reviews for: listing #19312 - Higgins Lake, Michigan Cottage rental

*Extremely Clean, 1 mile to South Higgins Lake Beach & Park*
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $600 - $825 /wk

sort by:

Immaculate, beautiful, comfortable cottage!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

This cottage is just gorgeous! It was immaculately clean, organized, decorated beautifully and we loved staying there. There is a full wrap around porch that leads to the backyard where there is a fire pit, which was nice in the evening. It is close to everything, including the beach, canoeing, tubing. I would highly recommend staying there to family or friends.

Owners response: Thank-you so much for your wonderful review. We work really hard to have an exceptionally nice and clean place for our wonderful guests to enjoy. Come and see for yourself and enjoy the beauty of Higgins Lake with your family and friends at our wonderful cottage!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Cottage in a great location

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

The cottage is very nice... very clean and it has that up north cottage feeling. The kitchen table, beds, and chairs are rustic log construction. It has all the amenities; nice kitchen with microwave and it has a washer and dryer.
This is a great location since it sits between 2 of the nicest lakes in Michigan. We did beach days both at the south and north Higgins Lake state parks. We hiked at Marl Lake and picked huckleberries. We took our young grand children to Houghton Lake to ride go carts and small kid carnival rides. We also went to the petting zoo in Roscommon. Last but not least, there are two great ice cream parlors 5 minutes away.

Bring your bikes!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review and we are so happy you enjoyed the cottage and the location! Higgins Lake is a beautiful lake located just over a mile away from the cottage where you can rent a boat,a pontoon, etc. It's the perfect lake to enjoy with your family and friends, whether its swimming, boating, tubing, or water skiing. Come to our cottage and bring your family and friends and build memories at our beautiful cottage and Higgins Lake!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Guest book

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

January 29-31, 2010

What a great weekend! We arrived at approx. 11:30 Friday night cold and tired, but just seeing the cabin boosted our spirits!! Saturday morning we cooked breakfast and headed out for the snowmobile trails (it was 12 degrees!!) They were great and we even got hot coca and hot dogs from the trail grooming group. All afternoon we (the girls!) warmed up while the guys ice-fished. Unfortunately - they only brought home smelt! We had a delicious dinner - obviously not freshly caught - and shared lots of laughs! It was a perfect getaway - your cottage is beautiful! Thanks a bunch!

Erica and Mike, Brown City, MI
Craig and Amanda, Lake Orion, MI

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our Guest book

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

From the Z. Family August 8-15, 2009

We had a great time this week. We spent almost every day at South Higgins Beach. Great times were had around the campfire - roasting smores and chasing mosquitoes away. Took many bike rides around the subdivision and local area. Had Andy's pizza one night - very good. Nibbles has great ice cream too. On Friday, we went canoeing and kayaking in Grayling. It was very peaceful on the AuSauble river. We finished our week with a round of mini-golf at Pirates Cove in Houghton Lake. Also, we went earlier in the week and saw the Osprey nesting near Houghton Lake. Wish we had longer but time to return to reality. Found a new smore to love (Reeses) instead of Hersheys.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our guest book started July 2, 2005!!!

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

This is my second entry from our guest book. I would have liked to include some from the previous years but this calendar only goes back to 2009. When you rent, please feel free to read all our previous guests comments.

Since we are not allowed to use last names, I will just put the initial of the family that rented.

E. family writes... returned for second stay in this sweet cabin. We've loved Higgins Lake for seventeen years -- our oldest played hide-and-seek in the trees and waded in the clear water. He's nearly college-bound now!! The lake holds such dear memories. Had a wonderful week - played well... boated, played in the sand, trip to Macinaw Island. Sure don't want to leave.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our Guest book located at the Cottage

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2009

June 20-June 27, 2009

We had beautiful weather for our 2nd visit to the cottage!! 80's all week, (ok, 90's one day), and sunny! On the hot day we drove to Traverse City and spent a couple of hours in our air conditioned truck :) We spent lots of time at the north Higgins state park and had a fun evening picnic at the south park. We also played a lot of mini-golf in Houghton and we gave Andy's pizza and icecream a lot of business!

The cottage was charming as usual- thanks so much again for sharing it with us!
Mike, Emily, Mathew and Andrew J.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review