reviews for: listing #19470 - Lake Lure, North Carolina Cabin rental

The Commander's "In Port" Cabin
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Brookside Forest
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $275 /nt
    $1,500 - $1,700 /wk
    $3,500 - $4,700 /mth

sort by:

Great getaway close to Asheville

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

This was our first family trip to the mountains and we are making this a yearly vacation getaway. The cabin and amenities were fantastic. The cabin made you feel like you were at your own families home and you were able to truly relax. You are about a 40 minute drive to Biltmore Estate and Downtown Asheville. If you are looking for a cabin that is clean, offers full amenties and is quiet and cozy I would recommend this cabin in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for coming! Looking forward to having you again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Thanksgiving ever!

Review submitted: December 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

Randy , Wow, words can't express how wonderful our stay was at your beautiful cabin in Lake Lure! My husband and I spent a few days alone with our son before the rest of the clan started to arrive. We were able to enjoy the peace and quite (minus the 2 yr old) and took in the beauty of the surrounding mountain ridge. The weather was unseasonably warm so we were able to spend tons of time outdoors and came home each evening to snuggle near the fire. I think my husband was able to golf 3 or 4 times during the trip so he was happy and the whole family took your advice on the horse riding trial too. Once the family started to arrive things just got better. We had plenty of room to share with each person getting a bed (11 total) and we all had space to ourselves when we wanted it. The twenty something girls took over the basement area until we crashed their party to beat them at pool. We were all able to enjoy the hot tub in the evenings with wine in hand. My husband is from Baltimore and said he had never seen so many stars in his life, he felt like we were at a private planetarium viewing!

Thanksgiving dinner was wonderful thanks to my husband "the chef" and we had everything we could have possibly needed at our fingers tips thanks to your well stocked kitchen. A special thank you for the extra wine glasses, turkey platter and gravy boat you provided just for us. You really know how to make your guest feel special!

Our week past a little too fast but that's what happens when your having a great time with the ones you love. We drove to Asheville for a day and spent several exploring Lake Lure and your community. My mom and a family friend even went to Cherokee from there. You really have it all ( location, amenities, charm) we wouldn't change a thing! We all drove down/ up from several states to meet as a family and because it was so great to get away and see family we are all talking about doing the samething next year!

An extra thank you for being kind enough to mail our missing items!

If your thinking of getting away, this is a must stay location. Couples or families it's fantastic!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the visit and we are glad everyone had a great time. Lake Lure is a jewel of a area to enjoy that few know about. Hope you and your crew will return to the area. R

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Relaxing Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

This charming "cabin" has all the amenities of home while cloaked in the romantic, seemingly isolated, woods surrounding Lake Lure. Sip coffee in the morning while watching the sunrise from a rocker on the front deck; enjoy a glass of wine at sunset from the hot tub or relax and count the stars from the rear decks. Our vacation was made more enjoyable by the well-appointed kitchen with its array of small appliances-I setup the crockpot in the morning, freeing us to explore the local tourist sights, hike the mountains, and visit the Biltmore. Recreational amenities in the cabin include fun in the hot tub, billiards, darts, and board games. Outside the flora provides an ever changing panorama of color within the hardwood forest punctuated by the occassional deer inside the gates of this bucolic neighborhood. We highly recommend the Commander's "in port" and plan on returning to this large, spacious home which radiates a sophistated, rustic warmth for our next family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the visit! The Commander's Inport Cabin gives a whole different definition of the word "cabin"! Thanks and come again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Incredible Vacation!!!

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

We all had a very enjoyable time! The cabin was very spacious and allowed all of us ample room to get around. The kids were in heaven with the large hot tub, pool table, and living quarters downstairs, which means that the adults were in heaven with their living quarters upstairs. The cabin is so tastefully done and hosts all the amenities you need for a private relaxing retreat. We cannot wait to go back. Thanks so much!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the visit! The cabin was built with family groups in mind. October and November are beautiful times to visit with the leaves changing colors all around the cabin.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Mountain Vacation

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

My husband and I just spent a week at this wonderful, relaxing mountain cabin. It is very spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. It had everything you could possibly want, a hot tub on the deck overlooking the mountain, a pool table downstairs, a jacuzzi tub in the master bath, a large grill, a large hd tv, rocking chairs and a hammock on the porch, all in a secure gated development. It is close to Asheville and Hendersonville and a hour n half from Grandfather Mtn. Several nearby golf courses and wonderful restaurants and shopping. We highly recommend staying here as we both had a fabulous time and will definitely be returning. The lake lure lunch cruise to Larkin's is worth doing. Point of View restaurant as an awesome Prime Rib dinner special on Tues. nights for 13.95, highly recommend it as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for coming and hope to see you in October when the leaves are changing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect House for the Parents of the Bride

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

Our daughter decided to get married in Forest City, so I began looking for a house that could accommodate the all her bridesmaids and some of our family. After seeing this home, we knew that it would be perfect for what we needed. Beautiful and comfortable. Warm and cozy. Laid out well. Room for us all to enjoy the view and each other. Sunrise and sunsets are magnificent from the wrap around porch.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our cabin has been a favorite venue for prewedding events. Room enough for bride's maids and family which is a big financial help to the parents. Glad everyone enjoyed their stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Life is Good....

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

....that is what you are thinking when sitting on one of the multiple decks, communing with nature. Don't let the pictures of the outside of the home fool you. This house lives large with plenty of room for a large family but still cozy enough for just my husband and I. Beautiful, quiet neighborhood that makes you feel 1000 miles away from everything but still close to all of Lake Lure's amenities. Asheville is a short drive (CANNOT miss the Biltmore) as is Hendersonville(recommend Flight to eat) if you want a little more action and shopping. Grandfather Mountain is about 90 minutes and worth the trip.

This is a very special place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our cabin is a true vacation home. Much larger than the photos depict. A perfect venue for famIy reunions or just kicking back. R

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

We visited for an extended weekend to get away from the daily grind. It was very relaxing sitting on the porch watching the wildlife. We also ventured into town & ate at a few of the restaurants. The food was great everywhere we ate.

We took our boys with us, and they enjoyed the pool table & watching football. They also rented kayaks & toured Lake Lure at a very reasonable price. We also took a short hike on trails that are very close to the cabin.

This cabin has all the comforts of home. The kitchen is fully equipped if you decide to cook. We used the grill on the deck to cook our steaks. There are throw blankets to cuddle up with, and also several books to choose from if you forget yours. The decor was awesome & it really helps you get that mountain feeling. There is enough room for 2 families, and we will take more people with us the next time we go.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad everyone had a great time! Look forward to your family returning to our cabin. Hope you can return when the mountain laurel is in bloom in the spring.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

This was the greatest vacation we have had in a very long time!!! We had a blast!!! The cabin is gorgeous!!! Our family was totally blown away by the love that was put into the building of this cabin!! We enjoyed evenings out on the deck oh did I mention there is a lower deck they are both wrap around decks! We enjoyed the TV in the upstairs livingroom.
We played pool down in the game room. Neither one of the kids could decide were they wanted to sleep lol, because of the many bedrooms that are there!! And the bedrooms are out of this world!! The jacuzzi was a blessing for those of us that work daily. It totally removed the stress to enjoy the rest of the vacation.
There are manythings to do. We went horseback riding and had a great time!! We couldn't go tubbing , because the damn wasn't open!! We never did make it down for the boat tour!! Got caught up on the walk we took and the kids admiring the other cabins and the mountain view.
The kitchen is so spacious and the bathrooms very roomy.
We loved our stay and are hoping to be able to go up again in December maybe around Christmas time.
Go !!!! You will love your stay and enjoy the quiet!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We look forward to having you and other families enjoy our vacation home. The cabin photos do not depict well the actual size of this 2717 sq foot cabin. Leaf changing season as well as the holiday season are fast approaching so reserve soon! R

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review