reviews for: listing #19638 - Waikiki, Hawaii Condo rental

Aloha Surf Condo-Retro comfort in Waikiki's Hawaiian King
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $89 - $89 /nt
    $623 - $623 /wk

sort by:

GREAT CONDO

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

This condo is VERY CLEAN, nice and comfortable and there is everything you need. Plus it's close to everything and you don't need to have a car.

Owners response: Thank you, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great stay for our first visit

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

We had a great stay and hope we can come back to this condo. This was our first trip to Hawaii and we liked the island feel of our comfy home. It was so well-stocked and nice and clean.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely stay

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

We were very happy with everything and liked how well-equipped and comfortable the condo is.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great little condo

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

feels like a home. Close to everything. Has everything you need.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Scott!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome Stay!

Review submitted: November 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

Comfortable, clean, convenient, charming, close to everything. The place was perfect for my wife and I. We were able to explore Honolulu, eat at nearby restaurants, walk to a car rental, and relax in style. We plan on returning, and making this our regular place in Honolulu! Thank you to Andrea for being the best "host" and being spectacular to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Location

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

The location was perfect, easy walk to the beach, shopping and restaurants. The condo was extremely clean and organized and there were lots of informations about beaches, restaurants, bus timetables...
The owner Andrea was fantastic, always quick to respond - a great person to work with!
We`d love to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect Location, Clean, wonderful mngmnt staff!

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

This complex is older, but don't let that fool you. It is well maintained and very clean! The location is close to everything. The international market was across the street, and the beaches were in walking distance. We will definitely stay here again our next visit! You cannot beat the bargain!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

WONDERFUL PLACE NEAR WAIKIKI

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

This was an ideal place to stay close to all the action of Waikiki! The condo is updated, well maintained and has just about anything a person could need. It is always a bonus to have kitchen facilities to use! We had no trouble with the wi-fi connection in the condo! If the noise of the A/C or outside alley bothers you, there were new ear plugs in the bathroom cabinet. We loved the pool, outdoor tables and lounge chairs plus having access to a washer and dryer! If you want to stay in the downtown area, this place is ideal and very reasonable. The owner is accommodating and friendly. Even with a rental car, paid parking lots were nearby. I felt safe walking alone around the area in the evening (8 PM). I highly recommend this condo!!!! January was a great time to be there...we had wonderful weather!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great place to stay on Waikiki

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 1, 2010

Aloha Surf condo was a quaint, extremely clean place to come back to
after a day of sightseeing or the beach. It was close to the bus which transported us all around the island. The owner's personal touch
shows. Food Pantry was a short walk away, a rental car company down the street and a dive shop around the corner. Everything is in good working order and supplied for a fantastic stay. The people in the small complex are friendly and it is not like the tall impersonal condos surrounding the beach. Lots of food choices steps from the door. We enjoyed it very much. Owner was very good to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great deal/ awesome location

Review submitted: July 20, 2009   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

We stayed with our two teenagers. This place is a great deal for the location - short walk to the beach and centrally located in Waikiki. The Waikiki town center parking garage worked really well for us. Everything in the condo is organized and well-labeled. the owner gives clear directions on what to do on arrival & departure, and she is very responsive with clarifications and questions. This 11 days (including condo and 2 of the plane tickets) literally cost what we would have spent for a much smaller hotel room at the Maryland or Delaware beaches - Incredible, when you think about it. You can also eat very reasonably in the Waikiki food courts - a pleasant surprise, since we expected to need to leave Waikiki to the plate lunch places for reasonably-priced meals. The condo contained everything we needed to cook for the 4 of us. We also felt very secure in the building. Recommended highly, and will stay here again (unless we move there first!!). be sure to venture out of Waikiki and see the rest of the island too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Long Stay at Aloha Surf

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: January 31, 2009

This was our second long stay, 1 month, at Aloha Surf and like previous reviews you would be hard pressed to find a condo unit better equipped, close to necessities and beaches. The layout is great and the amenities excellent, the pool isn't heated but that didn't stop "canucks" like us from cooling off in it. The central location is wonderful (2 minute walk to anything) and being in the middle of Waikiki surprisingly quiet, nestled among buildings acts as sound proofing. The ONLY drawback is the lack of a lanai that invites you out, it is in an alley with less than scenic view. The courtyard provides a lovely alternative (tiki torches at night, comfortable lounge chairs and tables) but it's communal so just not the privacy one may want. Overall an excellent value for the price and the owners easy and expedient to deal with. We'd recommend Aloha Surf to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

We had a wonderful time

Review submitted: February 11, 2009   Date of arrival: December 11, 2008

The condo was great. We had a chance to look at other options for accommodations in Waikiki and we both agreed that, for the money, we were far better off than everyone else.The location was ideal and we were really impressed with how well-stocked the condo was. It was a clean and comfortable home-away-from-home. We loved listening to the Hawaiian music CDs and enjoying the feeling of aloha.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Stay at the Hawaiian King!

Review submitted: January 31, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Our apartment at the Hawaiian King matched the description on the Internet very closely. The neat rooms were well stocked and organized for a week's vacation without missing the comforts of home for our family - husband, wife & dependent adult son. Beach equipment, cleaning items, kitchen and bathroom sundries were available as listed. The TV and CD player provided sufficient and soothing entertainment also. A short walk to the supermarket, beach, church services as well as in-house laundry facilities, immaculate swimming pool, and wi-fi Internet capability made for relaxing and satisfying daily activities. Meeting friends and relatives in the evening at close-by restaurants and/or hotels was very accessible, even without a car. Management and maintenance personnel were helpful, answered timely questions and provided a feeling of security throughout our stay.
Wi-fi Internet reception in the room was spotty, but opening the door or going poolside allowed adequate pickup. Lack of parking facilities was remedied by being able to depend on bus or taxi service for transportation at a reasonable cost.
Overall, we had a very restful stay at the Hawaiian King , we were able to stay within budgeted guidelines, and we would recommend it to our friends, expecting to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review