King size beds in each, foosball, air hockey, electric dart board, jacuzzi outside on the deck, a whirlpool inside, plenty of views ALL around the cabin, and Direct TV and much much more!!
Greg was wonderful about answering all our questions and leaving some brochures in the cabin for attractions in the surrounding areas and places to eat. Most of our meals were actually cooked on the gas grill out on the deck.
Our 4 motorcycles, SUV and trailer fit perfectly up by the cabin. The cul de sac was great to do our turn arounds on. The road is paved all the way up! Yah!!! Something you may not find with other cabins in the mountains as we have found out.
We hope that anyone that decides to stay at Serenity Hill Cabin enjoys it as much as we did. Greg and Belinda with the help of Sonya made our stay relaxing and care free. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 10 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 15, 2006   Date of arrival: July 15, 2006

Dear Greg & Belinda, Our stay at your beautiful cabin was “serene”. We truly enjoyed sipping our morning cups of coffee looking out at the lake and the mountains. We saw herons, deer, buzzards, all sorts of beautiful, colorful birds, groundhogs, rabbits and fish jumping out of the water right from the deck. Who could ask for more? We enjoyed meeting and talking to Sonya and her son, Logan. We went white-water rafting on the Pigeon River, biking in Cades Cove, and we explored many areas of the park. The park is truly magnificent. The cabin – inside and out – is perfect. We truly enjoyed our stay and appreciated all of the information you provided on the area before we came. Thank you, The Fischers When you finish the dock, you might want to get a canoe for your guests to use. The lake is so calm, it would make it perfect. A chase lounge or a hammock on the porch also would be a nice addition.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 8, 2006   Date of arrival: July 8, 2006

Dear Greg & Belinda, We wanted to thank you for sharing your beautiful cabin with us. We absolutely loved it. It surpassed our expectations. My favorite spot was the table for two at the corner of the deck. It’s where we enjoyed our coffee every morning. The views were unbelievable! Everything you wrote about it on your website was true. Thanks also for your tips on places to eat and ways to get around. Sonya was a real delight. We wish you both well and hope you are able to spend more time at your home away from home. The Fischers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 30, 2006   Date of arrival: June 30, 2006

Dear Homeowners,
We had a wonderful time here at the cabin. We were able to go out on the boat and to Gatlinburg and many other places. It was lots of fun and the whole family enjoyed it. The cabin is very beautiful.
Thank you,
The Morgan Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 28, 2006   Date of arrival: April 28, 2006

Dear Homeowners, 4/28/06 Greg & Belinda, what a magnificent cabin. I love the decor, the hot tub, and especially the view! I’m in love with your place. Although we do recommend a night light in the bedroom, and a light above the sink. We all had a great time at Forbidden Caverns, then ate trout down the road at “you hook ‘em, we cook ‘em”. We loved the trout so much we went back for seconds. We drove through the Smokies, made for some nice pictures! The old mill by the trout farm too. Indian Creek off of 363 rents boats, & a full bait shop. Also a $3.00 boat launch. Thank you... Bob & Melissa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 7, 2006   Date of arrival: April 7, 2006

Gregg & Belinda 4/7/06 When I arrived here I truly understood what the Psalmist meant when he said “The Heavens declare His glory.” I feel as if I am on a mountain with God and He has my full attention. I praise God for this place and the time He has allowed me to be here with my spouse and my good friend from Atlanta and her spouse. I will tell all my friends about this place where you can hear God’s voice so clear. Thank you for opening your doors to us and may God bless you as He has blessed us. Amazed by His Grace Geary and Marcia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 26, 2006   Date of arrival: March 26, 2006

We love your cabin! Thanks so much for allowing us to use it! We went to our first Nascar event at Bristol and after all the noise, crowds & a 4 hour traffic fiasxo trying to get back to the cabin Saturday night…we TRULY appreciated the aptly named “Serenity Cabin”. Beautifully decorated & so very clean. John, Linley, Ron & Shirley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 17, 2006   Date of arrival: February 17, 2006

“Serenity” is a perfect name for this cabin. As we return to our busy life with children, jobs, and “details”, we will take a part of this “serenity” with us. Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your cabin. David & Pam Dexter, GA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 14, 2006   Date of arrival: February 14, 2006

Greg & Belinda, Your cabin is beautiful. It snowed most of the time while we were here and we were able to stay warm and snug in front of the fire. We were hoping to get snowed in and get to stay a little longer, but no such luck. We’re definitely planning on a return trip! Claire & Daniel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 4, 2006   Date of arrival: February 4, 2006

Greg & Belinda, We had a wonderful stay! It started to snow a little on Saturday. The cabin is warm and inviting. We met you Greg, Thursday as we were checking in – we look forward to being your neighbors on lot #21. Great views! Lots to see from your deck! James and Judy Knightdale, NCWe also had a great time! The first two days, the weather was in the 60’s. Then on Saturday, we had snow. It was very beautiful. This is our 2nd time at your cabin. We have enjoyed it both times. The views are wonderful. We are still looking for our dream spot. We will let you know which one we choose. Best of luck to you both, and may God Bless you. Thanks a lot. Jimmy and Kathy Rockingham, NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review