reviews for: listing #19451 - South Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida House rental

Exquisite Oceanfront Home-Views-Private-1 Level-Pets OK!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $300 /nt
    $1,800 - $3,500 /wk
    $5,000 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful house w/everything

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

We fell in love with this house when we stayed here this summer for the first time. It is located on a great stretch of beach, and the house has so many amenities. Everything needed is here, plus extras like surfboards, beach umbrellas, sand toys, gas grill, etc! The style was beautiful and comfortable, with a wide open kitchen/living room/dining area facing the ocean. You can tell the owner has lavished attention on this property to make it a first-rate home. Everything was clean, and we appreciated the fact that each bedroom had its own bathroom. The garage was great, too. Of course the prime attraction is the beach, and the short walkway made it easy for my walking-impaired mother to take her time and get down to the sand with the rest of us. Finally, the owner was easy to work with and made everything go smoothly from first contact until after checkout. This is a special spot, and we can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Winter Break Visit

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

We spent the President's Day week at Sandpiper's Nest and could not have had a better experience. The property was well-maintained and perfect for our family of 7 (5 kids). The master bedroom and kitchen were particularly well-equipped. Both the owner and manager were easy to reach and responsive. We were so pleased, we were prepared to reserve Sandpiper's Nest for the same week next year, but the house was already reserved, so we are going to try one of their other homes.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly Recommended!

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Our party of six adults had a wonderful week at Sandpiper's Nest in Early April. The private boardwalk over the dune to the beach makes a great place to survey the ocean and beach for miles up and down the coast. 3 bedrooms, each with its own bath, a spacious common area, a dining table for six, and a spacious "galley" kitchen are all laid out with easy living in mind. There was very fast WiFi and even an inkjet printer (bring your own PC) - preprinted boarding passes are the way to fly! The online description was accurate; the property was very clean and well maintained. this property to several friends. Cap's restaurant, just down the road to the south is a very nice, on-the-water, place for food and drink.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Retired and loving it....

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

Stayed at this lovely home for 4 weeks. Travelled with small dog and side enclosed and locked grass yard for dog was very convenient. the deck and sitting bench on the deck to overlook the ocean was where we spent most of our time. Walking the beach with the dog on the leash was also very enjoyable. The beach and sand is great for walking, only locals on the beach, not crowded and perfect for spending all day. Having 3 bathrooms was very nice for privacy for the guests. Kitchen, dining room and living room all in one open space - great for conversations and catching up. Owners were at house as I arrived, greeted very warmly, great way to start our vacation! Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pretty Good

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

We rented the Sandpiper’s Nest for 6 weeks, early January to mid-February, to escape a good part of an Ohio winter. The house has some very nice features. First, it’s oceanfront with direct and quick beach access. The views can be spectacular at best and terrific at worst; even in inclement weather (we had some). Second, it’s a great place for a dog. A fenced yard on the side of the house allows canines to do their stuff without having to be leashed. Notably, on our visit there were no doggie odors whatsoever in the house. Third, the beds were comfortable. Fourth, the location, on South Ponte Vedra Beach, is very good. Close to St. Augustine, close to a Publix supermarket in Vilano Beach (5 miles), close to a nature reserve, and one pretty good restaurant (Caps). Fifth, the appliances were up-to-date and worked well. Sixth, the Wi-Fi was excellent. Seventh, the garage is a surprisingly useful feature that your vehicle will appreciate given the salt air. Clearly, there are many good things about the house. There are also some pretty average things as well. For example, while the big screen TV in the great room is HD capable, the house did not have an HD cable box. Thus, there was no HD unless you watched DVDs or something like Apple TV. TVs in other rooms were functional but not HD. While the kitchen appliances were good, the flatware, dishes, and kitchen accessories left a bit to be desired. For example, one night while preparing dinner, we needed to open a can and the one at the house was totally useless. Had to run out and buy one. The house is on AIA and close to the road (many in the area are); road noise in front bedroom can be pronounced. The middle bedroom (bunk bed room) can be pretty noisy as well due to the proximity of the air conditioner/heat pump to the room’s window. These can be problems for light sleepers, as we learned from our guests. The house has a 40 gallon water heater. With more than two people staying there at a time, this can be a problem, too.

Given the opportunity, we would rent this place again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sandpiper's Nest has very seldom received less than a 5 star rating, so I do want to respond to the specific complaints from these particular renters. Frankly, I did not know until I saw this review that we did not have HD on the living room television; however, we do our best to provide what renters want, and the HD box is being installed this week! We are sorry about the non-working can opener; if I had known it was broken I would have replaced it. Our flatware and dishes are not sterling silver and bone china but they are good quality stainless and porcelain,and we have a plentiful supply. I have never had a complaint about this before either, so I am not sure how to improve upon them. As for the road noise, the renters are correct...all the oceanfront rentals in our area on on a two lane road and at night, some car noise can be heard from bedrooms on the front of the house. No one has mentioned noise from the air handler outside the bunk room before; however, simply lowering the metal storm shutters over the windows in any room will completely block outside noise. Luckily, the master is on the back of the house so those sleeping there only have to contend with the sounds of the ocean!

It does seem as though this couple enjoyed the "larger" aspects of the house such as the beds, furnishings, appliances, garage, fenced yard, beach, views, wifi, etc. but were annoyed by certain details, such as the lack of HD, the "useless" can opener, and related issues. We want to assure YOU that we make serious efforts to address any complaints, large or small, when they are brought to our attention! Please always feel free to contact me by phone or email if you have questions or concerns about the quality or condition of anything related to Sandpiper's Nest.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Stay At Sandpipers Nest !!

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 23, 2014

This was a beautiful, open concept cottage. It was very clean, and was exactly like the pictures on the ad. The view from the deck is breathtaking, as the home sits right on the beach. The cottage was well equipped with everything you needed and the beds were very comfy. The beach is very private and clean as well. We took many leisurely walks and found a lot of great seashells. We found our mini vacation much too short, but we left very relaxed and happy with our stay. We would definitely recommend this property to anyone wanting to spend some relaxing days near the ocean, and we will be returning in the future.

Owners response: We are delighted that these nice people enjoyed Sandpiper's Nest and our beach, even in the winter. They represent those folks who want to relax, walk on the beach, and just chill...but in the comfort of a really nice home. You will love it just as much as they did!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just perfect!

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

Our recent stay at your beautiful home was everything we could hope for! The family absolutely loved it! All we had to add, was groceries. The Publix right down the road had us set for the week. We enjoyed not only the home but the view was gorgeous! Loved the deck area and could sit out there all day! Since we are local, we did not go into St Aug but it was just a few minutes away for those that would. This is one vacation home, that I hope we will be able to visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just right!

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Sandpiper's next is not too small or too big, it's just right.
As soon as we walked in, it felt like home. There wasn't anything we needed, that wasn't already there.
Really enjoyed the deck a great deal. The bench by the stairs to the beach is a great spot for drinking your coffee and watch the sun rise.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best VRBO yet!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

What a great home. We have done VRBO for years and this was by far the cleanest, most well appointed home yet. It has absolutely everything! We brought with us shorts and flip flops! Chairs, umbrellas, towels, linens, all were awesome. The extra fridge in the garage and the second washer and dryer for towels was a nice touch. The diswasher was so quiet, I thought I forgot to turn it on. Cold AC and fans in each room kept us all comfortable. The private walk to the beach is less than 150 feet. The beach was perfect and close enough to watch the kids from the built in bench at the end of the walk. Local shopping at Publix and a few great restaurants are close by. Caps on the Water was EXCELLENT! We will be back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are thrilled that these renters found Sandpiper's Nest to be so complete. We do try our best to provide everything our renters would want to have, just as we would expect when vacationing in a luxury property. We think you will enjoy the house, the deck, our quiet beach, and the near by amenities just as these folks did.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Lovely stay at Sandpiper's Nest

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We have rented houses on Ponte Vedra many times in the last 15 years but never have we had as lovely an accommodation as "Sandpiper's Nest". Beautifully appointed, top notch beds and appliances, immaculately clean! I was so surprised that the owner had thought of little details....flashlights, kid-friendly melmac everyday dishes, a huge stack of beach towels....get this....a salad spinner! We arrived from Denver and immediately started relaxing!

Owners response: What nice comments by these fine people...and I'm SO glad they appreciated the salad spinner :-) ! When I travel, I don't want to have to "rough it" in any way...after all, I'm paying my hard earned $ and expect to stay in comfort, with all the amenities of home....so, that is what we want to create for our renters. You will find everything you need at Sandpiper's Nest, and if we don't have it, we'll get it!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

A stay at Sandpiper's nest is pure pleasure. We rented the house for the last two weeks in March and enjoyed every minute. The photos of the house perfectly
represent it - everything is very nice and new. The owners have thought of every
possible feature to make the stay as comfortable as possible. The views and
location on the beach are gorgeous.

We got a 2-week membership to the Ponte Vedra Inn while we were there. Although a 20-minute drive, the PV Inn gave us great variety of things to do - golf, tennis, spa, etc. - so we had the best of all worlds...beach in the morning, the Inn during the day, and St. Augustine for great fun/dining at night. In addition, my son-in-law is a nature buff so he spent his days at the preserve (a few miles away) so everyone was able to do what they liked (5 people, 1 dog).

Needless to say, yes, I would definitely recommend Sandpiper to anyone.

Owners response: We are very happy that these nice folks enjoyed Sandpiper's Nest and all the activities in the area. The Ponte Vedra Inn does offer golf and tennis, and even closer (1 mile) is the Serenata Beach Club which has three huge pools, work out facility, rental of kayaks and other fun toys, and a great restaurant. St. Augustine is a treasure with beautiful old homes, lots of shopping, attractions, and huge variety of dining venues. You will love the house and all the fun things to do!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We did not want to leave after our 3 weeks!

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

We loved our stay at Sandpiper's Nest, what a great location and comfy house! The decks and beach are outstanding; great shelling, bird watching, dolphin sightings, and fisherman watching. The house has everything you would need for a wonderful beach vacation. 3 good restaurants within minutes, grocery 6 minutes away, St. Augustine 10 minutes; close enough for access to activities and history yet far enough away from crowded bustle. Very clean with newer appliances. Appreciated the use of the garage door opener; have not had that in previous rentals.
Accessibility-Walker and wheelchair did not fit into the master bathroom due to narrow doors but we used a bath in a different room so it was not a big problem. We took our portable ramp along for access up the one step from the garage and front door. The long walk out from the deck to the beach allowed the chair to have access to the great views of the beach.
We would recommend Sandpiper's Nest for a great relaxing family vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

After our 3 week stay we did not want to leave!

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

We knew nothing about the area when we rented Sandpiper's Nest and just loved the location and the home. The deck, walkout to the beach, and the beach itself are lovely. Great for shelling, bird watching, dolphin watching and fisherman watching. The house is very comfortable and appointed with enough of everything you may need; it even has 2 washers and 2 dryers for larger groups. Beds and linens were of beach decor and we slept great. 6 minutes to the grocery store and a good pizza place, 5 minutes to 3 good local restaurants, and 10 minutes to St. Augustine with its' historic attractions and many entertainment and dining options. We would recommend the home for a nice relaxing vacation!
ACCESSIBILITY-One of us is in a wheelchair and the home is accessible for the most part. Walker and chair did not fit into the bathroom master but we used the other bath and it worked out fine. We also took a ramp along for the one step in the garage. The long deck walk to the beach allowed the wheelchair to go all the way to the end for a view.
Loved the convenience of having the garage door opener for our use.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation !!!!!

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

We have great vacations.Feel like home with super extras.House it self even better then describe.Thanks so much Judy.
Wojciech

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Simply Amazing!

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

I would highly recommend this beautiful house! It is truly one of the best houses we have stayed in during a vacation. The attention to detail is great and the house is very clean! Decorations are bright and cheery! Anything you might need is right there....down to ziplock bags! The views from this house are amazing and the beach is beautiful and quiet! Judy Wren is very pleasant to work with and has made her home feel like your home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very happy that these folks enjoyed our home as much as our other renters...and ourselves...do. We think that a vacation is especially wonderful when you are surrounded by a quality environment; that is why we constantly strive to keep our properties spotless, comfortable, and filled with amenities that people appreciate...such as the zip lock bags! The beach and the activities speak for themselves, but sometimes you have to look far to find the beach house that will make you very happy!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely property, great location

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This is a lovely property and the location is great. It is South of Ponte Vedra Beach, which has a couple of upscale restuarants and a Fresh Market and immediately north of Vilano Beach, with its new Publix and casual eateries. It is also a short distance from downtown St. Augustine's shopping and tourist attractions for all ages. The owners provide excellent customer service and the beach is beautiful. We had a very nice and relaxing vacation--the only problem was it was too short!

Owners response: We are so hapy that these folks enjoyed the house and the area. We truly are located in the perfect place...private beach but close to shopping, restaurants and lots of things to do. You will love Sandpiper's Nest as much as they did!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Photobug/JBerry

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

What a wonderfully relaxing week we spent at Sandpiper’s Nest during spring break. Life stays so busy and hectic so we were searching for a place of solitude, a place to relax and regroup, to spend quality time with family. This particular home appealed because of the décor, the fact that it is one level , steps from the beach, the big deck, and just big enough for our family, accommodating 7 of us (two children). It is difficult to describe the beauty just outside the door every morning with unimaginable sunrises. You would think on vacation one would want to sleep in, but not here. We loved waking early, grabbing our cup of coffee and sitting on the bench facing the ocean with camera in hand. No day was the same, beautiful paintings sketched before our eyes by the Master Artist. There were walks on the beach, sitting under the umbrellas on the beach, playing in the ocean, watching the fishermen, the surfers, the porpoises and scavenging for unique seashells. The weather cooperated for all but the last day when it was cool and windy but we capitalized with flying kites. We came away feeling so refreshed and renewed and with great memories in this treasure of a place. Judy was great to work with and so prompt at answering all of my e-mails. We found the house was very well-stocked, clean, and very comfortable (trust all the reviews). Anyone looking for a quiet retreat, a clean, lovely home will not be disappointed in Sandpiper’s Nest. My soul already longs for another vacation in this Atlantic paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! These renters said all the things I would like to say but hesitate to sound "over the top". But it is true....this is a home and an area for pure peace.
From the decor and amenities of the house to the magical sunrises, birds, sea animals and quiet beach, Sandpiper's Nest is the perfect place to relax, regroup, and reconnect! We hope YOU will have the opportunity to experience it all.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming Vacation Get Away

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

After renting in 4 other locations, this property turned out to be our favorite. Windows across the full length of the house afford wonderful views of the ocean and beach. The house is beautifully decorated, has every amenity including access to electronics, and large flat screen TV. Outdoor dining on the large deck was a treat while we watched the squadrons of pelicans pass overhead. Beach walking at low tide and fishing from shore were also some of our favorites. We would highly recommend staying here. The website pics do not do the house justice. Even the kitchen faces the ocean!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very pleased that these folks enjoyed all the amenities of Sandpiper's Nest....and noted that the house is even prettier than the pictures! We try to put ourselves in the shoes of our renters and think what we would want to have available for our special vacation....and provide it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Greatest Vacation Ever

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We spent three weeks at Sandpiper’s Nest. It was a vacation of a lifetime. We loved long walks in the surf especially at low tide, beautiful sunrises, surf sounds 24/7, pelican flyovers, and an uncrowded beach. Watching the surf fishermen and surfers was entertaining. My wife and I read 6 books during our stay using the spacious and relatively private deck. It was also nice having St Augustine just 7 miles south for sightseeing and eating. Rhett’s Piano Bar was special.

It wasn’t long into our stay that Sandpiper’s Nest felt very much like home. It is well stocked with all the basics and more. The pictures are so accurate. The master bedroom is more comfortable than our real home. The new Publix grocery store which has a wonderful bakery is only 5 miles south. The Reef and Caps restaurants are 2 miles south and offer great seafood.

We highly recommend Sandpiper’s Nest if you want to experience the ocean without the hustle and bustle of oceanfront resorts!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are thrilled that these nice folks enjoyed Sandpiper's Nest and commented on some of the things that make the house and the area so special. We keep our properties in excellent condition and provide the best of everything for our renters. Additional treats include the wide, quiet beach, nearby excellent restaurants, and all the fun activities in St. Augustine.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great beach house!

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

My parents and I stayed for a week at your wonderful beach house. It was one of the nicest houses we've rented, completely stocked with everything you could need. Love the location, quiet beach, comfy beds, love the deck with plenty of chairs for lounging. Love having the beach right there. Thank you for sharing your beautiful house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are extremely happy that Kathy and her family enjoyed Sandpiper's Nest enough to write an unsolicited review! We work hard to make sure this charming home has all the amenities and comfort to make a vacation very special!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sue in Canada

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

This is the first time that our family has rented a beach house as part of our annual Christmas break vacation. We absolutely loved both the house itself and the location on the beach. Since it is set back a bit from the beach, we had privacy when sitting on our back deck. The to walk down the back steps and have the ocean right at our feet was great. Falling asleep to the repetitive sound of the waves is priceless. Grocery shopping was a bit of a treak away but we noticed a new Publix store was just about to open when you first enter St Augustine. This will be much appreciated for those that follow.
The photos on the web site are totally accurate. We have been to destinations in the past where this is not always the case.
We had an issue with the fireplace upon arrival. It was looked after once our concerns were accurately communicated to the owner.
We took a boat excursion for a 4 hour fishing experience from Walker Charters in St Augustine. Best 4 hours of fishing that all of us have ever done. Extremely polite and personable and able to take us to where the fish were biting. Highly recommend it!
Overall fantastic experience that we would reccomend to anyone looking for a beach house in the St Augustine/ Ponte Verda area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Ocean Front House

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

Sandpiper's Nest was an ideal ocean front house for our vacation. Located in a non-commercial area of S. Ponte Vedra Beach, the property had great ocean vistas from the living areas and master bedroom, easy access to the beach from the large deck, up to date technology (WiFi, cable and flat screen televisions), bright pastel colors and a beach cottage themed decor. The house was comfortably furnished and extremely well maintained. The kitchen was very well equipped, even if you wanted to prep an elaborate dinner "at home" given all of restaurants in the area offering fresh seafood and a variety of cuisines. The open floor plan is great for relaxing and entertaining. The garage helped to keep sand and salt off of our car and stored all of the supplied beach chairs and toys as well as an additional washer and dryer. The owners were very responsive to questions we had were willing to immediately address and resolve an issue with a water softener. Recreational opportunities abound from long beach walks, boating, kayaking and other water activities, golf, bicycling (A1A has a bike lane), and visiting historical St. Augustine. The Guana preserve offers naturalist led excursions. Our dogs loved their beach walks and chasing sea birds into the surf. We will definitely return to the Sandpiper!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very happy that these folks loved Sandpiper's Nest (and in fact have re-booked for another stay in 2012). We work very hard to keep the house spotless, pretty, comfortable, well supplied, and updated. Amenities such as a garage, two washers and dryers, water softener, and new TVs are seldom requested by renters, but, as as these renters noted, they certainly do add to the enjoyment of your stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Perfect vacation home

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week in this gorgeous beach house in South Ponte Vedra Beach and it was incredible! The house itself is very nice; neat and clean. Our dogs loved playing on the beach everyday; which we had pretty much to ourselves. House is in a perfect location, close to St. Augustine, Daytona, etc. I would book this house again if we find ourselves vacationing in Florida.

Owners response: We are glad that Paul and his wife enjoyed Sandpiper's Nest and that the dogs had a great time too! This house is very pet friendly, but those of you without pets need not worry....you will never know a pet has been in the house, we guarantee!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

May 21-May 28

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

The pictures really don't do Sandpiper's Nest justice. The house was clean, organized and very well stocked. It lacked nothing......right down to the beach towels, spices, beach chairs, food wrap, laundry detergent and so much more. All you need to do is bring your clothes. The area is quiet and the beach is nearly secluded......heaven on earth. The beaches are spotless and you can walk barefoot for miles.
Loved it, loved it. Beautiful home, gorgeous area.....quiet, residential, not commercial and overcrowded. We'll be back again.

Dan and Bev Hendricks
St. Louis, Missouri

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are thrilled that Dan and Bev enjoyed Sandpiper's Nest and our wonderful quiet beach. We do our best to keep the house stocked with everything our renters will need, and we also try very hard to decorate our homes in comfortable and lovely furnishings so that our guests will feel totally relaxed...and of course, want to come again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sandpiper's Nest was the perfect get-away

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

My husband and I (and our two canine kids) thoroughly enjoyed our week in South Ponte Vedra Beach and at Sandpiper's Nest. The house was equipped with everything we needed to enjoy a carefree and relaxed vacation: ocean front views, the sound of surf right over the dunes, a very well appointed kitchen, effortless check-in and check-out, plus too many other little details to mention. Judy and Bill Wren were a delight to work with.

We look forward to our next visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

Amazing! The house had everything you need for a week's vacation and is very functional from a space/living perspective. The view and access to the beach is fantastic. Everything was very clean and well-maintained.
We also purchased a membership to the Seranata Beach Club as we had younger children (ages 6 and 8) who we thought may need more activities, but, we ended up going only once the entire week. They were very happy playing on the beach, collecting shells, etc.
I would recommend planning meals in advance as the grocery store isn't close enough for a 'quick trip', however it looks as if there will be a new Publix built close by and will have easy access to the house.
I would recommend this property without hesitation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy that these Detroit folks enjoyed their stay at Sandpiper's Nest and we look forward to their return! The Serenata Beach Club is located just a mile from the house and does offer a change of pace, with three pools, work out facility, great dining room and bar, and much more. However, as these renters discoverd, the beach itself is wide, safe and a great place for little ones to make sand castles, play in the tide pools, and find shells, so you may not want to stray far from the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sandpiper Nest

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

This amazing Ponte Vedra Beach house offered a charming atmosphere and a quiet serenity with all the amenities. The home is beautifully decorated and offered us a relaxing atmosphere for our month long stay.

We enjoyed the beautiful sunrises from our deck that allowed us easy access to the beach for fishing, walking ,biking and watching the dolphins and shore birds.

We thoroughly enjoyed visiting the nation's oldest city with the cobblestone streets, Spanish colonial architectures, shopping and wonderful dining destinations.

We thank Judy and Bill Wren for their gracious hospitality.
Vacationing in this wonderful beach home gave us an experience that we want to repeat again and again!

Mona and Bill Reuscher, Ohio

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased that Mona and Bill enjoyed their stay! Even in February, the beach, St. Augustine, and the surrounding areas offer serenity, respite from snowy weather, and many activities! We certainly hope all our winter visitors will take advantage of the comfort of this charming home, as well as the attractions, golf, and other opportunities to remain active and escape the harsher climes.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous beach front home with all amenities!

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

We had a terrific stay at Sandpiper's Nest for a week in October. The house is extremely updated, decorated perfectly for that beach get away zone out time and has every item (from kitchen to entertainment to wireless internet) that anyone could ever desire. It was spotless when we arrived. Linens are provided (beach towels too!) as well as a gas grill, starter paper products, books, DVDs, beach chairs. A fabulous view is also included in the deal. We will be BACK!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful week at Sandpiper's Nest

Review submitted: November 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

Sandpiper's Nest is a beautiful beach cottage. Our occupants consisted of my elderly parents, my husband, myself and our small dog. When we first walked into the house, we fell in love with it. The house is decorated in a charming beach theme. The house has every comfort of home. I have never stayed in a cleaner beach rental. The view of the ocean from the living area and master bedroom took our breath away.
My parents have mobility issues, and they enjoyed the ease provided by the one story house. They spent many hours on the spacious deck reading books and watching the surf. There was ample room for 4 adults and a small dog to spread out and have our own space.
The beach is beautiful. It is wide and clean, and expands as far as the eye can see in any direction.
We explored St Augustine, ate at great restaurants, fished, took long beach walks. We enjoyed eating breakfast and occasional dinners on the ocean front deck. What could be better?
This was our first visit to the South Ponte Vedra Beach and St. Augustine area. It won't be our last. I look forward to future stays at Sandpiper's Nest.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that Angie and her familly had such a positive experience for their first vacation to the South Ponte Vedra - St. Augustine area! The wide, sandy, peaceful beach is always a surprise to visitors who are used to crowds or cars on the beach...and of course we are pleased that they loved Sandpiper's Nest...as everyone does!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sandpiper's Nest

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

Our stay at Sandpiper's nest was extraordinary! Sandpiper's nest is such a lovely, comfortable, and cozy home, and the attention to creature comforts afforded by our hosts was wonderful! Our vacation was enhanced by the warmth and feel of this home. Its proximity to the beach meant members of our group could easily come and go as they pleased. The deck offered many wonderful evenings of outdoor relaxation, in view of the sand and surf. The fact that the beach is realtively private, and thus not at all crowded (even on the weekends) made our stay even more enjoyable. A short car ride into town offered all anyone could offer by way of easy access to great restaurants, activities and sight-seeing. Yet, you simply never felt cheated just "being at home." I would highly recommend this property to anyone--and will definitley be going back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sandpiper's Nest was Delightful!

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sandpiper's Nest, it was the perfect home away from home. It just doesn't get better than stepping out the back door, coffee in hand, to the sights and peaceful sounds of early morning on your nearly private beach. The location is great if you need to decompress, and yet close enough to charming St. Augustine or Ponte Vedra if you choose to gallivant. We enjoyed dinner at CAPs one night, and cooked a fresh catch from Kyle's Seafood Market on another. Sandpiper's Nest didn't feel like a rental property, it felt like a friend's home. The property was precisely as advertised, clean, well maintained, and very well appointed. Communication and information provided by the property owner was excellent and complete. We look forward to another visit.

We took advantage of the opportunity to join Serenata Beach Club during our stay. That was another great experience which we would recommend to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Beautifully decorated Oceanfront Cottage Home

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

We loved staying at Sandpiper's Nest. There was a ton of room for our 3 year old to run around. It felt like staying at someone's very well kept beach home, not a rental. Attention is paid to every detail at Sandpiper's Nest. We plan on going back and highly recommend it if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Ponte Vedra.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

We desperately needed some R&R and Sandpiper's Nest was the perfect place to unwind! It had everything we needed with a nice cozy home atmosphere. It was perfect for our family especially our grandson. The enclosed deck allowed him to play in the sun and seabreeze without our having to worry. We plan on many future visits. If you need a quiet and relaxing get away Sandpiper is the perfect home away from home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

Wonderful beachfront house directly on ocean, nicely appointed and well-maintained. We lead intense lives in Washington DC and Hollywood CA and truly relaxed at Sandpiper's Nest.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 18, 2009   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

Nice quaint beach house with all the amenities of home and some you realized you didn't really need to pack. Very well equipped and comfortable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 28, 2009   Date of arrival: June 28, 2009

Sandpiper was great. The decor and upkeep of this house is to be rivalled by every other rental we've stayed in, especially the cleanliness. The location is awesome; just far enough away from the crowd while still a short ride to St Augustine. The beach is wonderful - no crowds, only private properties, plenty of seashells and the house is practically ON the beach - no walk to get there - just a few feet out the back door and down the steps.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 25, 2009   Date of arrival: February 14, 2009

Sandpiper's nest was just what we were looking for. Loved the boardwalk down to the beach and the kids had fun with the boogie boards.

We spent alot of time in St. Augusine, Fort and Old Town. Don't recomend driving to Disney from this location, like we did. It's too far after a long day of playing.

The house is well appointed, private, and clean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 9, 2009   Date of arrival: June 9, 2009

This was our first trip to South Ponte Vedra and we enjoyed it immensely. The house was perfect with all the comforts of home. We typically try to go somewhere different for vacations each year but will definitely be returning here. Thank you Bill & Judy for sharing your wonderful home with us and making our vacation everything we hoped for and more!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 23, 2009   Date of arrival: April 23, 2009

Spent a week with my son and family as my 70th birthday present. The house was fabulous; we had a wonderful time. Everything was comfortable and beautiful--especially the view. Would love to have stayed longer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 16, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We had the most wonderful vacation at Sandpiper's Nest. Everything was just beautiful and we wanted for nothing. I am in a wheelchair and unable to walk so it is always a concern if things will be accessible or not, everything was wonderful! I enjoyed watching the dolphins from the built-in bench on the boardwalk. We hope to be back for several years to come. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We just returned this afternoon from our third stay in one of Judy Wren's beach houses ... our second stay at the Sandpipers Nest. The house becomes a "home" as soon as you enter. It is a warm an comfortable home with all of the necessities including a fireplace for Feb cool evenings. Judy goes the extra mile to ensure that everyting is easy during your stay as well as making the rental process very easy. Thanks to Judy, we will be going back next year. We now love "The Reef", just south on A1A for wonderful dinners. Go to the Sandpipers Nest and enjoy a marvelous, vacation at a beach house that will welcome you with the beach just out the back door!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 5, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

We have been vacationing in South Ponte Vedra for 8 years. Our favorite experiences have been the times we are offered all the comforts of home provided by a Wren property. That is why we return to them. We've tried others, but come back to the best! The Wren's make every effort to assure your stay is all that you had hoped it would be-- going the extra mile to check in and make sure you are satisfied. We have never wanted for a thing. We highly recommend the suggestions they offer on their website. They have done the legwork for us over the years, so we are able to hit the ground running with no learning curve to overcome. SPV has become our home away from home. We are looking forward to our 9th return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 13, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We had a WONDERFUL week at Sandpiper's Nest! Relaxing on the deck by day and listening to the ocean at night was the perfect setting to get us away from our daily grind. St. Augustine was a short drive and provided all the necessities for a perfect vacation.

We look forward to returning.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 3, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Wonderful beach house! Very well equiped, and access to the beach is outstanding! We will definitely return again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 19, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We took our first vacation with our 6 months old daughter Sofia and had a great time. The Sandpipers nest is perfect for a family that wants to enjoy family time. We spend our days at the beach where Sofia took her first dive in the ocean, not without protest. The house is charming and cozy and we hope to be back soon.

Bill and Daniela

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 7, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Sandpiper's Nest was a perfect retreat from long work hours and stress. The house was located right on the beach and at high tide the waves lapped over the steps. Morning coffee on the deck overlooking the ocean was the best way to start the day. Jim fished from the beach and caught a sea trout for dinner. The house is nicely decorated and the computer and wide screen TVs a nice perk. We would definitely return again.

Owners response: We had some really high tides and north-easters last fall. The water doesn't usually come up to the steps at high tide..we typically have plenty of beach for walking and playing...and at low tide we have hundreds of feet!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 17, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We enjoyed our stay immensely! Our stay was totally for relaxation and we could not have picked a better place. Sandpiper's Nest is a wonderful beach house and located in an excellent spot in South Ponte Vedra. The house is beautifully decorated and is stocked with everything you could need during your stay. The deck is a wonderful place to relax in the evening after spending the day on the beach. We definitely plan to stay here again next year.

Thank you Judy & Bill for allowing us to spend our week in your fabulous home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 21, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Our stay at Sandpiper's Nest was wonderful! The house was so clean, cozy, and beautifully decorated. The weather was perfect and we loved relaxing on the beach between trips to St Augustine, climbing 219 steps to the top of the lighthouse, and eating dinner at Caps. It was a perfect place for us to relax and enjoy our two little grandsons.

We would love to visit again soon.

Howard and Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 20, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Hi Judy, Another delightful stay at Sandpiper's Nest. Don and I along with Paul & Elaine had such a good time. This year, we stayed in for dinner more often and really enjoyed the oceanview and relaxed evenings. We'll be back next year for sure.
Margot Nappo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 8, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

My husband and I chose Sandpiper's Nest to celebrate our fifth wedding anniversary. We could not have picked a better location. All of the amenities were included in this well appointed home. We had a great time and would highly recommend this for a family...or a couple. ;)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 20, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

I enjoyed my stay immensely. The house is only a short drive from St. Augustine, one of the loveliest cities around.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 6, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

What an amazing house! We spent a long weekend at Sandpiper's Nest to celebrate my fiance's birthday. It was fantastic! Not even Hurricane Noel could spoil our trip. The house is in the perfect location, has a beautiful interior and was full of everything we needed. Thank you for sharing your beautiful place with us Judy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 27, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

My family says it was the best vacation we ever had, which says it all! The house quickly became "home" and the beach access was phenomenal. We also liked that the location was quiet, but close enough to everything we wanted to do. We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 11, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

An amazing home away from home! The personal touches are too many to mention. We enjoyed watching dolphins, collecting shells and wave riding. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 14, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Hi Judy, As you know, we have enjoyed all of your houses but we really found Sandpiper's Nest to be perfect for the four of us. Nice and bright and near the water. We spent a great deal of time on the deck and when I got home and sat on my own deck - I really missed the sound of the ocean. Don, Elaine, Paul and I all look forward to staying at Sandpiper's Nest next year. A perfect Beach House. Margot

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 1, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

2nd times a charm! 1st time too. We had a great time this year. My family & I enjoyed every minute. Wish it could have been longer. Back to reality. We look forward to trip #3 next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 9, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

PURE HEAVEN! We truly didn't want to leave this wonderful beachfront home with one of the best views we have ever had in the St. Augustine area. The house was immaculate and had everything we needed, the location was perfect, the beach was out the back door, and we had the privacy we were looking for. It could not have been better! Thank you Judy & Bill and we look forward to returning later this summer!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 23, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Absolutely wonderful!!!! Great and cozy, bright and clean. Wonderful beach and well equipped and furnished. Nothing negative at all. Very friendly to deal with...thanks Judy. Will definitely stay there again when time allows. HIGHLY recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 27, 2006   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

The house looked just like it did in the pictures, with cozy beach style and lots of great light from all the windows. We appreciated the house being well kept up and the ease of working with the Wrens in renting the house. Also, liked being a few steps away from the beach and hearing the ocean waves come to shore. Neat to see the various birds fly out to the ocean in the morning and then back toward land in the evening. This was a comfortable place to stay -- a place to just hang out by the beach and do nothing as well as a place within easy drives to various historic, nature, and golf attractions.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 26, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Wow, we really felt at home in the Sandpipers Nest. The home was stocked with everything that we needed to make ourselves comfortable. We loved that the home was child friendly, since we have 15 month old twins. The Wren's were wonderful to deal with and have done an awesome job making a vacation house a "home" .

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 18, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

What a wonderful vacation! The house was perfect. Well decorated, very clean, and right on the beach. The Wren's have thought of everything. The house was well stocked with everything we needed. We definitely will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 15, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

sandpiper was a great place to stay. it more than meet our expectations. every thing that you might want was there. we had a great time and culdn't of ask for a better place to stay and we plan on going again next year. judy was a great help and we thank her.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 10, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We had a wonderful time at the Sandpiper's Nest. It was very peaceful. The accommodations were great! The house is well stocked with everything you could possible need. It was far enough away for us to feel that we were truly on vacation, but close enough to home to have extended family come visit. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 2, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Another lovely experience from the Wren's. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Sandpiper's Nest (7/22/06-7/29/06) and truly had a luxurious, stress-free vacation. We particularly felt blessed to be able to find a one-level property, as my husband has MS and motivating stairsteps is very difficult for him.
We could not have asked for a more lovely or welcoming beach house, and truly felt that we were at "home."
Thanks again, Bill and Judy. You are the perfect hosts.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 27, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

This home is very clean, restful and well stocked. Much better than most rental homes. The wrens were very professional in their handling of the information needed and monies exchanged. I highly recommend. ( the site on the ocean is wonderful and private)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 28, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

We spent a week at Sandpiper's Nest the second week in May. We had a wonderful time. It was the first time staying in the St. Augustine area and it was great. The home was spectular and the views were breathtaking. We have plans on returning next Spring. I would recommend this place highly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 28, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

What a treasure! The home is immaculate. There is a care here unlike most, to provide an atmosphere of home, each detail designed to ensure a relaxed, home-like environment,all the while overlooking the ocean. The beds with down comforters, fluffy pillows, plenty of blankets, towels, well equipped kitchen and beach necessities-chairs/toys/umbrellas. The deck has a wonderful table and chairs/loungers to allow a wonderful meal overlooking the ocean. The opportunities in nearby St. Augustine and Ponte Vedra, leave endless opportunities for fine dinners, both elegant(Ruth Chris) to family fun(Bogey's,Harry's etc..) The horse/buggy ride in St Augustine was wonderful, even as "locals" we learned so much.

The pictures do not do the home full justice, it is even better in person!

We were so grateful to have spent our week there. If you can find a spot, I recommend this most lovely and charming beach home.

Sarah Elliott and family
Tyler 11
Beth 9

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 23, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

My family had a wonderful week. The house is well equipped and the ground level access is terrific. We hope to return again! ME Conway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 15, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

I don't think we've ever had a better experience renting a house. Was immaculate, with great care give to make sure everything was there that we would need. Owner very attentive and available. Oh-- and everything you are reading here about the beautiful location and environment are true. We definitely would like to come to this house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 4, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

Sandpiper's Nest is MORE than we expected, which is saying alot!! I looked at the pictures online and was very pleased and even more impressed when we arrived. The home had everything we needed and more. It is BEAUTIFUL, comfortable, has a spectacular view and very close to St. Augustine. We didn't want to leave!! Thank you, Judy and Bill, for sharing your wonderful beach home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 23, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

We were fortunate to stay at Sandpiper’s Nest the week of Feb 5. As expected during this ‘quiet time’, it was cool, yet wonderful. The house is every bit as comfortable and charmingly outfitted as it appears in pictures. The location was perfect for us, about 15 minutes north of historic St Augustine yet with miles of quiet beach (at least in early Feb) just off the back deck. And it’s really the beach you come for, whether fishing, watching the pelican and shore birds feed, or walking at sunrise. Thank you, Judy and Bill, for making Sandpiper’s Nest available. Life is good!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 14, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

We have just spent Christmas week at "The Sandpiper Nest"..what a thrill.for the past 8 yrs we have stayed at The Ponte Vedra Inn and Resort."Sandpiper" is the only way to go. Everything you need to have your stay perfect is there and more.. Judy and Bill have done a great job in making your stay ..well just perfect..... Thanks Judy and Bill.. M and D..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review