reviews for: listing #19404 - Waimanalo, Hawaii Villa rental

Luxury Beach Rental Unit
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $400 /nt

sort by:

very relaxing

Review submitted: December 24, 2013   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

As we are not a couple/family that likes the constant go, go , go that some people do on vacations this was the perfect spot for us. Away from the hussel of down town Honolulu or Waikiki. Ocean breeze and scenic views, this is just the place for relaxation. Honolulu and other attractions are only about 45 mins away. You will need a rental car to get to places but it is well worth it. Would go again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good location, good rate but not full functional

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

If I would only rate the location, cost and the very friendly owner Laura it would sure be a 5 star review!
Finding a real "on the beach" rental in Kailua/Waimanalo is not easy (or otherwise very expensive) but this house is truly "on the beach". For the rate it is very good considering the location!
Waimanalo is considered "country side" and thus there are some run-down properties in the area and a few "shady" people roaming around but we never felt disturbed or bothered, quite the opposite actually, it is very calm and quiet in the neighbourhood. There is a 7-Eleven and a few food places at walking distance and a McDonalds a mile down the street but that is pretty much it in Waimanalo Beach area. However the drive into Honolulu is less than 30 minutes (and be sure to take the scenic coastal road instead of the freeway!).
The problem is really the house itself, or rather the interior design. It is need of some upgrading but it was well cleaned and felt fresh and nice.
It is not really two bedrooms (hence the "problem") but instead one large bedroom directly downstairs and then on the upper floor it is a "studio", or rather a king-size bed where the living room should be and then a kitchenette. Thus there is no way to keep any privacy for the upstairs "bedroom" (or rather bed) as the whole upstairs is one open room.
The chairs by the dining table inside is more like easy-chairs and did not work for our 8 year old daughters at all. We always ate out on the lanai (=balcony) instead which (unfortunately) faces the road and the mountains instead of the ocean. The view of the mountains is nice enough though and the garden is very beautiful and even has a koi-pond.
It says "partial AC" but that is not true, there is NO AC in the house!
The fridge is quite small and there is no freezer in the kitchen, although there is one additional fridge/freezer in the garage that we used. The washer and dryer is also in the garage which is accessible through the downstairs bedroom.
There are plenty beach stuff just to grab and walk the few steps down to the beach and you can't beat that!
We were very happy with our stay and really enjoyed the "on the beach" location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Found Paradise

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

Well I was pleasantly surprised that it was nicer than I could of imagined. The beach is breathtaking & the color of the water is unreal , like neon aqua!! My family & I had a wonderful vacation. If you like peace and quiet than you will love it here!!
The owner was helpful but never intrusive, and she had all the amenities for the beach like coolers, sand chairs, & Kayaks....what more could you want!!! It was the best & most relaxing vacation I've ever had so thank you again Laura!!!
I will definitely be coming back, I just hope that its not all booked up!!!

Sincerely,

The Asuncions

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Paradise Vacation

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

Words won't convey the beauty of Waimanalo beach and this lovely island rental home. The home is spacious, comfortable and the beauty of area is seen through the many picture windows and 2nd floor lanai balcony. Waimanalo is a vacation retreat. If you're looking for calm and quiet, grab a chair by the beach and chill. The area can seem so remote because the 3 mile stretch of beach has few visitors and this side of the island lacks the traffic and tourism of the city. However, Waikiki and Honolulu is easily accessible, only 30 minutes away. There is so much to do....or not. When not staring at the ocean for hours, I recommend heading to Dukes on Waikiki Beach, on Sunday afternoons to listen to the Henry Kapono and dance on the beach with a mix of locals and tourists. Or we had a wonderful Italian meal at Baci Bistro in Kailua which is the local town next to Waimanalo. Also within walking distance, I highly recommend Ono's for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Mahalo to Laura, the owner. She made us feel so comfortable throughout our stay. A month later the Spirit of Aloha and the beauty of Waimanalo is still with us.
ONE MORE THING: Please get up to see the sunrise for all of us who can't. It's spectacular.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

We are a norwegian family of five. Kids at the ages 11,13 and 15. We stayed there for one week and liked it very much. You need a car to get there but it is definately worth it, and you will need a car to get around the island anyway. The house is in a residential area and Waimanalo has a really relaxed atmosphere and no other tourists. At the same time the location is close to many amazing sites like Hanauma bay with seaturtles(10 min drive) and the Sea Life park where you can swim with dolphins (5 min drive). It is at the windward side so it is sometimes more cloudy than on the other side of the island. The house is on the beach and there were kayaks and boogy boards for all of us. The kids loved to swim and use the boogy bords at the beach in front of the house. When we one day went to Waikiki Beach they wanted to get "home" after 15 minutes. The owner is very nice. She help if you want but don't bother you. We can strongly recomend this. There is only one small objection and that is that the seating inside is for four persons only.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

We have just returned from our third wonderful stay in this home. Our first stay was in 2007. We have two children ages 13 and 17 and we absolutely love it here. I almost hate to write a review as I would like it to be our little "secret"! We believe that Waimanalo is the most beautiful beach on the island. There is absolutely no one there. Most of the time you have the beach to yourself. (It amazes us, that Waikiki, which is a short 30 minute drive, is wall to wall people at twice the price, and no one comes here!) The house provides everything you need from boogie boards to kayaks, to my personal favorite, the beach chair! The location is perfect. You can take a 5 minute drive to the south and be at Sea Life Park or a little farther and go to Hanauma Bay to snorkel. Heading north will get you to Kailua to shop or dine out in about 15 minutes. We truly love it here. Every time we leave, we start planning and saving so we can return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Paradise

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

We have just returned from our third wonderful stay in this home. Our first stay was in 2007. We have two children ages 13 and 17 and we absolutely love it here. I almost hate to write a review as I would like it to be our little "secret"! We believe that Waimanalo is the most beautiful beach on the island. There is absolutely no one there. Most of the time you have the beach to yourself. (It amazes us, that Waikiki, which is a short 30 minute drive, is wall to wall people at twice the price, and no one comes here!) The house provides everything you need from boogie boards to kayaks, to my personal favorite, the beach chair! The location is perfect. You can take a 5 minute drive to the south and be at Sea Life Park or a little farther and go to Hanauma Bay to snorkel. Heading north will get you to Kailua to shop or dine out in about 15 minutes. We truly love it here. Every time we leave, we start planning and saving so we can return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review