reviews for: listing #19241 - British Virgin Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

A Dream Come True - A Virgin Gorda 5 BR Oceanfront Estate
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mango Bay Resort
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $685 - $2,500 /nt
    $4,800 - $17,500 /wk

sort by:

Exceeded expectations for the seasoned traveler

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

A Dream Come True is a well fitting name to describe the trip I took for my 50th birthday celebration. The villas owner, Germaine, let us know from the initial contact that she was willing and eager to help us make this trip a memorable and smooth one for our large group of family and friends. After our short ride from the ferry station to our villa, we were met by the courteous and helpful Geno in the Maho Bay office, literally steps away from the entrance to our villa.
When we opened the gate and stepped in, we all gasped at how beautiful the villa, pool and views were... The rooms were clean, spacious and each had a great view. It didn't take the adults long to pick our rooms because all the views from the bedrooms are fabulous!
The location near sapphire and pond bay was very nice and their were no crowds- it was like having our own succluded island. In the late afternoon, a few beautiful boats and yachts would park in the cove and made our picturesque view even prettier. The kitchen was well stocked with top of the line knives and lots of glassware and plates to accomate our big crew. The pool is not huge but all you really need to float around in after a fun day at the nearby Baths or eating in the great nearby restaurants. The kayaks that come with the property gave our college age kids the perfect vehicle to take off on snorkel adventures within our view. The best part was that although we had 13 in our group, we all felt like we had plenty of room for privacy. We read lots of books off the shelves, took naps in the sun or shade by the pool and swam in the warm water.What I liked the least was that we weren't smart enough to book puck, the chef who made our delicious welcome dinner, more than one other time. What a character and fantastic chef. His concoctions and fusions of the food he prepared made the kids and adults alike very happy.
I highly recommend you work on making this your DREAM COME TRUE.

Owners response: Lisa, thank you for your detailed, 5-star review of A Dream Come True! I apologize that I'm just responding now due to a bout with the flu. Helping you plan your 50th Birthday Week Celebration was fun for me, too! I could tell from your review that everyone in your group found their "dream" activities, whether it be kayaking from our oceanfront location to lovely Pond Bay Beach, floating in our new pool, or simply lazing around reading a book, wondering when Puck will show up and what he'll be preparing for dinner. For those of you who book the villa in the future, I do recommend letting me know if you want to reserve Chef Puck! I planned a 50th birthday dinner for Lisa with a yummy cake from a talented local pastry chef. Many milestone birthdays and anniversaries are celebrated at my villa each year, but you don't need that excuse to plan a trip!
- Germaine Fritz

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Property is very well kept with stunning views

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 17, 2013

Loved the villa. Well looked after, magnificent views, well equipped , housekeeping every day. Couldn't ask for better property. Virgin Gorda offers everything for fun holiday. Recommend puck the island chef in providing excellent breakfast and dinner. Loved everything , just didn't, like leaving,
Rate an absolute 5

Owners response: Dear Hilary,


It was a delight helping your family from the U.K plan your 10-day Christmas holiday at A Dream Come True! I knew you'd love both our 5-star our villa and the beautiful island of Virgin Gorda. Puck is a magician in the kitchen! The three of us collaborated on your menus for breakfast and dinner for every day of your stay, and I am happy you loved his "Caribbean fusion of delightful tastes!" Someday I hope you can return and enjoy this experience again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever!!!

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

WOW! This place truly is a little piece of heaven! We did some island hopping to see what all was out there, but we both decided that this place was even better. Thank you for sharing paradise with us!"

Owners response: Dear Dan,

Thanks for your 5-star review of your "Romantic Getaway for Two" at A Dream Come True! I enjoyed helping you plan your trip, and I agree that our estate is paradise! Do come again!
All the best,
Germaine fritz

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

By far, best vacation our group of 10 has ever had

Review submitted: June 16, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

The house and the view were spectacular. The hardest part of the trip was dragging people away from the house to explore the rest of the island as we had everything we needed at the house....drinks, food, pool and of course, the awesome view.

The villa was as pictured - huge, beautiful, clean and very conveniently located with a spectacular view.

The owners assistance was priceless...she was very successful in making it feel like we knew enough about the island before we went that it felt like it was our second trip to the island before we got there.

Her recommendations were right on:
Grocery - marina and wholesale club were convenient and had everything we needed for our stay
Restaurants - Nail Bay, Chez Bamboo, Top of the Baths - all were excellent.
Personal Chef - Two meals at the villa, both excellent with a great island feel.
Water taxi - 1 hour delayed from St. Thomas, return on time. Boat was very clean and the captain was great.
Car rental - easy, affordable and clean

The villa's maid very nice and assisted us as requested.

We did venture out to The Bath's, Virgin Gorda peak as well as a few beaches on the island. It was a maximum 15 minutes to all and very worth it as we had a great time at each.

Would I recommend this villa to others? I believe the following will answer - Among our group, we have several more high-profile birthday's in the near future...the email traffic has already started to go another round at "A Dream Come True".

Owners response: Dear Dave,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay at A DREAM COME TRUE! You certainly hit all the top notes about your stay. I so enjoyed helping you plan for Carole's birthday dinner with Puck and your BEST vacation ever! I'm glad you mentioned that you felt well-prepared when you arrived for your first stay on Virgin Gorda. That's one of the gifts I try to give to all of my guests in advance of their stay in my printed materials, emails, or phone calls ~ my extensive knowledge about the beaches, restaurants, grocery stores, even where to buy specific brands of baby formula....details that can make or break a trip. I have to say I just love sending guests on vacation and hearing back that my employees at A Dream Come True and I have scored another 5-star review! (:

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Heaven"

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

We rented a Dream Come True Villa with family and friends from February 9th through the 16th. Without exception, everyone wholeheartedly agreed that a Dream Come True - the Villa itself, its location, its grounds and its staff - are simply unsurpassed in every way compared to any place we have ever stayed.

This villa not only provides breath taking views night and day, but also provides both the togetherness needed on family vacations and the privacy one seeks on vacation. What I mean by that is there are so many living spaces on the grounds that you can be together any time you want in gorgeous surroundings or you can go to one of the 5 private baloncies and relax on your own.

Another unbelievable feature are the 5 outside tiled showers, where you shower in privacy overlooking the Caribbean. Doesn't get any better than that!! actually, it does - I forgot to mention the infinity pool - overlooking the Caribbean!!

The actual grounds are unbelievable. I do not know of a resort that can compete with the landscaping at a Dream Come True.

We decided to eat at the Villa almost every night, as we simply did not want to leave the Villa. The Villa is completely stocked with every cooking utensil known to man, so it is very easy to put together a great meal.

A must do for diner one night is to have Puck come to cook for you. Not only was his food awesome but we loved watching him put it all together! And of course, as Germaine pointed out, Puck will deliver gallons of painkillers to you once you arrive at the Villa! They are awesome.

If you are going to go out, we highly recommend taking a taxi and eating at Leverick Bay. It was delicious. We also really enjoyed Coco De Maya, which was excellent.

There is so much more to say about this absolutely magnificent place and the hospitality of Germaine and her staff. I strongly encourage you to reserve your stay and have the time of your life. We did and look forward to returning!

Owners response: Dear Fred and Kathleen,

It was a pleasure helping you plan your first trip to Virgin Gorda. Many thanks for staying at A Dream Come True Villa with your friends from New Orleans! Your review touched on so many features of our home that our guests love, such as our outdoor glass block and tile showers with views of the turquoise Caribbean, the hospitality of my staff who have worked with me for 10 years, the beautiful landscaping under the direction of Bridgy, our villa's floor plan - with abundant privacy in all 5 bedroom suites yet many places in and out of the villa to come together and make memories. I know you are a world traveler who expects the best, and I am humbled and honored that A Dream Come True ranked higher in "every way compared to any place we have ever stayed." Our motto is "Your best vacation ever!" and so many of our guests do echo your sentiments. Thank you and do come back soon!

- Germaine Fritz, Owner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A most wonderful vacation in a beautiful house

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

This is the nicest villa we have ever stayed in. It is luxurious, with full-service hotel quality. Additionally, one has the magnificent water views from all bedrooms and common areas; it is a place for escape and peace. For family time, or for a romantic getaway, it is the top. Can't wait to go back. 5 stars! (Rented for a month.)

Owner's Reply:

Bart, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at A DREAM COME TRUE! You are the first guest who ever rented our villa for a month! I look forward to welcoming you back in 2014 to your Virgin Gorda home.

All the best,
Germaine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dreaming Big

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

I don't typically write reviews, but felt the need for this wonderful experience! My boyfriend, his two brothers, and I stayed at this beautiful home in August 2012 as part of Vacations for Veterans. Without the program and Germaine's generosity we would not have been able to stay otherwise.

From the moment you arrive you know it's a special place. The house is beautiful but the views are incredible!! I was relaxed instantly. The layout of the home is perfect, allowing you to spread out and escape to your own space (with beautiful views from every room). Oh, and the kitchen is a dream! The 4 of us love to cook so we rarely went out - instead we visited a few of the stores around the island and tried our hand and cooking some local dishes.

There are so many things to do and see around the island - the Baths, the beaches, Bitter End. We really enjoyed exploring. However nothing beats walking down to the private deck and spending the day snorkeling and kayaking around the bay!

One thing I have to mention - if you like to snorkel, island hop, or scuba dive, you HAVE to call Dive BVI. Jeff and Casey McNutt were incredibly sweet and accommodating. They took us out to various beautiful dive spots around the island. The boys LOVED the scuba diving, though I can tell you the snorkeling is top notch as well!

Germaine and her staff were so welcoming and made our planning and stay so easy. This is a vacation we will always remember.

Owners response: Kelsey and Jon participated in the "Vacations for Veterans" program and stayed at A DREAM COME TRUE VILLA as my guests at no cost. "Vacations for Veterans" gives severely wounded U. S. servicemen and women ~ who must have earned the Purple Heart in Iraq or Afghanistan to qualify ~ a wonderful opportunity for a special vacation at no charge. Although Jon lost both legs, he was a highly skilled scuba diver due to his military training. When I contacted DIVE BVI to ask if they would take Jon and his brothers diving during their complimentary stay at my villa, they replied that on staff was a Vietnam Veteran who would be delighted to host them on daily dives! They rolled out the red carpet for them. A shout out to DIVE BVI! I encourage everyone reading this who owns a second home or condo, please do consider offering a stay to "Vacations for Veterans." The need is great, and it is an honor to give back to these men and women who have served our country with distinction and given so much. All of the Purple Heart recipients I have hosted at my villa have been double amputees, received traumatic brain injuries, or a combination of injuries they will deal with for the rest of their lives.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An amazing getaway

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 12, 2012

Cabs, planes and ferries were worth every minute and mile of travel. A dream come true is more than you can wish for. My week there was one I’ll never forget, especially since I made a video clip of the morning view from my room… Still miss it! I hope to make it back again.
The layout of the villa is amazing. It features a spacious open common area, outdoor patio and infinity pool encompassed by five separate bedrooms suites all with beautiful, peaceful views of the sea and private cove, including when you’re showering in the outdoor showers. This is a great place that can easily accommodate multiple families / couples giving you more than ample space to spend with the entire group and nooks to get some private time if wanted. Accommodations are island chic, clean and comfortable. There are plenty of amenities provided in the bathroom.
The kitchen is a cook’s kitchen stocked with great utensils, pots, pans and spices, not to mention the nice welcome basket! Pina Colada’s hit the spot at sunset in and by the pool.
You can swim, snorkel and kayak in the cove over to soft sandy beaches. The water is warm with an array of fish and coral right off the pier!
We took a lot of the recommendations from Germaine and enjoyed every one of them – We definitely felt like we saw a lot of the island. I was even handing out recs to other tourists which made me felt like a pro!
Hog Heaven, a BBQ restaurant, at the top of the island serves delicious barbeque with a smile and panoramic views of Necker Island, Saba Rock and more. Note there were some mosquitos, so make sure to use bug spray – the restaurant provided it!
A trip to Saba Rock is worth the time – the boat ride over is fun and have lunch or lay in a hammock while you admire the boats and yachts around the harbor.
A hike down through national park, The Baths, and a drink and lunch at the Tops of the Baths are also a must.
In closing, this is a wonderful villa in a magical place that the words can only touch upon.

Owners response: Stacie, thank you for making the trip to A Dream Come True all the way from Los Angeles! I love seeing Virgin Gorda and our villa through the eyes of a first-time visitor like you when they realize the trip was worth the effort. We have many repeat visitors as a result. We'd love to welcome you back again soon!
Germaine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly Breathtaking!!

Review submitted: January 13, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

Went with my Mom for a week stay! From the moment you enter the villa you are immediately wowed! We went to relax and relax we did! How could you not?!

The set up is great for do many different situations. All the amenities you need,every room has its own beautiful view. The pool is awesome!

Every part was immaculate and well cared for!

The beaches are truly unbelievable! The Baths are a must and snorkeling is great! Spring bay is lie your own private beach... My personnel favorite!

Just LOVED this vacation!

Owners response: Cassandra, I know this special trip alone with your mom at A Dream Come True was so important for both of you, and I wanted to do everything I could as your "Virgin Gorda Concierge" to help you plan it so you'd feel relaxed and refreshed by your vacation. From what you told me, your stay was everything you hoped it would be! Thanks for taking the time to share your enjoyment of A Dream Come True and your first trip to Virgin Gorda in your review!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly "A Dream Come True!"

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

From the minute you step through the gate and experience the breathtaking view, you know you have arrived at your ultimate vacation destination! The villa was perfect for two families - the layout allows for privacy when needed, but also has spacious, comfortable areas to share time together. You can enjoy the fantastic view either lying on a raft in the pool or sitting on the veranda. The villa itself is very well maintained and included every amenity you could possibly need. Every bedroom had an unbelievable view and its own bathroom with an outdoor shower! The villa also had kayaks and snorkeling equipment for guests to use.

I highly recommend A Dream Come True Villa!

Owners response: Dear Brian,

Thank you for giving feedback on your stay in April 2012 at A Dream Come True Villa! I am delighted that our villa served as the "ultimate vacation destination" for your family and friends! In addition to the two families staying at my villa, I organized a second villa for three other families in your group. As part of my complimentary "Virgin Gorda Concierge" service, I met with a personal chef to plan breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus for 18 guests per day, and I selected restaurants and made dinner reservations for the two evenings the group dined out. I LOVED hearing that your teenagers rated their Virgin Gorda trip a "10!"

Cheers,
Germaine
Owner, A Dream Come True Villa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream Come True villa

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

My family and I enjoyed EVERY MINUTE spent on Virgin Gorda and at this lovely villa. We did spend alot of fun time in the pool and around the spacious terraces. We loved nearby Savannah Beach, the Bathes, (our rock climber went 5 times!), and discovered Spring Bay which was gorgeous, small, and uncrowded....well, maybe because it rained, but we still had fun! Our family photo is taken there. And I was just presented with a lovely vacation photo book from my kids!
Everything was PERFECT; the house, the help, the views, the kitchen. We cooked alot as my son is a fast and wonderful cook, and everyone liked putting their touches on dinner; especially the Pina Coladas!!! Gorgeous sunsets, and five RAINBOWS (one double) just looking over our horizon!!! It was a dream come true.
Many thanks to Germaine for making and coordinating our various flights and boat rides.......for ten of us! Wishing you all warm breezes

Owners response: Dear Linda,

As soon as you told me this trip was to celebrate your 70th Birthday with your family, I wanted it to be something extra special! I was delighted to help you by coordinating all of the flights for the different families from across the U.S. I even purchased all the flights and chose seat assignments for all segments (with your credit card) because it would be less stressful for you. I rarely do the purchasing of airline tickets for guests, but anything to make this your best vacation ever and get your trip off to a great start!

It sounds like you and your extended family made the most of every moment on beautiful Virgin Gorda ~ the gem of The British Virgin Islands. You mentioned Spring Bay. Isn't it gorgeous? My son was married there in May 2010.

I'd love to see the special book your children and grandchildren made to commemorate your week at A Dream Come True! From what you told me, it was so artistic and showed their abundant love for you.

Thanks for sending me all those photos for the MEMORY BOOK at the villa. I'll put them in on my next trip down to VG.

Many "milestone" events are celebrated at A Dream Come True every year, and I am happy to hear that your birthday week met all of your Virgin Gorda dreams!

You're thinking of another trip. Just give me a call...

All the best,
Germaine

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream Vacation

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

March 31 – April 7, 2012

I stayed at A Dream Come True Villa in April 2012 with my sister and brother and all of our kids – 14 of us in 5 bedrooms, and there was plenty of room for all. I have to say I enjoyed my second stay at A Dream Come True even more than my first time. I didn’t think it could be better in any way, but it was even nicer in big and small ways. The kitchen is completely renovated and gorgeous with granite, all stainless appliances, new dishes, everything brand new! The Great Room has a new look, too. The TV is now a 40” flat screen. Small touches like iPod/iPhone chargers/players in the kitchen and all the bedrooms is sweet since everybody has some kind of device. As a mom, I loved having maid service 7 days a week! Germain the housekeeper was very attentive and friendly as always. We used the kayaks all the time and even took a day trip along the coast with them. En route we had lunch at Nail Bay Resort. They have a new restaurant we loved called “Sugarcane.” Excellent! Another place to go with a crowd of 14 is “The Mineshaft.” They have the best sunset views and free miniature golf and very good casual food. Conch fritters, anyone? We all made a solemn promise to come back again to A Dream Come True in two years, before our family gets too big to fit in our dream house!

Gina Barret

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Gina, welcome back to your Virgin Gorda home away from home! I'm glad you enjoyed the kitchen updates. We're always trying to make A Dream Come True better in every way for our guests' enjoyment. It sounds like you had another great trip. See you in 2014!
All the best,
Germaine Fritz
Owner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Dream Come True

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

We three couples take a winter break every January, and this year we picked Virgin Gorda for the first time. I found A Dream Come True on the internet and was impressed by all its 5 star reviews on all the review sites. I read how the owner was very helpful with guests travel plans and also with planning a chef and boat trips, etc. I found all of that to be true and more! I add my voice to this luxury villa’s 5 star reviews. For two weeks, we had a heavenly vacation, and we’ll be back to this beautiful island and villa next year. January 2013 at ADCT is already booked, so we have to go in February.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Samantha,
It was my pleasure to act as your "Virgin Gorda Concierge" in advance of your stay to help you plan your trip to Virgin Gorda and stay at A Dream Come True Villa in January, 2012. I offer this service to all of my guests - at no charge - and it really does make a big difference in your enjoyment of your vacation, especially when it is your first trip to this precious island. I'm excited that you decided to return for two weeks in February 2013! Here are some nice updates to the villa since you were here four months ago: I just added clock radios with iPod/iPhone chargers in all 5 bedrooms and an iPod player in the kitchen and Great Room, too. Plus, in April I brought down a 40" plasma flat screen TV for watching our DVD collection. We are always looking for ways to make A Dream Come True better for our guests!
All the best,
Germaine Fritz
Owner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another Perfect Trip

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

This review is for my third stay at A Dream Come True Villa. As soon as we arrived and saw the amazing view of the Caribbean Sea from main house balcony, I was reminded as to why I keep coming back. I honestly don't think there is any better view on the island.

This time we stayed with a group of friends (3 couples). The villa is appointed in a spot on the island that is very private. Other areas on the island have homes so close in proximity to one another that you can hear other groups, but not ADCT Villa. It feels like you're at your own private resort. I noticed that the kitchen had been updated since my last stay. New granite countertops, ss appliances, new pots/pans, kitchen equipment, etc. This was a really nice touch since we are a group that likes to cook. We did a lot of dining (and drinking) out as well. Make sure you go to Saba Rock for lunch/dinner. There is a free ferry from Leverick that will take you there. Best Bushwacker on the island and great views.

The villa has daily maid service. This makes such a difference, especially when you're with a big group! And the maid, Germaine, remembered me from my previous trips. So sweet!

The house comes with really nice kayaks and snokel gear, which we used almost daily. We kayaked to all the surrounding beaches (Pond Bay, Savannah Bay, and Mahoe). These are some of the best beaches on the island and they so close to the house! There is also a very inviting horizon pool at the house which we spent A LOT of time in.

I will definitely be back to stay at A Dream Come True Villa, and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Virgin Gorda.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Melissa,

Welcome back to A Dream Come True for your third visit! I know you had a fun-filled time with your friends and hit your favorite spots, like Saba Rock and went kayaking to Pond Bay Beach, Savannah Bay Beach, and Mahoe. You told me the snorkeling was great and you saw so many species of fish! It is nice to have our horizon pool to come home to after a busy day, isn't it? With couples sharing the villa, there is abundant privacy for everyone, but plenty of room to come together and make memories. Melissa, did you have a massage this trip at the villa's seaside patio? That's my favorite way to get on island time! Until next trip...

All the best,
Germaine Fritz
Owner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

OUR THIRD STAY at A DREAM COME TRUE VILLA

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

We were fortunate to spend three weeks at a Dream Come True - February 4-25, 2012. Snorkeling on the island is spectacular! The kitchen at the house provided panoramic ocean views as we made many wonderful meals together with our children and grandchild visiting. After the kids left, we settled into a romantic frame of mind, enjoying sunsets together daily, and walking each day together. We faced hilly terrain as we walked each day on the road around the island; sometimes going as far as "Hog Heaven" for a beer and excellent bbq ribs shared before we headed back to the villa. Renting a boat for a day allowed us opportunity to explore various wonderful snorkeling spots around the island. We swam with turtles, stingray, eels, and even a dolphin and octopus when diving. The warm blue waters and constant warm sea breezes were so balming to our tired souls seeking time away from our busy lives. Islanders are very friendly and welcoming; we always felt safe and appreciated. We definitely found all we needed at a Dream Come True. It was our third visit and we would highly recommend it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

THE PERFECT VACATION

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Virgin Gorda is an amazing place, but what truly made this trip absolutely perfect was "A Dream Come True Villa." This house really does live up to its name. There is no other property on Virgin Gorda comparable to it. I traveled June 11-18 with my husband and children, my brother and his family, and my parents- 11 of us in all. We have traveled all over the world, and I can tell you that you will not find a better vacation home of this quality, where every detail was considered to make our stay enjoyable. From the rooms to the pool and the view- everything was magnificent. The owner, Germaine, helped us from the start with everything from our charter flight reservations to restaurant and sightseeing suggestions. The view from the house is just breathtaking, particularly at sunset. From the oldest (63) to the youngest of our group (5), everyone thought this house was amazing, as was the rest of Virgin Gorda, and we were all sad when our vacation came to an end. And- Gino at Mango Bay Resort next door (who assists in maintaining the villa) was just wonderful from the moment we arrived. If you are looking for the perfect, relaxing vacation in a beautiful private home with the most amazing views you can imagine, then look no further- this truly is a "dream come true". It was a perfect location for the amazing family vacation we were all hoping for. We will definitely be back here in the future!!! Thank you to Germaine, Gino & all the other wonderful staff who made our vacation so memorable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Week in PARADISE! A DREAM COME TRUE VILLA

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

A DREAM COME TRUE has an excellent horizon pool with beautiful landscaping. Views are exceptional, as the house sits high above the water. The location of the house gives a secluded feel, and the beaches are a short walk or paddle and rarely occupied. Car rental a must. Outdoor showers are first class. You won't be missing a bath tub. Clean, big rooms with plenty of gathering spots. I rate it 5 stars!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Beautiful, Warm, and Peaceful - 5-stars!

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2011

A DREAM COME TRUE
Finally a vacation house designed for the guests, and not for the architect’s ego! There are five fabulous bedroom suites that share a spectacular view and yet are nicely separated. A common kitchen/dining/living room area centers the social activities, and a great porch and barbeque/bar area takes advantage of everyone’s need to be outdoors as much as possible. The furnishings are high-end, attractive and practical … classy but not frilly.
There are kayaks to paddle from the shoreline below and sandy beaches on both sides (a short walk or paddle).
Our group preferred to explore the Island from mid-morning to mid-afternoon with lunch out and dinner at “home”.
The housekeeper, Germain, is always on hand but never in the way and happy to assist. She is also a great source of local knowledge.
Altogether a DREAM COME TRUE is a haven for the winter-weary or whatever excuse you need to go somewhere beautiful, warm and peaceful.
Peter and Sally Bent

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A DREAM COME TRUE!"

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

This villa does make you feel like your dreams have come true! Perfect for our two families with 2 young adults per family. Everything written in other reviews is true. Absolutely breathtaking views, wonderful location, every amenity! We loved kayaking, snorkeling and cooking on the patio. Our kids loved driving about Virgin Gorda and using the kayaks and snorkel gear. We loved visiting other sights on the Island (i.e. The Baths, Saba Rock and the Bitter End Yacht Club). Eating at the Rock Cafe and hanging out in the Piano Bar there was great fun. The beaches that we kayaked to were a perfect combination of sand, sun and water and almost deserted! I can't say enough about what a great villa ADCT is and how much I wish we could return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Virgin Gorda at Its Best

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed one of our best vacations ever. This was our first visit to Virgin Gorda and the villa made it a perfect introduction. The villa itself is exceptional. The kitchen is new, the living areas are unusually comfortable and the views from everywhere are spectacular. We really liked the individual outdoor showers with each bedroom. We also enjoyed the easy access to the villa's kayaks and snorkeling equipment, which also gave us easy access to terrific beaches on either side of the villa. Its central location made it easy to tour the island and take advantage of some good restaurants. Dining under the stars every night, whether at a restaurant or at the villa was special. We also can't say enough about the service at the villa throughout our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Really A Dream Come True!

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

My wife and I have traveled to island and beach resorts at least once per year for nearly 30 years in the Caribbean, Mexico, Hawaii, and Costa Rica. This villa is the most beautifully situated and comfortable of any we have stayed at. The view, particularly from in the infinity pool, is magnificent. The location makes all sides of the island an easy car trip and VG is as hospitable and safe a destination as we have experienced. Venture to the "private cove" for a picnic. Leave time to enjoy the Villa complex itself. Snorkel at the end of the adjacent beach. Order rum "painkillers" from the Fritz supplier. Swim at the Boulders. Just relax and enjoy this peaceful spot. Can't wait to return to this gem.

I recommend this villa for a romantic getaway, for families, friends traveling together who want a luxurious, private villa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

OUR MEMORIES ARE WARM AND HAPPY!

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

Dear Germaine,
We have just returned home from our vacation to a blizzard, and our memories of A DREAM COME TRUE are all warm and happy. All our family of 10 has attested to that. We loved your beautiful home - your housekeeper Germain, and helpful Gino, the comfort and privacy. Virgin Gorda is a special place for us. We hope we will be able to spend more time at A DREAM COME TRUE" soon!
With thanks and affection for our total experience,
Joan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2006

From the moment we stepped on Virgin Gorda we knew we were in for something special.We were met at the ferry dock by L&S car rentals and taken to the Villa. The agent helped carry all of our luggage and answered the million questions we had about the island, and like the rest of the islanders he was extremely courteous and knowledgable.
Pictures on A Dream Come True website don't do it justice. Descending down the staircase with beautiful tropical flowers all around, beckoning the vast array of colorful birds, you're suddenly hit awestruck by the view,and know this must be heaven or close to it.
The amenities at the villa were awesome. Everything we needed plus some. From the welcoming Pina Coladas to the amazing horizon pool,kitchen and grill area,kayaks,and a TV that never even got turned on to name a few.We wanted for nothing.No personal detail overlooked. And the maid service was the best.The place was kept immaculate.Every guest room has it's own private bath,with an outside glassblock shower with an incredible view of the Caribbean,my favorite part.From the bed linens,fresh flowers and decor ,you feel like you are in a five star hotel,only better.
From sightseeing to snorkeling,which some of the best on the island is right in front of the villa to taking a kayak over to your own private beach.Kayaks and gear right at the villa.A highlight of the trip was to rent a boat and tour the neighboring islands. Just make sure you stop and get some home-made meat & fruit pies from Miss Gracie for your lunch,in front of the Bath & Turtle.Delicious! Some nights we would sit in the pool trying to decide where to eat only to find the hours had slipped away sipping Pina Coladas and watching the sunsets,that we didn't even go out at all.Dealing with Germaine Fritz was a pleasure.She had every detail covered,even some we didn't even know we needed.Thank you Germaine
Our only regret..leaving.But we knew we'd be back.We did Sept.07.
Gina and Jim Barrett

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5 Star Honeymoon at A Dream Come True

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2006

We stayed at ADCT Villa in July 2006 for a week on our honeymoon -everything about the vacation was superior to anything we had ever experienced - and we have stayed at luxury resorts and villas throughout the USVI and the BVI. The location of A Dream Come True is unbelievable - perched right above the most crystal clear blue sea. We fell asleep each night to the sound of the waves, the most calming, relaxing sound in the world! The villa's location is walking - and snorkeling - distance to the best beaches on Virgin Gorda. We also loved walking to Giorgios' Table, a great Italian restaurant right on the shoreline.

We have been back to this house 2 more times with friends since our honeymoon. It is truly the best vacation we have had - you can choose a day full of adventure - kayaking, hiking, swimming, etc. or you can just plop by the infinity pool and read a book, and crack open a beer...

We also had chefs come many of the nights to cook dinner, a simply luxurious treat! The owner Germaine was such a dear helping us to book our rental car and the plane to Virgin Gorda, she made the experience all the more wonderful.

You will love this caribbean villa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I Can't Imagine What Else We Could Have Asked For

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

As a quick backdrop to this review, I was awarded a Purple Heart due to a serious injury in Iraq in 2006, and through the nonprofit organization called Vacations for Veterans, my wife and I were able to pick a free vacation home for one week. Germaine Fritz and her husband donated their amazing Caribbean villa to us for one glorious week, and I can honestly say it was the best vacation we have ever been on. Even though we have been to the Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, Hawaii, California, New Zealand, South America, Egypt, and other countries, there simply was no comparison.


Because A Dream Come True can sleep up to 10 guests, my wife and I invited a few of our friends; in total there were 6 of us. Because the accomodations are so luxurious, however, we had our own wing (actually a completely separate building!) with an incredible view over the bay directly below us. The infinity pool was the perfect temperature, as was the ocean water it overlooked. Every day we lounged by the pool, and then made our way to the beach, either by kayaking to one of several private areas or by a short drive. The weather was never an issue, with consistently beautiful days one after the other.


There is a small grocery store on the island, and we often stopped by there for food to cook in the spacious, welcoming kitchen filled with modern ammenities. We ate out a handful of times, especially after we found a few tasty places to eat a little off the beaten path. Most of our evening were spent around the kitchen table or in lounge chairs on the deck - it is not often that we get to relax for that long with good friends, and we took full advantage of it!


We were not happy to leave A Dream Come True, but so very excited that we were lucky enough to have the opportunity to stay in such a wonderful home. Germaine had been the perfect hostess, helping to arrange our plane tickets, check-in and car rental. I simply cannot say enough good things about our trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Friends Get-a-Way

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Dream Come True is a 5 bedroom villa embedded in a hill side on Virgin Gorda surrounded by lush vegitation and panoramic views of the ocean. We enjoyed our time there very much.

The Island is one of the most serene and beautiful we have ever visited and the villa itself was nicely decorated, cheerful, comfortable and private. We loved the out door showers that were attached to every bedroom.

The bedrooms were comfortable and the living area was more than any one could ask for. Housekeeping was impeccable. We liked that it had a full kitchen and out door grill. The only thing we needed to provide for ourselves were groceries and bathing suits.

Island beaches were easily accessible from the villa and an inground pool off the out door dining room was an added luxury in the evenings.

The owners were easy to work with, cordial and obliging.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Amazing, The villa is breathtaking

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

This villa is truly awe-inspiring. Everything is in perfect condition, from the pool and tropical landscaping to the interior design. The view is amazing from every location in the villa, panoramic views of turquoise and cobalt ocean in addition to gorgeous nightly sunsets. The staff members are extremely friendly and practice nothing short of excellence in all of their duties.


Now add on to that the beauty of the island and its people. When you are shopping, feel free to leave your car keys in the ignition. No worries. Also, you will feel comfortable walking anywhere at any hour on the whole island with your family. The people of Virgin Gorda are among the most friendly in the Caribbean, and the landscape of this island is breathtaking.


I would recommend this villa to any of my friends and family, and we will most definitely return in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Piece of Paradise - 5 stars

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

This was the second time that our 4 couples rented A Dream Come True. We
never have gone to the same place twice but ADCT was so wonderful the first
visit that we all wanted to return. The pictures of A Dream Come True are
wonderful, but there is nothing like actually being there. There is no photo
that can do the property justice. It is breathtaking! I actually had goose
bumps when I entered through the gate on both visits! The staff, Sharon
and Germaine, are wonderful! The views from the verandas and the infinity
pool are amazing. We all felt as though we were in a piece of paradise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Something To Talk About!

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

Our complete family (9) persons stayed a week in the villa. The three young grandchildren, the four parents and we older grandparents all loved it. Every detail was taken care of. The pool was well maintained; life vests and pool toys were there for our use. The fresh flowers in the rooms were such a delight. The landscaping and flowers around the villa were beautiful. Each bedroom has its own entrance from the outside as well as a private outdoor shower--both major benefits. The view was breath-taking. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Turly A Paradise Retreat!

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2009

We were one of the first families to stay in this villa and have wonderful memories. This is a third visit. Our family of 5 enjoyed the beautiful scenery, pool, fabulous sunsets, watching the sailboats moor nearby, walking to the nearby beach and much more. The staff was friendly and very helpful in assisting with planning activites, reservations, etc. I would recommend this home to anyone looking for a very special experience in paradise. 5 stars!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Luxurious, Private, Restful & Healing

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

Our exhausted, grieving family decided to "do the holidays different" last year. Spending holiday time at a Dream Come True Villa for two weeks was the absolute best decision we could have made. Unmatched panaramic views of the sparkling blue waters soothed our minds while daily snorkeling off the deck healed our weary souls in a way we could not have predicted or described. Spacious kitchen space wrapped in awe inspiring views of the turquoise ocean gave us ample opportunity to enjoy making fresh pasta (or bread, or pizza, or whatever our stomachs desired) as we listened to music chosen to match the culinary adventure. Moments seeking privacy were easily accomodated with the yawning design of the villa, bestowing quiet, nap enabling opportunities surpassed only by the warm wind cloaked open air showers in each bath, again thoughtfully positioned to deliver the "never enough" mind soothing vistas even as we bathed. Our returns to return this year in 2011 speak of our high recommendation (5 stars) for this place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly A Dream Come True!

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

The Mitchell family would like to thank you for letting us use your beautiful home over the holidays...it truly was "A Dream Come True!" Virgin Gorda is a beautiful island. We felt very "cared for"under the vigilance of Gino and his expertise in helping us in everything we asked for, i.e., directions, suggestions, obtaining the doctor when we needed one, even getting lobsters for us. Germain was a gem and we appreciated all she and her helper did for us in keeping the home clean and supplying all of our needs during the stay. She is a very pleasant lady and we were delighted to also meet her husband Angus, in charge of maintenance.
My birthday on the 30th was a hit with Puck coming to cook us dinner with a little entertaining comments as he cooked. The dinner was fantastic and as my youngest grandson said, "this is like eating in a restaurant in our own home. This really is darn good shrimp�! I am sending along a group photo taken our last evening before heading to The Rock Cafe for our dinner on New Year's Eve. The family made use of all forms of activities: snorkeling, sailing, diving, swimming, boating (dangerous, frightening experience when caught in 10ft. swells on way back to Leverick Bay!!!), kayaking, dining, and exploring the Baths. All in all, a grand vacation.
And thank you, Germaine, for all of your help in planning the trip the months before. Your suggestions and instructions to Dana were so helpful.
Happiness to you and your family in the coming year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review