reviews for: listing #19516 - Ensenada, Baja California House rental

Ocean-Front 4BR/2BA Manor - El Faro Beach Gated Park
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  El Faro Beach
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $185 /nt
    $550 - $925 /wk

sort by:

Average Stay for the price

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

We booked for a large party including visitors from Scotland. We are also VRBO owners, in the states, so knew the way it should work. When we arrived the on site management had no lockbox code and none was provided in the check-in papers. The manager of El Faro had to track down the owners agent in town (Juan Gabriel, he said anyway), and he wasn't asnwering his cell. It was kinda creepy and secretive and quite inconvenient, we had to wait for a while before we got in. The house is adequate, but lots of things in the photos are not there, like nice carpets and curtains. The beach is pretty lame. There were campers right outside our back porch ruining any view, as there is a campground between the beach and the house- and at one point we had to kick kids off the wall of the porch. It was noisy and kinda ruined the ambiance. We got our deposit back no problem, and it might be OK for folks who don't know Mexico, but we have houses in San Felipe (K42) and Rosarito so we expected more. We got it for the size but the BRs were very small. We won't go back. El Faro Beach is kinda crummy ....and the restautant they show in the pics in on a private Estuary Beach you can't actually get there on the beach, its gated and walled off. You can't actully walk far up or down the beach due to the tide or the private sea wall. Our dog liked the beach. The price was too high for this property, we expected more.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: June 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

The house was very clean and in a safe part of town and its right on the beach. The groundskeeper was very nice and hospitable. You can rent boogie boards or go for horseback rides on the beach.

The main challenge about staying here is that the bedrooms and bathrooms are small. Also there is salt in the water that comes out of the faucets and shower, but you are told that up front.

We really had no unpleasant surprises at this home other than the fact that ATVs aren't allowed on this beach because its small. My teenagers still enjoyed the home and the beach thoroughly.

Great place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Wedding destination

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

Enjoyed it so much we keep coming back!! We first rented this home along with the 3br property next door last July for our wedding at the Estero Beach Resort. We were able to walk to and from beach house and resort. Beautiful views of ocean and sound of the waves every morning from the balcony was amazing. Pictures did not disappoint us! The home is clean and well stocked with all the necessities to make us comfortable-just like home!. A trip to costco and market and we had our week covered! It was great to be able to just relax at the beach or take a 10 minute drive to downtown for some night life! We were there again in January and June of this year! Can't wait til our next visit!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Very Very Nice Place to Stay

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Just wanted to say Thanks, and we all loved this place. Definitely staying here again. Very clean and comfortable house, right by the beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great weekend deal

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

I got this unit as a base for a weekend in Ensenada and it was great. Away from the city, but close enough to get everything you need, including Golf at Baja Country Club, just a 3-wood away. Big enough for 8 adults with all the amenities. The local Supt was very nice, always looking to find if we were ok also.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just like home

Review submitted: March 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

Nice cozy home in the beach. We did not miss anything from our own home. It has Dish TV, Cable TV, Wireless internet and grill in the balcony. All you need to bring is your food, charcoal and beach towels.
It has a great view of the ocean right from the living room, and the beach is sandy with no rocks at all. This home is in a gated trailer park location, with excellent security and very quiet.
The house is clean, well maintained and not to far from everything.
This was our first trip to Ensenada and we like this town, we found the fish market called “Mercado Negro” (Black Market), and they have a nice variety of seafood at great prices.
As always visiting Mexico, never put tap water in your mouth.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Beach Hideaway!

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

WINTER STAY REVIEW...
Two adults (man & woman), romantic getaway
Wonderful beachfront cabin in large older vacation community just south of Ensenada. It has camping areas, lots of small cabins such as this listing, and a number of trailers / motor homes that have been converted for permanent use. We were there over Thanksgiving and most of the summertime stuff such as outdoor cafes / ice cream stands were closed. Frankly, the vacation community was a little deserted in winter - which could be good or bad depending on what you're looking for. It was perfect for us - we awoke to the sound of the surf, looked out on the ocean with morning sun coming over the cabin, and basically had the whole place to ourselves. During summer, vacation area looks like it would be VERY different - fun with lots going on.
Easy access to large supermarkets/stores. Listing description accurate regarding both location and property. Property very clean and well-maintained, rental representative was very responsive - even available by cell phone when I arrived on a holiday weekend to help me find access code which I had misplaced. E-mail communication was clear and timely, and the rate as of November, 2010 was great. I would definitely recommend the property to a friend and plan to stay there again. With only 2 in our party, we totally underutilized cabin - there were 3 bedrooms we didn't use at all. Cooking is fairly primitive - there is a small propane range but the oven has numbers 1-10 as options, not actual temperatures on dial. If you're looking to cook something specific it would be prudent to bring whatever you know you'll absolutely need (eg, cookie sheets, dutch oven, etc) in the way of cookware and an oven thermometer, if applicable. Large, nice fridge. Large gas space heater in living room area, smaller electric radiator heater in master BR. As of November, 2010 no heat in other areas of house - could be sketchy in winter for parties larger than 2. Ready access to wireless Internet a blessing or a curse, depending on purpose of your trip.
A couple of Ensenada places worth seeking out -
Birrieria Guadalajara - OMG!! Yum and inexpensive! There's a McDonalds on "1st" (main drag). This restaurant is toward "2nd" on same street
Hussong's - has an unusually cool old time Baja vibe (no upside down body shots), been there since 1892 or something, prices reasonable
Curios "Wendy" - on road to La Bufadora, km 5.5 (on left as you head to La Bufadora) - great pottery
Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Location, Location

Review submitted: July 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

We rented this home for a week and could not ask for a better location. The directions Anna gives you makes it easy to find. Everything Anna states in her ad is true.

The view was breath taking and you could walk right out to the beach. We had 3 generations in our group - location was perfect for all.

The staff at El Faro Beach was always there to assist you (with a smile) and they keep their location safe and secure. It felt just as safe as home.

This house is perfect for anybody with a car. You could drive to the market in less then 10 minutes, downtown in 15 minutes, La Bufadora, Punta Banda and Las Canadas (adventure seekers - must check on this) in less then 30. Great home for couples, families or a group of friends. Very clean and has everything you need.

I also met her manager, who allowed me to see her other properties - all just as perfect! Why pay for a hotel when you can have a beach (almost) to yourself, by walking out your door.

We plan on going back and will stay at any of her available properties!!!

Thanks Anna for giving us a special location to visit Ensenada!!! It made the experience that much better!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review