reviews for: listing #19270 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean House rental

Beach Casa de San Juan
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  San Juan
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $542 - $828 /nt
    $3,800 - $5,800 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Birthday Get Away

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

WOW is all I can say. Thank you so much for letting our friends and us rent your beautiful vacation home for my 51st birthday. It was truly amazing. We quickly learned where the grocery store was as we chose to eat at home every night. They almost knew us by name, lol. The early morning walks on the beach were breath taking as was the ocean itself. We had a blast spending hours in the ocean talking and bobbing in the waves. Old San Juan was not even 15 minutes away and we enjoyed our day we spent there. Rey was so helpful to us. When we arrived, he politely met us at the curb and showed us every room in the house. I felt like we were on HGTV as the house was gorgeous and well kept. We lacked for nothing and felt very safe being there or being away from the house. It was a really great experience. Thank you again and we will for sure be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Reunion House

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

I chose the house to accommodate 20 plus people for a family reunion. I was impressed with this house.. It was very clean and provided a home away from home feeling we needed for the holiday! We all enjoyed the beach mere steps from the house, the pool, which the kids loved,and the propane grill which we used for our Thanksgiving BBQ.. The house was large enough where you didn't feel like you were on top of each other and could have your own personal space but also areas where we could have our gatherings! The kitchen was stocked with the necessities and enough towels to go around!!! The house was in a great area there was a grocery store that's about a mile away that will give you a ride back,a nice restaurant and local stores within walking distance for souvenirs!! We didn't have to rent cars we relied on taxis, be aware if you choose this mode there will be a per person rate, but non the less it was fairly easy to get around. All in all I didn't have any complaints from my family and would recommend this house to any one who'd ask!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Fabulous Time and Gorgeous Home

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

Oh My Gosh what a wonderful time we had in Puerto Rico!! Several couples went together for an anniversary trip and this house was perfect for us. It was just as described above. It was immaculately kept and spacious enough that we had privacy if needed, but we thoroughly enjoyed all hanging out downstairs together. The beach was an easy 1 minute walk and just beautiful. After a day at the beach we loved coming back and getting in the pool and hot tub and grilling out on the patio for dinner. Rey the house manager was awesome and so accommodating. He was always available for any questions we had and took great care of us. As soon as we walked in and were shown around, it immediately felt like home. The kitchen was beautifully stocked with dishes, pots and pans for cooking. The rooms were gorgeous and so comfortable. We lacked for nothing and to us that was the perfect get away!! The house was located very close to the grocery store, restaurants and casinos. Nothing was more than a 10-15 minute drive. I want to personally thank the owner for thinking of all the small things that make people feel right at home...we all certainly did and had an absolutely fabulous time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Good, The Not So Bad and the REALLY UGLY

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

We got married in Puerto Rico on July 6th and we rented the house for us and our immediate family. The house is pretty much as advertised. The Good: Big, clean House, Close to the beach, perfect for a big family or group. The Not So Bad.. the house can be updated just a bit.. minor wear and tear. Also, being that it is close to the beach, the street that the house is on seems like one of the main entrances to the beach so there was alot of traffic, Issues with the refrigerator keeping our stuff cool and some kitchen sink issues (water from the sink leaking from the dish washer). Now the Ugly.. on Sunday July 7th, my wife and I woke up to take off on our honeymoon. I called the house manager (who was always available by phone) to let him know about the plumbing issue. He said he will contact a plumber ASAP. I advised him that we were leaving on our honeymoon and that my family was going sightseeing and no one will be there. He said it was not a problem. While on the cruise ship about to take off later that afternoon, I get a call from my brother in law that the house was broken into. They pushed in one of the side windows and stole jewelry, clothes, and sneakers (they even left their old shoes in the house). I contact the house manager and he calls the cops right away. I get back from the honeymoon and contact the home owner.... long story short.. nothing was done about it... I got pretty much an "oh well" response. So if you're looking to rent the place.. make sure they put bars up on the window or some type of security system and there is something on the contract that you sign about liability.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: While we deeply regret the break in issue that this renter experienced, I must say that I have owned the house for over 10 years, have had my wife and four small kids reside there for 2 months at a time on multiple occasions, and have gone above and beyond to secure the house. This is the first incident we have ever had, IN TEN YEARS. We have a 9' wall surrounding the property with security wire on the top, and bars on virtually every window that is accessible. This particular window was in a stair well, behind the 9' wall, and was the "roll out type" window, not the "slide open" type. The intruder actually had to pry the window frame out of the cement wall to gain access. This problem has been fixed. There is also a safe in the master bedroom and we recommend all jewelry and cash be kept there just in case. Please understand, Puerto Rico is not like main land America. If you leave anything in sight, in your car, in the yard, on the beach, anywhere, it will be GONE. You must be wise and always keep your eyes open and your valuables locked up. The police aren't terribly concerned about crime, and the overwhelming majority don't even speak English. This is not to say you are not safe, you just must carry yourself as if you are in a second world country and not in Anywhere USA. The beaches are beautiful, the hotels, casinos, restaurants, clubs, and sightseeing are second to none, but the crime rate is high. Please act accordingly. Again, we deeply regret the horrible incident that this guest experienced, and we have offered a free week at the house for restitution. Please see our other reviews to understand just how great this home is.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Comfy, Practical Place for Family Reunion

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Beach Casa de San Juan was perfect for our large family! There are many "cozy corners" that facilitated fellowship -- hanging out by the pool, cooking meals together, and sipping coffee and eating dessert in the den after the little ones went to bed. On the other hand, the design of the house also allowed each of us to get away for quiet, solitary times, either upstairs or in our own bedrooms. San Juan and the entire island of Puerto Rico offered lots of options for the active ones among us, while the beach down the street was absolutely perfect for parents of little ones who stayed behind from some of the outings -- and it provided entertainment for the "activists" in between their expeditions.
We did find the towel supply ample: perhaps the owners added the basket of beach towels, or perhaps the other reviewer had not discovered the linen closet that our daughter-in-love found. (This house has so much to offer. Maybe a binder with lists of where things are and instructions for things like the jacuzzi would be helpful.) The kitchen was well stocked with cooking tools, and previous renters left spices and condiments, so fixing meals was easy. Since we brought laptops and iPads, the WIFI was invaluable. When one son received an urgent email for which he needed the printer and scanner in order to respond, Rey, the house manager came over right away to get him a new printer cartridge -- much appreciated! Not everything in the house was in "Marriott perfect" condition, but the glitches were easy to work around, the house was nice and clean, and the worn edges on some of the furniture welcomed us to put our feet up and relax. This was our first house rental, so we did not know to bring shampoo and conditioner, but those supplies were easy to buy. The biggest drawback for us was the distance. We can't all afford to fly to our family reunion each year, but if we could, we'd make this our permanent destination!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Big family, big house, great vacation!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

This is a great house in a great location. We had a large family group of 14, and were very comfortable. Kitchen was fully equipped. Everyone had a comfortable bed. We all loved the beautifully landscaped patio with pool and jacuzzi. It was the gathering place for us night and day! We had room to park 2 minivans off the street, which was a plus. We did not have luck with the computer, but there was wifi and several of our group had iPads or laptop, so no big problem. We also had no problem with water pressure. The house is an easy walk to the beach, even for our 3 year old granddaughter and 82 year old great-grandmother. The beach is very wide and clean, but the waves are pretty rough. Great for walking and wading, but not much swimming. Several restaurants and bars are within walking distance, and grocery store is a 10 minute drive. Easy drive into Old San Juan, and we went several times for sightseeing, shopping, and dining. The only possible improvement would be to have a few more towels in the house, especially since it is a house designed for a large group. Needless the washer & dryer were invaluable! It's not a deal breaker, but the stairs between floors inside is very steep , and alternate spiral staircase outside is very narrow. Just take your time & hold the rail. All in all many great features and very comfortable place to stay. I'd do it again in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

June 2012 vacation

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

The house and property were as advertised, and as expected! The short distance to the beach, stores, and dining made it easy to stay right around the house when we didn't feel like driving. On the whole, I give it 2 enthusiastic thumbs up!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we greatly appreciate the review.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

June 2012 vacation

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

The house and property were as advertised, and as expected! The short distance to the beach, stores, and dining made it easy to stay right around the house when we didn't feel like driving. On the whole, I give it 2 enthusiastic thumbs up!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Perfect Family Rental

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

The house was amazing and accommodated my family of 14. We never felt cramped and everyone slept comfortably. The location was perfect.. walking distance to beach and minutes away from grocery store and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this property and will stay here again on our next family vacation to Puerto Rico.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great House

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

The location of this house is wonderful. We had 13 people and everyone had enough room to have some privacy. The house is beautiful and the pool was great to have after a day at the beach. You are steps from the beach and it was wonderful to have parking so we didn't have to fight the street parking. The house was clean and very comfortable. We had a great time. I highly recommend this rental in the San Juan area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Two Thumbs Up!!!

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

This house is wonderful. We had 15 people for 9 days. We never felt crowded and there was lots of areas to get away from the crowd if needed. Although the beds were all full I felt like it would accomodate many more people. I would definately recommend this property.
We didn't have any problems with the internet. The computer was actually very fast. It would have been nice to have a working printer. Needing directions and boarding passes etc... But either way it was nice to have access rather than take our own.
I feel like the previous reviews were very accurate. We also did some initial cleaning upon arrival. The washer and dryer are a great asset especially with the pool. The information book was very helpful. I would recommend adding the location of the circut breaker box and where to buy propane. As these were issues we had. Thanks to the previous reviews we knew about purchasing all the staples ahead of time.
All the people we had contact with from the initial reservation to checking out and follow up were very friendly and professional. It was nice working with them.
The beach is close and very clean. There was a constant flow of security and an assortment of beach vendors walking around. It was busy on the weekend but still not crowded.
This is a great place to vacation and the house is it's own getaway.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Washington State Party of 8 +

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

This house was amazing!! So large that we really didn’t use the upstairs at all! The master bed room was the best! It was connected to the house but off from the main part so with the A/C running you didn’t hear anything. (Except the random dog that was on the patio from time to time behind the house, horrible barking the first two mornings) I do have to say the house was a bit dirtier in the inside then I expected for the price you pay. We did have to do a bit of initial cleaning…. We loved the pool that is where I spent a good amount of time. (would suggest to the owner to re-write on the pipe for clearer instruction on which valve is for which heat/cool) The internet was off and on which did make it hard at times and the water pressure was touch and go at times too. Other then these few minor things the place was perfect. Especially for a large group! We all had our own space but would come together in the amazing kitchen. The washer and dryer was a huge plus to have right off of the kitchen too! Our group loved the I-phone dock which was used 24/7! I have to say I have never used a magic bullet before but it makes the best pina colada’s in the world which is for use in the house!!! One thing to plan for is the house initially gets you set up with the essentials (paper towel, toilet paper, ect..) but you are responsible for the remainder of your trip which this was fine but we did look for extra’s for two days. The location of this place is perfect! The beach is just steps down the street, and just steps the other way is a must try bakery! The book in the house (black cover) is very helpful, FYI! I would come back to Puerto Rico just for this house……… oh yeah and don't be to alarmed there are some large lizards in the back by the pool. Scared me many times but they are more scared of you then you are them!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Awesome Family/Friends Vacation Rental!

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 2, 2010

My Best Friend had a destination wedding (16 people). This was a great home for us during the week stay. The 1st day, we had a hard time finding a place to eat or even going to the grocery store (we had arrived in the evening so it was dark). I wish there was a list of address for those things. There was a book of references that other people had recommended but who's going to read through it when you are trying to settle in. But after the the 2nd day, we pretty much had it down.

I love the distance between the property and the beach, which is not even a block AND it's very clean! We met a really great neighbor (Wendel), two doors down. He's at the beach everyday. If you ever meet him, please salute him. He's in the Army and my hero!

Overall, the property was as expected like in the images shown. I wished the upstairs back patio was more functional and had more plants/area to enjoy-like patio tables and chairs. There were only 2 chairs and a wicker coffee table. The space is huge-you can do so much with it. The water pressure in the main bathroom that I used (maybe even all bathrooms) wasn't very strong, it took me 10 minutes longer to shower. Also, the water temp is eigther hot or cold, it was hard to adjust to the right temp. We had problems with the plumping, the sink was clogged.

The internet either worked or didn't for the day. The printer was broken so we couldn't print out directions to our destination, luckily I had my IPhone with me to navigate. The majority of the time was inconvenient for us to look up anything because of the internet being down so many times. I recommend investing in the internet and printer to make it more hospitality for your renters. It looked like the internet was shared with neighbors or something.

I had a wonderful time and enjoyed the vacation. Fix those minor things and make it stress-free for your renters.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review