reviews for: listing #19484 - Kapalua, Hawaii Condo rental

Kapalua Sunset in Kapalua Bay Villas has Value & Luxury
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kapalua Bay Villas
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $220 - $280 /nt
    $1,540 - $1,960 /wk

sort by:

Practical Honeymoon Hub

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2014

You'll get exactly what's advertised at this location. It was clean, spacious and convenient to beaches and dining spots in Kapalua. We stayed here during our honeymoon and were very happy with the privacy and service we got from Lisa.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Mahalo, John. I really enjoy assisting honeymooners since we went to Maui on our honeymoon! Our "Kapalua Sunset" is in a really good location in the Bay Villas property--it's near the entrance to the property, so it's not a long walk to the beaches or restaurants (Merriman's, Pineapple Grill, and Seahouse Restaurant at the Napili Kai Resort).

We're very proud of how our "Kapalua Sunset" villa looks, and so many guests love how comfortable it is and the upgrades. Plan on staying in our villa on your next vacation...you'll become part of the "ohana" who have made it their home-away-from-home.

Cheers to Great Vacations!
Lisa and Pete Gannon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Hawaii Vacation Rental

Review submitted: May 25, 2014   Date of arrival: May 12, 2014

Just returned from a 9 nights stay. I will be perfectly honest and say that we wanted for NOTHING from the moment that we walked in until we departed. With the exception of your own food, this condo has everything you need and extra comforts of home you want. The owners have taken strides to make this YOUR home away from home!! Transportation at your door step for a night of dinner and/or drinks to and from restaurants in Kapalua and the best beaches for swimming and snorkeling, golf on one of the best courses in the U.S., steps from your door. No need to book a snorkeling trip, you have several options at your disposal. If you are a walker, hiker or jogger, you will have your choice of the Coastal Trail or the quiet streets through the Cook Pines to satisfy your exercising needs. Traveling to other parts of the island are made easy by access to Highway 30 or Lower Honoapiilani Rd. I can't say enough good things about this property except you will want to return as this is our second time here and where we will stay again on our next visit! The beauty of this location and this property is all you want on your Hawaiian Vacation. Aloha!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: April 22, 2014

The condo is great to have as home base! It's spacious with a fully equipped kitchen, so you don't have to eat out all the time. It's decorated quite tastefully and comfortably. It's close to 3 beautiful beaches and nearby restaurants for when you do want to dine out. The Kapalua shuttle is great for getting around without a car. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Vacation in Kapalua!

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 25, 2014

My family and I just got back from an incredible week long holiday in Kapalua. Our stay at the condo was fabulous and we loved every detail about it. The location is prime, the condo itself is uber clean and updated, everything you could ever need or want is there and it is perfect for families.
We loved having the lania open up to a wonderful grass field and the walking paths on the coastal trail and to Kapalua Bay were perfect.
Thank you for a wonderful vacation and we can't wait to stay again! I can't recommend this condo enough...it is fabulous!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo, Amy, for the great review. Peter and I try to maintain our "Kapalua Sunset" villa every time we're there, and the updates we have done have really gotten wonderful reviews. As "hands-on" owners, we really strive to keep the villa in great condition so each and every guest enjoys it to the maximum potential! We really appreciate your kind words, and look forward to when you are ready to book your next vacation. Repeat guests and referrals are the two best compliments owners can receive.

Cheers to Great Vacations!
Lisa Gannon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation!!!!!

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 21, 2014

We had a great time and would recommend unit to a friend or relative. The unit was clean and well maintained and equipped. It was very convenient to activities and restaurants and attractions. Looking forward to staying here on our next trip to Maui.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the compliment! The best compliment we can receive are referrals and repeat guests! We look forward to hearing from you when you want to return to our/YOUR "Kapalua Sunset" villa at the Kapalua Bay Villas. Cheers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

We had a great week in this lovely condo. It is well equipped, comfortable and clean condo with plenty of room and nice personal touches. We really appreciated the beach chairs, mats and sand toys. The lanai was adorable and the kids loved running around on the large lawn off the lanai . Great location. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the compliments! We visit our "Kapalua Sunset" villa throughout the year to keep it updated, do any maintenance, and meet with our property management and housekeeping team to make sure our villa is clean and ready for guests at all times. We feel this hard work and attention to detail has paid off in the reviews we are receiving.

The beach chairs, sand toys, etc are extra touches that we try to keep available for our guests. We never know from one time to the next what will be in the closet, and sometimes guests buy items (beach umbrellas) they leave in the closet.

When you're staying in our "Kapalua Sunset" villa, it is now your vacation home and we hope you'll return to it on your next visit to Maui.

Enjoy!
Lisa & Pete

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything We Hoped For

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

David & I arrived at the condo about 6:00 this evening. Needless to say ... we are happier than our wildest dreams. The unit is beautiful, perfect, clean and very comfortable.

Please let the owners know how satisfied we are and that we will treat & respect their "home away from home" as if it is our own. The new kitchen counter tops are beautiful. I just might copy them for my Vermont condo.

Thank you for taking the time to assuage the fears of a "crazy lady from New York City". If we are fortunate enough to come back to Maui; we will, with pleasure use your expert services again. We will certainly recommend you to all our friends.

Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

We had an amazing time visiting Maui for the first time and it was greatly enhanced by staying in your condo. It was bigger than I imagined and was perfect for the 4 of us (even with 2 teenagers). We loved sitting outside enjoying the peacefulness of this community. And we appreciated having your wonderful kitchen to make our meals and store our snacks! The coolers were so helpful for transporting drinks and lunch and the boogie boards were a huge hit! As I had mentioned on the phone, most of our daylight hours were spent snorkeling, swimming, hiking etc, but it was so nice to have a "home" to sleep in at night.

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Decor and Close to Beaches

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

Our vacation in your condo was fantastic! We really appreciated how organized and clean the condo was. Also, every room was beautifully decorated! We appreciated the little touches, like the shell necklaces in the shower :) We loved walking to the beach everyday. It was awesome how it was so close to the home! We had so much fun here, and hope to return very soon!

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the Mouth of Babes

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

I like your condo. I had a great time at your condo. Thank you for letting us stay here. Kira 7 yrs old.

We had a fantastic vacation. Your condo was very enjoyable and relaxing. The location is perfect. We went snorkeling every norning and played on the beach everyday. Being able to enjoy a quiet family breakfast in the mornings was the perfect way to start the day and enjoying the lovely sunset with dinner was the perfect end. We really appreciated the beach chairs, mats and toys. We're already talking about our next vacation here.

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Space, Beautiful Views

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

We had a terrific vacation and enjoyed the condo. We greatly appreciated the sand toys, sand mats and chairs at the beaches - Kapalua and Fleming. Our son also enjoyed snorkeling in the pools and tried it at Kapalua ~ although he didn't enjoy the seawater! This was the turtle vacation - we saw the most sea turtles ever on this trip. The weather was terrific, even thought the last two days were rainy and cloudy we still had fun. Appreciated the George Foreman grill since most nights we were too lazy to go the the BBQ's to grill. Great space, beautiful views, quiet neighbors.

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peacefulness of "home"

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

Thanks for allowing us to share in the beauty of your home. We had so much fun - especially boogie boarding at Fleming! We loved to be able to walk to so many beaches and enjoyed the peacefulness of "coming home" after a day in busier areas. We're already scheming to come back!

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It's worth paying for the night of a red-eye.

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

We had a lovely vacation in Kapalua. Your comfortable home, the amazing beaches and the great weather made it a holiday to remember! We will be back! Thank you for all the information you provided before our arrival and for accommodating our request to stay on for a few extra hours before our late departure.

Mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just Perfect!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 26, 2013

Your condo was just perfect for our "little" family. Ellen (10yrs) was very comfortable onthe pull-out couch; and of course Todd and I werre very comfortable in the "master" bedroom.

We've enjoyed eating out on the back patio (lanai) every night. BEAUTIFUL! The kitchen was just perfect-we cooked at home most every night.

We especially enjoy the condo's proximity to Kapalua Bay for snorkeling (we even practiced in the pool). And to Fleming (Beach) for a bit of boogie boarding--thanks for having those available!

We hope to come back again in the near future and will definitely say with you again.

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable, Great Views, Convenient Location

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

Thanks so much for the lovely and comfortable accomodations. We enjoyed our stay immensley and definitely took advantage of the convenient tennis courts, coast trail and nearby beaches. The Pineapple Grill offers some really great food and the daily specials are a good deal for those wanting a brak from cooking. The views from your cocndo are great and I also appreciated the privacy and quietness from the neighboring units. I hardly knew the others were around! For those who enjoy hiking, I highly recommend taking the resort shuttle for the Mahana Ridge Trail or the Ohai Trail situated at about MP40 North on Hwy 30. Ohai offers amazing viewpoints along the ocean. We hope to be back next year! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

We just came back from our great vacation in Kapalua. Thank you Lisa and Pete for letting us stay in your condo. Your condo was excellent...we loved the wide windows in the living room, looking over the lawn, beautiful coconuts trees, banana trees and ocean. It was...just perfect. We enjoyed the lanai very much. It was very quiet and relaxing.
The location was perfect too. We shopped organic food in Honokowai farmers market (10 min away) and cooked healthy meals in the kitchen for most of the days but when we felt like having maitai on ocean view restaurants, we drove 20 min to go to Lahaina or Kanaapali.
Every morning, we drove 5 - 10 min to Honolua Bay to snorkel. It was the best way to start the day. We saw sea turtles there every day...my 7 year-old daughter fell in love with snorkeling. After snorkeling, we drove back to the villa to pick up lunch bags, beach mats, sand toys and chairs (thanks for all of that too!) and walked to Kapalua Beach. We couldn't believe that we could walk to such a beautiful beach from the villa. Kapalua Beach is so beautiful. We enjoyed snorkeling there too.
The kitchen is updated and very clean, the bathroom is huge and comfortable. We couldn't ask for better. We will return! Thank you so much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo, Cristian! The wall of windows does show off the nice view of Molokai across the channel. The large lawn provides added outdoor living space for a chaise lounge, or for kids (and adults) to burn off energy. Cooking meals in the newly updated kitchen feels like a dream while looking at the ocean view.

The best compliments an owner can receive are repeat guests and referrals. We look forward to hearing from you!

Aloha,
Lisa and Pete

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Feels like "Home"

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

Aloha Lisa

Just returned "home" from Merriman's where we had another amazing dinner. Your condo is just like "home". Couldn't be better. We finally feel we have arrived in "paradise". Many mahalos for making your place so beautiful and welcoming. I think we will become regulars.....as it is nice to not live on the beach in vacation land where we are located in Napili. Just love your place, it is beautiful and thanks again. Now we will begin our vacation. Aloha

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceeded Expectations

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at Kapalua Sunset villa and must say the experience exceeded my expectations. The listing description and photo's were spot on and the property is VERY well maintained. We enjoyed the tennis courts, fresh herbs & fruit growing near the unit, the gorgeous coastal trail and nearby beaches, and just sitting on the large lanai and taking in the views. We took advantage of the Kapalua Resort free shuttle to other hiking trails in the area and drove along the north coast for some other sites & hikes - I highly recommend a visit to the Nakalele blow hole and Ohai Trail. The owners were very helpful in answering any questions or concerns we had. Thanks for the great experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Felt Like Home!!!

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

We stayed at Lisa and Pete's condo for 11 days and have once before about a year and a half ago and it was an overall great experience. Their condo is exactly as they state and show in their listing. The amentities are up to date and very comfortable. The location is great and is within walking distance of the ritz, some great restaurants and several beaches, there is a great hiking path you can take walks on or go for a run. They really have everything you need in regards to kitchen supplies, boogie boards and the condo is very roomy and comfortable.
Lisa and Pete were great at getting back to us with any questions we had and feel like friends. We would absolutely recommend their condo to friends and family and hope to stay there again soon!
Tim and Jody

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Repeat Guest Review

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

Hi Pete and Lisa,
It was so wonderful staying in your condo in Kapalua for 2 weeks. Words
cannot aptly describe the beauty and solace one gets from staying in
such a mesmerizing place. As usual you condo was so beautiful and
inviting. We noticed the awesome new kitchen that you have completed and
it really looks great. I must thank you again for allowing us to
experience your condo in Kapalua. Kapalua is truly a unique place.

Cheers,
Bruce

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing in Paradise at Kapalua Sunset

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

My wife and I just returned from "Kapalua Sunset" for our 5 year anniversary. We couldn't have asked for more. Very nice place, clean & decorated nicely. Perfect place for a couple to stay. We spent alot of time on the lanai just taking it all in. We walked to every beach in the area but spent most of our time at Kapalua Bay, our favorite beach on Maui. We will return! Would recommend this condo to anyone looking for somewhere comfortable & quiet to stay. This is a great area to stay in if you want to be away from the noisy, busy hotels & faster paced areas. Only about a 10 minute drive from Lahaina if you are looking to do some shopping & eating. Or, stay in Kapalua & visit the Pineapple Grille across the road for a killer colada & pineapple upside down cake! Sea House is also a great place for pupus and drinks. You are also only a short drive from a market if you want to stock up on food. We tried the zipline at Skyline EcoAdventures Haleakala. It was so fun! Also went to the Drums of the Pacific Luau at the Hyatt in Kaanapali. It was very nice. Overall a great time in Maui. We will be back. Mahalo Peter and Lisa! Maui No Ka Oi!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Repeat Guest Review

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

Hi Lisa,
I can't wait to see the upgraded kitchen! Sounds awesome. I return to your condo because it is beautiful and I know the owners take pride in it! You have a lot of personal touches there and it feels like our home away from home. Keep doing what you have always done, and that is to provide a great vacation property that you both take pride in at a fair price. I have been going to Hawaii for over 30 years and stayed in lots of VRBO properties but yours is the best!!!

Cheers,
Bruce

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly Recommend "Kapalua Sunset"

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Just returned from 9 days at "Kapalua Sunset." Very enjoyable experience! Condo was very clean and as represented on VRBO. Listing photos were accurate and reflected the condo's appearance and amenities. It is very centrally located to all the activities and amenities that Kapalua has to offer such as the Bay Golf Course, the Honolua General Store, Kapalua Spa, and Sansei Sushi, the Pineapple Grille, and Merriman's restaurants. Everything is within walking distance including the almost-private beach (for snorkeling and surfing), the Coastal Trail (for walking and picture-taking) and the three pools at the Bay Villas (for sunning and swimming). Of course, if you don't want to walk the complimentary Kapalua Shuttle is a phone call away. Loved every minute and can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Above & Beyond

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

I called Lisa about here condo in the Kapalua resort for a late August stay with my wife an 4 year old son. Unfortunately, it was not available for our days. However, I found Lisa quite informative and very willing to talk to me about Kapalua and other nearby areas on a couple of occasions. She even went out of her way to help us find another condo in Kapalua which was available. It was fantastic, near perfect for our needs: a quiet place close to the water, where we could unwind for a few days before the new school year started. She made a call, sent me some photos, I gave her my info and the property management company sent me an email and it was done and at a really good price. I had looked at a lot of nearby places that were not as nice or quiet, smaller and for the same price.

The condo was recently renovated and nicely done. Nice landscaping all around, beautiful lawn, a coastal trail 50 yards from our door and a 5 minute walk to either a small beach with great snorkeling (we were inches from big sea turtles everyday!) or a larger beach with soft sand and wonderful bodysurfing. Her unit is very close to the one we stayed in and similar from what I saw when I was there, also with a nice lawn and easy access to the trail & beaches. The units have two floors and nice lanais, where we would eat our meals and sit at night and listen to the brief rain showers or watch the sun go down.

We shopped at nearby places and cooked in the condo. (I really liked the Honokawai farmer's market and Fish Market Maui - the quality of the ahi was about the best I have ever had. We also bought some fresh opah and some pineapple salsa that was excellent!) All the people we met, locals and tourists like us were really friendly. We did not take advantage of all the activities that are readily available, preferring to just swim with our son, relax and go for the occasional run, but we could have easily done many things like kayaking, boating, surfing, tennis, golf et al. West Maui seems to have a lot to offer.

Because of Lisa's generous efforts, our family got what we wanted and an experience that exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend Kapalua as a place to stay for families and couples and Lisa is as gracious and helpful as a host can be!

Charles

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at the "Kapalua Sunset" villa. Nice to be on the bottom level to move the patio chairs into the sun or shade as desired. Lots of great walking trails in the area. Good location (note - is not in an evacuation area so didn't have to relocate with the Tsunami warning). Great vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful unit, loved our stay at Kapalua

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

We rented this unit for my parents, and it was absolutely perfect for them! The unit was exactly as pictured: Spacious, clean, well-appointed. Grounds are impeccably maintained, and the small pool was very convenient for those wanting a break from the beach. Close proximity to the Kapalua Coastal Trail, which provides stunning vistas and is a nice hike from Oneola Bay all the way up to the Ritz Carlton hotel. EASY (we pushed a stroller and had 3 young kids in tow...no problem!), scenic paved walk to Kapalua Bay, where we snorkeled every morning. It was quiet, had ample shade, little surf and wonderful snorkeling that was safe enough for our small children (ages 1-8 yrs old). Rental place located on the steps down to the bay with chairs, life vests for kids, and snorkel/scuba gear (although Snorkel Bob's 5 minutes down the road in Napili was much cheaper to rent for the week). Plenty of restaurants in the area (we enjoyed the Pineapple Grill and a casual meal in the outdoor lounge area of the Ritz), small general store with an inexpensive breakfast/lunch counter, and shuttle system made things very convenient. Lisa is so great: she patiently answered all of my questions, had many helpful suggestions about the area, and even found (and booked) another beautiful 2 bedroom unit for us in the Bay Villas for the rest of our family. We LOVED every minute of our stay in Kapalua. Thanks so much Lisa!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It truly is a pleasure for me to assist families or groups traveling together who need more than one villa. I'll do my best in locating them all in the same property..if that's what you want. Sometimes, however, there may not be enough accommodations in one property which necessitates staying in different Kapalua properties. This can be fun for the group, as they get to experience the different characteristics of each property from the Kapalua Bay Villas, The Kapalua Golf Villas and The Kapalua Ridge Villas. Realizing each visitor has their particular needs/wants, I will try to match you up with the best accommodations available if my own condo is not available or if you need multiple accommodations.

And I certainly don't mind answering lots of questions about the Kapalua Resort Community and the island of Maui in general. I have a lot of resources available to me, and hope each guest has the best experience they can get while on Maui. Even if you're not staying in my own condo and I assist in finding alternate accommodations, I will handle each reservation as if it is my very own and make sure I have answered all questions as best that I can.

Cheers to Great Vacations!
Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

R&G IN MAUI

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

Lisa was very helpful in locating a 2 bedroom unit for the weeks we staying on Maui.
This was not her rental unit, but she went out of her way to help us book a nice unit.
Thanks Lisa --- hope to stay in your unit next visit. Beautiful area.
R&G

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: I'm more than happy to assist in finding alternate accommodations for guests I'm unable to accommodate in my own condo, as I know the condos and it’s the “aloha spirit”. I also am affiliated with two different property management companies as an outside booking agent, so my assistance can alleviate the frustration you may have looking at so many listings. In addition, I'm also certified as a Hawaii Destination Specialist by the Hawaii Visitor and Convention Bureau. It gives me pleasure helping those plan their vacations to Maui, and specifically Kapalua!

Cheers to Great Vacations!
Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

vacation in paradise

Review submitted: November 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

The condo was incredible as were the owners. The condo complex was truely like staying in paradise and you could practically spend your whole time in the complex grounds without leaving the area. The beaches were within walking distance, were three excellent restaurants. The sunsets from the bluff were spectacular. The owners were so personable, friendly, and helpful. We loved it and can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing Condo

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

We felt at home in this well-maintained property. The photos on the website don't do the condo justice! It's much prettier. We appreciated the owner's collection of Hawaiian artwork and books to browse; the beautifully landscaped lanai; close proximity to snorkeling and surfing beaches; grilling fresh fish beside the pool and watching the clouds sweep over Molukai. During our stay (end of September) the complex was uncrowded and quiet, which we liked. We hiked the beach front Kapalua trail, took the shuttle to the aboreteum, visited Lahaina and hiked inside Haleakula, a surreal experience. We ate at the Sea House restaurant, a great place for Happy Hour and sunset viewing and splurged at Merriman's, well worth the expense for fine dining in an elegant setting. Before our trip, Lisa and Peter provided us with information about hiking, dining, snorkeling and surfing which was really helpful. My surfer husband rented a board from Wayno (just ask around) and was blessed with an unusual swell.

The only drawbacks to this ground floor condo are the air conditioning units outside the bedroom and not being an ocean front unit. We had the complex to ourselves most of the week, but when we did have neighbors for a few day, a couple of the air conditioning units hummed all day and night. If you're a light sleeper you might prefer an upstairs unit. Also, this unit is one of the farthest back from the coast. It has a partial ocean view, but if you prefer a better view, request an ocean front condo.

We were really happy with our view, location and price and would recommend this property to those who want a quiet, relaxing vacation where you can get around without a car if you desire. Lounge on the lanai with a Mai Tai and watch the clouds after a day at the beach, paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Value and Location

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

We stayed here 9/15-21 and very much enjoyed the value and location of this condo. The trade winds made for a comfortable breeze blowing through the living spaces. Try the Seahouse restaurant (Napili) nearby for apetizers and afternoon drinks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The value of our fully-equipped "Kapalua Sunset" villa at the Kapalua Bay Villas is beyond compare. Being in The Kapalua Resort Community with the ambience not found anywhere else on the island is priceless. The location of our villa is next to the tennis courts, close to banana trees and the fabulous herb garden! The large lawn off the lanai addes to the outdoor living space; the view of Molokai is always outstanding watching the cloud formations around the island, and of course the sunsets! The location of the building the villa is in, makes for easy access in/out of the property, whether driving or walking to beaches or restaurants.

It's true the trade winds coming through the villa are purely delightful, making it so the a/c doesn't always have to be run...nothing like wonderful, natural island air!!

Our "Kapalua Sunset" villa at the Kapalua Bay Villas awaits you with open arms!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

"What a beautiful and peaceful area. Thank you for providing such a well-stocked kitchen, a lovely herb garden, and everything else we needed to enjoy our stay."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

"Thank you for sharing your beautiful home. The view is wonderful." These are repeat guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

"Your place was a perfect home away from home and all I had hoped for--serenity, beauty, adventure, freindly people and wonderful memories. Thanks for sharing such a lovely home."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

"I LOVE the vintgage Hawaiian stuff in your condo!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2010

"Loved your website so much, I had to call right away to make the reservation! Loved our stay in your comfy condo. Thank you for working with me on the final booking arrangement. It is a magical spot!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: January 19, 2010

"Great place. Hope "our condo" is available next January". This couple volunteered for the SBC Chamionship and had lived in the Kapalua Golf Villas in the past.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

"Thank you for the use of your beautiful condo. The views are incredible. Can't wait to come back"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review