reviews for: listing #19628 - Palm Springs, California House rental

Spanish Hacienda in Movie Colony: Great VIEW & LOCATION
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Movie Colony East
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $350 - $600 /nt
    $1,950 - $3,000 /wk
    $6,000 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

Fabulous retreat. Heavenly pool.

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

This beautiful villa was perfect for me and my seven best friends to catch up and enjoy time together. We lazed at the pool and hottub, walked around the neighborhood toward the mountains. Even picked some lemons off the tree for drinks!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Girls Weekend Ever!!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

We had the best time at Villahermosa! All the girls hung out by the pool during the day, cooked great meals at night and dined outside. The home is very comfortable and we all loved the decor. The weather at night was warm and cozy. We didn't leave the property all weekend! Felt like we had been on vacation for a week! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

martin family

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

so relaxing. lovely home with such character. special place. Love being in Palm Springs much more eclectic.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My family and I

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

This is the second year we have stayed at this beautiful vacation home. It is very comfortable and a great place to bring family! We had a fabulous time here with our kids and grand kids! Lots of pool toys and a spacious out door area. It was nice to bar b Que. and eat at the big table out side. There is a jacuzzi as well although it wasn't working when we were there.
We hope to return again next year. Thank you Angie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Villa Hermosa

Review submitted: May 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

The layout of this house is great, especially if you are staying in the master bedroom, where there are french doors leading to the beautiful pool area. This is where we spent most of our time. The decor in the house gave it an arty feel without being pretentious. It was cozy and home-y. Unfortunately the hot tub didn't work for us, but the owner worked quickly to try and get it repaired. I would stay here again. Take note to look closely at your contract. Ours stated that we had to check out by 11, but I didn't remember that and we had to rush out.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Angelica. I hope you enjoyed your birthday! The hot tub had a bad fuse, unfortunately we weren't able to get it repaired by the time your group left. The fuse was immediately replaced and up and running for the next group. Hope to have you and your family back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect home for our family

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

The home was perfect for our family. Separate private bedrooms, wonderful yard and pool for our granddaughter, it has everything we need. Loved how close the house is to shopping, restaurants and golf, very relaxing place! Love the eclectic decor, nice job!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We LOVE it here!

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

We love it here at your beautiful home and can't wait to return in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a fantastic place this is!

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

What a fantastic place this is! We had a phenomenal Christmas vacation! The house is so comfortable and we love the mountain views, the pool, the citrus trees, and the decor! Wonderful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway for a long weekend or a month.

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

Wonderfully eclectic furnishings and art work. There were lovely groupings of chairs and tables scattered around the grounds including a fire pit. The pool and hot tub were a perfect temperature. Everything was clean and in working order. The beds were very comfortable. A wonderful suprise was the beaufitul fresh grapefruits, oranges, limes and lemons grown on several trees just outside the back door. Freshed squeezed OJ every morning. Minutes from airport and minutes to Palm Canyon Drive for shopping and amazing restaurants. Golf and Casino's plentiful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lots of places to hang out, great views

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

Stayed there for 3 days, had a blast! There are so many places to hang out on the property, all are very comfortable. The place was extremely roomy, lots of views (mountains, front yard scenery). There is a park right down the street where we jogged to, the town was a 15 minute walk away as well. We will stay there again for sure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THIS IS THE PERFECT PLACE

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

I was skeptical at first as I always am with everything. Pictures could be deceiving and reviews could be fake, right? As soon as we arrived, we were so amazed by the serenity and "awesomeness" of this house. It creates a very cozy feel to a very well prepared party environment. There are speakers to the outdoor swimming area, lots of areas to sit, and TONS of towels and amenities. Our group had such an amazing time here at this home. We will definitely be back, again and again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

magic!

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

my husband and i have been renting in palm springs since the early '90s and this is by far the best property we've stayed at. the house is beautifully and whimsically decorated; the grounds are large with lovely pool and landscaping. the property is walled-in enabling our dogs to roam freely without worry of escape. my husband always golfs at least three or four times when we're in palm springs -- he didn't golf once this time because we spent the entire time at the house with occasional forays into town for dinner. the owner was incredibly gracious and accommodating. this place is magic. we'll never rent anywhere else.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location, wonderful house & grounds

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We were looking for a great place to go get some "Zen" before my husband's surgery and to celebrate our 14th anniversary. We have two dogs and wanted to have them with us and be worry free. The house was fun and very well equipped as far as the kitchen, seating, refrig, etc. The rest of the house was large and has a great layout. The yard was the best part for us, completely fenced in (we did have to secure the gate with a bungee cord) so that our dogs could roam free. The pool is great and there are plenty of places to lounge. We found a favorite spot under a tree in the back corner that gave us a magnificent view of THE Mountain. There were a number of hiccups when we first arrived but the owners got everything in motion to handle all of them right away. You can't ask for better than that. We would definitely go back and enjoy this spot again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Relaxing/comfortable

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Had the pleasure of staying for one week in Feb, 2011. Took my Mom along and she had a blast as this house reminds her of the house she grew up in during the 40's/50's. The home had the best outdoor space I have ever seen in my many years of renting vacation homes. We swam almost every day, had great weather, and just loved the view of the mountains from the front of the house. The front/back yard are very private, you feel as though you are the only one on the whole block. The owner is just a doll and she put up with the few problems my bank created while attempting to pay for the home. Book your stay in Palm Springs at this wonderful house, you will love every single minute.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Why we rent this place

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2010

We keep returning to this house for our Palm Springs vacation rental for several reasons. The owners are professional, hospitable, honest and easy to work with. We truly feel like welcome guests. The house and pool are well-maintained. The decorating is unique, eclectic and charming. The private, spacious yard and the exclusive, convenient location really suit our needs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Too Much Fun!

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

The grounds to this home are beautiful, private and well laid out. There are 3 different areas to dine outside plus a roomy dining room inside with a view of the mountains. There are also 3 separate, covered sitting/lounging areas around the pool. After unpacking our groceries into the adorable kitchen, we mixed cocktails, grabbed pool floats and jumped in the perfectly heated pool. The extra umbrellas around the pool let us choose shade or sun and still stay wet!
Everything about the house created an effortless weekend. We enjoyed the cable music stations and the indoor-outdoor speakers. The living room was a perfect stage for a silly-dance party. The bedrooms were beautiful and comfortable, with everyone sleeping really well. All the gals commented on favorite artwork in the house and most of us relieved our calorie-guilt on the stairmaster. The owner maintains this home beautifully
I would highly recommend this home to friends and would love to come back with my family and dog for a relaxing get-away!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for a wonderful birthday weekend

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

We had a wonderful weekend and loved every minute. We all agreed the house is perfect and we especially appreciated the decor and art on the walls. There were so many areas to enjoy outside and inside, we could have a quiet read or be in the middle of the party. Thank you for a beautiful place to spend a great Birthday weekend!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great getaway, nice pool, comfy, great amenities

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

This is a comfortable property with a big pool and all the items you need for lounging around and entertaining. The house has a lived in feel and some minor maintenance issues but the owner is responsive and it did not detract much from the overall experience. The decor is pleasing and there are a number of designer touches that will delight those who care about aesthetics. The amenities are excellent, there are outdoor speakers with an MP3/iPod connection, a mister, gas barbecue and outdoor furniture. We found this a great location to relax, swim and eat well. It is also close enough to the town center to easily access restaurants and shops.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 1, 2009   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

My friends and I had a great time at your property. It was filled with character and charm and had ever amenity we are looking for.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 12, 2009   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

Our Coachella/Palm Springs weekend is always so special for our group of friends. Last year, while we were staying at the house, we visited friends who were renting out a very large opulent and grand house nearby. While this other house was bigger and more opulent it lacked soul and character and we were so happy (again) to be staying at Villahermosa. We've become very attached to this special house!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2008   Date of arrival: June 22, 2008

This house is wonderful! We stayed in it twice and were so sorry to have been too late to book it last year. It is well located, comfortable and decorated/landscaped with great taste. Lots of room for a family with space to gather or to find a quiet spot. We love the old hacienda feel.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review