reviews for: listing #19298 - Lake Anna, Virginia House rental

Ridgecrest Vista Retreat - Fun in the sun!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Stonewall Estates
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $550 - $1,285 /wk
    $1,650 - $3,855 /mth

sort by:

Late Winter Relaxation

Review submitted: March 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

My group of 7 had a great time at this fine lakehouse. The owners were quite friendly and were eager for us to get in touch with them if we had any problems. The broadband wi-fi was a nice touch as well. A quite spacious inside with a full equipped kitchen (quite frankly I believe the rates are a bit generous)and a grill and smoking bin on the patio. Minor wear and tear along the walls but expected from a place with high rental volume.

I cannot imagine the fun to be had at this location during the summer with so many things to do! All of the amusement parks and lake attractions shall be in full swing. My group had plans to keep us entertained but a day or two inside this cozy establishment was an enjoyment within itself.

The only downside we noticed was pet hair on the couches which stuck to us as we inhabited the house but given that it is a pet-friendly area, nothing to be concerned about. There was an issue with the dishwasher but the owners were quick in response and made sure it would be fixed for the next tenants.

They even allowed us to setup a makeshift bonfire outside on the frontlawn which has a magnificent view of the lake. It was wonderful. For families considering a home away from home to stay during the summer, I would highly recommend you consider this lakehouse tenfolds!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Mixed feelings

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

We loved the house itself--clean, equipped with more than just the usual kitchen wares, and lots of room. Minor wear and tear. The owner was very responsive, and they were welcoming of our pets! We didn't have internet until the last 2 days, and the description of wifi in the list of amenities was not completely accurate. The kitchen sink's drain in the left basin has a serious leak that I reported but found out it has been an issue... we discovered it after the sink's cabinet floor was flooded. Overall, the house was great!
However, potential renters should be cautioned before renting this particular lake house if you expect to bring your own boat or jet skies, or if you think you can use the neighborhood dock for swimming or fishing: this part of the experience was very negative. The description of the rental and its amenities notes that the owner can make arrangements for you to use the neighborhood's private launch and slips if you ask. However, this does not mean that you will have use of the dock or slip even if you are promised a slip. We rented the house at least 2 months in advance and told the owner that we needed a slip for our boat during our week's stay as a condition of us renting this particular house. It was never indicated that this would be an issue, that the other owner's had issues with strangers/renters using it, or that there had been thefts at these slips. First we were told by the owner that he had made arrangements with one of the other owners for us to use his slip (#2). The first day we launched our boat, the neighbor directly beside of the row of slips saw us and ran over. She was rude and snobbish, demanding to know if we were "actually" family or friends of owners of "Stonewall Estates." We were very offended. The owner commented to me that it was ok that she question us the way she did because of recent thefts and misuse in their slips by non-owners. We were never told this (of course one should assume there can be such risk in general, but its important to know that such things have literally and recently occurred in this location). The 2nd day we used the slip that was promised to us, the actual owner of slip #2 was launching his boat and told us we had to vacate the slip right then. He was very nice about it, but it was embarrassing that he seemed to know nothing about us using his slip. This was day 3 of our 7 day LAKE vacation, and we were left without a place to keep our boat on the lake.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: We've been renting our house to guests for over 8 years now. We have a long list of those that have been very pleased and some that come back year after year. This is the first review we've ever received with fewer than 5 stars.

In any business there will always be those who are impossible to please. In this particular case, we welcomed their pets, one free and one at half price. We called around to our neighbors and found them a boat slip to use at no charge. We arranged have high-speed wireless Internet available so they could stay in touch while on vacation. While they were staying in our house the worst storm of the decade slammed the East Coast. While other communities were without power for more than two weeks, our underground utilities performed flawlessly. The only inconvenience our guests suffered was a temporary loss of Internet and a small leak under the kitchen sink, made worse by somebody trying to fix it. Our guests had full and unlimited use of the community area, boat launch ramp, picnic pavilion, and boats slips for fishing and swimming. All they had to do was display our parking pass on their car to avoid problems. Instead they chose to pick a fight with one of our neighbors.
There are many things we have control over but the weather and the actions of others are not included in that list. It was unfortunate that our neighbor who graciously lent them his slip at no charge decided at the last minute that he needed it himself. When we heard, we immediately offered to make more calls to find our guests another slip. We called a plumber to fix the kitchen sink as soon as we were notified and we made sure that our Internet provider got the service back up as rapidly as possible after the storm. I've asked our guest several times how we could make this up to her, but she refuses to return my calls. I just don't know what else we could have done to make this person happy. I guess no good deed goes unpunished.

Helpful votes: 5 / 9


Our Two Boys LOVED it

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

My small family (myself, husband and two boys, ages 4.5 and 2) rented this house for a long weekend in October. It was a terrific experience!

There was plenty of room, and the house included a high-chair, pack-n-play, a child gate, and other child gear. The boys especially loved the air hockey game upstairs, and would "sneak" upstairs to play it when they woke up each morning (secretly giving Mom and Dad and extra hour of sleep). I loved being able to watch them play in the living room while I prepared and cleaned up from meals. Although we didn't use the upstairs bedrooms, there's plenty of room for a big group there (8 extra beds!).

We spent lots of time on the decks, and at the various parks and beaches around the lake. It was a wonderful location and a great house!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 6


Wondeful place for a Vacation

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We stayed in this property during the Independence day holidays and it was exactly as shown in photos. Nice location easy to find. The House was very spacious and has lots of entertainment. This will be a convenient location and wonderful stay for people interested in doing activities in the lake. Definitely recommend this for people interested in get away near Ricmond VA.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 7


Wonderful house with exceptional view

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

I was looking for a nice house to have a family reunion after my daughter’s wedding. This house was perfect for the occasion. It is in an exceptional location with a beautiful view of the lake. I especially enjoyed the sun rise from the front of the house, I never saw a more beautiful scenery with the reflection of the red sun in the water, the birth singing and far away the sound of the cows. It seems we were alone in the middle of this paradise but we were only 2 minutes from a nice small beach and 10 from Lake Anna state park. There are several grocery stores only few minutes away to buy milk, bread or ice cream. The house is very big and well design. The pictures do not show the comfort that you experience once you are in. The master bedroom has an amazing view of the lake, the deck ideal to get the family together for a relaxing BBQ when the kids play on the big yard. They have plenty of games available for young and old people. I recommend this house for all occasion and all ages. You will not be disappointed. I hope we will be able to do it again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review