reviews for: listing #19509 - Santa Barbara, California Cottage rental

Romantic Getaway With Spa--Near Town
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Downtown Upper East
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $240 - $300 /nt
    $1,195 - $1,495 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful, Private Haven

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

"A peaceful, private, haven."
My husband and I grew up in Santa Barbara.
We came for a 3 week respite.
Wendy is a wonderful hostess, and made our stay fantastic.
The hourglass was exactly what we needed!
Looking out the kitchen window you can see hummingbirds and scrubjays. Hearing the birds sing and the scent of lemon
trees, blowing through the window was so refreshing. The mountain views are great. Botanic Gardens is right up the street and well worth the $8:00 cover charge.
We will be back.

Mary N.
London Ontario Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A True Retreat

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

Retreat is an excellent word for Hourglass---we find it very restful and comfortable, a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of Santa Barbara. We love it's organization and convenience---definitely a home away from home, but in some ways better. We spent all of Sunday afternoon in front of the fire on those comfortable couches, reading and napping----something we wouldn't do at home because of the nagging chores.
We'll be sure to plan enough a head so that we can reserve Hourglass for our next visit.
Carl M., Concord, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great House--Can't Wait to Make it Back!

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We had an amazing stay here in beautiful Santa Barbara. My husband and I loved the Hourglass. It was the perfect house in an ideal location. We enjoyed the local restaurants, as well as evenings in, where we were able to grill outside and enjoy the night in. We also enjoyed the hot tub in the evening and looking at the stars. We were hoping for a relaxing vacation and that is exactly what we got! We took a day trip to the Big Sur area & Salinas to see Steinbeck's house. The rest of our week was spent on the beaches and around town. I was able to enjoy morning runs--I parked at the Mission and ran downtown--it was perfect. We loved our vacation and can't wait to make it back. Thanks so much for this great house!
Katie B., Alexandria, VA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quiet, Private, Memorable Stay

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

Our stay at the Hourglass was wonderful. We are originally from Santa Barbara and love to come home whenever we can. The location here was great--quiet and private--we felt almost like we were in a tree-house! This trip we took a boat ride out to Santa Cruz Island-never have done that before. It was fantastic! The dolphins were surfing behind the ship. The Fresco Cafe at Five Points is one of our favorites-as well as the shopping. Thanks for the memorable stay!
Bob & Dixie F., Springfield, MO

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Corner of Paradise!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

We rented Hourglass House for a week during festivities and preparations for our daughter's wedding in Santa Barbara.

The Foothills location in a lovely residential area was breathtaking, with decorative touches and amenities both inside and out. We enjoyed breakfast on the upstairs balcony deck, but the indoor areas, spacious and meticulously decorated, were a feast for the eyes.

Nothing can compare with the bright and romantic, well-appointed bedroom, its vistas and bed, multiple drawers and excellent linens. Comfortable sofas and ample tables as well as desk for computer were well set-out in the huge living space that included a lovely kitchen.

Exacting cleanliness characterized the venue, with numerous cleaning products assisting with day-to-day upkeep. Bathroom provisions -- everything from hairdryer to fine shampoo and lotion to contact lens solution -- abounded. The washer/dryer unit in the bright and spacious bathroom was out-of-sight behind the door, but it quickly cleaned and dried items to perfection.

Kitchen amenities, from coffeemaker to coffee and tea, as well as upscale gourmet products and spices, made this a cooking paradise. The spacious refrigerator hosted many of our fresh fruit and vegetable selections from the outstanding Tri-County Market (visited on the way back from Butterfly Beach) and the Ralph's central in Santa Barbara.

It was a privilege to be guests in this corner of paradise that is Santa Barbara!
Tiziano G., Cary, NC

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Accommodations

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

What amazing accommodations! Such a relaxing & peaceful retreat, we couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay. The Hourglass will forever be a very special place for us since we got engaged here over the weekend!! We look forward to coming back every year to celebrate! Thank you for everything.
Kate & James, Washington DC & San Diego, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely, Quiet, Restful

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

Hourglass was a lovely retreat for us. Quiet, restful, yet minutes away from the restaurants and theaters of State Street. We were delighted to see the spacious closet and the well appointed kitchen. We especially liked the openness, the un-cluttered decor, the cozy living room, and the comfortable bedroom.
We left feeling rested and refreshed (a feeling revived when we remember our wonderful stay). We will definitely try to stay there when next in Santa Barbara.
Gwaltney and Carl M., Concord, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Wanted For Nothing!

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

The Hourglass cured my writer's block! We expected a beautiful property, but we had no idea what was in store...This house has all the comforts of home AND the elegant minute details of a hotel suite. If we come back to S.B. we most certainly will rent here again! Thank you for the love you have put into this place; we wanted for nothing! --May M., Villa Park, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love the Hot Tub!

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

The Hourglass is wonderful. We ended up eating dinner here all but two nights because we bought more wine than we could fly home with. Everything we needed was here. We enjoyed the patio too--love the hot tub!!
Ron R., Puyallup, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sweet Touches in a Stress-Free Environment

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

We escaped for a mere two nights from our four children (ages 17 to 9) and wished we'd been able to stay longer. Why? It was impossible to be stressed out and be here. It just evaporated the second I opened the door. There were sweet touches like lots of electric candles, robes, shampoo, lots of towels, an iPod dock, and a nicely appointed spice rack. The first night I cooked, and discovered soy sauce, sugar and oil in the cabinet!

Exploring the busy downtown and then coming back to this peace and quiet was just wonderful. And the hot tub was a keeper! We hope to be back again. ASAP. You've done such a great job making people feel at home.

Steven P., Poway, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Everything

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

Had a lovely weeks break from being on the road traveling around California. Loved everything about the Hourglass and we think Santa Barbara is lovely. Will definitely try to get back!
Don & Pat, Berkshire, England

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Base To Explore SB

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

We had a great relaxing few days at the hourglass. It was a great base to explore the SB area and the house is really well equipped with all you need. Many thanks!
Andy & Marika, Switzerland

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't Wait To Come Back!

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Wendy,
We had the most amazing week in Santa Barbara! We LOVED the little house, although we didn't spend any time in the hot tub or use the grill as we had expected. Loved the simple yet lovely decor and the washer and dryer were very convenient. Only wish I had more time to hike and enjoy the fresh grapefruits! The wine tasting, kayaking, horse riding, and canyon runs were the highlights for me. We ate at the Fish House (amazing food) and Hitching Post and even the little Seafood Company at the end of the pier. Too many great experiences to mention! Can't wait to come back.
Thanks again,
Gina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely & Quiet

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

This is a lovely, quiet, clean and well equipped place. It's very close to town, tennis courts, wine tasting, etc. We enjoyed our stay very much.

J&J from Seattle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace & Tranquility

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

Wendy, Thank you so much for providing & creating such a wonderful place to stay. We were very pleased with how comfortable the Hourglass is because of all that is provided. We also loved the peace and tranquility that the location offers--the trees, the birds, and the frogs at night. We will recommend it to others! Thanks again, Christophe & Masako (CA & Japan)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will Return Again

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 19, 2011

I loved the Hourglass - cozy, comfortable, clean and contemporary. Thank you, Wendy, for your kindness during the reservation process and for providing all those little touches which made me feel at home. The cozy fireplace on one cool evening, the ipod dock on the stereo so I could listen to "my" music, the spa which eased my aches, the water filter so I didn't need to buy bottled water, the washer/dryer so I could refresh my clothes and the oh so comfortable bed. Loved the walk through Rocky Nook Park to the Mission. Most of all I so appreciated the peaceful location and views of the lovely surrounding hills. Stayed 2 nights, felt like more, wished it could have been a week, or a month, or maybe the rest of my life! Looking forward to returning next year. --Melita M., Seal Rock, OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We're Coming Back!

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

Everything was perfect--a little rain so Mission Creek was running. Several walks around the area to the Gardens (Botanic), the Mission, Rocky Nook Park and of course the parent's house about a half mile away. We've already booked another week in June 2011. Thanks for everything. Glenn N., Napa, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Will Return!

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

This house was perfect for my family. The house is very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the private patio, hot tub, & BBQ. Thank you for your attention to detail! We would definitely return and have recommended it to our family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Really Nice

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

This was a really nice rental villa. We found it to be very clean and comfortable. We would definitely consider staying here again. Thank you for a great weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Stay

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

"We came for a wedding and have enjoyed our time here very much. It is beautiful in Santa Barbara. Our stay was perfect--comfy bed, our own space, kitchen and washer/dryer ideal. Stella is 9 months and you have exceeded our expectations with the crib, high chair, etc. We'll definitely be back again. Thank you Wendy!" Robert & Donna P., Dudley, MA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Very Comfortable & Convenient"

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2010

"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hourglass. It was very comfortable and convenient. We will be back for our next visit!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Loved the hot tub and fireplace!"

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

"We have spent some truly amazing 9 weeks at the Hourglass! We LOVED the hot tub & fireplace!! Also, the location is just perfect, both for exploring beautiful Santa Barbara & its stunning surroundings & working at UCSB in Goleta. Everything is just a short drive or walk away. We are very sad that we have to leave the Hourglass today--if ever we come back, we'd love to stay here again! Thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charming & Lovely Location

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

"Thank you very much for creating such a wonderful and charming space in lovely Santa Barbara. It is hard to leave but will be back. We absolutely love the location. No worries or questions in the 'Hourglass'." David S., Park City, UT

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Comfortable

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 27, 2009

"A wonderful place to stay ont he last leg of our California vacation. The Hourglass is very comfortable and thoughtfully equipped--we really loved the hot tub! We will hopefully return someday soon!" Steve C., Doncaster, England

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Accomodations

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 14, 2009

"The Hourglass was a perfect accomodation for the two of us. Everything that we needed was provided. The area's quiet provided time for relaxation after a day of exploring the area. If we return to Santa Barbara in the future, we would be pleased to stay at your property again. Thank you!" Wendy G.,York, PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review