reviews for: listing #19689 - Ocean City, Maryland Condo rental

Sale Save On Bay-canal, 1.5 blocks to beach, Nice Large
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $90 - $300 /nt
    $500 - $1,350 /wk

sort by:

Mediocre Condo

Review submitted: September 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

REVIEW


Had a very nice stay at the Blue Marlin. First let me talk about the positives. Location Location Location. This property is in a great spot. Close to lots of shops and restaurants and a less than a 10 min walk to the beach. You really don't have to drive anywhere if you don't want to. Pool is steps away from the unit. Small but adequate. The unit held our family of 6 wonderfully. Enough space where we were not on top of each other. Communication with the owner was pretty good. Now for the negatives. This place badly needs updating. The so called King size bed is actually 2 singles pushed together and not comfortable at all. There is no screen door on the master bedroom so you cannot leave the bedroom door open for fresh air unless your happy to let the bugs in. Adding a screen to the bedroom would be a great benefit. The queen sofa bed has a barely there mattress. Had to use multiple extra blankets to provide some extra cushioning support to sleep on. The unit is VERY dated and furniture is noticeably worn. Kitchen and appliances are all old. The place on a whole needs a complete freshening up and through cleaning. Upon arrival the unit had a musty smell. Had to clean myself just to feel comfortable. If you're looking for luxury and amenities, go else where because this place is NOT it. If your most concerned about location this property would be a good choice. On a scale of 1-10 I would rate it a 5 based on location and size. This property has lots of potential but it needs to be brought out of the 80's and thoroughly cleaned. Would not choose to stay here again.

Owners response: The microwave is less then 1 year old. The Refrigerator and the dishwasher were replaced in August of 2013. We have no other complaints about the cleanliness. Please see Lori's review (a repeat renter) on the cleanliness. The King Mattress and the Sleeper Sofa have now both been replaced.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Worst Condo - Stay Away!!!

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

This has been the worst condo my family and I have ever stayed. We arrived on a Friday and realized the fridge was not working. When I reported the problem with the fridge to the owner she said the dishwasher was also having problems and asked me to measure it so she would order a new one. After several emails and calls to the owner, a new fridge arrived but not until Tuesday and I had to take time away from my vacation to wait for the new fridge and sign for it. We didn't have a working dishwasher during our entire stay. When we arrived the condo was dirty and I reported that many things were damaged. The beds and sofa bed are worn out and not comfortable at all. We decided to check out early. I do not recommend this place to anyone.

Owners response: I had no complaints of the refrigerator not working the week before. On Saturday I ordered a new refrigerator as soon as the stores opened. It was delivered on Monday. Yes the stores require that someone be at the unit to sign for the delivery. I called the tenant on the beach, and yes she had to walk back from the beach 1 1/2 block to sign. This issue was taken care of as soon as I could.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Another Great Stay...

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

This is approximately my 4th stay at this property. The property itself is always clean. The location is perfect.. Close to restaurants, beach, shopping.

I really liked the upgrade keyless entry system.. much easier when you don't have to worry about losing them or waiting on others.

Thanks again!!
LORI C.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

End of Season Upgrades

Review submitted: January 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2011

We went down in September and replaced the front screen door, installed a new microwave oven, repaired the ceiling fan and smoke detector (reattached it), replaced the living room sleeper sofa and chair and repaired the balcony slider for easier use.

We do these types of repairs every year. We do maintane our units, but when uncritical things happen during the season it is impossible to repair them.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Get What you Pay For

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

A nice condo for the price,but it needs a few updates.The sleeper sofa is not new and very uncomfortable to sleep and to sit on. The air mattress we bought was much more comfortable.Only having 1 key with 5 adults was a hard.All in all we had a nice time but would not rent again.This condo needs a lot of TLC.....

Owners response: Sorry we went down September 29, 2011. The sleeper (only 2 years old) was replaced along with the microwave, front screen door and the front door lock was replaced with a keyless entry system. We always had 4 or 5 spare keys in the unit, but if people go home with them we dont know that.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We would not stay here again

Review submitted: August 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We would not stay at this condo again. The location is great, since it is close to the beach and to stores, but the actual condo left a lot to be desired. When we arrived the screen door was ripped, the smoke detector was hanging by the wires, the ceiling fan was hanging from the ceiling, and there were several other small things that led to the belief that the condo was not maintained properly. We like to go to Ocean City, but we will be finding a new place to stay next time.

Owners response: Items that occure during the season are always fixed at the end, unless they are required or dangerous. These items even though they might not look good are not dangerous or required. They all will be fixed when the rentals stop at the end of the season.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Nice place to stay

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

I have no compliants, it was a nice place to stay at,stores right across the St. sandwhich shop, duncan donuts, and baskin robins,,for your late night fixes if you need one.I would recomend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A great place to stay

Review submitted: June 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

This is the second time my family and I have stayed here and we love it. Within walking distance to the beach and 2 pools which our children loved.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: July 11, 2007   Date of arrival: July 11, 2007

Last August, my husband & I shared a condo with my daughter & family. What a treat! I am employed at a catering business & a week away from my job with lots of stress seemed impossible. It was probably the last week of sanity since just sitting on the balcony & watching the boats leave in the morning & returning at night, playing cards or having a cup of coffee in the morning. I am 58 years old & we did all the usual when going to Ocean City. But coming back to the condo each time was pure pleasure. Unfortunately, my work schedule did not permit us to return this year on the week & rate we needed. This morning I logged onto the information with pictures of the condo you sent us last year & I felt so homesick to return. The decor & upkeep was fabulous & I am fussy. THANK YOU for a great week & hope to return in the future.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: December 15, 2006   Date of arrival: December 15, 2006

thanks for helping organising a great trip, you are very helpful. roger groner, anwalt .gronerlaw.ch

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 26, 2006   Date of arrival: August 26, 2006

Great location! Condo is within walking distance from beach, grocery store, coffee shop, convenience store, restaurants, mall, etc, yet it's nicely tucked away from all of the hustle and bustle. Very clean; our stay was comfortable. Would definitly stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review