reviews for: listing #19497 - Breckenridge, Colorado House rental

Luxury 3BR, Deck, Grill, Hot Tub, Ski to Town
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Peak 9, Breckenridge
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $795 /nt
    $1,350 - $5,000 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Vacation Home!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

My family recently stayed at Bear Haven. What a wonderful and beautiful place to start and end our days! We all especially loved the hot tub. It was the perfect place to relax after whitewater rafting, hiking in the mountains, or just trekking around Breckenridge.

Bear Haven had everything we needed; the kitchen was well-stocked, the washer and dryer were very useful, and the furnishings and décor were beautiful. As a previous reviewer stated, it truly is a little slice of heaven!

I also appreciated the communication with Bill before, during, and after our stay. He called a few weeks before we checked in to see what questions we had. Once we arrived, he called to make sure we had everything we needed and to answer any questions we had. He also followed up after our stay to ensure we had a good time.

If we ever make it back to Breckenridge for vacation again, we will certainly check in to staying at Bear Haven. We loved our “Colorado Vacation Home” and are so glad we chose to stay at Bear Haven!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer Getaway!!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

My family and I had a wonderful time at Bill and Kathy's little slice of heaven. The rooms were nicely sized and they had a pack n play for our twin 4 month old daughters. They also had a high chair for our 23 month old son. The dining room table was large enough for everyone to sit at and have dinner together. With our party of 11, there was plenty of room for everyone to sleep comfortably and the beds were amazing! After a long day of hiking we grilled out and had cocktails on the back deck and enjoyed the relaxing hot tub. Bill and Kathy provided a bunch of information about the area/resturants and helped our family vacation be a success.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Summer Vacation Home!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

We had 7 total siblings and spouses stay at Bear Haven for a summer vacation. The home was beautifully decorated and had a very comfortable and luxurious feel. The home was very well located to which you felt like you were in the mountains, but very close to downtown Breckenridge. The home had everything we needed to have a great summer vacation. I would highly recommend staying here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2/2 BR Condo - Amazing location & comfortable!

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

Recommended - comfortable and great location very close to the lifts.
Service was great & flexible; owners really made an effort to make feel welcome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great condo and great location

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

I've stayed at dozens of condos and Bill's place was large, comfy, well stocked and best of all in a great location to the quicksilver lift and short walk to town. would certainly return here for those reasons. while you don't need a car, there's heated underground FREE parking as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We always love a great review from someone who has stayed at many of Breckenridges finest condos. That tells us we are doing the "right thing" in keeping the place perfect, upscale, and friendly to our guests. Howard was a pleasure to work with and we hope he comes back to piece of paradise. Bill & Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mountains with the Babies

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

Great stay in Breck with two little babies (under 2). Having a pack n play, highchair, baby gate and humidifiers made this an easy trip and stay with our little guys. The kitchen was STOCKED. No having to buy silly stuff like coffee filters. If you are a beginning snowboarder, you should consider driving down to the mountain, but advanced boarders will be okay (with a little skating, hiking and tree dodging) getting in and out on the board. Best part about this place was the ease - no keys, awesome, check in and out required zero effort, Bill was awesome about calling to make sure everything was ok and communication was easy and efficient. You will be very happy staying here.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: We appreciated Kate's review of the property. We have grandchildren and try to think what a parent needs to enjoy the property. Also, we hate having to buy spices and coffee filters when we travel so provide those for our guests. We hope Kate and her family comes again. Bill & Kathy Handley, Owners of Bear Haven.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

This was our family's second time at the Bill and Kathy's house. Once again we had a great time. Bill and Kathy do a great job of making their house feel like home - plus a hot tub to make it feel like a vacation house. All the essentials to eat or just hang out at home are provided. But, with the slopes near by and all the other great activities in Breckenridge, we were primarily there in the evenings. With a family with 2 kids, was great after a long day on the slopes to come home and relax in the hot tub and then not have to go out every night, but instead make a simple meal where everyone can hangout in PJs and eat dinner (but make sure you at least go out a couple times as there are so many great places to eat in Breckenridge). There was enough room for us to either hangout as a family or just have our own space - depending on the mood of the day. We hope to make it back to Breckenridge again soon, and if we do we plan staying again at Bill and Kathy's place.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome place to stay while in Breck

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

This luxury home is a perfect place to stay while in Breck. Not only is it exquisitely decorated with a very cool bear theme everywhere you look but it's also very comfortable with tons of pillows and blankets. The owner takes great care of the property and is truly concerned with how your stay went. We will rent again next time in Breck.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, awesome property

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

We loved our stay here. It was very clean, nicely appointed, and close to town. There was plenty of room and we have a great experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summertime at Bearhaven

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

Truly loved staying at Bearhaven. The whole house was luxurious and immaculate and we felt right at home from the moment we got there. We came to Breck for a Wedding and with everything going on , looked forward to coming back to Bearhaven every night. Ate at the Kenosha steak house and highly recommend it.The Hot tub was well used by our group after long days of shopping and sightseeing. We will definitely be coming back to Breck for another vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy that the Shepherd family enjoyed Bear Haven. We feel it is a great value in either winter or summer. The 45 degree night time temperatures feel great when you are from Texas or Florida. We hope that the Shepherd family comes back again as our guest.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

January 2012

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

The house was very comfortable and well maintained. The kitchen was nicely stocked with everything we needed to cook the meals we had planned. We especially liked the keeping room off the kitchen with the TV. My sister and I spent a lot of time in this area while the guys hung out in the living room. The bedrooms were a nice size and the beds were comfortable. Bill was very helpful and very informative about the house and attractions in the area. It was just a short drive to town which was very convenient if you didn't want to ski down. We had dinner at the La Petite Paris in Breckenridge and I would highly recommend it. Great food and the owners make you feel like you're their personal guest. It's small, so make a reservation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place!!

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 7, 2011

My family had a great time we hope to go back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great all-season vacation home!

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Bearhaven could not have been more enjoyable for a summer stay. We’re most anxious to return for ski season. The accommodations were superb: ample privacy; exceptionally clean; gas stove (for cool nights); indoor hot tub; outdoor deck, grill, and picnic area; up to date furniture and fixtures. The sun streams into the kitchen/sitting/tv area in the morning with a partial view across the valley. Bearhaven is uphill from Breckinridge and less than a 5 minute drive from the center of town. The trail access is about 75 yards (on mostly level road) from which, in the winter, one can ski down to the lifts or to which one can ski to from above. A short walk of this upscale area provides views of the peaks across the valley as well as the ski slopes; it is a perfect setting for a vacation at any time of the year. The owners, Bill and Kathy, could not have been more helpful and attentive. The maintenance and upkeep of their property, and their attention to details—from soaps and shampoos to perfectly folded and new towels—is absolutely first-rate. I most highly recommend choosing their property as your Breckinridge vacation home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

ski vacation

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

Great place, comfortable, convenient, up to date and like at home. We traveled with toddler
and even a crib was provided. Easy communication made arrangements easy. Home like in the pictures and am sure that was not the last time we stayed there. Thank you !

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lars and his family was great to work with. We have tried to set up the home so that a few couples out for a romantic week could enjoy beautiful Breckenridge or couples with small children could get equal enjoyment out of the home.

We hope that Lars and his family join us again for a little slice of heaven in Breckenridge.

Bill & Kathy Handley, Owners of Bear Haven and Mountainwood Alpine Paradise

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved staying at Bear Haven!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

I can not say enough good stuff about this place or the owner! The owner was very helpful in the beginning, giving a lot of information that we needed about the house and about the slopes. He was very informative about things we needed to know when traveling to a higher altitude. He gave us a lot of information about different points of interest in Breck that helped us in making decisions on what to do other than skiing. The house is located in a beautiful area, close enough to town, but up far enough for a wonderful view! It was easy to find and when we arrived everything was just as we pictured it to be. It is a beautiful home that easily accommodated six adults and two children. Everything you needed was there. We had no trouble at all cooking our meals because all the utensils were right there. It was very clean and beautifully decorated. There was enough room for all of us to either sat together and watch t.v. or if you wanted privacy there were t.v.'s in each bedroom plus the living room and the den. Three bathrooms made it easy for all of us to get ready. Being from the south the altitude can really affect you and there were humidifiers in each room that really helped you to overcome the shortness of breath. One afternoon we were watching t.v. and looked out the window and there was a beautiful red fox right outside the window. One of the guys in our group skiied from and to the house and had no trouble. There is a great view of the slopes from the front of the house. It snowed eight inches one of the nights we were there and by the time we were ready to leave for the slopes, which was early, our driveway was already cleaned off for us so we had no problem getting out. I can not say enough good about this place. Like I said, everything we could have possibly needed was there and Mr. Handley was so helpful to us prior to our arriving. I loved Breck and hope to be back next year! I highly recommend this place to anyone who is going to Breck. Also, if you get a chance, go dog sledding!!!! It is very affordable and something that the entire family can enjoy. It was one of the highlights of our trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely beautiful.

Review submitted: January 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

My family and I enjoyed this beautiful home. It was everything Bill said and more. It was like staying at home and had everything we could possibly need. Home is close to town and easily accessible to the lifts. We would definitely stay in this beautiful home again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couldn't Be Happier

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

Bear Haven is a fantastic, upscale, luxury property. Bill and Kathy have gone out of their way to upgrade this wonderful home. Granite countertops, hickory cabinets, leather couches, a warm, cozy gas stove all lead to the ambience of this home. The location was superb. In a residential ski in and out neighborhood, yet close to town. You exit the home, walk about 75 yards and ski Lower Lehman to either the Quick Silver or Beaver Run chairlift. An added bonus is that you ski right by ski school. Bill & Kathy are easy to work with and provide a lot of information to make this a very enjoyable vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bearhaven in July

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

We stayed at Bearhaven in July 2010. Bill and Kathy could not have been more helpful. Every last detail was taken care of, right down to a discount card for the local grocery store.

We loved the open floor plan. The open kitchen with attached TV room was great for preparing family meals. We also enjoyed the fact that all of the bedrooms were large, so there was no debate over who got the "small room" that can happen with other homes.

The location is convenient to the trails (hiking or skiing) and only 1 mile from main street in town. A trail at the end of the street leads right to town, which is a nice alternative to the road.

When we go back to Breckenridge, we will contact Bill and Kathy before we even consider other options.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Greg and Laura and their two sons had a blast. We love to show people to how great Breckenridge and our home can be in both the winter and summer. Thanks to both for watering our Columbine flowers in the front yard. Bill & Kathy Handley, Owners of Bear Haven

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: January 31, 2010

Bear Haven was a perfect home in a perfect location in breckenridge. Far enough away from town to be peaceful, but close enough to drive for restaurants. The house is wonderfully appointed and has all the necessary amenities. The hot tub truly rocks! Bill went out of his way to make sure this stay was seamless and worry free. He even went so far as to mark the way to ski home from the slopes! I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a great stay in Breckeridge....being short of breath constantly never felt so good!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

We had a wonderful ski vacation the first week in January and thoroughly enjoyed returning to Bear Haven after a long day on the slopes, and an adventurous trip home through the trees, which we decided unanimously that we also enjoyed.

The kitchen was very functional and it was nice to have the many spices and condiments readily available.

The fire place was quite efficient in heating the house warm and toasty and the "bear theme" decorating complimented the Western ambiance.

We also enjoyed the convemiently located indoor/outdoor jacuzzi. We didn't use the outdoor grill, but it was nice to have it available.

The beds were quite comfortable and bathrooms modern and functional.

At Bear Haven, we felt like we were staying at a friend's home. Bill and Kathy have put much thought and detail into the comfort of their guests. Thank you for sharing your home with us. We would definately stay there again!

Owners response: We love having guests like the Fox family and hope they return many times in the future. Bill & Kathy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 20, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

My family has used VRBO for several years in CO. Bill's home is by far the nicest accommodation we have stayed in. It's in the mountains, yet close to town. The decor is lovely, the kitchen is wonderful and the mountain views are great. My family would happily stay at Bill's house again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 19, 2009   Date of arrival: August 19, 2009

We stayed here the second week of August. The house is very well kept and in an area of homes next to the National Forest. We were very close to hiking trails and a five minute drive down to Breckenridge. The house had a very nice back deck with patio furniture that fit the decor. We enjoyed reading and sunning on the back deck.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 15, 2009   Date of arrival: July 15, 2009

We stayed at Bill and Kathy's little slice of heaven for the week of July 4th and had a fabulous time! The house is very nice and the street worked great for our boys to bike up and down. We took a couple of different hikes on the mountain from the end of the street and the location is convenient to downtown. We've visited Breckenridge in the Summer and Winter before and this was the best home we've stayed in. We look forward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 15, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We just returned from a wonderful stay at Bill and Kathy's home. We have rented many vacation homes over the years and this one was one of the best. In addition to its convenient location, the home is stocked with everything you need for a comfortable stay, including a full kitchen, plenty of linens, and a place to toss your snowy boots! We had a great time and look forward to returning again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at this delightful property during our recent Spring Break trip to Breckenridge. The house met all of our expectations and more. We will definitely return! Thanks for the great hospitality and helpful tips Bill. We couldn't have asked for more.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We had a great vacation and this house was a big part of it. It was well equipped, very clean (very important to my wife), roomy, and convenient. It felt like we were staying at our own home. Skiing out was easy for everyone in the party but skiing back to the house was challenging for the weaker skiers in the party. But, we drove the Gondola one day and parked there and that was very easy.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 7, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

thank you for an outstanding vacation. The pictures do not do this home justice. As soon as we walked in the door we felt like we had come home. Kitchen was outstanding and had everything we needed plus some. The beds were very comfortable and you could feel how much thought and feeling had been put into bear haven. The hot tub was off the hook...the perfect end to a day out in the snow. Will absolutley stay in this home again and highly recommend it. thanks again bill and kathy

bill and laura

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 2, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Bill and Kathy's home in Breckenridge is really nice. My wife and her family (6 adults total) had a wonderful ski vacation in Breckenridge and found the home to be very accommodating. Here are a couple of high points to the place.
1. The garage can handle a full size suburban
2. The kitchen is newly remodeled and has all the gadgets one needs
3. The family room is really nice. It is big enough to have 8 people sit around and watch a movie or chat around the gas fireplace.
4. There is a large table that sits everyone for nice dinners - and also works well for card games!
5. The ski in ski out is really easy... Just stay high and to the right when you come in off the trail!

Feel free to contact me if you have any other questions. Lastly, Bill is really easy to work with and he readily returns emails if you have questions!

- John and Elaine Westmoreland
Renters in January 2009

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 31, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Wow!! What a great home,felt so at home there,comfortable, spacious,relaxed- felt ya'lls petsonality in every nook and cranny.Beds were excellent ..Enclosed hot tub was perfect to relax in . Looked forward everyday to getting back and enjoying your home.. Can't wait till next year to book Bear Heaven.. Thanks again Bill and Laura

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 1, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

This home was absolutely wonderful. We really enjoyed the large and updated kitchen and all of the new appliances. The house was conveniently located close to the slopes and downtown. Everyone in the house also enjoyed the enclosed hot tub. We would definitely come back given the opportunity.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 20, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

This was a beautifully decorated, upscale, modern home. The spacious home was perfect for our large family. We really enjoyed the Jacuzzi after our days of hiking, biking, and rafting in the area. The kitchen was well equipped to prepare all of our meals. In the evening, we loved to just sit by the fire place and play games, watch TV, and use the wireless internet. We can’t wait to come back next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 17, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

This place is heaven! We were very impressed with the beautiful furnishings/decorations and the roomy interior -- even with several of us visiting, it never felt crowded! We were so amazed to see a hummingbird right outside the window! It was very relaxing to be able to enjoy the jacuzzi tub too. We will definitely be staying here again. Thanks for the incredible hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 19, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Very nice upscale home. Liked the private hot tub. The owner has put many finishing touches that makes it a joy to just sit and have a glass of wine. Sking home through the well spaced woods was a blast. Hope to come back in the summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review