reviews for: listing #19670 - Barra de Navidad, Pacific Coast House rental

Ocean front, Gated community, Sleeps 8+
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Musica DelMar Estate
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $295 - $395 /nt
    $2,065 - $2,765 /wk
    $3,500 - $12,000 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

Our large family of eight thoroughly enjoyed this home for six days over the Christmas and New Year's holiday, as we wished we could stay six years! The home itself was full of all the amenities needed to make our stay convenient and comfortable, from the wireless internet access and the satellite radio to the large dining areas and laundry room. The view from the back patio was breathtaking and the sand stretched for miles on the low populated beach. With the gated community, we always felt safe and enjoyed the camaraderie of our neighbors, who always checked to see that we were doing well. We would highly recommend this vacation home for anyone who wants to get away and enjoy a laid-back, comfortable home. One of our favorite things to do was walk the beach and have dinner or drinks at Coco Cabana's. The towns of Barra de Navidad and Melaque were easily accessible and gave us the authentic Mexican culture we love. We will never stop talking about this vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing at its best

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

This is the place to relax, extremely nice and ample house with all ammenities. Long beach for strolls all day long. But as with everything has to end, eben my 90 year old wheelchaired Mom said, why we have to leave this place? I already fell in love with it. Definitively a place to come back but with few more days.

Victor

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Victor,you always welcome.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful luxury beachfron villa

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

This beautiful, very private and quiet villa is perfect for a relaxing vacation with friends or family. The view from the terrace and the master bedroom is so beautiful and relaxing. The house is spacious, well equiped and adjoins a very lonely and large beach. The pool could be bigger, but the rest was just perfect. We definitely want to come back

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great house for relaxing vacation

Review submitted: February 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

This beautiful, very private and quiet villa is perfect for a relaxing vacation with friends or family. The view from the terrace and the master bedroom is so beautiful and relaxing. The house is spacious, well equiped and adjoins a very lonely and large beach. The pool could be bigger, but the rest was just perfect. We definitely want to come back

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: I was a pleasure having you, come back soon please

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Lodgings

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Our second time in the area, brought a larger group this year (4 couples) so needed more space. From our previous experience we knew Musica del Mar was the ideal place to stay - very secluded area yet only minutes from Barra when a trip to town was desired. Don's place proved to be perfect. It's a gorgeous house right on the beach, with a huge open kitchen that's the centerpiece of a great area for congregating/socializing/card playing. The palapa with the large table by the pool was an ideal spot to retreat from the sun and read a book, while still being in the midst of the group. Don himself was in the area during our stay and we very much enjoyed meeting and chatting with him, he improved our growing knowledge of the area quite a bit. A great "bonus" resource! We love vacationing in this area, and hope it remains an undiscovered gem for years to come. We'll be back, and when we return, we will definitely be staying here. Thanks again, Bob.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: It was our pleasure. Thanks for spending those hard earned vacation dollars with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation in Paradise

Review submitted: February 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

Don,
Thank you for allowing us to share your beautiful, spacious home and for your friendly, accommodating hospitality through out our stay. With your assistance and recommendations we were able to experience much more of Barra de Navidad and the surrounding area than we could have on our own.
We will not soon forget our early morning walks on your beach, watching the sun rise, discovering sea turtle tracks in the sand with whales swimming in the distance and fishermen pulling in their nets. We were constantly entertained by Pelicans and other sea birds as they glided along in search of a meal, effortlessly rising and falling with the crashing waves. It was during those morning walks that we captured our favorite photos of the trip. However, the sunsets were just as spectacular.
Words cannot adequately express the serene atmosphere found at your villa. After our days of sight seeing and exploring it was such a joy to return to the peace and calm of your home, do a little star gazing by the pool and then be lulled to sleep by the sound of windswept palms and ocean surf. What a life!!!
We will highly recommend a stay at your villa to our family and friends.
George Alvis and Brenda

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is always more fun to own a property like this, when it can be shared by guests who so enjoyed themselves. Thanks again for choosing our home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous! The Mexico everyone should experience!

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

We rented the casita for two weeks over the Christmas Holidays! The experience couldn't have been better! The owner was wonderful at showing us where to shop, bank and dine out. There were two comfortable bedrooms, a nice kitchen for cooking, a private patio with BBQ and even Canadian cable TV so we didn't have to miss any of the hockey games! The beach is perfect - almost devoid of people, and having a private pool is truly amazing. There are three towns within a short drive from the property - we found many places to buy quality food to cook, as well as excellent restaurants where we ate great food for minimal cost when we didn't feel like cooking. We had the most wonderful, relaxing vacation ever - never again will we do a resort vacation in Mexico! We will be back to Barra again and again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Just knowing you had a great time is the best thank you we could get. Thank you for your choice of vacation destinations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic house

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

Pool a few steps from an isolated beach. Welcoming owner. Perfect layout. This place well exceeded our expectations. We had a mix-up with the house originally but the owner was so gracious in every way - giving us beer and wine and great company when we wanted it. We were even invited back! It is perfect because it is outside of Barra, but you can cut through the Grand Bay resort to get there and not have to go on the main road. We have seen many beaches in Mexico, but this is one of our favorites - totally isolated without any resort hotels in sight. Just amazingly relaxing. Book it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

Enjoyed two relaxing weeks at the house with 6 adults & 4 kids. The house had everything we required to make our stay very enjoyable and totally stress free. The beach is fantastic and the pool & deck area is just as impressive. No complaints at all, we'll be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 5, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

We stayed recently with 3 other couples. This house is very spacious. It accommodated us very well. Only the master bedroom has the oceanview. The other 3 bedrooms are in the rear of the house. The kitchen was huge. The patio area surrounding the pool is expansive. It was a very quiet place. We felt safe at all times. The neighbors are very nice. We enjoyed the expansive beach all to ourselves. I'd highly recommend this home if you want to "get away". You will need a car. This is a hidden gem. I sort of hesitate to share on the web. I hope Playa de Coco and the towns of Barra and Melaque don't ever turn into another Cabo or Puerta Vallarta. This is a special place.
.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 1, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

Fantastic house and even more beautiful beach. We had a group of 4 couples come down for Thanksgiving and had a wonderful time - we had big plans but spent most of our time lounging in the pool and surfing the waves. Both Barra and Melaque were fun towns and everyone was very friendly. Highly recommend for an authentic Mexican vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect break

Review submitted: June 21, 2008   Date of arrival: June 6, 2008

We came in a larger group of mostly women, but had more than enough space. The pool is a nice size and depth, the beach is beautiful and empty (at least it is during the month of June), and the house is lovely. We spent the days listening to and watching the waves crashing as we cooked the large, open kitchen that looked out at the beach or lounging on the pool patio reading a book under the palapa. We were completely satisfied with our short stay and wish we could have stayed a full week or more. We would recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 7, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

The house was great, the house has a great view of the ocean and it was a very pleasent stay. Very tropical land feels very comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 23, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

If you want a relaxing vacation, this is the place to stay. The spacious house is beautiful and well-maintained in a safe, gated community near Barra de Navidad. Beach, anyone? Just step off the back patio and you can walk for miles. The fresh seafood in local restaurants is heavenly and everyone we met was friendly and helpful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 6, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

Absolute paradise! Our family was fortunate enough to stay at the house in january.. the pool is very private and there was hardly anyone on the beach. after a short drive from manzanillo airport , you turn down a road which is beside the largest palm tree orchard in mexico. this orchard stretches for almost the entire drive to the house!! the house is spacious, and very "dream-like". all of furniture was extremely comfortable and clean. barra de navidad is one of the most beautiful places i have ever seen. the locals are extremely helpful and kind. there is excellent surfing, dining, and shopping near the house. take a short, exciting drive to some of the most beautiful beaches in mexico. for everything included we felt the price was very reasonable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review