reviews for: listing #19388 - Malibu, California Cottage rental

Beachcomber Bungalow
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $160 - $235 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,350 /wk
    $2,850 - $5,500 /mth

sort by:

OUR NEW FAVORITE VACATION SPOT

Review submitted: August 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

We just returned from the beachcomber bungalow yesterday August 8-09. This property was beautiful , the views were unbelievable.It was great to drink our morning coffee on the patio overlooking the ocean .The property was everything we needed very nicely decorated and very clean . Gary and Karen are a great couple very friendly and eager to help with any information needed.We found everything we needed close by once we got to know the area .We would definitely recommend this property and we will be renting this property again. If you are considering renting this property do it you won't be dissapointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tony & Elaine! Our new favorite guests! We have hosted some of the greatest guests on the planet and lots from Canada this year.
Everyone has that favorite place in their lives and we are so pleased The Beachcomber Bungalow is yours!!! We have many return visitors who just couldn't get enough of the 'Bu and the Bungalow. Remember to put your vacation shots on your screen saver.....it makes our vacations last longer!!! Cheers!

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Absolutely fabulous!!!!!

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

We had great expectations for this cottage as we wanted to get as close to the ocean as possible without getting run over by beach combers! This cottage fulfilled every dream of ours. It is set atop a hill, about 0.5 miles to the beach, but theres plenty of parking there. Grocery store is 3-4 miles away, as is small restaurants including a vegan one, which was a blessing for us! It was great to just cuddle up in the beach chair on the porch and watch the ocean. When it was raining by the beach, we were in the clear up the hill.
The cottage is well stocked and our 7 year old loved the bed in the attic, though for safety reasons he could not sleep there. There were plenty of movies saved on TV, and it was great to wind down the day watching Finding Nemo with the lil one. We will definitely stay here again.

Owners response: See there....still Malibu dreaming months later! Now that's a vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING! Just what we needed!

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 27, 2014

This place was more amazing than any pictures that could do it justice! We had such an amazing time and the bungalow was a perfect place to relax and get away for a while. The place was CLEAN and had everything we needed. Karen the owner was super to work with and you would never know she was there she gave us so much privacy! Of course she is available if you need her.

I would highly recommend this place and my husband and I said we would have spent our entire trip in Malibu if we had to do it all over again!!!!!!

Thank you Karen!!! :)

Sarah & Pete

Owners response: Another glowing report! We love it when our guests take the time to send a review. Job satisfaction? you betcha

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven!

Review submitted: April 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

this little bungalow exceeded our expectations. we had everything we needed and more. evrything was clean, neat, and comfortable. we really enjoyed the shared patio area that includes a table for dinning and lounge chairs to relax and enjoy the incredible views. we would love to return and stay longer. the wifi and dish tv was great for the 12 year old we had with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beachcomber bungalow 400 ft up 1,000 ft from ocean

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

The view, the cleanliness, the owners, the price, the privacy, the location, the ammenities, the etc. etc. etc. are the best I've had at any place I've stayed. Hope to go, no, am going this November, 3 to 4 months. GGGRRREEEEAAAAT !!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AhhhhhMazing Bungalow

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Exactly as expected inside. Charming. Everything we needed. Super comfortable beds and bedding. Very Pleased with the entire stay. The views are breathtaking. Don't miss out on the beaches directly below this bungalow. Hit them at Low Tide for a walk you will never forget. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything you need and the view is amazing:)

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

We stayed at Beachcomber Bungalow for Thanksgiving weekend and absolutely loved it:)The view on the pictures is beautiful but when you see it o my it will take your breath away:)The sunsets are something you don't wanna miss.The Bungalow has everything you need and more:)Thanks for sharing this lovely place with my family:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Price. . . Great View!

Review submitted: November 29, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

Our family of four (with two teenage sons) stayed here while on a college visit to look at Pepperdine University. We stayed three nights and loved the time we spent relaxing there. It was close to everything we needed and we found a couple of restaurants we really enjoyed (Coogies and Paradise Cove Beach Cafe). We appreciated so much the price since we didn't really want to stay in a hotel and the view is wonderful! It was perfect for us. If it had any drawbacks it would be that it might be a challenge for someone with ambulatory problems (i.e. steps and climbing up a short ladder to a loft bed). Also, some of the windows were in view of the other adjoining rental unit so that might bother some. Shades are provided so you still have privacy (with the exception of maybe while standing in the kitchen). Overall, this was a jewel of a find and we will certainly keep this place in mind if our boys attend Pepperdine!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THE BEST VACATION EVER!

Review submitted: November 28, 2013   Date of arrival: November 20, 2013

The property is amazing! Karen and Gary are great down to earth people.This place made me feel so relaxed and welcome.Terrific experience can't wait to return to your bungalow!
Neil McD
Boston Mass.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Gorgeous Views and Comfortable Space

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

This was a great find for us and we are already looking at our calendars on when we can return. Our son lives in Malibu so these Atlanta parental units are glad to locate a place for us to stay when we visit. Everything in the property description is accurate and the pictures are not photo shopped. Owners have created a really charming place.

PROs: Did we mention the views ? Great property with a lovely patio area to sit and soak up the CA sun and watch gorgeous sunsets. Great location - close to beaches and restaurants. Efficient kitchen and bathroom. Great tv with all bells and whistles - required for Southern football fans to record important games during the day and watch at night ;-) Nice to know landlord is onsite in case any issues come up - - none did but a plus. Very comfortable bed ! Wi-fi access but leave work at home !

CONs: Bed is in a "slot" so watch your head ! No obvious place to hang clothes. A little road noise from the PCH when on the patio - so don't forget your ipod.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Happy you have found your home away from home!

On your next visit, open up the closet along side the bed loft....:D
Cheers and thanks for the 5 star!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A few days in Paradise...

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

We stayed a few days in this little beach bungalow and we had a blast!!
The cottage is ideally located and very nicely decorated.
The views are breathtaking... It was a little bit like heaven on earth!!
Thanks for all our memories!!!
Mascha and Christelle from Belgium!!

Owners response: Thank you ladies for taking the time to reflect your memories! All the best!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Stunning!!

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from the Beachcomber Bungalow. We could not have been happier with our stay. There is no way that you could ever take a picture that would capture the spectacular view from this gorgeous home! UNOBSTRUCTED, SUNRISE TO SUNSET VIEW OF THE OCEAN!! Absolutely stunning!! The owners are very friendly and are there if you need anything. Otherwise, they leave you alone to relax and enjoy serenity of this beautiful property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning, Breathtaking Views

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

This property is a remarkable value with truly memorable views from the Bungalow itself as well as from the well-appointed, multi-level patios. Sunsets were brilliant with beautiful foliage providing a fantastic foreground for photos. Location could not have been better for exploring the legendary beaches of Malibu which I have seen so frequently as sets for films. The property was even better than described and the owners were extremely responsive and attentive.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Base for Malibu Beauty

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

I came to Malibu for a mediation conference at Pepperdine University. We turned this into a family trip. I enjoy photography, so I wanted someplace with a great view. This property was a great find with breathtaking views of the ocean and mountains. We really enjoyed early morning coffee and sunsets on the landing right outside the bungalow. It was surrounded by beautiful flowers and I loved the scent of the Confederate Jasmine. The Hummingbird Tree was a nice touch and there were frequent visits from hummingbirds. The property is about 20 mins. from Pepperdine and just a couple of miles from Charmlee Park, which had some nice hiking trails (I felt like I was hiking with Frodo in Middle Earth). We took a scenic stroll one morning at nearby El Matador Beach and when I returned home and we turned a wall calendar over to the month of July, it showed that very same beautiful beach. If you want a place where you can walk to the beach, this is not your location. But there were 5 beaches only minutes away by car. The decription of the property location, layout and amenities was accurate. We were very pleased to be able to enjoy such great views for basically the same money what we would have paid for a hotel room 20 minutes off the coast.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Fabulously written so that you can envision this location. Come out and make your memories!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great time

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

Absolutely beautiful studio...Amazing view...everything you need for a relaxing getaway only 45 min from LAX!!! Definitely recommend it for a couple or small group.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love to keep our guests happy! Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a thumbs up. Cheers!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fantastic!!

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2012

Staying at this Malibu bungalow was a pure delight! It is definitely on our list to stay here again! Thank you for making this beautiful get-away available for the enjoyment of others! We are so grateful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Spreading the love this New Year, and what great feedback. Working hard to keep the magic!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Malibu Marathon

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Wow! We had such a good time at the bungalow. We came in for the Malibu marathon and had a great time. It is sooooo peaceful, and as other reviewers said, the most comfortable bed! We will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Getaway for a young couple

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

Beautiful scenery from the outdoor sitting area. Looked better than the pictures! Can not hear the ocean due to the traffic on the main road down below - but still is great to sit out on the lawn. Walkable beaches are a couple of miles away. The healthy , young can climb down the steep slopes to the beach at the bottom of the hill - all parking lots are about $12 day (one flat rate).

The cottage is clean and has all the ammenities listed. Outdoor grill would not light (but we did not check with the owner/manager who is on site). The owner is very helpful and close by for any needs.

Parking is a good block away - which is fine with the good weather there!
The loft bed is fine for the young.. and if you are not too tall! One has to climb in (more like crawl into it), and be very careful about hitting head.
I didn't realize it was so small until I saw a video on it after we booked the place.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: There are 5 beaches within 3 minutes of the property, the State Beaches are rustic surf spots. We recommend Broad Beach, Zuma Beach and Westward beaches for the ability to park for free for early arrival on weekends and the easy access. Guests are asked to turn the gas off Outdoor Grill when not in use. Parking is on the private parking lot on the driveway at the property. The king bed loft has been in use for 6+ years. People love to wake up to an ocean view!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Views!

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

Our stay here was just amazing. The views you see on the website are EXACTLY what you get. This was our first time to Malibu and we were definitely not disappointed. The house was fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. We cooked two nights out of the four we were there and did not have to buy anything except the food of course. But the owner has taken care of everything else. The place was clean and just as shown on the pictures. Besides the views and the bungalow itself, the most enjoyable thing was the peace and quiet. From up there you could barely hear the road noise and in the mornings you could have heard a pin drop. We will definitely be back!

Owners response: Another satisfied customer. It's great when you get more than you expected. Since you looked at the reviews you are interested....convinced yet?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

fun in Malibu

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

One week in Malibu went way to fast, we had a very comfortable week stay before we flew to Australia and everything was perfect at the Bungalow. This is our 2nd time staying here and we all love it. Great for families and the view is magic. The house was very clean, soft towels and beach towels, the beds are all amazing and very comfortable, we all feel at home here. We will be back again for sure.
thank you so much Karen and Gary !

see you again soon
The Robinson Family

Owners response: The visit was too short! We do make every effort to keep our places up to par for our guests. Makes us happy to make you happy! Thank you for the great review!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!!!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

The bungalow was everything listed and more. We loved Malibu and hope to visit again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Well you cannot beat AWESOME. Thanks for taking the time to give us the great thumbs up!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great views from a great little bungalow

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

This is exactly what we were looking for. The bungalow is in a fantastic location for beaches and if you like being away from the crowd in the town center. Karen has put her heart into decorating it with unique little touches that are a part of the Malibu spirit. Although it is "beachy" it is updated, very clean, and has everything you would ever need. The view is magnificent and we spent most nights BBQing by the grassy area. The only drawback were the people that rented the upstairs unit. They got up at 5:30-6:00am every morning and decided to do laundry our last morning at 7:30am. Anyway, not a big deal....next time....and we will be back, I will bring my ear plugs.

Owners response: Three cheers for your great visit. And when you come back, let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay perfect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent place to stay with the best beaches.

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

This bungalow was an excellent vacation home. It was very clean, and well equipt to enjoy your vacation anyway you choose. We chose to cook each morning and night. The kitchen and outside grill made it easy to do. The home including beach towels, a small cooler and beach chairs. It is surrounded by awesome beaches with awesome views. Sea lions, dolphins and whales are common and can be enjoyed from the beaches or on whale watching trips. The mountains create a beautiful atmosphere for hiking or driving thru to enjoy the views.
Los Angeles/Hollywood are close if you choose to go during your stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Enough said....lots to do and lots to see, Beachcomber is the place to be!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Such a beautiful spot. Bungalow is very comfortable, well stocked with anything you might need. The views are incredible. We had a great time! Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hooray for reviews like that! This location is one of a kind in Malibu. Thanks for the Kudos!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Malibu California- Beachcomber Bungalow

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

The property was clean,well maintained and just as shown in the photos. The view was amazing from the property and the owners were easily accessible for any questions(which we had none ).I would recommend this property to others and should we venture a trip out to Malibu in the future would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love it when I get more than I anticipated! We try to give what we would want in a vacation home as we use them on our trips abroad. Seeing is believing.....:)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Gift From God

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

This place is absolutely heaven on earth. The inside of this bungalow is beutiful. The views from this bungalow are more than beautiful and amazing. The manager was very professional and kind. My dream has always been to visit and stay in a beach home here in Malibu, but being above PCH and having a view from the king bed of the beautiful ocean was awesome. The views from the patio area of the coastline and islands are a gift from God. I thank the owners for making such a beautiful place affordable. This really made our trip from Illinois more memorable than any other visit here, and we will definitely come again. God bless Lisa and Renee

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dreams do come true in Malibu! Thanks for validating the vistas at the Bungalow. The pictures don't always do it justice!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great location, space, clean, comfort, views..

Review submitted: February 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

It was smooth, we did not want to pay $300 for the local hotel, and the other hotels really looked yukie with bad reviews and road noise. This was our first time trying this renting someones guest cottage idea. It went great. Place was really cute, clean, quite, location was about 7/9 miles maybe from the hub of things. the bed was very comfortable, plenty of pillows, nice sheets, blankets. Though, easy to hit your head in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom as you shuffle down the bed, and it is a bit of a sharp corner, we tapped a rolled towel on the corner just in case. The shower was great pressure with plenty of hot water, even a washer/dryer combo there. The people above were walking with heels, but they were very sweet when we knocked on the door.. and knew right away what we came for, after that is was very peaceful and we could sleep in! Big screen tv, large sofa, two extra beds in the living room (trundle). Parking is up on the driveway with a simple 2 minute walk to the door. We would stay again.

Owners response: The Bungalow is for the young at heart. All of our guests are wonderful people. We are a great value for travelers who love the coastline.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

quite, comfy, clean, great views, easy to get to..

Review submitted: February 4, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

It was smooth, we did not want to pay $300 for the local hotel, and the other hotels really looked yukie with bad reviews and road noise. This was our first time trying this renting someones guest cottage idea. It went great. Place was really cute, clean, quite, location was about 7/9 miles maybe from the hub of things. the bed was very comfortable, plenty of pillows, nice sheets, blankets. Though, easy to hit your head in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom as you shuffle down the bed, and it is a bit of a sharp corner, we tapped a rolled towel on the corner just in case. The shower was great pressure with plenty of hot water, even a washer/dryer combo there. The people above were walking with heels, but they were very sweet when we knocked on the door.. and knew right away what we came for, after that is was very peaceful and we could sleep in! Big screen tv, large sofa, two extra beds in the living room (trundle). Parking is up on the driveway with a simple 2 minute walk to the door. We would stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Bungalow is for the young at heart. All of our guests are wonderful people. We are a great value for travelers who love the coastline.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WOW!

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

My daughter and I went on a Christmas vacation... loved loved loved the Bungalow.. beautiful views, and Gary and Karen are one of a kind... will return soon, thanks

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WOW!

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

My daughter and I went on a little Christmas vacation, we had soooo much fun we didn't want to come home.. The owners Gary and Karen are like family now... I would highly recomend staying here... Thanks Gary and Karen..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

True Serenity

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

My husband and I were in desperate need of a vacation and we found this property listed on Home Away. This was our first time using this site and we were a bit aprehensive. I can tell you with certainty, as people who have stayed in Malibu before, that this property truly is what Malibu is all about. Laid back atmosphere, beautiful views of both sunrise and sunset, warm friendly people and a litlle slice of heaven. The kitchen had everything we needed, the stores close by allowed us to get some food items so we did not have to eat out every meal, and the hosts, Karen and Gary, were extremely gracious and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay here, and we were so happy to call it "home" for 10 days. We will definitely be rebooking this property and look foward to returning as soon as possible.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super cute ocean-view getaway

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

We used this house for a girls weekend while we were at an art retreat. It was perfect for the four of us. The property is exceptionally clean and well maintained.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Owners response: Malibu has The Getty Villa museum on PCH and many cultural events during the year so check out the city's website for events to enhance your own getaway!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It Truly Doesn't Get Any Better

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

Baxter & Shelly Raleigh, NC

The first words out of my mouth were "You have GOT to be kidding me." I could not believe how beautiful the place is! The architecture of the home is wonderfully integrated into the setting and the setting itself was simply spectacular! The views are incredible both day AND night!

When we entered the bungalow, I was struck as to how exact the pictures represented the interior space. (No distortion of room size or disappointment of the quality of the furnishings.) I am a builder by profession and was thoroughly impressed with the clever layout and high quality materials used. It is obvious that they maintain the property religiously. Everything is well manicured and functional.

We have two college aged kids so we were on the go the entire trip. It was SO nice to come back to such a comfortable place. Not sure what brands the mattresses are but they are first class, as were the linens. (Also worth noting, both of the kids were very comfortable on their beds. They were plenty large enough to accommodate my son's height.) The king loft was great!

Before we checked-in, we went to the grocery store and picked up breakfast items. It was really nice to have everything we needed to cook right there. A very pleasant way to start off the day. The bbq grill outside was very nice (though we didn't use it). It didn't look like any expense was spared their either.

There is no way you will be disappointed by choosing this rental. Karen and Gary are very down-to-earth people who are wonderful hosts. Thank you guys so much for all of your hospitality! It was so refreshing to find solid value and zero disappointments in the whole experience!! We will definitely be back again soon!

Blessings!

Owners response: Well this just says it all....the greatest people come to vacation here from all over the world! Thanks so much for taking the time to give us the thumbs up for others to view. Blessings back at you..... looking forward to your return trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Robinson Family

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

We were so happy to call the Bungalow our home for a month (August 2011). Everything was really comfortable, beautiful & clean, the kitchen has everything U need, the beds are perfection, my kids still talk about how comfortable their bed was. We miss waking every morning to the perfect ocean view, fresh air & the beach. This is a true GEM and we would stay here again and recommend it 100 %
thank U so much for taking great care of us during our stay and sharing a slice of Malibu ; )
michelle, brett, joel, lachlan & finn

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bungalow vacation memories seem to linger quite a while with our guests! Multiple returning guests is proof positive that what you see is not fancy photography. We are always so grateful to our visitors who take the time out of their busy lives to share the memories here for others. It is a gift! Thank you Michelle. We miss all those smiling faces. I hope your future travel plans bring you all back here soon. Your Malibu family, Gary & Karen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely!

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

The bungalow is very beautiful and relaxing. It was a perfect place for us to spend our honeymoon! The owners were so hospitable too! They even offered to pick us up from a restaurant one night instead of having to take a cab.

Our trip was exactly what we had hoped it would be and that was largely due to where we stayed.

Thank you for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad the Bungalow in Malibu will be part of your life long memories.
Hope to see you on an anniversary celebration! Thanks so much for taking
the time to send this note. Congratulations and best wishes on your future together!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Most beautiful place I've been....

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

This has got to be the most beautiful place I've been to in California. It's so cozy and beachy in the Bungalow. We will definitely be renting again. Good times! Relaxing (w/a view) times!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We can't wait to visit again

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2010

From the moment we drove up the driveway, everything about the Bungalow has been perfect! The place is decorated so nicely and has so much fit into a cozy space. What a delight it is to wake up and see the ocean from the bed loft! Our stay was too short and we can't wait to come back again which we can stay longer. Our toddler loved the daybed and the bed loft was so comfortable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Chattanooga, Tennessee Go VOLS!

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2010

God has truly blessed you with a beautiful home! It is in complete paradise. We are so thankful you though of the idea to open up your guest home to strangers like us. Staying here was a dream come true. The views and the patio were amazing. You can't put a price on the bonding and love we found here. We owe it all to you! Thank you & we will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sister Weekend! :)

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

Hi Karen & Gary
From my first email contact with you Karen, I knew by your responses that this would be a fantastic weekend and it was! The Bungalow is so cute! I feel so luck to have found this place. I want to bring my family immediately! Thanks for opening up your guest home for us. Its beautiful as is Malibu! It's nice to know you and your family are here for the next time

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a FAN!

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2010

Dear Gary & Karen
Thank you for your wonderful hospitality! Your place is truly a dreamy place. We love, love loved Malibu beaches, trails, etc. Had fun in LA at Griffith Observatory. Saw Alan Jackson get his star on Hollywood Blvd!
Beautiful....thanks so very much

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

RELAX

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

RESTFUL PEACEFUL RELAXING.... JUST WHAT WE NEEDED

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bungalow Guest Book - Surfers!

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

1st off the view is amazing! It feels like you're on top of the world....Malibu is a beautiful place with some fun surf and great weather. To wake up to the ocean and rolling waves is and has made our stay unforgettable...
Thanks Karen for your enthusiasm to show us where to catch good waves...your place is gorgeous. 7 days here and now on to Newport Beach to find more West Coast nuggetts... Thanks so much. Martin & Angie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bungalow Guest Book - Honeymooners!

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 27, 2009

We are here on our honeymoon and have to say this is the perfect place to spend a honeymoon at. It is so nice to come home & relax every night after sightseeing during the day. The location is beutiful & the bungalow is the perfect size. It was great to meet you both & I hope your wedding you were going to was great! We thank you for having this wonderful place for us to always have memories of from our special time here. Thanks and Best regards,
Allison & Jimmy Stroh

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bungalow Guest Book

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

We were here for a long awaited "second attempt" for a family vacation (1st attempt was Mexico in March - a disaster) We are pleased to tell everyone that the Beachcomber Bungalow is THE place to stay in SoCal! The view alone is worth it. The bungalow is very cozy and inviting too! Our daughter is 4 & she doesn't want to leave :). We'll have very fond memories of our stay at your lace - close to everything, away from it all! Thank you for everything,
the Ouliano family (Dimitri, Inesse & Angeline)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2009

Thank you Karen & Gary for this amazing bungalow. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely come badk when we are around. Best Wishes. Hang, Camille, Melanie & David

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bungalow In House Guest Book

Review submitted: January 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

What an amazing place! Not just the view also the cottage itself done with so much love for details & coziness. Being from Amsterdam I was thrilled to find it cozy & felt the warm heart in every area of this sacred place. My sweetheart & I had an awesome time & will most definately recommend this secret to our friends & loved ones. Thank you ever so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great view. BUT...

Review submitted: August 26, 2009   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

Great view. Nice patio. Neat decoration.

But... My wife and I expected a tiny house, overlooking the Pacific Ocean, somewhat isolated and romantic. We couldn't have guessed from the sibylline mention "the guest house is located on a private estate and road", that the private estate was the owner's one and that we didn't rent a house but a large room layed out in the owner's house basement/garden level. So it was quite a shock to see a car parked in front of the house as we arrived late at night and to discover that we would have to share the rented house with someone. The owners are quite discreet, but we heard them waking up in the morning, living their lives, we couldn't really enjoy the patio in front of the house's windows... Very bad surprise. So the two and a half hours driving to and back from LA every day felt even more painful. If we'd have wanted to be with people, a nice hotel in Santa Monica would have been more convenient.
We would really have appreciated a clear mention in the description, so as to be able to choose a rental more convenient to our then aspirations.

Owners response: Hmmm, comparing this to the guests from the week before should be very telling. The fact that they had 5 foggy days (unusual for August!) out of 7 could have also been an issue. Guest House on a private estate is not "sharing the house". It is detached but next to the main house on 1 1/2 acres! It is not in a basement! There is no basement! It is on a lower level of the property which is on a hill. So plenty of space to go around. The actual mileage to LA is 41.1 miles and takes 1 hour. We are saddened that they were disappointed! Incidentally, we make every effort to keep our rates very reasonable....those rates are half the price of a "nice" hotel in Santa Monica.
Our 1st bad review in 3 years :(

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wonderful getaway!

Review submitted: November 21, 2008   Date of arrival: October 4, 2008

My husband, daughter and I had a fabulous time in Malibu, and the bungalow was everything we'd hoped for. The view was incredible, and the bungalow was beautifully decorated. Everything was spotless, the linens were all of exquisite quality, and the patio area very private and lovely. It truly felt like a getaway from real life - private, quiet and peaceful. We're going to make this an annual trip and highly recommend this beautiful spot.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Afield, but nice and fantastic view

Review submitted: September 23, 2008   Date of arrival: September 16, 2008

We had a good time at the Beachcomber Bungalow in Malibu and found
- a nice interior decoration,
- an own garden with a fantastic view to the ocean,
- a friendly owner,
- an appropriate one-room-bungalow to relax and get away from it all,
- unfortunately a bit afield located bungalow with long distance to restaurants and cafes (not to recommend for tourists without a car; Malibu has a got a length of 27 miles!).
Perfect for a romantic getaway...

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 24, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

My wife and I stayed here in November. It was great. Everything we had hoped for and more. Karen, the owner, was wonderful and was only a phone call away if we needed anything. One of the best views I have ever seen. Definitely recommended!

Owners response: Thank you! Karen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review