reviews for: listing #1934 - Charleston, South Carolina House rental

Stono River House, Relax and Enjoy
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $190 - $200 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Nice House/Location, though owners not responsive

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Being from out of state, we booked this lovely place to gather in preparation for my oldest son's wedding. The home presents very nice. We enjoyed the spaciousness and quiet atmosphere. It suited our needs adequately for the 3 days we stayed. Would I return? I don't think so. We paid a refundable cleaning deposit prior to our arrival. As per the contract, we washed all linens and drove our garbage to the local dump before our departure. In addition, we vacuumed, mopped and dusted (it was VERY dusty and rather messy when we arrived), and even cleaned the oven. In addition, I also cleaned some of the windows because they were so dirty it was taking away from the serene view. We swept the wraparound porch and all dishes were washed (albeit some were left clean in the dishwasher as ran out of time and the dishwasher was still running) I say all of this because to-date, we have yet to receive our cleaning deposit, even after contacting the owner, who at that time said it would be mailed in a week or so,....that was over a month ago. I contacted the owner again, no response, no return of our deposit. These owners are VERY difficult to get a hold of and it seems almost as if this vacation rental is a second thought to them and they really don't have the time or interest to be bothered by it. I have rented other vacation rentals so this isn't a new experience, but definitely one I would consider bizarre at best. Fair warning to future potential renters.

Recommended for: people with disabilities, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Nice location, but owners kinda iffy

Review submitted: December 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Being from out of state, we booked this lovely place to gather in preparation for my oldest son's wedding. The home presents very nice. We enjoyed the spaciousness and quiet atmosphere. It suited our needs adequately for the 3 days we stayed. Would I return? I don't think so. We paid a refundable cleaning deposit prior to our arrival. As per the contract, we washed all linens and drove our garbage to the local dump before our departure. In addition, we vacuumed, mopped and dusted (it was VERY dusty and rather messy when we arrived), and even cleaned the oven. In addition, I also cleaned some of the windows because they were so dirty it was taking away from the serene view. We swept the wraparound porch and all dishes were washed (albeit some were left clean in the dishwasher as ran out of time and the dishwasher was still running) I say all of this because to-date, we have yet to receive our cleaning deposit, even after contacting the owner, who at that time said it would be mailed in a week or so,....that was over a month ago. I contacted the owner again, no response, no return of our deposit. These owners are VERY difficult to get a hold of and it seems almost as if this vacation rental is a second thought to them and they really don't have the time or interest to be bothered by it. I have rented other vacation rentals so this isn't a new experience, but definitely one I would consider bizarre at best. Fair warning to future potential renters.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

The Stono River House is a wonderful and relaxing place to stay , located within a short driving distance from downtown Charleston, many sights to see for everyone. The house has a nice wrap around porch,with all of the southern charm. I plan to visit again in a few years and will use this rental house again if available.

Patricia Mason from Lancaster County Pennsylvania

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wanna Get Back Here Soon

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

We are looking for a weekend rental for this summer and my brother recommended we return here. I was sad to see it is not available for our vacation time. We have spent a week here in the past for a family gathering and we (and everyone who came) loved this property and did not want to leave. The master is spacious and my mother loved the screened in porch just off the master. We found everything we needed in the kitchen. We have not been here in two years (the calendar would not let us go back to 2009) but i can't wait to get back. Time could not diminish the peaceful charm of this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Relaxing Retreat

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

What a wonderful relaxing place! We had a fabulous weekend. You can easily get in to Charleston or to the beach or just hang out on the pier right there on the river. The house is very spacious for a family get together or group of friends. The owners were very responsive and helpful. The one downside was having to do our own cleaning and washing of linens. This makes sense if you are going for a week or two, but we were only there for 2 nights. We would have been more than happy to pay quite a bit more per night to have that done. Other than that, super!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Excellent

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

Great place to stay...would stay here again. Very nice and clean. Private setting.

Recommended for: people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Excellent

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

Great place to stay. Would stay here again. Nice and clean....private setting.

Recommended for: people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review