reviews for: listing #19280 - Sanibel Island, Florida Condo rental

Gulf Front Condo - 25 Feet to the Beach - Free Bikes
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ocean's Reach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,095 - $2,975 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

A positive experience

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Greetings,

Just wanted to let you know that we really enjoyed our recent stay at your unit in spite of the horrible weather for the first several days. Unit was exactly as portrayed - great view, exceptionally clean, quiet, and well appointed. As I am told that I sometimes have a unique perspective of things, I also really appreciated the convenient location of the assigned parking.

Once again, thanks for helping make our stay at Oceans Reach such a positive one.

Cy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better than expected

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

May 14, 2012

Dave -
We just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed your beautiful condo last week. We could find no fault whatsoever. It is not often that we can say everything was better than expected, but your condo certainly fits that description. The size is perfect and the view of the Gulf was so peaceful. This was easily one of the best vacations we have had in recent years. We look forward to coming back again and again!!

Best wishes,
Tom and Lorraine

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had an awesome time

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

We had an awesome time at your condo on Sanibel. The check-in and check-out process was simple and the people in there were most helpful suggesting restaurants etc. It's extremely beneficial to have the check-in on the property. We especially enjoyed the use of the bikes and all the other equipment in the storage locker. Your place was well maintained and extremely clean and comfortable. We will definitely look to stay at your place again when we return to Sanibel.

Diane

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Returning guest

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Dear Dave and Sandy

My friend and I have used your condo on multiple occasions over the years. It’s always a pleasure to walk in and look out at the ocean view, open the doors and windows and let the breeze come in . . . the relaxation is so needed during our winter vacation.

We always find the unit in tip top shape. It’s so nicely decorated . . . and I love the TV cabinet with the glass shelves and the various sea shells you’ve found over time . . . lovely. I enjoy puzzles and will work on one while there . . .no rush, no hurry. I’ve also left one behind in the hope that someone else will enjoy working on it during their vacation time.

I love walking the beach and picking up shells, and my friend, Joyce, feels great relaxation lying in the sun on the beach. When the breeze is a bit much, it’s nice to go to the pool there, which is somewhat protected from the winds . . . but still affords plenty of sunshine and relaxation. It’s nice to see familiar faces when we come back year after year.

I love the layout of the master room and bathroom . . . it’s bright and cheery. Being able to just walk out a slider onto the lanai is another benefit. I don’t even mind waking early to watch the sunrise – which I can do from the bedroom or the lanai. Stunning! I have many wonderful pictures. Joining others on the beach at sunset is a special part of the day . . . watching the beautiful sunsets and enjoying the friendly chatter with other guests.

We look forward to future trips – and thank you for sharing your lovely spot with us. I love Sanibel Island, and hope to return again this coming year.

Very truly yours,

Kathy
Westford, Massachusetts

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will return

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

Good morning, David. Just wanted to let you know that my mother and I have fully enjoyed our time here at Ocean's Reach. The condo is beautifully decorated, perfectly situated, and so comfortable for us. The beach is very nice and it was wonderful to listen to the sounds of the Gulf surf each night. I'm truly sad that we have to check out tomorrow!
Thanks again for arranging everything for us. I am certain we will come back!
Regards,
Amy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome experiemce

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

Awesome experience
The condo and resort was very clean. The kitchen had everything imaginable including a blender for frozen drinks when returning from the beach. The pictures were accurate and we were very pleased upon arrival. The condo is in an excellant spot right by the elevator which made it easy to bring things to and from the car. The bedrooms had many drawers for storage as well as a closet that could accomodate suitcases. Our party consisted of (2) adults, (2) teenager girls and (2) 10 year old boys. The condo was large enough that we did not step on everyone's toes. The wireless internet had very explicit directions for connecting to it. We used this to check out local restaurant menus before making dinner plans. Make sure that you check out the book within the condo for places to visit and eat. We found this to be a great way to make our plans. (4) bikes came with the rental and we rented (2) additional bikes through the office. This was a perfect way to travel around the island - just make sure you use the bike map. We rode the bikes to the grocery store, meals and general shopping. I think this was the only vacation that we all came home skinnier than when we left. The beach was clean and very close to the condo. Take advantage of the beach chairs and umbrellas in the closet by the carport. Bring your tennis rackets and use the sign up sheet to reserve court times. The owner of the property was extremely helpful. He promptly returned phone calls if we had to leave a message. We will definately stay at this unit if we get another opportunity to go back to Sanibel Island.
Rating:
5 out of 5

Linda, Smithton, IL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Views from every room

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

Hi Dave--
We really enjoyed staying at your condo and would be happy to return another time. The photos you sent were accurate of the building/condo. The view was still fantastic and one of our favorite parts. We could see the ocean from the front bedroom, living room/dining room and even the kitchen as we cooked!

The condo and bldg. facilities were impeccable. You may remember we were debating between your complex and Pointe de Sanibel. We had a chance to visit Pointe de Sanibel and your comparisons were very accurate. The complex looks more resort-like, the condos were larger, but the beach and (small) pool was shared with all of the guests from their very large complex. We preferred the tranquility of Ocean's Reach. We were visiting at a time when Sanibel was not that busy, but while your pool had just a few people at most, Pointe de Sanibel had almost all of their chairs taken. I can only imagine what it would be like during a busy season.

The bikes were an added bonus-- the whole family really enjoyed biking around the island. The condo was just perfect for us, enough space in the bedrooms, kitchen and living space.

Muchas gracias!!

we had a great time.

Alyson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing, beautiful and tranquile

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

November, 2011
We just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at Ocean's Reach on Sanibel Island. The accommodations were just as we had hoped...relaxing, beautiful, tranquile.
Andrea and Ted

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great location

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

Just a note to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay in your Sanibel condo! The location couldn't have been better--close to everything by car or bike, but private and secluded as well. The decor in the condo was charming and up-to-date, and right next to the elevator for loading and unloading, The views of the beach were fabulous! The beach itself was beautiful and loaded with shells--I had to buy two tote bags to bring them all home! And finally, you supplied everything, right down to bicycles, beach chairs, and umbrellas! Most of the other units required separate rentals for these items. We appreciate all your attention to detail and your friendly attitude as well! Thanks so much!! We hope to spend lots of time in your condo again in the future!
Cindy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise found

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Hi Dave,

Just wanted to drop you a note to say how much we enjoyed staying at your condo at Ocean's Reach! It really was like paradise and was the exact quiet R N' R that we needed! The weather was unbelievably perfect the entire week - I did not expect it to be that hot in October, even in Florida. The wildlife was amazing! We were so lucky to get there on the Sat. night just before it got dark and the view when we opened the condo hall door, took my breath away!! Sanibel is really a special place!

You have created a really beautiful home there - I hope you and Sandy get to enjoy it often! Hopefully we can come back - soon!

Thanks again for sharing your home with us,

Caroline & Eddie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome vacatiion

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

August, 2011
Our vacation was awesome in large part to this outstanding condo. There were 4 of us and the two bedroom / batthroom setup worked much better than our last Sanibel stay in a 1 bathroom hotel room. The furnishings, decor, and appliances were all top notch and everything was clean and in perfect condition. Having a washer/dryer in the condo was a godsend with the frequent visits to the beach and physical activities. The 3rd floor location provided a wonderful view of the gulf and some privacy on the lanai. I really appreciated having the quality free bikes provided and we enjoyed many fun bike rides around the island. As for the Oceans Reach complex, the tennis court was newly refinished and was a pleasure to play on. Having an assigned carport was very handy and kept our car from baking in the sun all day. My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for convenience, upscale ambiance, and relaxation. I would especially recommend it for families because it allows everyone to have a little private space and time unlike a hotel room. Thank you Dave and Sandy for sharing your lovely home! We'll be back!
Larry and Janet

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

9

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Mr. Herrick,

I wanted to let you know that our recent stay at Ocean's Reach was one of the best beach vacations we have ever had! The condo was absolutely immaculate and we enjoyed the view of the gulf every minute we were there!

To my surprise, my oldest daughter flew in and joined us for a few days. It had been 11 years since the three of us had time alone like that!

We will definitely be coming back!

Have a wonderful summer and thank you again for your help!

Teresa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

8

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

Hello David,
I have been meaning to email you since we returned from Sanibel.
Just wanted to say what a wonderful time we had. Your condo was perfect in every way and we were delighted when we saw it, there was everything we could have needed, with a view to rival anything else we have seen!
The bikes were great (we used 2 adult ones and went to Billy's for the kids).
We found some wonderful restaurants, and even better sunsets!
Thanks again for everything, we hope to be back one day!
We will also recommend you to any of our friends heading to Florida.
Lisa=

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

7

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Hi Dave,
Your condo at Ocean’s Reach provided THE most relaxing vacation I’ve had in years! The location on Sanibel is just perfect – out of the Periwinkle Way bustle, but accessible to everything. The condo was so well appointed that, by the time I left, I felt I had been living there for months.

It was great to be able to use your bikes and beach chairs, after flying in from Chicago. Finally, your condo’s situation in the complex is ideal – high enough up to avoid the foot traffic to beach and pool, but with beautiful gulf views. I was happy to book immediately for next year!
Best,
Marie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

7

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

dave - i wanted to let you know that we are really enjoying our stay at ocean's reach. your condo is lovely and the facilities are terrific. i hope you have a great holiday.

margo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

6

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

Hi Dave,

Just wanted to drop you a note to say how much we enjoyed staying at your condo at Ocean's Reach! It really was like paradise and was the exact quiet R N' R that we needed! The weather was unbelievably perfect the entire week - I did not expect it to be that hot in October, even in Florida. The wildlife was amazing! We were so lucky to get there on the Sat. night just before it got dark and the view when we opened the condo hall door, took my breath away!! Sanibel is really a special place!

You have created a really beautiful home there - I hope you and Sandy get to enjoy it often! Hopefully we can come back - soon!

Thanks again for sharing your home with us,

Caroline & Eddie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Dave & Sandy:

Your place is AWESOME! And so is the Florida weather this week. We are enjoying ourselves and we thank you for
letting us stay in your condo. You were right in your ad, there is everything we need for the kitchen, and your blender
makes great margaritas!

Deb

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

4

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

David,

Just wanted to send you a quick note to let you know my wife and I had another great Sanibel vacation at your condo. We both commented that in our 20+ years going to Sanibel, your condo was probably the best equipped we ever had. Thanks again and we will think of you when we book our next Sanibel vacation. Our first time at Oceans Reach and it was great. The hallway construction noise was very limited - so no real issue.

Dave

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

Dear Dave,
Just to let you know that we had a super week in your lovely condo on Sanibel. I can well understand why you feel so proud of it. It is certainly of a very good standard and extremely well-equipped. The view is superb - we enjoyed looking for dolphins - and it was lovely to hear the constant sound of the ocean. Andy "snapped us" one evening washing our shells and we are now posted on the Ocean's Reach blog, minus our beautiful Floridian suntans, which we had gained by the end of our vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

David,

We had an AWESOME time on vacation at Sanibel. THANK YOU SO MUCH for helping us get our reservation at Ocean's Reach. We LOVED the complex!! So much better than Pointe Santo. We WILL be back to Ocean's Reach. The unit we stayed in was incredible. I'm glad we took your advice and booked that unit. The view was stunning. One day we happen to see a waterspout. That was neat to see. Not a few minutes later, they broke into TV to issue a warning for the waterspout. We also had the pleasure of seeing 102 sea turtles being born. We sat by the nest all week. Our last day there, they hatched and the conservationists were there releasing them. That was very neat to see. I've attached a picture for you to see.

Thank you again for all you did to help us. We really do appreciate it.

Bea

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

1

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Hello
I would just like to let you know that when we stayed at your apartment in Sept/Oct we had a really wonderful time. Everything was just as your website described and we were thrilled to bits with it all. We had perfect weather, the dolphins swam past daily and the Island/beaches were beautiful, our daily bike rides were wonderful We have all agreed that we would like to go back asap as we are missing it! The staff at Oceans Reach were really nice and when we had a problem with the washing machine they were super efficient.

Kind regards
Fiona, Chris and Geoff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review