reviews for: listing #19641 - Studio City, California House rental

Studio City Garden Suite.
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $140 - $140 /nt
    $900 - $900 /wk
    $3,250 - $3,250 /mth

sort by:

Couldn't be better

Review submitted: October 9, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

Our Home-away-home was exactly like the pictures on the website. Nicely furnished, charming and very private with a carport in a quite neighborhood. My niece and her friend are both in early twenties from Japan and they fell in love with our home right away. They took millions of pictures in the house. The welcome basket filled with fruits and bottles of water were added bonus. So we could settled in right away instead of running out for grocery shopping. Well stocked pantry and small packets of ground coffee were very helpful as well. I didn't need to buy additional coffee during our stay. The instructions and tips given to us prior to the trip by the owner were very thorough and I didn't need to bother her for help or questions.

The location of the home was perfect. It's very easy to get to Freeways to go to any directions. It seems that it takes about only 15-20 minutes to destinations like Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Hollywood. And just 5 minutes to the Universal Studios. We covered them all in 4 days. We liked to shop at Gelson's which is a few blocks down on Laurel Canyon for grocery and deli. Good restaurants in Studio City, 5-minute-drive, along Ventura Blvd.

It was great to be able to come home after a full day of sightseeing and walking every day instead of to a hotel room. It really felt like home for us. I will stay at this place when I go to Los Angeles again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Loved this Rental!

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the upstairs duplex for a week. It was exactly as described and exceeded our expectations. It is located in a nice residential area, but still within walking distance of some businesses (such as grocery and Starbucks). The unit was very spacious, clean, nicely furnished and well-maintained. We particularly enjoyed the lovely covered porch...great place to have your morning coffee and read the paper! Helen was a great hostess and even had a welcome basket waiting for us upon arrival. Throughout our rental process, Helen was very helpful and quick to respond to emails. We would highly recommend this unit and hope we have the opportunity to stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An Oasis

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

We just returned from a great extended weekend in L.A. I cannot recommend this rental property enough. There were so many wonderful touches throughout the house. The owner has thought of everything you might need from a kitchen utensils to bathroom products. The location can’t be beat. You are close to Hollywood, beautiful Burbank and Pasadena, beaches, and studios. This will be the only place I want to stay on all future visits to L.A. Thanks very much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Worth coming back to

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

We stayed here on our first trip to LA in 2008 and had no qualms about coming back again. We have stayed in apartments all over Europe and the US (most of them really nice) and would say that this is without doubt the best of them all.
Helen goes to great lengths to make sure that everything is perfect. It is kept beautifully clean and is so comfortable that it feels like home as soon as you arrive. It's so well looked after that when we arrived this time, it looked exactly as it had when we were there 4 years earlier.
I would recommend this apartment to anyone wanting a good quality, comfortable base, well located to explore LA and its surroundings.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Delightful Gem Tucked Away in the Middle of LA

Review submitted: May 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful weekend getaway! The reviews and photos looked good when we booked the upstairs apartment but what a truly delightful gem it is! All the extra touches Helen put into the property to make guests feel welcome, comfortable and relaxed were wonderful!!!! I can not say enough positive things about the entire encounter. From our first inquiry to check out, everything was fantastic!!! Thank you so much!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

I Loved, Loved , Loved this vacation property.

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 2, 2011

This was my first experience with Homeaway and let me tell you, it was great. The property was just as it was stated in the advertisement. I did not have a need to speak with the owner for anything in particular, because she had all of the bases covered. Well stocked kitchen and bath, very comfortable bed. The home was decorated very very nicely. Comfortable living room furniture, just a little soiled, nothing a little spot cleaning couldn't fix, but comfortable nonetheless. I will stay here again and again. My granddaughter loved playing outside in the nicely manicured backyard. Family loved the feel of home of the apartment.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Welcoming Owner - Great Location (for us, anyway)

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2011

This 2nd floor apartment was a most convenient location for us as we have family in the area-- and there is nearby access to the vast freeway system of LA. The owner was very responsive. On the first day, we discovered that the coffeemaker was broken and before the day was out, a new one had been place in the kitchen. There was also a welcoming bowl with fruit, cookies and microwave popcorn. The place was clean and comfortable. Best of all, the water pressure in the shower was great (a big plus for me, even though it is rarely mentioned in reviews). The small but workable kitchen was well stocked with utensils and dishes. There was a nice front covered deck with a small table and couch that would be lovely in warmer weather.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

very nice!

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 24, 2010

The apartment looks exactly like on the pictures. We have an 11 month old baby and the owner made sure to have a fold out bed and a booster seat ready for her.
The fruit basket, bottled water, cookies and coffee were there, so we only needed to buy a couple of other things in the grocery store that is just around the corner.
The kitchen is equipped with everything you need to prepare your meal, which you can enjoy on your private terrace.
Location is perfect. Apartment was nice and clean.
If we ever go back to LA we will absolutely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

What a find.

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

What a fabulous find. The owner has thought of everything you could possibly need whilst on vacation. Everything was of high quality and we felt well cared for. We spent 4 weeks here during July and August and it was a lovely home to come back to at the end of the day. It is situated very conveniently for access to all of the main roads you would need to get around LA but situated itself in a very quiet spot. The porch made a lovely seating area in the morning and evening to watch the hummingbirds come to the feeder and see the local squirrels at play. Would love to go back in the future.

Paul & Sue, Coventry, UK

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

My wife, seven month old infant and I stayed at the Valley Village garden suite for a week. It was a wonderful experience. The apartment was fully furnished, allowing us to prepare food for our baby easily and to even host some small dinners and a brunch with family and friends who dropped by. I personally enjoyed the patio overlooking the front garden -- trees, squirrels and tasteful furniture to take in the sights with. The covered garage also kept the car cool, which was also important for the baby. All in all, we highly recommend this vacation home to those interested in a comfortable and private alternative to a hotel stay in the L.A. region.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 31, 2010   Date of arrival: January 31, 2010

We stayed in this lower duplex in August 2009 for
several days and it was one of the nicest, most
luxurious properties we have ever encountered in our
travels either here or abroad. The owner is wonderful,
everything is high-end and very clean. We hope to
rent it again in 2010!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely Fantastic

Review submitted: June 26, 2009   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

My dad and I arrived back from our holiday in Los Angeles on the 25th June. We stayed at this property, and it looked exactly like the pictures. The apartment/house is in a great location, just a 10 minute drive to Hollywood Boulevard. The street is lovely and quiet, no loud noises.
The house had everything we needed, even a hair dryer in the bathroom and cable television!

I would deffinately recommend staying here!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review