reviews for: listing #19601 - Carmel, California House rental

" SurfSong" Close to Beaches, Private Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,250 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

Fabulous R&R

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 27, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely stay at Surfsong! We are accounting professionals and booked Surfsong for our post-tax season decompression get-a-way. It was perfect! The location is fantastic--an easy walk to an incredible beach and wildlife preserve, but also central to local sights, like Carmel mission and Monterey Bay Aquarium. The house is private, quiet, extremely comfortable, well-appointed (down to a bookcase stocked with local bird-watching guides to history on Carmel/Monterey to things to do and see), and very clean. The garden is a lovely respite and great for watching the local birds (we loved the beautiful scrub jays that frequented the garden). We brought groceries and food, but there are amenities very close by for re-stocking, as well as great restaurants. This is a great value and Phil is terrific!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place in Carmel!

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 9, 2014

Thank you Phil and Dottie! We had such a great time at the Surf Song rental. Phil and Dottie were so great letting us know places to see and nice restaurants to have our meals. We loved the hot tub and the entire place was decorated so nice and comfortable. The back yard and hot tub was so private and we couldn't have ask for a better place to spend a couple of days. loved it! Hope we can go back sometime. Danny and Nettie Wood

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfortable, quiet and clean

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: February 3, 2014

We stayed at the property for 7 days while attending the AT&T Pro-Am at Pebble Beach. The owners were very helpful and made arrangements for a special lunch at Pebble Beach, a parking pass in Del Monte Forest during the tournament and made excellent recommendations for dining in the area. The property was clean, quiet and very comfortable for the two of us during our week long stay. On our last night we dined at the Mission Ranch Inn which is within walking distance - we actually ran into Mr. Clint Eastwood himself in the parking lot - nice way to end our vacation. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing, hospitable stay

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

One of favorite things about people is their willingness to share something they love with others. This is how the owners of Surfsong were with their home and city.

My two girlfriends and I enjoyed a wonderful two days in Carmel. The hosts made us feel immediately welcome: they took the time to show us the full property, and made sure we knew where we were going in Carmel and Monterrey. Every recommendation they gave us (walks, restaurants, activities) we tried: and they were all great!

I truly hope my path leads to Carmel sometime again soon, and I know just where to stay.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Place Was Perfect

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

Thank you Phil and Dotti! We had a great time finishing off the year as your guests. The place was perfect and we will definitely be back some day. Our favorite parts of the trip were walking to the Beach Club, enjoying sunsets on the state beach to the South, and of course your hospitality. Thank you for the aquarium passes as well. Enjoy 2014!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy, Quiet, and Comfy

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 8, 2013

Feeling at home in Carmel-By-The-Sea these past 10 days....where did the time go? Great weather for an early jump to the Christmas season. SurfSong provided the perfect setting to a marvelous experience. Thanks Phil, for the reservation and pass to 17Mile Drive for brunch at the Beach Club in Pebble Beach! Wonderful cuisine and views. The Aquarium passes were much appreciated and enjoyed! Highly recommend Casanova's, Demiti's, Rocky Point and Beaujolais for tasty cuisine. SurfSong was simply cozy, quiet and comfy. Love the fireplace. Enjoyed the hot tub on those cool evenings. A fond memory of SurfSong will be forever treasured!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful weekend getaway at this perfect guest cottage

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We had a fabulous weekend at this charming guest cottage. Has a wonderful rustic feel with lots of modern amenities. We enjoyed cooking in the well outfitted kitchen as well as grilling in the lovely garden and enjoying the outdoor spa. The house is made up of lots of nearly floor to ceiling windows so there is wonderful natural light (you may want to bring an eye mask if you're a late riser though) but the morning light never bothered us.
Beds were super comfortable and we lacked for nothing at the house. Location could not have been better either, as I jogged to the beach each morning and it was a short drive to downtown Carmel, 17 mile drive entrance etc.
We loved the aquarium passes and lunch at The Pebble Beach Club Dining Room (food pretty good, view spectacular!).
Phil could not have been more accommodating and helpful and we look forward to returning soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Surfsong was FANTASTIC!!!

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 10, 2013

Once we arrived at surfsong it exceeded our expectations. Surfsong was very clean and well maintained, just blocks from TWO beaches with white sand and wonderful sunsets. Downtown Carmel just blocks away, just take a nice walk through beautiful neighborhoods. Surfsong also has a great bbq, garden and superduper hot tub!!!! Wonderful and relaxing environment!! You will love the owner, very helpful and provided passes to the Monterey Aquarium. Highly recomend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

SurfSong's Tranquility

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 16, 2013

What a glorious time we had celebrating my 62nd birthday. SurfSong was top notch and had all the necessities. Fell in love with the garden & the induction cook top! We really loved lunch at Pebble Beach and visiting the aquarium. I finished 2 books in 3 days which says a lot about SurfSong's tranquility. Thanks....We'll be back!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

1 Year Anniversary

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

Thank you for a lovely stay. Great suggestions made our trip very memorable...The Beach Club, the Aquarium, (I love sea otters now!), and Anton & Michel. Morning run in the neighborhood left us with some very memorable architecture ideas!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

Very beautiful cottage...I really enjoyed the peace and quiet. Walked to the beach, Mission Ranch and truly enjoyed all that Carmel had to offer. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A lovely cottage..decorated with care and thought.

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

What a quiet relaxing time. A lovely cottage, well thought out with lots of nice touches, decorated with care and thought. Particularly enjoyed relaxing in the beautiful garden.
We love Carmel, ate great food (Il Fornio/Little Napoli) and even our golf was good. Great Place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Short Walk to the Beach

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Thanks for a relaxing stay. We enjoyed the short walk to the beach, the beautiful garden patio, and the hot tub. Monterey Bay Aquarium passes were a great perk! We loved our first vacation to Carmel and Pebble Beach!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will stay here again!

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

Thank you for going above and beyond to host a wonderful mini-vacation. Your restaurant recommendations were "spot on". The lunch at Pebble Beach was outstanding - a once in a lifetime experience. This cottage and lovely garden is warm and comfy. The hot tub makes it a 4 star rental. I agree, a large pot for artichokes would be nice. Noon checkout time would be helpful. The last day is always hectic gathering your stuff. We will definitely recommend this to friends and will stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great location for marathon

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

What a lovely and peaceful cottage and garden! Great location for marathon proximity, and great pre and post rest and preparation. We thoroughly enjoyed being here, and thank you for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Highly recommending the cottage

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Thanks Phil and Dotti for a wonderful stay. The cottage was perfect for us and lunch at the Beach Club was fab! We'll be highly recommending the cottage to our friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Clint at Mission Ranch

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

Thank you for opening your lovely cottage to us. We enjoyed the stay in Carmel as always. Your dining suggestions were perfect for us and an extra bonus to see Clint himself @ Mission Ranch was special.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Location

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

Thank you Phil and Dotti for such a wonderful, cozy, beautiful place to stay in Carmel. The house is in a perfect location to enjoy the beach, shopping and local restaurants. We will be back in Sept. to celebrate again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Well Stocked Oasis

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

Thank you Phil and Dotti for providing us with such a beautiful, comfortable, well stocked oasis in which to enjoy Carmel. Aquarium passes and lunch at the Beach Club were added bonuses, as were the conversations we had with you. SurfSong could not be in a better location. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Birthday Trip

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

This has been a wonderful birthday trip!! Thanks for everything and we hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The House "looks and felt special".

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your beautiful vacation rental home. Our family really enjoyed the extra thought you put into making the house look and feel special.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Perks

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

My son and I had a wonderful holiday at your cottage. The Carmel/Monterey area is beautiful and the accomodation outstanding. Thanks for the passes to the aquarium, and the invite to the Pebble Beach Club; wonderful perks by generous hosts. All the best.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Such a Lovely and Comfortable Guest House

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

Thank you so much for everything...the aquarium, the Beach Club lunch, all your suggestions. But especially for putting so much effort and heart into creating such a lovely and comfortable guest house. We were completely charmed by the garden, enjoyed the hot tub, loved walking to the beach. We hope to be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Would Love to Stay Longer

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

Enjoyed this cottage very much. We loved the great location so near the ocean. Pot-bellied stove was great during our chilly stay. Would loved to have stayed longer!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place in Carmel to Stay

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Surfsong! The cottage was very clean and organized, a must for me. We loved the patio/garden area and enjoyed the hot tub. The aquarium passes were a plus. Also, thanks again Phil and Dotti for making lunch reservations for us at the Beach Club at Pebble Beach. We had a great lunch and bottle of wine. We enjoyed our walks into Carmel for lattes and our walks along Scenic drive to view the ocean. Mission Ranch is so close to your cottage we could walk over for dinner or happy hour. Another good place for happy hour is Vesuvio's on the patio. We hope to be back many times. Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT Place to stay in Carmel

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here for three nights for a weekend anniversary get-away. It is secluded and very peaceful. Carmel River beach is just a few blocks away and it is also a short walk to downtown. The place is very clean and has everything you need. The backyard is very private and the hot tub was great. Phil and Dotty were great hosts as well. I would highly recommend!!! We will be returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So cozy with the (pot belly) stove

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

Phil and Dotti,
We had a wonderful time in Carmel and at your guest house. The bed was so comfortable and the stove downstairs so cozy in the evenings. Thank you for the reservations at Pebble Beach and for the tickets to the aquarium.
If we return to Carmel we would love to stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

Dear Phil and Dotti,
Thank you for the wonderful stay here. We had a fabulous time. The cottage is so cozy, and our little son really enjoyed the hot tub. We will definitely stay here again. All the best.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Aquarium Guest Passes

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

Many thanks for letting us stay at your lovely place. We stopped over in Carmel for a stay on our way from L.A. to San Francisco. The hot tub made us feel special and privileged. Also a big "Thank you" for the Aquarium guest passes. We spent 3 hours there and had a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The Magic Bed"

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time in SurfSong. The kids loved the "Magic Bed". We made many walks to the beautiful beach and enjoyed all the comfort that SurfSong offers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carmel vacation

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2012

Surfsong is a gem! The location is perfect, close to the beaches and hiking trails and an easy walk to town. The livingroom/dining area has floor to ceiling windows looking out to the charming private garden. The kitchen and bathroom are lovely and completely updated. The loft bedroom is large, the bed is very comfortable and there is plenty of storage for clothing. We loved the hot tub and gas fireplace! Phil and Dottie are wonderful hosts. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect East coast meets West coast stay

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

We had such a great time at Surfsong & Beachwalk. It was the perfect place to stay when visiting our west coast family. We had plenty of room to spread out and the location was perfect to walk the kids to explore the tidal pools. The grandparents loved the guesthouse since they were so close to their grandchildren. The kids are still talking about the surf lessons at the beach too! Thank you again and we hope to stay again when we visit the west coast again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great space to hole up

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 2, 2012

Loved it! Thank you for allowing us to celebrate our anniversary here. Dramatic weather, great oysters(A.W. Shucks), and a great space to hole up-
Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Beach was so Close

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

We had a wonderful time spending Thanksgiving here with the rest of the family just around the corner. We were blessed with excellent weather so we enjoyed the beach and how close it was; we of course went to the aquarium, loved it, and also had fun at the Monterey Farmers Market. We loved your cozy spot here with the beautiful private back yard and the very comfy bed. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5th Anniversary with our Daughter

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

We had a fabulous time here celebrating our 5th anniversary with our 21 month-old daughter. SurfSong was very comfortable and we felt right at home. The bed was super cozy, loved the beach themed art and dishes and really appreciated not having to pack a high chair or portable crib. We enjoyed the beautiful beach, walks in town and around the neighborhood, starry nights, seeing Clint at Mission ranch, watching fish at the aquarium,(thanks for the passes!), experiencing the mission and eating great food. We hope to return soon to see Big Sur and the piano bar at Mission Ranch.
P.S. 17 Mile Drive is not to be missed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Memorable Week at SurfSong

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

Thank you for a most memorable week at "SurfSong." So many of our experiences this week are the result of your kind and thoughtful offerings -
passes to the Aquarium; more wonderful movies than we could watch; numerous hints and suggestions that made our stay joyful; and of most comfort the lovely landscapes and quaintness that can only be found in Carmel. We are grateful to each of you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymooners!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Thank you guys so much, we both had a great time. The lunch at the Beach Club was amazing and we really enjoyed the Aquarium as well. Work on that free round at Pebble for me next time! Thank you both for making our experience a memorable one.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

SurfSong was the Perfect Place

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

My daughters wedding at the Holman Ranch was incredible. SurfSong was the perfect place for our stay for this special celebration. Very private, clean and great location. We love Carmel!! We thank you and we'll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Time at SurfSong

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

We had a thoroughly delightful first time here @ SurfSong - Expect it won't be our last! Lunch @ the Beach Club was truly special. Never knew about Stillwater Cove - Enjoyed our beach walks - So glad to have found you!
P.S Love the inviting garden and hot spa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

2nd Anniversary

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

We couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. Eating breakfast in the garden, hot tub in the evening...a very few places can boast of such privileges.
Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Mother's Day Weekend

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

What a wonderful getaway for a mother and her two(CA based)daughters. We enjoyed your cottage, walks to Carmel, dinner at Mission Ranch, hike in Garland Park and a great afternoon of sauna & hot/cold pools at the "Refuge" in Carmel Valley. Girly weekend and we so appreciate you sharing your home, your beautiful club, and this corner of heaven called Carmel by the Sea.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Private...

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

Thanks for a wonderful stay. The cottage is lovely. So private, and sitting in the garden for breakfast is just so great. The hot tub in the evening...well it just couldn't be better. Thankyou for booking lunch at Pebble Beach. Oh, how the other half live! And thanks for the aquarium passes. Wev'e allready reccommended to friends and family. We couldn't ask for more. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Hot Tub!

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

Dear Phil and Dotti, A note of appreciationof your wonderful guest house& your kindness throughout our stay. We loved the whole thing - the comfortable bed, the walks on the beach, the Aquarium, Point Lobos, Pebble Beach, the Mission Ranch, the pelicans flying overhead, the barbeque, the quiet garden...but most of all we Brits' loved the hot tub!
p.s. For those who didn't bring their laptop, computer is free at the Carmel Library.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Carmel Retreat

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

We've had a really lovely stay at SurfSong. It's the perfect Carmel retreat for 2 adults and 2 kids(grown up!) and it would be even better as a Romantic Break for 2, so maybe we'll try that one day!....
Phil and Dotti are the perfect hosts-Many thanks for arranging lunch at Pebble Beach Club, a real treat for us all.
We couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Carmel.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

32nd Anniversary

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We had a lovely 32nd Anniversary Celebration in your lovely cottage. We loved the hot tub, gardens and warmth of Phil and Dotti. Love abounds when we notice it....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly Charming

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

The Beach Bungalow was truly charming. My husband loved it's comfy, homey feeling, as did I. Thank you for providing a wonderful haven to relax from the hustle and bustle of our busy lives. We are especially grateful for the use of the passes to the MB Aquarium; we had so much fun on our trip there. Thank you for everything. I will remember this getaway for a very long time. Mr. Bradbury, you are just a jewel! Blessings...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy.. Near- The -Beach-Cottage

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

Phil and Dotti,
We enjoyed our week in your cozy near-the-beach cottage. Thank you for the lunch and dinner suggestions. You may see us again. Call us if you are ever in Jackson Hole, Wyoming.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

3rd Anniversary

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

We stayed here for our 3rd anniversary and everything was perfect! We had such a fun, relaxing time here...thank you so so much for all you did to help our vacation be so perfect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

12th Anniversary

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

We stayed here for our 12th Anniversary. We loved everything about it. Very clean and accomodating. Thank you for the opportunity to see Pebble Beach and visit the Aquarium. Hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Long Walks on the Beach

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

I stayed at Surfsong for 3 nights over Easter weekend. It was a delightful mother/daughter weekend as I shared the rental with a good friend and both of our 15 year old daughters. The king-size bed upstairs is very comfortable and roomy, and the Murphy queen bed downstairs is equally comfortable with down comforter. As it is a loft, there it not privacy, but it worked fine for 4 girls. The big private backyard is lovely and I spent much time reading there, as well as BBQing steaks the first night and lounging in the hot tub every evening. Each morning, we all took long walks on the beach. It was only 3 to 4 blocks to walk to the main Carmel beach as well as the river beach; and only about 8 to 10 blocks to Ocean avenue. The owners are very friendly and booked us a lunch table at the Beach Club on Pebble Beach. A truly fabulous view and meal. I would definitely stay at this rental again.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Eveything is Here

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

Thanks Phil, we had a wonderful time and everything is perfect. What a great spot to relax; or go to the beach, dinner, sightsee etc. Everything is here. We had such a great time and it was very comfortable. The aquarium passes were a great plus!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Like Summer for Canadians

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

Thanks Phil and Dotti!
We had a perfect week with perfect weather for February. It was like summer for us Canadians! Maybe we'll retire here some day...it's a beautiful location.

Marlow loved Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (Marlows the little one)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Close to Everything

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

Thank you for sharing your home with us. The cottage felt so quiet and peaceful and it was great being so close to everything.
We had lunch at Grasings and enjoyed the best kobe beef burgers. The only thing we regret is how short this weekend seems.
Thanks again for creating such a comfortable retreat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Home Base for 2 Golf Buddies

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

Played the Preserve/Poppy Hills/Spanish Bay and Del Monte....watched the Pro-Am at Pebble and Spy Glass. Walked the beach every day and walked to the Mission Ranch for excellent dinners. Met lots of nice people.
Thanks Phil for the BC parking pass; that was a great bonus. Would reccommend this place to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Weekend For Two...

Review submitted: December 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

This was a wonderful retreat. The property was close to town, close to the beach. The hot tub was a welcome place to relax and look at the stars. Everything was very nice and the bed was super comfortable. I would book this place again without hesitation.

It was our first time using vrbo and it certainly will not be our last.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet get away a short walk to beaches

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in your guest house. It was everything I was looking for: clean, quiet, peaceful, private and close enough to walk to the beaches. Surprisingly it was a little bigger than the pictures, but jut right for two. The hot tub was terrific after days of walking on the beach and the village. Truly a restful get away. The Aquarium passes were a bonus. Thanks! Mary & Robert

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Gem!

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2011

Fabulous guest cottage. 100% privacy. Beautiful private garden/patio area to enjoy. The cottage is fully equipped. Access to washer/dryer. Wifi. Phil and Dotti loaned me their bike because I was without a car during the day! Love the comfy bed with great linens. Enjoyed the private hot tub. I can't think of a single improvement. No question I will stay with them again. They do have a hidden outside key in the event you lock yourself out of the house! We utilized their passes to the Aquarium and dined at the Pebble Beach Club with Phil's reservation. An excellent stay in every respect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Short Walk

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2011

Very nice guest house. We loved dinner at the Mission Ranch, watching the sun go down, and such a short walk! Thanks...
Ed and Kathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Terrific Time

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

Thank you so much for a terrific time! Your guest house is comfortable; we really felt at home. We also truly appreciated the aquarium passes and the use of the cooler and hot tub.
Our stay could not have been better. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Referred to this place as home.

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

What a lovely little guest house! Thanks for aquarium tickets and a delightful lunch location at Pebble Beach. Thanks also for your advice from the insiders perspective. It helped a lot. I guess you know we felt comfortable when we referred to this place as home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Surfsong was fantastic!!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

My wife and I needed a place to stay to visit our son who just took a job in Carmel Valley. The Surfsong worked out perfectly. It was a great location to visit our son in Carmel Valley, and take walks along the Carmel River Beach and scenic drive. We also walked to town for breakfast one morning to the lovely Carmel Coffee House. The kitchen has everything you need, even a dishwasher! We cooked dinners for our son and there was plenty of room for him to stay comfrtably with us on the murphy bed in the living room. The beds were both very comfortable, especially with the windows open to let in the ocean breeze. We found the listing very accurate and the Surfsong was very clean upon arrrival. Phil answered many questions and was very helpful with local info. I would highly reccomend this property. We used the passes to the Montery Aquarium and had lunch at the Pebble Beach Tennis Club which made for an enjoyable day! We also tried the Baja Cantina that Phil reccommended. It was fabulous food! We plan on eating there again and trying other dishes. At the end of our busy days we enjoyed soaking in the hot tub in the serene backyard! Can"t wait to return!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great attention to Detail

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Everything was lovely...great attention to detail & comfort. Lunch at Pebble Beach was beautiful.
We loved the wall of windows facing the serene garden. Thank you so much for making our stay in Carmel memorable...more beautiful then the lovely photos!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was Perfect!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

Everything was perfect! You made our 25th Anniversary trip wonderful! We were very impressed with the cottage. Thank you for the passes to the aquarium and lunch at the "Beach Club". If we ever come back to Carmel you will be the first call we make.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Hosts

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

Nice guest house...has eveything we needed.
Phil and Dotti are great hosts.
Thanks,
Brenda and Brian

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fond Memories

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

Loved this little beach nook!! The art, nice bedding, fully equipped kitchen....we could'nt have asked for better lodging!
Thank you so much for sharing your lovely place with us-we will look back over this summer with fond memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Everything Perfect"

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

We were your first guests(after remodel) and absolutely everything was perfect with our accomodations. The bed was comfortable, the shower was stocked with treats; the cozy fireplace added to our enjoyment. Phil-you were frequently on hand to point us in a "direction as we started our day. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us- we will be back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 18, 2009   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

Thanks for sharing this warm and cozy house with us. Besides the "storm" -oh and the power outage-the weather was fantastic. We loved hearing the ocean waves, watching the deer eat, watching the stars at night and our walks around Carmel. We appreciate your attention to detail...from your beautifully decorated and well thought out home...to all the things we needed to enjoy our stay.
Much Thanks,
John, Narnaz, Sari and Chloe

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 25, 2009   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

Thank you for sharingCarmel with us. We really don't want to leave.
We loved Point Lobos. We visited nearly every day. We could not get enough of the tidepools, seals, shells,
and beaches. Don't forget to take some of the more inland hiking trails.
Our big splurge was lunch at Nepenthe Restaurant in Big Sur. We ate in the clouds. Great food. Great atmosphere.
Sam, Angie, Hannah and Abby Riffell

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 12, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

Dear Phil and Dotti,
Thank you for letting us stay in your gracious guest house. It is beautiful beyond compare. We expected it to be nice but it exceeded our expectations. The guest house is decorated so beautifully and elegantly and yet there is still a very cozy feel. We found it nice to relax in the living room or on the deck after a day at the beach or after walking around all of the lovely streets in Carmel.
Whenever we come to Carmel the time seems to go by too quickly and we wish we could stay longer. Thanks for such an enjoyable stay in your guest house.
Sincerely,
Roger, Leigh and Daniel Kissel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 2, 2009   Date of arrival: September 2, 2009

After 3 weeks in California ( San Francisco, Napa Valley, Yosemite, Mammoth Lakes etc.) SurfSong was exactly what we expected...A quiet and lovely place in the sweet city of Carmel; the view, the beaches, the restaurants, the shopping and the 17 mile drive.
We couldn't find a better place to end our trip.
Many Thanks, we appreciate...
Joanne and Robert

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 25, 2009   Date of arrival: August 25, 2009

Our stay in SurfSong has been a dream come true. The decor & art work is outstanding. We loved our evenings spent on the patio watching the waves and many birds...It has been so relaxing we hate going back to the real world. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home. Sorry we missed meeting you both. Hope to return again soon. We Love Carmel!! Many Thanks, Mark and Ann Carlisle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 8, 2009   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

Our second time; and we enjoyed it again!
Peter and Verna Muller

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 28, 2009   Date of arrival: July 28, 2009

Wonderful stay! Only sorry it has to be so short. Thanks for the advice on restaurants and hikes...made our stay all the better. We all felt so welcome and relaxed.
Dreading the 95+ temps in Tulsa-loved sitting by the fire at night here!
We appreciate all you do tom ake this such a fabulous place.
Mike, Laura, Joseph & Woody Daniel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2009   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

Great week, great views of wildlife in the area and from the deck. Exceeded only by your welcome.
David and Joanne and Sally

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2009   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

After travelling around for two weeks, we found some days of peaceful rest at SURFSONG. Your house is arranged so charming and lovely that we felt at home almost immediately. Our Staystated off with a sunset on the beach watching a group a group of seals playing & an unforgetable dinner at Mission Ranch-Thanks for the good advice Phil!
Klaus and I are dreaming of a house by the seaside for quite some time and if it wasn't so far away from home, Carmel would be the place of choice. Take care and all the best for the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 11, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

After being here for a week, we feel we can stay for much longer. We love this area, and your hospitaliy and this guest suite made our week even more enjoyable. Thank you!

Dinardo and Halle Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2009   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

We all love your place and hope to make a return visit in the near future.
Carmel is beautiful. We need more time to explore, shop, eat in your many fantastic restaurants, walk along the beach, pet/meet all the dogs,take pictures, just relax and unwind...we don't want to go home!
Thank you so much for your hospitality. Maybe we will see you up in Canada. Sincerely,
Sue and Geoff Baker
Cory and Nancy Seaman

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 10, 2009   Date of arrival: May 10, 2009

Sixty six years ago I came into this life I now live. Today is my Birthday! It was so wonderful to wake up this morning and see the ocean. Your cottage is wonderful. Thankyou for sharing your home. It is beautiful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 10, 2009   Date of arrival: May 10, 2009

Sixty six years ago I came into this life I now live. Today is my Birthday! It was so wonderful to wake up this morning and see the ocean. Your cottage is wonderful. Thankyou for sharing your home. It is beautiful.
Sheila Holmes, Mountain View, CA.

Truly the epitome of Carmel-By-The-Sea when you stay at SurfSong! Really a peaceful and tranquil little cottage! Your side of the house must be spectacular as the cottage should be in Coastal Living Magazine! You know I love the beach cuz my email begins with "rjseashell".
"We'll be back" Ruma Costello

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 10, 2009   Date of arrival: May 10, 2009

Phil and Dotti,
This could not be any more wonderful-thanks especially for the tennis referral. To show our gratitude we used up a new can of balls and unfortunately broke one of your glasses so maybe you shouldn't let Texans stay here. We love the view of the lagoon but more tahn anything your generosity and hospitality.
Paul, Ben, and Cecily

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 23, 2009   Date of arrival: April 23, 2009

Phil and Dotti,
Thanks for sharing your beautiful and upscale accomodations with us. We had a great time! Also thanks for your excellent recommendations for places to dine. Your place is outstanding and we will surely consider it again on future trips to Carmel.
Sincerely Yours,
Doug and Carol Sever

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 17, 2009   Date of arrival: April 17, 2009

Dear Phil and Dotti,
We`have had a wodeful relaxing 4 days at SurfSong. Your guest house is both beautiful and comfortable. Wev'e enjoyed the view of the ocean during the day and the fire in the fireplace at night. Thankyou for sharing SurfSong!
Karen and Don Skokan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 26, 2009   Date of arrival: March 26, 2009

Dear Phil and Dotti,
We really enjoyed the design, colors and materials of your wonderful guest suite, a real treat. The three weeks in Carmel just flew by. We look forward to another stay next spring. Best Wishes,
Peter & Verna

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 8, 2009   Date of arrival: March 8, 2009

Carmel is such a wonderful place and we enjoyed feeling at home in your lovely rental.
Susan Kempf

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 22, 2009   Date of arrival: February 22, 2009

Dear Phil and Dotti,
Thanks for letting us occupy your lovely place-and for fixing the T.V. We enjoyed the lagoon life as much as the beach. It has been a nice escape from the brutal Kansas winter. George and Susan Gurley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 16, 2009   Date of arrival: February 16, 2009

Dear Phil and Dotti,
Your place was just sparkling clean to greet us. We had such a pleasant week here. Thanks for all the the helpful tips on Carmel "Eateries."
Jackie and Pat Loney

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 13, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

The Surfsong is a very comfortable and clean place
to spend a week of enjoyment in Carmel-by-the-
Sea. You have included some very well thought out
conveniences that made our stay a joy. The decor
and furnishings are very pleasing and crisp .. the
heated floor is perfect on a cool morning. The
location of the Surfsong is great for a short walk to
the beach, Mission Ranch, Carmel Basilica or just
around the neighborhood. Thank you for all the
efforts you made to get us there and settled. We
plan to return to Carmel and hopefully the Surfsong
will be available for us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 25, 2008   Date of arrival: December 25, 2008

Phil and Dotti,
Your place is very beautiful and comfortable. Thanks for the Christmas decorations! The marsh and beach are astonishing - spent many hours walking.
The Higgins Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 16, 2008   Date of arrival: December 16, 2008

Dear Phil and Dotti,
Wow! What a wonderful early Christmas we have enjoyed in this beautiful apartment home. This is a lovely place--view, fire and ambience. Your special Christmas decorations are very appreciated. Lunch at the Beach & Tennis Club will always be a special memory for us. We all feel that we could not have made a better choice on a place to stay in Carmel. Thanks for your friendliness and warm hospitality.
Carol & Franz Peterson Orlando, FL.
Jamie Peterson Denver, CO.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 30, 2008   Date of arrival: November 30, 2008

Dear Phil and Dotti,
We have enjoyed a wonderful week here! This is a perfect spot to enjoy Carmel. This was a memorable Thanksgiving with 4 generations coming together to enjoy a special place and a special time together. Thank you, thank you!
Bob and Mareanne Felch Nantucket, MA.
Dean Felch Santa Fe, N.M.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great apartment

Review submitted: November 22, 2008   Date of arrival: October 6, 2008

I stayed here for 7 nights in October with my wife and infant daughter. It is a really nice, clean place and Phil the owner is very friendly and helpful, for example, he went right out and filled the propane tank for the grill when it ran out. We really loved it and had stayed the first night in Monterey at the Hyatt.The apartment itself at Phil's place was a substantial upgrade. If you like a self contained private little apartment for your vacation to Carmel this is the place. The pictures don't really do it justice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 27, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We had the pleasure of spending our 35th Anniversary here at SurfSong. It is a beautiful place. At night from the deck you could hear the ocean crashing!We loved having the beach so close to watch the sunsets. The accommodations are perfect. The Bradbury's are a lovely couple.Definitely a very special place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 14, 2008   Date of arrival: October 14, 2008

Dear Phil and Dotti,
We have had a lovely week's stay at the Guest House-it has been so comfortable and relaxing; it is in such a beautiful spot and so near the best beach in Carmel. The views and wildlife are spectacular. We have had a great time. The icing on the cake was lunch at the Beach Club on Pebble Beach...Thank You!
Lorraine, Bob, Claire, & Graeme

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 17, 2008   Date of arrival: September 17, 2008

Phil,
Thanks for sharing the cottage. It is lovely and we enjoyed our brief stay. We plan to return.
Thanks,
Dana Freeman and Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 12, 2008   Date of arrival: September 12, 2008

Dear Dotti and Phil,
Thankyou for a wonderfully relaxing two week stay. Our first visit to Carmel and we have discovered a little corner of Paradise. The cottage, the atmosphere, the weather... all a perfect setting. We wish you all the very best and I hope that, one day, we might be back.
Regards, Alexender Allen (U.K. via Afghanistan)
Sara Fabrero (Portugal via East Timor)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 24, 2008   Date of arrival: August 24, 2008

Dear Phil and Dotti,
Thank you so much for a lovely 2 week stay. It has been such an enjoyable time - the beautiful weather, the gorgeous views and your amazing guest house. Thank you so much for all your assistance the past 2 weeks and for opening up your special home to us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely, Tom and Linda Schaefer

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 9, 2008

Dear Phil and Dotti,
We absolutely LOVED your place!! Staying here was a great way to escape the heat and humidity of a Washington, DC summer. Your "cottage" was so beautiful and we especially loved sitting on the deck and watching the wild life and beautiful views. We have visited Carmel often and we feel this has been the most relaxing, wonderful stay of all. Although we missed meeting you, Marlene was so warm and we enjoyed chatting with her. We have allready told our friends and family about this amazing "find"; we just hope it is available the next time we want to visit. Thank you for sharing your home with us.
Barbara, Larry, Brittany and Rachel Koffer

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 25, 2008   Date of arrival: July 25, 2008

FIRST GUESTS AT THE NEW SURFSONG

Phil & Dotti,
Thank you for the warm welcome and lovely stay. We enjoyed ourselves and appreciated your support of our needs. We will recommend your home to our family and friends.
Thanks again! Ken, Kelly, and Mason Brady

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review